This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Part II: Canada's Draft National Action Plan on Unintentionally Produced Persistent Organic Pollutants

4. Laws and Policies

The efficacy of Canada's programs on toxics is founded on federal, provincial and territorial legislation and policies for the protection of the environment and human health and public transparency. The principal legislation and policies in the context of the National Action Plan are described in the following section.

In Canada, protection of the environment is a responsibility shared by all levels of government (federal, aboriginal, provincial/territorial, regional, municipal), as well as by industry, organized labour groups and individuals. Canadian laws and policies provide the necessary framework to develop and implement strategies to reduce and eliminate unintentionally produced POPs.

4.1 Legislation

4.1.1 Environmental Legislation of the Canadian Government

The Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) is the key legislation used by the Canadian government to protect the environment and human health. The Act embodies a number of fundamental concepts including the precautionary principle; pollution prevention; the control and management of risks from the use and release of toxic substances, pollutants and wastes; and the virtual elimination of toxic substances that are persistent and bioaccumulative, and result primarily from anthropogenic activity. In addition to conventional regulatory instruments, this legislation provides new instruments for the management of toxic substances. These include: environmental objectives, guidelines and codes of practice; agreements (e.g., administrative, equivalency, federal/provincial/territorial); pollution prevention plans; and environmental emergency plans.

The administration of this piece of legislation must be reviewed by Parliament every five years.

This Act is the statutory basis for federal actions on unintentionally produced POPs, which were listed as CEPA toxic substances on the following dates:

  • Dioxins and furans in 199235;
  • PCBs in 198836; and
  • HCB in 2000.

The Compliance and Enforcement Policy for the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, March 2001, ensures environmental laws are adhered to and that compliance and enforcement actions of government are fairly applied.

In addition to CEPA 1999, there is also the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act (CEAA) which provides the legal basis for the federal environmental assessment process. CEAA sets out the responsibilities and procedures for carrying out the environmental assessments of projects which involve federal government decision making. The Act is founded on the following guiding principles:

  • to achieve sustainable development by promoting high quality environmental assessment;
  • to integrate environmental factors into planning and decision-making processes;
  • to anticipate and prevent degradation of environmental quality; and
  • to facilitate public participation in the environmental assessment of projects where the federal government is involved.

4.1.2 Environmental Legislation of the Provinces and Territories

Provinces and territories have legislation and regulations to manage air quality, toxic substances and pesticides. Most provinces and territories have legislation protecting the environment, with regulations that establish permitting or approvals systems for stationary point sources that discharge pollutants to the atmosphere. Most provinces and territories have environmental assessment processes which provide the means to integrate environmental factors into project planning and decision-making.

In nearly all provinces and territories, legislation or regulations require the owners/operators of industrial facilities to obtain operating permits or approvals which can contain emission limits or requirements for any atmospheric pollutant, including hazardous air pollutants. Some provinces, such as Manitoba, list the types of facilities required to have permits or approvals, while others, such as Saskatchewan, impose a general requirement and then list the types of industries excluded from it.

Two basic approaches are used to establish the limits and requirements in permits or approvals - dispersion modeling to estimate levels of pollutants emitted by the facility in the environment and technological and/or process requirements. Most provinces use a combination of these approaches. In most cases, permits or approvals are issued for a set length of time and must then be renewed. For new facilities, most provinces and territories now require 'best available control technology', or similar requirements.

4.2 Policies

In 1995, the Government of Canada adopted the Toxic Substances Management Policy (TSMP).

The Policy has two key management objectives:

  • virtual elimination from the environment of toxic substances that result predominantly from human activity and that are persistent and bioaccumulative (Track 1 substances); and
  • management of other toxic substances and substances of concern, throughout their entire life cycles, to prevent or minimize their release into the environment (Track 2 substances).

This Policy puts forward a preventive and precautionary approach to deal with substances that enter the environment and could harm the environment or human health.

In 1998, the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME) adopted a parallel Policy for the Management of Toxic Substances that establishes an integrated, cooperative and concerted approach for the management of toxic substances. Under this Policy, toxic substances that are persistent and bioaccumulative and that result primarily from human activity (Track 1 substances) are considered to pose an unreasonable and otherwise unmanageable risk to the environment and human health and are targeted for virtual elimination from the environment.

The above policies have established a unified, national approach for the management of toxic substances that are persistent, bioaccumulative, and result primarily from human activity, namely, virtual elimination.

Virtual elimination from the environment of Track 1 substances will be based on strategies to prevent the measurable release of the substance into the environment. While socio-economic factors have no bearing in setting the ultimate objective for Track 1 substances (virtual elimination from the environment), such factors will be taken into account when determining interim targets, appropriate management strategies and timelines for implementation.

Measurable release limits will be developed as appropriate for a Track 1 substance to allow verification that no measurable release has been achieved. These limits will be established in relation to the lowest concentration of a substance that can be accurately detected and quantified using sensitive but routine analytical methods (level of quantification). Levels of quantification have been identified for dioxins/furans in various media, and are presented in the table below. Levels of quantification for HCB and PCB are in varying stages of development and consideration.

