This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Drafting Instructions - Cross-Cutting Provisions: Large Final Emitters Regulations

(Note: These are proposed drafting instructions for the cross-cutting provisions of the proposed regulations for the Large Final Emitters system. Final regulatory wording may differ from what is found in this document.)

PDF format (60 KB)

Table of Contents

Interpretation

1. The following definitions apply in these regulations.

"Assigned Amount Unit" (AAU) means a unit issued pursuant to Article 3 of the Kyoto Protocol and is equal to one metric tonne of carbon dioxide equivalent calculated using the global warming potentials as defined in Schedule 1.

"Certified Emission Reduction" (CER) means a unit that has been issued pursuant to a Clean Development Mechanism project, as defined by Article 12 of the Kyoto Protocol and is equal to one metric tonne of carbon dioxide equivalent calculated using the global warming potentials as defined in Schedule 1.

"carbon dioxide (CO2) equivalent" means an amount of a substance listed in column 1 of Schedule 1 multiplied by the Global Warming Potential listed in column 3.

"compliance unit" means an eligible domestic credit or an eligible Kyoto unit.

"covered activity" means a covered activity specified in any regulation listed in Schedule 2.

"eligible domestic credit" means:

  1. a tradeable unit issued under any program or measure established under section 322 of CEPA, including a temporary domestic credit and is equal to one metric tonne of carbon dioxide equivalent calculated using the global warming potentials as defined in Schedule 1;
  2. a tradeable unit, equal to one metric tonne of carbon dioxide equivalent calculated using the global warming potentials as defined in Schedule 1, issued under section 16 of these regulations; or
  3. a Technology Investment Unit, equal to one metric tonne of carbon dioxide equivalent calculated using the global warming potentials as defined in Schedule 1, issued pursuant to the Greenhouse Gas Technology Investment Fund Act.

"eligible Kyoto unit" means:

  1. an Emission Reduction Unit ("ERU"),
  2. a Removal Unit ("RMU"),
  3. a Certified Emission Reduction Unit ("CER"), including
    1. a temporary Certified Emission Reduction Unit ("tCER"); or
    2. a long-term Certified Emission Reduction Unit ("lCER")
  4. an Assigned Amount Unit ("AAU") that has been designated eligible under section 3 of the Canada Emission Reduction Incentives Act;

"Emission Reduction Unit" (ERU) means a unit that has been issued pursuant to a Joint Implementation project, as defined by Article 6 of the Kyoto Protocol, and is equal to one metric tonne of carbon dioxide equivalent, calculated using the global warming potentials as defined in Schedule 1.

"facility" means any structure, equipment or other necessary physical component of a commercial operation engaged in one or more covered activities.

"greenhouse gas" means a gas listed in column 1 of Schedule 1.

"Kyoto Protocol" means the Kyoto Protocol to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change done at Kyoto on December 11, 1997, and includes any decision related to the implementation of that protocol taken by the "Conference of the Parties serving as the Meeting of the Parties to the Kyoto Protocol", within the meaning of that protocol.

"long-term Certified Emission Reduction unit" (lCER) is a Certified Emission Reduction unit issued for an afforestation or reforestation project activity under the Clean Development Mechanism, as defined by Article 12 of the Kyoto Protocol, which expires at the end of the crediting period for which it was issued.

"operator" means the person who operates or has the charge, management or control of a facility.

"prescribed greenhouse gas emissions" means, in relation to a covered activity, the greenhouse gas emissions specified in the applicable sector-specific regulation that is listed in Schedule 2 and that regulates that activity.

"Removal Unit" (RMU) means a unit issued pursuant to Article 3, paragraphs 3 and 4, of the Kyoto Protocol, where such activities result in a net removal of greenhouse gases, and any relevant provisions for the modalities of accounting of assigned amounts as defined by the Marrakesh Accords to the Kyoto Protocol or subsequent revisions, and is equal to one metric tonne of carbon dioxide equivalent calculated using the global warming potentials as defined in Schedule 1.

