Fall 2016 Amendments to the Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2012

Amendments to the Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2012 were published on October 5th, 2016. New requirements come into force starting December 23rd, 2016.

The Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2012 (the Prohibition Regulations) prevent potential risks of harm to the Canadian environment and, where applicable, human health by prohibiting the manufacture, use, sale, offer for sale or import of toxic substances and products containing them, with a limited number of exemptions.


What’s new?

Five substances have been added to the Regulations.

The Amendments prohibit certain activities respecting the following substances and products that contain them:

  1. Hexabromocyclododecane (HBCD). The Amendments add HBCD to Parts 1 and 3 of Schedule 1 of the Prohibition Regulations, thereby prohibiting the manufacture, use, sale, offer for sale or import of HBCD, expanded (EPS) and extruded (XPS) foams and their intermediary products that contain HBCD for building or construction applications.
  2. Perfluorooctanoic acid, its Salts and its Precursors (collectively referred to as PFOA). The Amendments add PFOA to Parts 1.1 and 2 of Schedule 2 of the Prohibition Regulations, thereby prohibiting the manufacture, use, sale, offer for sale, or import of PFOA and products containing them with a limited number of exemptions, including manufactured items.
  3. Long-chain perfluorocarboxylic acids, their Salts and their Precursors (collectively referred to as LC-PFCAs). The Amendments add LC-PFCAs to Parts 1.1 and 2 of Schedule 2 of the Prohibition Regulations, thereby prohibiting the manufacture, use, sale, offer for sale, or import of LC-PFCAs and products containing them with a limited number of exemptions, including manufactured items.
  4. Polybrominated Diphenyl Ethers (PBDEs). The Amendments repeal and incorporate the Polybrominated Diphenyl Ethers Regulations, and add additional requirements by adding PBDEs to Part 2 of Schedule 1 of the Prohibition Regulations. This prohibits the manufacture, use, sale, offer for sale, and import of PBDEs, including decaBDE, and all products that contain PBDEs except for manufactured items.
  5. Perfluorooctane sulfonate, its salts and its precursors (collectively referred to as PFOS). The Amendments repeal and incorporate the Perfluorooctane Sulfonate and its Salts and Certain Other Compounds Regulations by adding PFOS to Parts 1, 1.1. and 3.1 of Schedule 2 of the Prohibition Regulations, with three changes:
    1. the exemption for the use, sale, offer for sale, or import of aviation hydraulic fluids containing PFOS is removed
    2. the exemption for aqueous film-forming foams containing PFOS used in a military vessel deployed before May 2013 for a military operation is removed
    3. the permitted concentration limit for the use of PFOS in aqueous film-forming foams is increased from 0.5 ppm to 10 ppm

The Amendments also include the following general changes:

  • Accredited laboratory provisions are updated to include laboratories that are accredited under Quebec’s Environment Quality Act
  • Record-keeping provisions now require regulatees to notify the Minister if records are moved
  • The permit application process is simplified
  • The clarity and consistency of the regulatory text is improved

More information on the Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2012 and the new requirements for the five substances added in 2016 can be found on the CEPA Registry, or by contacting:

Environment and Climate Change Canada
Chemicals Management Division
351 St. Joseph Boulevard, 10th Floor
Gatineau QC K1A 0H3
Email: ec.interdiction-prohibition.ec@canada.ca

Disclaimer

This document provides highlights of the Amendments regulations and does not include all legal requirements. If there is any inconsistency or conflict between the information contained in this document and the Canada Gazette, Part II (CGII) published text and/or the Justice Canada regulatory text, the CGII and Justice Canada text prevails.

Date modified:

Modifications apportées à l’automne 2016 au Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites (2012)

Des modifications au Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites (2012) ont été publiées le 5 octobre 2016. Les nouvelles exigences entrent en vigueur le 23 décembre 2016.

Le Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites (2012) (le Règlement) vise à prévenir les effets nocifs sur l’environnement au Canada en interdisant la fabrication, l’utilisation, la vente, la mise en vente ou l’importation de substances toxiques, ainsi que des produits qui contiennent ces substances, sauf pour un nombre limité d'exceptions.