SubstanceLevel of Quantification
Gaseous ReleasesLiquidsSoil
PCDD/PCDF32 pg ITEQ/m320 pg ITEQ/L*9 pg ITEQ/g

* Provisional LoQ for PCDD/PCDF in liquids.

The anticipated results from implementation of the TSMPmay be depicted as shown in Figure 4-1.

Figure 4-1: Anticipated Results from Application of the Toxic Substances Management Strategy
Figure 4-1 is a graph showing a trend of decreasing (unquantified) levels  of concentrations of a substance over time to reach levels below the level of quantification


35 Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment, Status of Activities Related to Dioxins and Furans Canada-Wide Standards, Dioxins and Furans Canada-Wide Standards Development Committee, February 2003

36 PCBs were never manufactured in Canada. In Canada, PCBs were the first substances to be regulated under the Environmental Contaminants Act (1976). Their use as a constituent in new products manufactured in or imported to Canada was prohibited by Chlorobiphenyl Regulations No. 1 (1977) and subsequent amendments. CEPA replaced the Environmental Contaminants Act. PCBs were included on the List of Toxic Substances when CEPA was first proclaimed in force in 1988.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Partie II - Ébauche du Plan d'action national du Canada relatif aux polluants organiques persistants produits non intentionnellement

4 Lois et politiques

L'efficacité des programmes canadiens sur les substances toxiques est fondée sur les lois et les politiques fédérales, provinciales et territoriales concernant la protection de l'environnement et de la santé humaine et la transparence publique. Les principales lois et politiques qui se rapportent au Plan d'action national sont décrites dans la section suivante.

Au Canada, la protection de l'environnement est une responsabilité partagée par tous les ordres de gouvernement (fédéral, autochtones, provinciaux, territoriaux, régionaux et municipaux) ainsi que par l'industrie, les groupes syndicaux ouvriers et les particuliers. Les lois et politiques canadiennes fournissent le cadre nécessaire pour élaborer et mettre en oeuvre des stratégies visant à réduire et à éliminer les POP produits involontairement.

4.1 Lois

4.1.1 Lois du gouvernement canadien sur l'environnement

La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] est la principale loi utilisée par le gouvernement canadien pour protéger l'environnement et la santé humaine. La Loi englobe un certain nombre de principes fondamentaux, y compris le principe de prudence; la prévention de la pollution; la gestion et le contrôle des risques résultant de l'utilisation et du rejet de substances toxiques, de polluants et de déchets; et l'élimination virtuelle des substances toxiques persistantes et bioaccumulables ayant principalement pour origine une activité anthropique. En plus des instruments de réglementation classiques, cette loi fournit de nouveaux instruments pour la gestion des substances toxiques : des objectifs environnementaux, des lignes directrices et des codes de pratiques, des accords (administratifs, d'équivalence ou fédéraux-provinciaux-territoriaux), des plans de prévention de la pollution et des plans d'urgence environnementaux.

L'application de ce texte de loi doit être examinée tous les cinq ans par le Parlement. La Loi est le fondement législatif des mesures fédérales prises au sujet des POP produits involontairement qui ont été déclarés toxiques au sens de la LCPE aux dates suivantes :

  • les dioxines et les furannes, en 1992;
  • les BPC, en 19887;
  • l'HCB, en 2000.

La Politique d'observation et d'application de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement de 1999, publiée en mars 2001, assure que les lois sur l'environnement sont respectées et que les mesures prises par le gouvernement en vue de leur observation et de leur application sont équitablement appliquées.

Outre la LCPE (1999), la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale (LCEE) est le fondement législatif du processus fédéral d'évaluation environnementale. La LCEE spécifie les responsabilités et les procédures ayant trait à l'évaluation environnementale des projets nécessitant la prise d'une décision par le gouvernement fédéral. Elle est fondée sur les principes directeurs suivants :

  • réaliser le développement durable en préconisant une évaluation environnementale de haute qualité;
  • prendre en compte des facteurs environnementaux dans les processus de planification et de décision;
  • prévenir la dégradation de l'environnement;
  • favoriser la participation de la population à l'évaluation environnementale des projets auxquels le gouvernement fédéral prend part.

4.1.2 Lois des provinces et des territoires sur l'environnement

Les provinces et les territoires adoptent des lois et des règlements pour gérer la qualité de l'air, les substances toxiques et les pesticides. La plupart de ces instances ont une loi sur la protection de l'environnement comportant des règlements qui établissent des systèmes de permis ou d'autorisations pour les sources ponctuelles fixes qui rejettent des polluants dans l'atmosphère. La plupart des provinces et des territoires ont mis en place des processus d'évaluation environnementale permettant d'intégrer des facteurs environnementaux dans la planification des projets et la prise de décisions à leur sujet.