"temporary Certified Emission Reduction unit" (tCER) is a Certified Emission Reduction unit issued for an afforestation or reforestation project activity under the Clean Development Mechanism, as defined by Article 12 of the Kyoto Protocol, which expires at the end of the commitment period following the one during which it was issued.

"temporary domestic credit" means a tradeable unit created under section 322 of CEPA that is valid for only one year.

Prohibition to Emit

2. Subject to section 3, no operator shall, in a given calendar year, release prescribed greenhouse gas emissions from covered activities that exceed the aggregate amount calculated by the following equation:

L= The summation of the products of Ai and Bij for increasing values of i and j.

where:
  • i = the ith covered
  • activity
  • j = facility where the operator carries out covered activity i
  • Ai is the emission intensity standard for covered activity i
  • Bij is the physical production for covered activity i that is carried out in facility j

where Ai and Bi are defined in the applicable sector-specific regulation listed in Schedule 2.

Remittance of Compliance Units

3.(1) Despite section 2, when carrying out a covered activity, an operator may release prescribed greenhouse gas emissions in a given calendar year that are in excess of the aggregate amount prescribed in section 2 if the operator remits the required number of compliance units to the Minister.

The required number of compliance units that must be remitted is equal to the difference between the sum of the actual amount of prescribed greenhouse gas emissions released from each covered activity at each facility, as determined by the quantification methods prescribed in the applicable sector-specific regulation specified in Schedule 2, and the prescribed emissions limit set in section 2, where such a difference is a positive number, plus any compliance units the operator is required to remit under sections 5 and 6.

3.(2) Neither the number of temporary Certified Emission Reduction units or long-term Certified Emission Reduction units remitted under section 3(1) shall exceed 30% of the total number of required compliance units.

3.(3) For any given year, temporary Certified Emission Reduction units, long-term Certified Emission Reduction units or temporary domestic credits may not be remitted under section 3(1) if the operator is under the protection of either the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act or the Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act.

4. If the calculation in section 3.(1) results in a number that is not a whole number, it must be rounded to the nearest whole number.

5. An operator who has remitted temporary eligible domestic credits in compliance with these regulations in the previous year must replace the temporary eligible domestic credits by remitting an equivalent number of compliance units to the Minister.

6.An operator who has remitted temporary Certified Emission Reduction units or long-term Certified Emission Reduction units in previous years that have expired in accordance with section 8 or 9 must replace the expired temporary Certified Emission Reduction units or long-term Certified Emission Reduction units by remitting an equivalent number of compliance units to the Minister.

7. An operator required to remit compliance units to the Minister must remit the required number of units before September 30 of the year following the year in which the operator released greenhouse gas emissions under these regulations.

8. Temporary Certified Emission Reduction units remitted to the Minister between 2008 and 2012 shall be deemed to have expired as of January 1, 2017 for the purpose of compliance with these regulations.

9. Long-term Certified Emission Reduction credits remitted to the Minister between 2008 and 2012 shall be deemed to have expired as of the earlier of (a) or (b):

  1. the date that a long-term Certified Emission Reduction credit has been cancelled; or
  2. the date specified by the Clean Development Mechanism Executive Board when it issued the long-term Certified Emission Reduction units.

10. An operator who is no longer engaged in a covered activity and who has remitted temporary domestic credits, temporary Certified Emission Reduction units, or long-term Certified Emission Reduction units for the purpose of complying with these regulations shall, within [30] days, replace these tradeable units with a compliance unit that is not a temporary compliance unit, regardless of whether these units have expired.

11. Where the tCERs and lCERs referred to in section 10 have not expired, the Minister shall transfer the units to an account specified by the operator.

