This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

ARCHIVED - Thermal Power Generation Emissions-National Guidelines for New Stationary Sources

Whereas, pursuant to subsection 54.(1)(c) of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act*, the Minister of the Environment has formulated the annexed revised Thermal Power Generation Emissions-National Guidelines for New Stationary Sources;

Therefore, His Excellency the Governor General in Council, on the recommendation of the Minister of the Environment, pursuant to section 54.(4) of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act*, is pleased hereby to direct that the annexed revised Thermal Power Generation Emissions-National Guidelines for New Stationary Sources be published in the Canada Gazette, Part I.

THERMAL POWER GENERATION EMISSIONS NATIONAL GUIDELINES FOR NEW STATIONARY SOURCES

Foreword

1. (1) During the development of the annexed Guidelines, representatives of the federal and provincial governments, environmental non-govemment organizations and technical personnel from industry were consulted regarding control strategies and technologies for the air pollutants addressed in the Guidelines.

(2) The Minister of the Environment recommends that provincial and territorial air pollution control agencies adopt the annexed Guidelines as minimum standards for new fossil fuel-fired steam generating units within their jurisdiction. However, local conditions, such as density of industrial development, topography and other environmental considerations, may necessitate the adoption of more stringent requirements than those suggested in these Guidelines. [The continual advancement in emission control technologies and strategies should also be taken into account]

Scope

2. (1) The annexed Guidelines indicate the quantities and concentrations above which nitrogen oxides, particulate matter and sulphur dioxide should not be emitted from fossil fuel-fired steam-driven electricity generating units, operated in whole or in part for the purpose of the sale of electricity to industry, commerce, or the public.

(2) The Guidelines are intended to apply to new units only. However, it is recognized that opportunities to reduce emissions may arise during major alterations to an existing fossil fuel-fired steam generating unit. It is therefore recommended that an assessment of the feasibility of emission reduction measures be completed prior to commencing such alterations. This assessment should be undertaken by the owner of the unit in close consultation with the appropriate provincial regulatory authority, and improved emission control measures should be implemented wherever feasible.

(3) The Guidelines are part of continuing efforts to diminish the emissions of air-polluting discharges to the atmosphere, and will contribute to that end by restricting such discharges from future additions to electric generating system capacity. The emission limits recommended herein are achievable using control methods now available to the industry for the abatement of the specified air pollutants.

(4) [Notice of Intent]

[The annexed Guidelines include emission limits for nitrogen oxides, particulate matter and sulphur dioxide based on the emissions performance achievable using current best available economically feasible technologies and strategies. It is intended that the Guidelines will be continually updated to reflect advancements in emission control technologies and strategies over time.]

Interpretation

3. In this document,

"averaging period" means a period for determining emission rates based on 720 operating hours which is further defined below; (période de prise de la moyenne)

"continuous monitoring system" means the complete equipment for sampling, conditioning and analyzing emissions or process parameters and for recording data; (dispositif de surveillance en continu)

"first commercial operation" means the date of the first operation of a steam generating unit at which time electric generating capacity is electrically connected to the transmission and/or distribution systems for the use of tariff- paying customers; (début de 1'exploitation commerciale)

"fossil fuel" means natural gas, petroleum, coal, and any form of gaseous, liquid or solid fuel derived from such for the purpose of creating useful heal; (combustible fossile)

"fossil fuel-fired steam generating unit" means a combustion device used for the purpose of burning fossil fuel, at a rate in excess of 73 megajoules per second heat input, for the purpose of producing steam for utility electric generation; (générateur de vapeur alimenté au combustible fossile)

"ng/J" means nanograms per joule; (ng/J)

"kg/MWh" means kilograms per megawatt-hour, (kg/MWh)

"new fossil fuel-fired steam generating unit" means any fossil fuel-fired steam generating unit including a unit which replaces an existing fossil fuel-fired steam generating unit with equivalent technology or with any other steam generating technology which is based on fossil fuel combustion, for which first commercial operation commences after [ January 1, 2003 ], (nouveau générateur de vapeur alimenté au combustible fossile)

