Progress report on the Code of practice for the management of tetrabutyltin in Canada

For PDF version - 240 KB

Introduction

Organotin substances are tin compounds having 1, 2, 3 or 4 organic groups attached and are designated as mono-, di-, tri- or tetraorganotin, depending on the number of tin-carbon bonds in the molecule. Organotins are mainly used in the vinyl processing industry and as pesticides. Tetrabutyltin, the substance that is the subject of this report, has the chemical formula (C4H9)4Sn and is used in Canada as a starting material for the synthesis of mono- and dibutyltin compounds for use in polyvinyl chloride (PVC) processing.

Pursuant to section 68 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999), a Follow-up to the 1993 Ecological Assessment of Organotin Substances on Canada’s Domestic Substances List (PDF; 267 KB) was published by Environment Canada in the Canada Gazette, Part I, on August 8, 2009. The assessment report concluded that tetrabutyltin meets the criterion set out in paragraph 64(a) of CEPA 1999. It was also found that tetrabutyltin can be harmful to sensitive aquatic organisms at low concentrations. There is further concern with this substance if released into the environment because commercial formulations of tetrabutyltin may contain up to 30% of tributyltins, and tetrabutyltin can break down by dealkylation into tributyltins. Tributyltins are substances that were also assessed and were found to meet the criterion set out in paragraph 64(a) and also meet the criteria for persistence and bioaccumulation as defined by the Persistence and Bioaccumulation Regulations made under CEPA 1999.

To meet the objective of achieving the lowest level of releases that are technically and economically feasible, as identified in the Risk Management Approach for Non-Pesticidal Organotin Compounds (PDF; 153 KB) dated August 2009, Environment Canada published in November 2011 a Code of practice for the management of tetrabutyltin in Canada (PDF; 444 KB) (herein referred to as the “Code of practice”).

Approximately one year after the publication of the Code of practice, Environment Canada conducted a site visit to the only facility to which the Code of practice applied. The purpose of this visit was to determine the degree of implementation of the Code of practice at this facility. This report outlines the result of the visit.


Purpose of the Code of practice

The purpose of the Code of practice is to minimize releases of tetrabutyltin to the aquatic environment by identifying best management procedures and practices for activities involving the import, distribution, manufacture and use of tetrabutyltin. The Code of practice does not apply to importers of the substance as a component of dry blended vinyl compounds, or to the transportation of tetrabutyltin given that this matter is addressed by the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Regulations (PDF; 8.3 MB).

This Code of practice provides best management practices for the following activities: packaging, storage and secondary containment; handling and dispensing; uncontrolled, unplanned or accidental releases. It also details best management practices concerning empty packaging, waste disposal, record keeping, reporting, training and management systems.


Targets

When the Code of practice was published, Environment Canada indicated that facilities covered by the Code of practice, at the time of its publication, would have one year after its publication to implement its requirements. It was also noted that, to determine the degree of implementation, facilities covered by the Code of practice may be requested after that period to submit documentation on how the main elements of the Code of practice were implemented. Upon reviewing this documentation, a follow-up site visit may be conducted by Environment Canada.


Results

One year following the publication of the Code of practice, only one facility in Canada used tetrabutyltin. After reviewing the documentation that was submitted by the facility, Environment Canada officials conducted a site visit to the facility on March 20, 2013, to confirm that the Code of practice was being implemented. During the site visit, the verifiers identified 10 areas for improvement. Following the visit, the facility provided supporting documentation demonstrating that all of the 10 areas for improvement had been addressed by August 2013. Following the review of this documentation, Environment Canada concluded that the facility can be considered as having fully implemented all of the procedures and practices in the Code of practice.


Conclusion

By implementing all applicable best management practices of the Code of practice, which was confirmed by Environment Canada’s verification, the facility contributed to the achievement of the risk management objective of minimizing releases of tetrabutyltin to the aquatic environment.


Next steps

To ensure the continuous implementation of the Code of practice, Environment Canada may request supporting documentation in the future from the current facility covered by the Code of practice.

If there are any new activities involving tetrabutyltin in Canada, the facilities covered by the Code of practice will be requested to submit documentation on how its main elements are being implemented.