Reporting, Records, and Other Documents

12. Every operator shall submit, for each facility that he or she operates, in a form approved by the Minister, an annual report to the Minister, containing:

    • the facility name;
    • the facility civic and postal address;
    • the two- and four-digit North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes and the six-digit NAICS Canada code;
    • the National Pollutant Release Inventory identification number (if applicable);
    • the name, position, address, telephone, fax number (if any), and e-mail address (if any) of the operator;
    • the name, position, civic and postal address, telephone number, and fax number (if applicable) of the public contact for the operator (if applicable); and
    • the name, position, civic and postal address, telephone number, and fax number (if applicable) of the person authorized to submit the annual report on behalf of the operator (if applicable).

    • the information specified in any regulation listed in Schedule 2 that applies to that facility.

13.The annual report shall be submitted by March 31 of the following calendar year.

14. The operator of a facility shall keep a copy of the annual report in section 12 and all records, books of account or other documents required by these regulations and any applicable regulations in Schedule 2, including calculations, measurements and any other data on which the information is based, at the facility to which it relates or, upon notice to the Minister, at any other location in Canada, for a period of not less than seven years from the year for which the information in the report applies.

15. The operator shall certify that the information submitted in the annual report is accurate and complete. The report shall be signed and dated or certified by means of a secure electronic signature by:

  1. in the case of a corporation, a person authorized to do so; and
  2. in any other case, the person submitting the report, or by a person authorized to act on behalf of that person.

Issuance of Domestic Credits

16. If the result of the calculation in section 3(1) is a negative number, the Minister shall create and issue to that operator eligible domestic credits equal to the absolute value of the amount calculated in metric tonnes of carbon dioxide equivalent.

17. The Minister shall issue eligible domestic credits to an operator under section 16 within 60 days of submission of the annual report.

18. The Minister may refuse to issue or may cancel an eligible domestic credit issued to an operator pursuant to these regulations if any false or misleading information material to credit entitlement has been submitted by the operator receiving the eligible domestic credits.

19. The Minister shall not refuse to issue, or shall not cancel a domestic credit issued pursuant to these regulations, unless the Minister:

  1. has provided the operator with written reasons for refusing to issue the domestic credit or for cancelling it; and
  2. has allowed that operator a period of at least 30 days after sending the notice in which to make oral or written representations in respect of the refusal or cancellation.

Change in Operator

20. When there is a change in the operator of a facility that is subject to these regulations the obligation to comply with these regulations with respect to that facility for the year in which the change of operator occurs shall rest with the person who is the operator on December 31 of that year.

Requests for Confidentiality

21. The proposed regulations would contain provisions regarding requests for confidential treatment of data.

NOTE: Penalty provisions are provided for in the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, and therefore do not appear in the regulations.

Schedule 1 (Section 1)

Data for the determination of CO2 equivalent greenhouse gas
ItemColumn 1
Greenhouse Gas
Column 2
Formula
Column 3
Global Warming Potential
1.Carbon dioxideCO21
2.MethaneCH421
3.Nitrous oxideN2O310
4.Sulphur hexafluorideSF623,900
Hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs)
5.HFC-134aC2H2F4
(CH2FCF3)
1,300
Perfluorocarbons (PFCs)
6.PerfluoromethaneCF46,500
7.PerfluoroethaneC2F69,200


Schedule 2 (Section 1)

List of Sector-Specific Greenhouse Gas Emission Regulations
ItemColumn 1
Name of Regulation
1.Placeholder for name of sector-specific regulation
For example, the Electrolytic Magnesium Greenhouse Gas Emission Regulations.
2. 
3. 



If you have any questions or comments regarding the Large Final Emitters System, you can direct your message to:

Greenhouse Gas Reductions Directorate
Environment Canada
155 Queen Street, 2nd floor
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0E3

Tel: 613-943-1704
Fax: 613-995-3663
E-mail: lfe-gef@ec.gc.ca

For general information on climate change, please visit the Climate Change web site of Canada or call 1 800 O Canada (8000-622-6232).