"nitrogen oxides" means all oxides of nitrogen except nitrous oxide, collectively expressed as nitrogen dioxide; (oxydes d'azote)

"opacity" means the degree to which emissions reduce the transmission of light and obscure the view of an object in the background, (opacité)

"720 hour rolling average" means for each pollutant, the average of the consecutive hourly mean emission rates, determined for the preceding 720 hours of system operation. Intervals of zero emissions are not to be included in the calculation of rolling averages. (moyenne mobile sur 720 heures)

Emission Guidelines

4. The hourly mean rate of discharge of air contaminants emitted into the ambient air from new fossil fuel-fired utility steam generating units should not exceed the following, when determined over successive averaging periods as previously defined:

(1) For sulphur dioxide: All generating units should meet an emission limit in the form of kilograms per megawatt-hour net energy output (kg/MWh), calculated by multiplying a reference emission rate, in nanograms per joule of energy input (ng/J), by the reference net heat rate of 9.4 gigajoules per megawatt-hour (GJ/MWh)

The reference emission rate determined for each plant should be equal to or less than:

(a) [ 520 - 400 ] ng/J of heat input and [ 10 - 5 ] percent of the uncontrolled emission rate ([ 90 - 95 ] percent reduction), or

(b) [ 260 - 200 ] ng/J of heat input and [ 30 - 20 ] percent of the uncontrolled emission rate ([ 70 - 80 ] percent reduction), or

(c) 50 nanograms per joule

The uncontrolled emission rate of sulphur dioxide should be calculated by dividing the sulphur concentration of the fuel (%S) by the higher heating value of the fuel (megajoules per kilogram, MJ/kg) and by the ratio of the molecular masses of sulphur dioxide and sulphur (SO2:S::2:1).

(2) For Nitrogen Oxides expressed as NO2: All generating units should not exceed the emission rate of [ 0.47 - 0.66 ] kg/MWh net energy output.

5. The rate of discharge of particulate matter into the ambient air from new fossil fuel-fired utility steam generating units should not exceed [ 0.075 - 0.12 ] kg/MWh net energy output.

Opacity

6. All new sources fired with solid fossil fuel or liquid fossil fuel should not emit visible emissions with opacity greater than 20%, except that the opacity may increase to 40% for not more than six (6) minutes in any sixty (60) minute period.

Compliance

7. (1) Natural variations in coal constituents can cause emissions to vary and make enforcement on an hourly or daily basis impractical. However, calculating the 720 hour rolling average allows the regulatory agency to be informed daily, for each unit, of the maximum average emission rate in the previous 24 hours, since the rolling average must be calculated hourly, on the previous 720 hours’ emission values.

(2) It is recognized that the emission guidelines suggested in sections 4, 5 and 6 may he exceeded:

(a) in the event of malfunction or breakdown in air pollution control equipment; and

(b) in the event of start-up or shutdown in the operation of the source.

These events should be minimized, both as to frequency of occurrence and duration of each event.

Emission Testing

8. (1) For the purposes of sections 4, 5 and 6, emission tests should be conducted and a written report of results submitted to the appropriate regulatory agency within 180 days from first commercial operation of a fossil fuel- fired steam generating unit and at such other times as the regulatory agency may require.

(2) Emission tests required under subsection 8(1) should be carried out in the following manner for:

(a) nitrogen oxides in accordance with the the Environment Canada report EPG 1/PG/7, "Protocols and Performance Specifications for Continuous Monitoring of Gaseous Emissions from Thermal Power Generation", as amended from time to time;

(b) particulate matter in accordance with the reference method specified in the Environment Canada report EPS 1/RM/8, "Reference Methods for Source Testing: Measurement of Releases of Particulate from Stationary Sources", as amended from time to time;

(c) sulphur dioxide in accordance with the Department of the Environment report "Protocols and Performance Specifications for Continuous Monitoring of Gaseous Emissions from Thermal Power Generation", as amended from time to time;

(d) visible emissions should be measured in accordance with the reference method specified in the Department of the Environment Report EPS 1-AP-75-2, "Standard Reference Methods for Source Testing: Measurement of Opacity of Emissions from Stationary Sources", as amended from time to time.