Contact

Plastics Unit
Chemical Production Division
Environment Canada
351 St. Joseph Blvd., 11th Floor
Gatineau QC  K1A 0H3
Email: pgpc-cmp.dppc-cpd@ec.gc.ca


Background

Between August 1994 and March 2000, the Minister of the Environment received notifications for nine organotin substances as “new” and/or “transitional” substances pursuant to subsection 26(2) of the 1988 Canadian Environmental Protection Act (CEPA 1988), now subsection 81(1) of CEPA 1999 (the statute that has repealed and replaced CEPA 1988). These substances were proposed for importation or manufacture in Canada for the following uses: as stabilizers for PVC products; as intermediates used in the manufacture of organotin stabilizers, which was the case of tetrabutyltin; and as material preservatives for building material formulations.

These new and transitional substances were assessed, and it was concluded that the nine substances, including tetrabutyltin, are entering or may enter the environment in a quantity or concentration or under conditions that have or may have an immediate or long-term harmful effect on the environment or its biological diversity. Therefore, these substances met the criterion set out in paragraph 64(a) of CEPA 1999.

On March 23, 2005, a Notice under subsection 84(5) of CEPA 1999 was published in the Canada Gazette, Part I. It specifies the conditions under Ministerial Condition No. 13618 pertaining to the use, release and disposal of tetrabutyltin in Canada.

Following the publication of the Code of practice, the Ministerial Condition for tetrabutyltin was rescinded on December 15, 2012, given that the Code of practice has incorporated most of the main elements of the requirements of the Ministerial Condition and that it applies to all importers, distributors, manufacturers and users of tetrabutyltin in Canada. Tetrabutyltin was subsequently listed on the Domestic Substances List on February 26, 2014.

Date modified:

Rapport d’étape sur le Code de pratique pour la gestion du tétrabutylétain au Canada

Version PDF - 316 Ko

Introduction

Les substances organostanniques sont des composés de l’étain ayant un, deux, trois ou quatre groupements organiques rattachés et sont désignés mono-, di-, tri- ou tétraorganostanniques selon le nombre de liaisons carbone-étain dans la molécule. Les substances organostanniques sont surtout utilisées dans l’industrie de la transformation du vinyle et comme pesticides. Le tétrabutylétain, la substance qui fait l’objet du présent rapport et dont la formule chimique est (C4H9)4Sn, est utilisé au Canada comme produit de départ pour la synthèse des composés des mono- et des dibutylétains utilisés dans le traitement du poly(chlorure de vinyle) (PVC).

Conformément à l’article 68 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)], un Suivi de l’évaluation de 1993 du risque écologique des substances organostanniques inscrites sur la Liste intérieure des substances du Canada (PDF; 287 ko) a été publié par Environnement Canada dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada, le 8 août 2009. Le rapport d’évaluation conclut que le tétrabutylétain satisfait au critère énoncé à l’alinéa 64a) de la LCPE (1999). Le rapport indique également qu’à de faibles concentrations, le tétrabutylétain peut être nocif pour les organismes aquatiques sensibles. Cette substance suscite d’autres préoccupations quant à son rejet éventuel dans l’environnement, car les préparations commerciales de tétrabutylétain peuvent contenir jusqu’à 30 % de tributylétains, et le tétrabutylétain peut se dégrader en tributylétains par désalkylation. Les tributylétains sont des substances qui ont aussi été évaluées et qui satisfont au critère établi à l’alinéa 64a) et aux critères de persistance et de bioaccumulation définis par le Règlement sur la persistance et la bioaccumulation en vertu de la LCPE (1999).

Pour atteindre l’objectif qui consiste à obtenir le plus bas niveau de rejets possible sur les plans technique et économique, défini dans l’Approche de gestion des risques pour les composés organostanniques non pesticides (PDF; 152 ko) d’août 2009, Environnement Canada a publié en novembre 2011 un Code de pratique pour la gestion du tétrabutylétain au Canada (PDF; 429 ko) (ci-après appelé le « Code de pratique »).

Environ un an après la publication du Code de pratique, Environnement Canada a effectué une visite de site à la seule installation à laquelle le Code de pratique s’appliquait pour déterminer son degré de mise en œuvre. Ce rapport présente les résultats de la visite.


But du Code de pratique

Le but du Code de pratique est de minimiser les rejets de tétrabutylétain dans le milieu aquatique en établissant les meilleures procédures et pratiques de gestion pour les activités d’importation, de distribution, de fabrication et d’utilisation de tétrabutylétain. Le Code de pratique ne s’applique pas aux importateurs de cette substance en tant que composant des mélanges à sec de composés de vinyle, ni au transport de tétrabutylétain étant donné que cette dernière activité est visée par le Règlement sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses (PDF; 9,4 mo).