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Instructions relatives à la rédaction dispositions transsectorielles règlement sur les grands émetteurs finaux

(Remarque : Le présent projet d'instructions porte sur la rédaction des dispositions transsectorielles du projet de règlement sur les grands émetteurs finaux. Le texte définitif du règlement pourra différer de celui qu'on peut lire dans le présent document.)

Format PDF (60 Ko)

Table des matières

Définitions

1. Les définitions suivantes s'appliquent au présent règlement.

« unité de quantité attribuée » (UQA) Une unité attribuée conformément à l'article 3 du Protocole de Kyoto et qui est égale à une tonne métrique d'équivalent dioxyde de carbone, calculée au moyen des potentiels de réchauffement de la planète tels qu'ils sont définis à l'annexe 1.

« unité de réduction certifiée » (URC) Une unité attribuée conformément à un projet du Mécanisme pour un développement propre, tel que défini par l'article 12 du Protocole de Kyoto, et qui est égale à une tonne métrique d'équivalent dioxyde de carbone, calculée au moyen des potentiels de réchauffement de la planète tels qu'ils sont définis à l'annexe 1.

« équivalent dioxyde de carbone (CO2) » La quantité d'une substance indiquée à la colonne 1 de l'annexe  1, multipliée par le potentiel de réchauffement de la planète indiqué à la colonne 3.

« unité de conformité » Un crédit intérieur admissible ou une unité de Kyoto admissible.

« activité visée » Une activité mentionnée dans l'un ou l'autre des règlements indiqués à l'annexe 2.

« crédit intérieur admissible »

  1. soit une unité échangeable dans le cadre de n'importe quel programme ou mesure établi en vertu de l'article 322 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, incluant les crédits intérieurs temporaires, et qui est égale à une tonne métrique d'équivalent dioxyde de carbone, calculée au moyen des potentiels de réchauffement de la planète tels qu'ils sont définis à l'annexe 1;
  2. soit une unité échangeable égale à une tonne métrique d'équivalent dioxyde de carbone, calculée au moyen des potentiels de réchauffement de la planète tels qu'ils sont définis à l'annexe 1, attribuée en vertu de l'article 16 du présent règlement;
  3. soit une unité d'investissement technologique égale à une tonne métrique d'équivalent en dioxyde de carbone, calculée en utilisant les potentiels de réchauffement du globe définis à l'annexe 1 et attribuée en vertu de la Loi sur le fonds d'investissement technologique pour la lutte aux gaz à effet de serre.

« unité Kyoto admissible » Une des unités suivantes:

  1. une unité de réduction des émissions (URE);
  2. une unité d'absorption (UA);
  3. une unité de réduction certifiée des émissions (URCE), qu'elle soit :
    1. une unité de réduction certifiée des émissions temporaire (URCEt);
    2. une unité de réduction certifiée des émissions à long terme (URCEl)
  4. une unité de quantité attribuée (UQA) désignée admissible en vertu de l'article 3 de la Loi canadienne pour l'incitation à la réduction des émissions.

« unité de réduction des émissions » (URE) Une unité attribuée conformément à un projet d'application conjointe, tel que défini par l'article 6 du Protocole de Kyoto, et qui est égale à une tonne métrique d'équivalent dioxyde de carbone, calculée en utilisant les potentiels de réchauffement du globe définis à l'annexe 1.

« installation » N'importe quelle structure, pièce d'équipement ou autre composante physique nécessaire à l'exploitation commerciale d'une ou de plusieurs activités visées.

« gaz à effet de serre » Un gaz nommé à la colonne 1 de l'annexe 1.

« Protocole de Kyoto » Le Protocole de Kyoto à la Convention-cadre de l'ONU sur les changements climatiques élaboré le 11 décembre 1997 à Kyoto, qui comprend toutes les décisions relatives à sa mise en uvre prises par la « Conférence des parties siégeant à titre de Réunion des parties au Protocole de Kyoto » telle que définie dans ledit protocole.