Emission Monitoring

9. (1) A continuous monitoring system for measuring the opacity of emissions should be installed on each new source fired with solid fossil fuel or liquid fossil fuel. The installation and operation of the system should be in accordance with the performance specification for transmissometer systems established by the appropriate regulatory agency.

(2) A continuous system for measuring sulphur dioxide should be installed on each new source fired with solid fossil fuel or liquid fossil fuel. The installation and operation of the system should be in accordance with the Environment Canada report EPG 1/PG/7, "Protocols and Performance Specifications for Continuous Monitoring of Gaseous Emissions from Thermal Power Generation", as amended from time to time.

(3) A continuous monitoring system for measuring nitrogen oxides should be installed on each new source. The installation and operation of the system should be in accordance with the Environment Canada report EPG 1/PG/7, "Protocols and Performance Specifications for Continuous Monitoring of Gaseous Emissions from Thermal Power Generation", as amended from time to time.

(4) All continuous monitoring systems should be installed, calibrated and operating prior to the emission tests required under subsection 7(l). During the emission tests or within 30 days thereafter, and at such other times as may be required, an evaluation of the performance of the continuous monitoring systems should be conducted in accordance with the requirements and procedures set out in the Department of the Environment report "Protocols and Performance Specifications for Continuous Monitoring of Gaseous Emissions from Thermal Power Generation", as amended from time to time. A written report of the results should be prepared and submitted, within sixty (60) days of the evaluation, to the appropriate regulatory agency.

Notification and Record Keeping

10. (1) The emission rates for each pollutant included in these Guidelines, determined by rolling averages, should be sent to the appropriate regulatory authority at least every calendar quarter.

(2) Operators should keep records of malfunction and breakdowns and should report each occurrence, at least every calendar quarter, to the appropriate regulatory agency.

(3) The appropriate regulatory authority should be furnished with the following written notifications for sources subject to the provisions of these Guidelines:

(a) notification of the proposed construction, replacement or major modification of a fossil fuel-fired steam generating unit;

(b) notification of the anticipated date of first commercial operation of the source, postmarked not less than 30 days prior to such date; and

(c) notification of the date of any performance tests and evaluations of continuous monitoring system performance, postmarked not less than 30 days prior to such date.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

ARCHIVÉ - Lignes directrices nationales sur les émissions des centrales thermiques nouvelles

Attendu que, en vertu de l’alinéa 54(l)c) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement*, le ministre de l'Environnement a formulé la version révisée ci-après des Lignes directrices nationales sur les émissions des centrales thermiques nouvelles.

À ces causes, sur recommandation du ministre de l'Environnement et en vertu du paragraphe 54(4) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de 1'environnement*, il plaît à Son Excellence le gouverneur en conseil d'ordonner que soit publiée, dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, la version révisée ci-après des Lignes directrices nationales sur les émissions des centrales thermiques nouvelles.

LIGNES DIRECTRICES NATIONALES SUR LES EMISSIONS DES CENTRALE.S THERMIQUES NOUVELLES

Avant-propos

1. (1) Au cours de l'élaboration de ces lignes directrices, des représentants du gouvernement fédéral et des provinces, des organismes environnementaux non gouvernementaux ainsi que des membres du personnel technique de l'industrie ont été consultés au sujet des stratégies et techniques de lutte contre les polluants atmosphériques visés.