Quoi de neuf

Cinq substances ont été ajoutées à la liste des substances interdites

Les modifications interdisent certaines activités concernant les substances suivantes ainsi que les produits qui en contiennent :

  1. Hexabromocyclododécane (HBCD). Les modifications ajoutent l’HBCD aux parties 1 et 3 de l’annexe 1 du règlement interdisant ainsi la fabrication, l’utilisation, la vente, la mise en vente ou l’importation de l’HBCD ainsi que des mousses de polystyrène expansé ou de polystyrène extrudé et des produits intermédiaires de ces mousses destinés au secteur du bâtiment et de la construction.
  2. Acide pentadécafluorooctanoïque, ses sels et ses précurseurs (collectivement appelés APFO). Les modifications ajoutent l’APFO aux parties 1.1 et 2 de l’annexe 2 du règlement, interdisant ainsi la fabrication, l’utilisation, la vente, la mise en vente ou l’importation de l’APFO et des produits qui en contiennent, sauf pour un nombre limité d’exceptions tels les articles manufacturés.
  3. Acides perfluorocarboxyliques à longue chaîne, leurs sels et leurs précurseurs (collectivement appelés APFC à LC). Les modifications ajoutent les APFC aux parties 1.1 et 3 de l’annexe 2 du règlement, interdisant ainsi la fabrication, l’utilisation, la vente, la mise en vente ou l’importation des APFC ou des produits qui en contiennent, sauf pour un nombre limité d’exceptions tels les articles manufacturés.
  4. Polybromodiphényléthers (PBDE). Les modifications abrogent et intègrent le Règlement sur les polybromodiphényléthers, et formulent des exigences supplémentaires en ajoutant les PBDE à la partie 2 de l’annexe 1 du Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites (2012). Ces modifications interdisent la fabrication, l’utilisation, la vente, la mise en vente et l’importation des PBDE, y compris le decaBDE, et les produits qui en contiennent, à l’exception des articles manufacturés.
  5. Sulfonate de perfluorooctane, ses sels et ses précurseurs (collectivement appelés SPFO). Les modifications abrogent et intègrent le Règlement sur le sulfonate de perfluorooctane et ses sels et certains autres composés en ajoutant les SPFO aux parties 1, 1.1. et 3.1 de l’annexe 2 du Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites (2012), et en apportant les trois modifications suivantes :
    1. l’élimination de l’exemption pour l’utilisation, la vente, la mise en vente ou l’importation de liquides hydrauliques destinés au domaine de l’aviation;
    2. l’élimination de l’exemption pour l’utilisation de mousses à formation de pellicule aqueuse contenant des SPFO à bord d’un navire militaire déployé avant mai 2013 dans le cadre d’opérations militaires;
    3. la limite de concentration pour l’utilisation des SPFO dans les mousses à formation de pellicule aqueuse passe de 0,5 ppm à 10 ppm.

Les modifications comprennent aussi les changements suivants :

  • Les dispositions en matière d’accréditation ont été mises à jour afin d’inclure les laboratoires agréés en vertu de Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement du Québec.
  • Les dispositions en matière de tenue des dossiers exigent désormais des entités réglementées qu’elles avisent le ministre lorsque des dossiers sont déplacés.
  • Le processus de demande de permis est simplifié.
  • Le texte réglementaire est plus clair et cohérent.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites (2012) ainsi que sur les nouvelles exigences liées à l’ajout de cinq substances en 2016, veuillez consulter le Registre de la LCPE, ou communiquer avec :

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada
Division de la gestion des produits chimiques
351, boulevard St-Joseph, 10e étage
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H3
Courriel : ec.interdiction-prohibition.ec@canada.ca

Avis de non-responsabilité

Le présent document présente les points saillants du Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites (2012) et ne comporte pas toutes les obligations juridiques. En cas de divergence entre ce document et les textes publiés dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie 2 (GC II), ou tout autre texte de réglementation, la GC II et les textes de Justice Canada l’emportent.

Date de modification :