« unité de réduction certifiée des émissions à long terme » (URCEl) Unité de réduction des émissions certifiée, attribuée à l'égard d'une activité d'un projet de boisement ou de reboisement mise en uvre en vertu du Mécanisme pour un développement propre défini à l'article 12 du Protocole de Kyoto et qui se termine à la fin de la période d'attribution de crédits à l'égard de laquelle elle a été attribuée.

« exploitant » La personne qui exploite une installation ou qui a la charge ou assure la gestion ou le contrôle d'une installation.

« émissions prescrites de gaz à effet de serre » En rapport avec une activité visée, les émissions de gaz à effet de serre précisées dans le règlement sectoriel applicable, indiqué à l'annexe 2 et régissant ladite activité.

« unité d'absorption » (UA) Une unité attribuée conformément aux articles 3 et 4 de l'article 3 du Protocole de Kyoto, lorsque les activités en question donnent lieu à une absorption nette de gaz à effet de serre, de même qu'à toute disposition pertinente concernant les modalités de comptabilisation des quantités attribuées définies par les Accords de Marrakech du Protocole de Kyoto ou des révisions subséquentes. Cette unité est égale à une tonne métrique d'équivalent dioxyde de carbone, calculée en utilisant les potentiels de réchauffement du globe définis à l'annexe 1.

« unité de réduction certifiée des émissions temporaire » (URCEt) Unité de réduction certifiée attribuée à l'égard d'une activité d'un projet de boisement ou de reboisement mise en oeuvre en vertu du Mécanisme pour un développement propre défini à l'article 12 du Protocole de Kyoto et qui se termine à la fin de la période d'engagement suivant celle durant laquelle elle a été attribuée.

« crédit intérieur temporaire » Une unité échangeable créée en vertu de l'article 322 de la LCPE, qui n'est valide que pour une année.

Interdiction d'émettre

2. Sous réserve de l'article 3, aucun exploitant ne peut rejeter, pendant une année civile donnée, une quantité d'émissions de gaz à effet de serre prescrites provenant d'activités visées excédant la quantité totale calculée selon la formule suivante:

L=La sommation des produits de Ai et Bij pour les valeurs incrementantes de i et de j.
Soit:
  • i = l'activité visée i
  • j = installation où l'exploitant exerce l'activité visée en i
  • Ai est la norme sur l'intensité des émissions pour l'activité visée en i
  • Bij est la production physique de l'activité visée i qui est réalisée dans l'installation j

où Ai et Bi sont définis dans le règlement sectoriel applicable indiqué à l'annexe 2.

Remise des unités de conformité

3.(1) (1) Nonobstant l'article 2, lorsqu'il exécute une activité visée, un exploitant peut rejeter des émissions de gaz à effet de serre supérieures à la quantité totale prescrite à l'article 2 s'il remet au ministre le nombre requis d'unités de conformité.

Le nombre requis d'unités de conformité à remettre est égal à la différence entre la somme du montant réel d'émissions prescrites de gaz à effet de serre rejetées par chaque activité visée dans chaque installation, telle que déterminée par les méthodes de quantification prescrites dans le règlement sectoriel applicable précisé à l'annexe 2 et la limite prescrite des émissions énoncée à l'article 2, lorsqu'une telle différence est un nombre positif, auquel on ajoute toute unité de conformité que l'exploitant est tenu de remettre aux termes des articles 5 et 6.

3. (2) Ni le nombre des unités de réduction certifiées temporaires ni celui des unités de réduction certifiées à long terme remises en vertu de l'alinéa 3(1) ne doivent excéder 30 p. 100 du nombre total d'unités de conformité requises.

3. (3) Pour n'importe quelle année, ni les unités de réduction certifiées temporaires, ni les unités de réduction certifiées à long terme ni les crédits intérieurs temporaires ne peuvent être remis en vertu de l'alinéa 3(1) si l'exploitant bénéficie de la protection de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité ou de la Loi sur les arrangements avec les créanciers des compagnies.