(2) Le ministre de l'Environnement recommande aux organismes provinciaux et territoriaux de lutter contre la pollution atmosphérique, d'adopter ces lignes directrices comme normes minimales pour les nouveaux générateurs de vapeur alimentés au combustible fossile se trouvant sur le territoire relevant de leur compétence. Toutefois, les conditions locales telles que la densité du développement industriel, la topographie et d'autres facteurs d'ordre environnemental peuvent rendre nécessaire l'adoption d'exigences plus sévères que celles énoncées dans ces lignes directrices. [Le progrès continuel concernant les technologies et les stratégies de réduction des émissions devront aussi être pris en considération].

Domaines d'application

2. (1) Ces lignes directrices précisent les quantités et les concentrations d'oxydes d'azote, de particules et de dioxyde de soufre à ne pas dépasser dans les émissions des générateurs de vapeur alimentés au combustible fossile et exploits en tout ou en partie pour vendre l’électricité produite aux établissements industriels et commerciaux ou au public.

(2) Ces lignes directrices ne visent que les nouveaux générateurs. On reconnaît cependant qu'il est possible de réduire les émissions lors d'importantes modifications effectuées aux générateurs de vapeur existants alimentés au combustible fossile. Il est donc recommandé d'effectuer une évaluation de la faisabilité des mesures de réduction des émissions avant d'entreprendre de telles modifications. Cette évaluation doit être entreprise par le propriétaire du générateur en étroite collaboration avec l'organisme de réglementation provincial approprié, et les mesures de lutte améliorées contre les émissions doivent être mises en application lorsque cela est faisable.

(3) Ces lignes directrices s'inscrivent dans la lutte continue contre les émissions de polluants atmosphériques, contribuant à leur diminution et limitant les rejets des générateurs qui viennent s'ajouter au parc existant. Les limites recommandées peuvent être atteintes à l'aide des méthodes actuellement disponibles dans l'industrie pour la réduction des émissions des polluants visés.

(4) [Avis d’intention] [Ces lignes directrices précisent les limites d’émissions d’oxydes d’azote, de particules et de dioxydes de soufre fondées sur la performance actuelle des meilleurs technologies disponibles économiquement réalisables. On prévoit que les lignes directrices seront continuellement mises à jour de façon à tenir compte des progrès technologiques et stratégiques de réduction des émissions].

Définitions

3. Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent au présent document :

« combustible fossile » Le gaz naturel, le pétrole, le charbon et tout dérivé gazeux, liquide ou solide, servant à produire de la chaleur utile. (fossil fuel)

« début de l'exploitation commerciale » Date de démarrage d'un générateur de vapeur à laquelle les clients sont branchés à la centrale électrique par le réseau de transmission ou de distribution. (first commercial operation)

« dispositif de surveillance en continu » Équipement d'échantillonnage, de traitement et d'analyse des émissions ou des paramètres d'exploitation et d'enregistrement des données. (continuous monitoring system)

« générateur de vapeur alimenté au combustible fossile » Dispositif de combustion servant à brûler du combustible fossile, à un rythme supérieur à 73 mégajoules par seconde d'apport de chaleur en vue de produire de la vapeur pour produire de l'électricité de service. (fossilfuel-fired steam generating unit)

« kg/MWh » Kilogrammes par mégawatt-heure. (kg/MWh)

« moyenne mobile sur 720 heures » Pour chaque polluant, moyenne des émissions moyennes horaires consécutives des 720 heures précédentes de fonctionnement du système. Les intervalles d'émission nulle ne doivent pas servir au calcul de la moyenne mobile. (720 hour rolling average)

« ng/J » Nanogrammes par joule. (ng/J)

« nouveau générateur de vapeur alimenté au combustible fossile » Générateur de vapeur alimenté au combustible fossile, y compris un générateur qui remplace un générateur de vapeur existant alimenté au combustible fossile par une technologie équivalente ou par toute autre technologie de production de vapeur basée sur la combustion de combustibles fossiles, dont le début de l'exploitation commerciale est ultérieur au 1er janvier2003. (new fossil fuel-fired steam generating unit)

« opacité » Intensité avec laquelle les émissions nuisent au passage de la lumière et cachent un objet en arrière-plan. (opacity)