Le Code de pratique préconise les meilleures pratiques de gestion pour les activités suivantes : emballage, entreposage et confinement secondaire; manutention et distribution; rejets incontrôlables, imprévus ou accidentels. Il décrit également les meilleures pratiques de gestion concernant les emballages vides, l’élimination des déchets, la tenue des dossiers et la production de rapports, la formation et les systèmes de gestion.


Cibles

Lorsque le Code de pratique a été publié, Environnement Canada a indiqué que les installations visées par celui-ci, au moment de sa publication, auraient un an à compter de sa publication pour le mettre en œuvre. Il a également été noté que, pour déterminer le degré de mise en œuvre, les installations visées par le Code de pratique peuvent devoir, après cette période, soumettre des documents sur la façon dont elles ont mis en œuvre les principaux éléments du Code de pratique. Suite à l’examen de ces documents, une visite de suivi pourrait être effectuée sur les lieux par Environnement Canada.


Résultats

Un an après la publication du Code de pratique, une seule installation au Canada utilisait le tétrabutylétain. Après avoir passé en revue les documents qui ont été soumis par l’installation, les agents d’Environnement Canada se sont rendus sur les lieux le 20 mars 2013 pour confirmer que le Code de pratique était mis en œuvre. Au cours de la visite du site, les vérificateurs ont relevé dix points à améliorer. À la suite de cette visite, l’installation a fourni de la documentation à l’appui démontrant que les dix points à améliorer avaient été corrigés en date d’août 2013. Suite à la revue de cette documentation, Environnement Canada a conclu que l’on peut considérer que l’installation a intégralement mis en œuvre toutes les procédures et les pratiques du Code de pratique.


Conclusion

En mettant en œuvre toutes les meilleures pratiques de gestion du Code pratique, ce qui a été confirmé par la vérification d’Environnement Canada, l’installation a contribué à l’atteinte de l’objectif de gestion des risques visant à réduire au minimum les rejets de tétrabutylétain dans le milieu aquatique.


Prochaines étapes

Afin d’assurer la mise en œuvre continue du Code de pratique, Environnement Canada peut à l’avenir demander des documents à l’appui de la part de l’installation présentement visée par le Code de pratique.

S’il y a de nouvelles activités concernant le tétrabutylétain au Canada, les installations visées par le Code de pratique devront soumettre des documents sur la façon dont elles ont mis en œuvre les principaux éléments de celui-ci.


Personne-ressource

Unité des plastiques
Division de la production des produits chimiques
Environnement Canada
351, boulevard Saint-Joseph, 11e étage
Gatineau (Québec)  K1A 0H3
Courriel : pgpc-cmp.dppc-cpd@ec.gc.ca


Contexte

Entre août 1994 et mars 2000, le ministre de l’Environnement a reçu des avis concernant neuf substances organostanniques considérées comme « nouvelles » ou faisant l’objet d’une disposition « transitoire » en vertu du paragraphe 26(2) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1988) [LCPE (1988)] – maintenant le paragraphe 81(1) de la LCPE (1999), le régime qui a abrogé et remplacé la LCPE (1988). Il était proposé d’importer ou de fabriquer ces substances au Canada pour les utilisations suivantes : comme stabilisants dans des produits contenant du PVC; comme intermédiaires dans la fabrication de stabilisants organostanniques, ce qui était le cas pour le tétrabutylétain; et comme agents de conservation destinés à des matériaux de construction.

Ces neuf substances nouvelles et transitoires, y compris le tétrabutylétain, ont été évaluées, et les conclusions de l’évaluation sont qu’elles pénètrent ou peuvent pénétrer dans l’environnement en quantité, à une concentration ou dans des conditions qui ont ou peuvent avoir un effet nocif immédiat ou à long terme sur l’environnement ou sa diversité biologique. Par conséquent, elles répondent au critère établi à l’alinéa 64a) de la LCPE (1999).

Le 23 mars 2005, un avis en vertu du paragraphe 84(5) de la LCPE (1999) a été publié dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada. Il précise les conditions se rattachant à la Condition ministérielle no 13618, relativement à l’utilisation, au rejet et à l’élimination du tétrabutylétain au Canada.

À la suite de la publication du Code de pratique, la Condition ministérielle pour le tétrabutylétain a été annulée le 15 décembre 2012, étant donné que le Code de pratique intègre la plupart des principaux éléments des exigences de la Condition ministérielle et qu’il s’applique à tous les importateurs, distributeurs, fabricants et utilisateurs de tétrabutylétain au Canada. Le tétrabutylétain a ensuite été ajouté à la Liste intérieure des substances le 26 février 2014.

Date de modification :