4. Si le résultat de la formule indiquée à l'alinéa 3(1) n'est pas un nombre entier, il doit être arrondi au nombre entier le plus près.

5. Un exploitant ayant remis des crédits intérieurs temporaires admissibles conformément à ce règlement durant l'année précédente doit les remplacer en remettant au ministre le nombre équivalent d'unités de conformité.

6.Un exploitant ayant remis, au cours des années précédentes, des unités de réduction certifiées des émissions temporaires ou des unités de réduction certifiées des émissions à long terme qui sont maintenant périmées en vertu des articles 8 ou 9 doit remplacer les unités de réduction certifiées des émissions temporaires ou les unités de réduction certifiées des émissions à long terme périmées en remettant au ministre un nombre équivalent d'unités de conformité.

7. Un exploitant qui doit remettre au ministre des unités de conformité doit remettre le nombre d'unités exigées avant le 30 septembre de l'année suivant celle durant laquelle l'exploitant a émis des gaz à effet de serre en vertu du présent règlement.

8. Les unités de réduction certifiées des émissions temporaires remises au ministre de 2008 à 2012 seront présumées être devenues périmées le 1er janvier 2017 aux fins de conformité au présent règlement.

9. Les crédits de réduction certifiées des émissions à long terme remises au ministre de 2008 à 2012 seront présumés être devenus périmés à la première des deux dates suivantes:

  1. soit la date de l'annulation d'un crédit de réduction certifié des émissions à long terme;
  2. soit la date choisie par le Conseil exécutif du Mécanisme pour un développement propre lors de l'attribution des unités de réduction certifiées des émissions à long terme.

10. Un exploitant qui a cessé d'exercer des activités visées et qui a remis des crédits intérieurs temporaires, des unités de réduction certifiées des émissions temporaires ou des unités de réduction certifiées des émissions à long terme pour se conformer au présent règlement doit remplacer, dans les 30 jours, ces unités échangeables par une unité de conformité qui n'est pas une unité de conformité temporaire, qu'elle soit périmée ou non.

11. Si des UCREt et des UCREl visées par l'article 10 ne sont pas périmées, le ministre transférera ces unités dans un compte désigné par l'exploitant.

Rapports, dossiers et autres documents

12. Chaque exploitant doit remettre, pour chacune des installations qu'il exploite, dans un format approuvé par le ministre, un rapport annuel au ministre comprenant les renseignements suivants:

    • le nom de l'installation;
    • l'adresse municipale et l'adresse postale de l'installation;
    • les codes à deux et à quatre chiffres du Système de classification des industries de l'Amérique du Nord (SCIAN) et le code canadien à six chiffres du SCIAN;
    • le numéro d'identification de l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants (le cas échéant);
    • le nom, le poste, l'adresse municipale et l'adresse postale, le numéro de téléphone et le numéro de télécopieur (s'il y a lieu) et l'adresse de courriel (s'il y a lieu) de l'exploitant;
    • le nom, le poste, l'adresse municipale et l'adresse postale, le numéro de téléphone et le numéro de télécopieur (s'il y a lieu) de la personne responsable des contacts avec le public (le cas échéant); and
    • le nom, le poste, l'adresse municipale et l'adresse postale, le numéro de téléphone et le numéro de télécopieur (s'il y a lieu) de la personne autorisée à remettre le rapport annuel au nom de l'exploitant (le cas échéant).

    • les renseignements prescrits dans tout règlement indiqué à l'annexe 2 et s'appliquant à cette installation.

13. Le rapport annuel doit être remis au plus tard le 31 mars de l'année civile suivante.

14. L'exploitant d'une installation doit conserver une copie du rapport annuel visé par l'article 12 ainsi que de tous les dossiers, livres de compte ou autres documents exigés par le présent règlement et par tout règlement applicable indiqué à l'annexe 2, y compris les calculs, les mesures et n'importe quelles autres données utilisées pour fournir les renseignements à l'installation concernée ou, sur avis au ministre, à tout autre lieu au Canada, pour une période d'au moins sept ans à compter de la date à laquelle s'appliquent les renseignements compris dans le rapport.