« oxydes d'azote » Tous les oxydes d'azote, sauf l'oxyde de diazote, exprimés collectivement sous forme de dioxyde d'azote. (nitrogen oxides)

« période de prise de la moyenne » Période sur laquelle on établit le taux d'émission sur une durée de 720 heures d'exploitation,

défini précédemment. (averaging period)

Lignes directrices

4. Les émissions de polluants dans l'air ambiant des nouveaux générateurs de vapeur alimentés au combustible fossile ne devraient pas dépasser le taux moyen horaire suivant déterminé au cours de périodes successives de prise de la moyenne :

(1) Dans le cas du dioxyde de soufre : tous les générateurs doivent respecter une limite d’émission exprimée sour la forme d’un rendement énergétique net en kilogrammes par mégawatt-heure, qu’on calcule en multipliant un taux d’émission de référence, exprimé en nanogrammes par joule d’apport d’énergie (ng/J), par le rendement thermique net de 9,4 gigajoules par mégawatt-heure (GJ/MWh).

Le taux d’émission de référence déterminé pour chaque installation doit être égal ou inférieur à :

a) [ 520 - 400 ] ng/J d’apport de chaleur et à [ 10 - 5 ] pour cent du taux d’émission brute (réduction de [ 90 - 95 ] pour cent)

ou

b) [ 260 - 200 ] ng/J d’apport de chaleur et à [ 30 - 20 ] pour cent du taux d’émission brute (réduction de [ 70 - 80 ]) pour cent

ou

c) 50 nanogrammes par joule.

Il faut calculer le taux d’émission brute de dioxyde de soufre en divisant la teneur en soufre ( en %) du combustible par la valeur la plus élevée du pouvoir calorifique du combustible (en mégajoules par kilogramme, MJ/kg) et par le rapport des masses moléculaires relatives du dioxyde de soufre et du soufre (SO2 :S : :2 :1).

(2) Dans le cas des oxydes d'azote exprimés en N0: Le taux d’émission des générateurs ne doit pas excéder le rendement énergétique net de [ 0,47 - 0,66 ] kg/MWh.

5. Le taux d'émission des particules émises dans l'air ambiant pour les nouveaux générateurs de vapeur alimentés au combustible fossile ne doit pas dépasser le rendement énergétique net de [ 0,075 - 0,12 ] kg/MWh.

Opacité

6. L'opacité des émissions visibles des sources nouvelles alimentées au combustible fossile solide ou liquide ne doit pas dépasser 20 %; elle peut atteindre 40 % pendant un maximum de six (6) minutes au cours d'une période de soixante (60) minutes.

Exécution

7. (1) Les variations naturelles de la composition du charbon peuvent faire varier le taux des émissions et rendre impraticable la mise en vigueur des limites horaires ou journalières. Toutefois, le calcul d'une moyenne mobile établie sur 720 heures permet à l'organisme de réglementation d'être informé quotidiennement des émissions moyennes maximales de chaque générateur au cours des 24 heures antérieures, étant donné que cette moyenne doit être calculée à chaque heure à partir des quantités émises au cours des 720 heures précédentes.

(2) Il est reconnu que les limites d'émissions proposées aux articles 4, 5 et 6 peuvent être dépassées :

a) en cas de mauvais fonctionnement ou de panne des dispositifs antipollution;

b) en cas de démarrage ou d'arrêt du fonctionnement de la source.

La fréquence et la durée de ces événements doivent être réduites au minimum.

Contrôle ponctuel des émissions

8. (1) Aux fins des articles 4, 5 et 6, des contrôles doivent être réalisés et un rapport écrit des résultats doit être présenté à l'organisme de réglementation compétent moins de 180 jours à compter du début de l'exploitation commerciale d'un générateur de vapeur alimenté au combustible fossile et à tout autre moment exigé par l'organisme de réglementation.