Dans la plupart des provinces et des territoires, les lois ou les règlements exigent des propriétaires ou des exploitants d'installations industrielles l'obtention de permis ou d'autorisations de fonctionnement pouvant spécifier des limites d'émission ou des exigences concernant n'importe quel polluant atmosphérique, y compris les polluants dangereux. Certaines provinces, comme le Manitoba, énumèrent les types d'installations tenues d'obtenir un permis ou une autorisation, tandis que d'autres, comme la Saskatchewan, imposent une exigence générale, puis énumèrent les types d'industries qui en sont exemptées.

Deux méthodes de base sont employées pour établir les limites et les exigences dans les permis ou les autorisations : la modélisation de la dispersion, pour calculer les quantités de polluants rejetés par l'installation dans l'environnement, et les exigences technologiques ou de procédé. La plupart des provinces utilisent à la fois ces deux méthodes. Le plus souvent, les permis ou les autorisations sont délivrés pour une période de temps fixe et doivent ensuite être renouvelés. Pour les nouvelles installations, la plupart des provinces et des territoires exigent maintenant « les meilleures techniques antipollution disponibles » ou l'équivalent.

4.2 Politiques

En 1995, le gouvernement du Canada a adopté la Politique de gestion des substances toxiques (PGST).

La Politique comporte deux principaux objectifs de gestion :

  • l'élimination virtuelle de l'environnement des substances toxiques qui résultent principalement de l'activité humaine et qui sont persistantes et bioaccumulables (substances de la voie 1);
  • la gestion des autres substances toxiques et des substances préoccupantes pendant tout leur cycle de vie, afin d'empêcher ou de minimiser leur rejet dans l'environnement (substances de la voie 2).

Cette politique se veut une démarche prudente et préventive pour gérer toutes les substances qui pénètrent dans l'environnement et pourraient être nocives pour ce dernier ou la santé humaine.

En 1998, le Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement (CCME) a adopté une Politique de gestion des substances toxiques parallèle qui prévoit une approche intégrée, coopérative et concertée pour la gestion des substances toxiques. Selon cette politique, les substances toxiques persistantes et bioaccumulables qui résultent principalement de l'activité humaine (les substances de la voie 1) présentent un risque déraisonnable et autrement dit impossible à gérer pour l'environnement et la santé humaine, et sont désignées pour l'élimination virtuelle de l'environnement.

Les politiques susmentionnées ont établi une méthode nationale unifiée de gestion des substances toxiques persistantes et bioaccumulables qui résultent principalement de l'activité humaine, c'est-à-dire, l'élimination virtuelle.

L'élimination virtuelle de l'environnement des substances de la voie 1 sera fondée sur des stratégies visant à prévenir le rejet mesurable de la substance dans l'environnement. Bien que les facteurs socioéconomiques n'aient rien à voir avec l'établissement de l'objectif ultime pour ces substances (leur élimination virtuelle), ils doivent être pris en compte dans le choix des objectifs provisoires, des stratégies de gestion convenables et des calendriers de mise en oeuvre.

Des limites pour les rejets mesurables seront fixées au besoin pour une substance de la voie 1 afin de pouvoir vérifier qu'il n'y a eu aucun rejet mesurable. Ces limites seront établies en fonction de la plus faible concentration d'une substance qui peut être décelée et mesurée avec précision au moyen de méthodes d'analyse sensibles, mais courantes (limite de dosage). Des limites de dosage ont été établies pour les dioxines et les furannes dans divers milieux et sont indiquées dans le tableau ci-dessous. Les limites de dosage pour l'HCB et les BPC sont à diverses étapes de l'élaboration et de l'examen.

SubstanceLimite de dosage
Rejets gazeuxLiquideSol
PCDD/PCDF32 pg EQTI/m320 pg EQTI/L*9 pg EQTI/g

* Limite de dosage provisoire pour les PCDD et les PCDF dans les liquides.

Les résultats prévus de la mise en oeuvre de la PGSTpeuvent être décrits tels qu'indiqués à la figure 4-1.

Figure 4 1 : Résultats prévus de l'application de la stratégie de gestion des substances toxiques
La figure 4-1 est une graphe démontrant les tendances vers l'élimination virtuelle de l'environnement pour les concentrations actuelles des substances avec l'application de la stratégie de gestion des substances toxiques


7 Les BPC n'ont jamais été fabriqués au Canada. Ce sont les premières substances à être réglementées en vertu de la Loi sur les contaminants de l'environnement (1976). Leur utilisation comme constituants dans les nouveaux produits fabriqués ou importés au Canada a été interdite par le Règlement no 1 sur les biphényles chlorés (1977) et ses modifications. La LCPE a remplacé la Loi sur les contaminants de l'environnement. Les BPC ont été inscrits sur la Liste des substances toxiques lorsque la LCPE est entrée en vigueur en 1988.

Date de modification :