15. L'exploitant doit certifier que l'information présentée dans le rapport annuel est exacte et complète. Le rapport doit être signé et daté, ou certifié au moyen d'une signature électronique sécurisée:

  1. dans le cas d'une société, par la personne responsable;
  2. dans n'importe quel autre cas, par la personne soumettant le rapport ou par la personne autorisée à représenter cette personne.

Attribution de crédits intérieurs

16. Si le résultat du calcul prévu à l'alinéa 3(1) est un nombre négatif, le ministre crée et attribue à cet exploitant un nombre de crédits intérieurs admissibles équivalant à la valeur absolue de la quantité calculée en tonnes métriques d'équivalent dioxyde de carbone.

17. Le ministre attribuera des crédits intérieurs admissibles à un exploitant en vertu de l'article 16 dans un délai de 60 jours du dépôt du rapport annuel.

18. Le ministre peut refuser d'attribuer un crédit intérieur ou annuler un crédit intérieur attribué à un exploitant en vertu du présent règlement si l'exploitant en question a présenté des renseignements faux ou trompeurs destinés à justifier l'attribution du crédit.

19. Le ministre ne peut refuser d'attribuer un crédit intérieur ou ne peut annuler un crédit intérieur attribué en vertu du présent règlement que s'il:

  1. a indiqué par écrit à l'exploitant ses raisons pour refuser d'attribuer ou annuler le crédit intérieur;
  2. a accordé à cet exploitant une période d'au moins 30 jours suivant la date de l'avis pour en appeler verbalement ou par écrit de la décision du ministre de refuser ou d'annuler le crédit.

Changement d'exploitant

20. Si l'exploitant d'une installation visée par ce règlement change, l'obligation de respecter le présent règlement dans cette installation pour l'année où le changement d'exploitant se produit incombe à l'exploitant en poste au 31 décembre de cette année.

Demandes de confidentialité

21. Les règlements proposés contiendraient des dispositions concernant des demandes pour le traitement confidentiel des données.

REMARQUE: Les dispositions sur les pénalités se trouvent dans la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) et n'apparaissent donc pas dans le présent règlement.

Annexe 1
(Article 1)

Données pour la détermination des équivalences des gaz à effet de serre en CO2
ÉlémentColonne 1
Gaz à effet de serre
Colonne 2
Formule
Colonne 3
Potentiel de réchauffement de la planète
1.Dioxyde de carboneCO21
2.MéthaneCH421
3.Oxyde nitreuxN2O310
4.Hexafluorure de soufreSF623,900
Hydrofluorocarbures (HFC)
5.TétrafluoréthaneC2H2F4
(CH2FCF3)
1,300
Perfluorocarbures (PFC)
6.PerfluorométhaneCF46,500
7.PerfluoroéthaneC2F69,200


Annexe 2
(Article 1)

List des règlements sectoriels sur les émissions de gaz à effet de serre
ÉlémentColonne 1
Nom du règlement
1.Emplacement pour les noms des règlements sectoriels
Par exemple, le Règlement sur les émissions de gaz de magnésium électrolytique.
2. 
3. 



Pour toute question ou tout commentaire concernant le système des grands émetteurs finaux, veuillez vous adresser à:

Direction pour la réduction des gaz à effet de serre
Environnement Canada
155, rue Queen, 2e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0E3

Tél : 613-943-1704
Téléc : 613-995-3663
courriel : lfe-gef@ec.gc.ca

Pour des renseignements généraux sur les changements climatiques, veuillez visiter le site web du Canada sur les changements climatiques ou composer le 1 800 O Canada (8000-622-6232).

Date de modification :