(2) Les contrôles exigés aux termes du paragraphe 8(l) doivent être réalisés de la manière suivante :

a) pour ce qui est des oxydes d'azote, conformément au rapport d'Environnement Canada intitulé Protocoles et spécifications pour la surveillance en continu des émissions gazeuses des centrales thermiques (EPG 1/PG/7), compte tenu de ses modifications successives;

a) en ce qui concerne les particules, conformément à la méthode de référence exposée dans le rapport SPE 1/RM/8 d’Environnement Canada intitulé Méthodes de référence en vue d'essais aux sources : mesure des émissions de particules provenant de sources fixes, compte tenu de ses modifications successives;

b) en ce qui concerne le dioxyde de soufre, conformément au rapport d'Environnement Canada intitulé Protocoles et spécifications pour la surveillance en continu des émissions gazeuses des centrales thermiques, compte tenu de ses modifications successives;

d) en ce qui concerne les émissions visibles, conformément à la méthode de référence exposée dans le rapport SPE 1-AP-75-2 d'Environnement Canada intitulé Méthodes normalisées de référence pour le contrôle de l'opacité des émissions provenant de sources fixes, compte tenu de ses modifications successives.

Surveillance en continu des émissions

9. (1) Chaque source nouvelle alimentée au combustible fossile solide ou liquide doit être dotée d'un dispositif de surveillance en continu de l'opacité des émissions, dont l'installation et le fonctionnement doit être conformes aux spécifications concernant le fonctionnement des transmissiomètres, établies par l'organisme de réglementation compétent.

(2) Chaque source nouvelle alimentée au combustible fossile solide ou liquide doit être dotée d'un dispositif de surveillance en continu des émissions de dioxyde de soufre, dont l'installation et le fonctionnement doivent être conformes au rapport d'Environnement Canada intitulé Protocoles et spécifications pour la surveillance en continu des émissions gazeuses des centrales thermiques (EPG 1/PG/7), compte tenu de ses modifications successives.

(3) Chaque source nouvelle doit être dotée d'un dispositif de surveillance en continu des émissions d'oxydes d'azote, dont l'installation et le fonctionnement doivent être conformes au rapport d'Environnement Canada intitulé Protocoles et spécifications pour la surveillance en continu des émissions gazeuses des centrales thermiques (EPG 1/PG/7), compte tenu de ses modifications successives.

(4) Les dispositifs de surveillance en continu doivent être installés et étalonnés et doivent commencer à fonctionner avant le début des contrôles prescrits au paragraphe 7(l). Au cours des contrôles ponctuels ou moins de 30 jours après, et à tout moment qui pourra être exigé, ces dispositifs doivent être évalués conformément aux exigences et aux procédures établies dans le rapport du ministère de l'Environnement intitulé Protocoles et spécifications pour la surveillance en continu des émissions gazeuses des centrales thermiques, compte tenu de ses modifications successives. Un rapport écrit des résultats doit être rédigé et remis, moins de 60 jours après l'évaluation, à l'organisme de réglementation compétent.

Avertissements et dossiers

10. (1) Le taux d'émission de chaque polluant visé par les présentes lignes directrices, déterminé par les moyennes mobiles, doit être communiqué à l'organisme de réglementation compétent au moins à tous les trimestres de l'année civile.

(2) Les exploitants des installations doivent conserver les dossiers des pannes et des mauvais fonctionnements, et signaler chaque cas au moins à tous les trimestres de l'année civile à l'organisme de réglementation compétent.

(3) L’organisme de réglementation compétent doit être averti par écrit au sujet des sources visées par les présentes lignes directrices :

a) du projet de construire, de remplacer ou de modifier de façon importante un générateur de vapeur alimenté au combustible fossile;

b) de la date prévue de mise en exploitation de la source, pas moins de 30 jours avant cette date, comme en fait foi le cachet d'oblitération;

c) de la date de toute évaluation (du fonctionnement et autres) des dispositifs de surveillance en continu pas moins de 30 jours avant cette date, comme en fait foi le cachet d'oblitération.

* Loi du Canada 1999, ch. 33

Date de modification :