This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Reply to Comments on Submissions Received on the Proposed Amendments to the Sulphur in Gasoline Regulations and the Benzene in Gasoline Regulations Published on February 1, 2003 in Part I of Canada Gazette

Fuels Division Environment Canada
September 2003

Download the document in PDF format (PDF; 120 KB)

Amendments to the Sulphur in Gasoline and Benzene in Gasoline regulations

Introduction

This document responds to the comments that Environment Canada received on the proposed amendments to the Sulphur in Gasoline Regulations and the Benzene in Gasoline Regulations published in the Canada Gazette, Part I on February 1, 2003.

Parties providing submissions

Submissions on the proposed regulations were received from the following parties (and are provided in the Appendix):

  • Canadian Petroleum Products Institute (CPPI)
  • Imperial Oil1
  • Petro-Canada1
  • Suncor Energy Products Inc.1
  • Consumers' Co-operative Refineries Limited

On April 17, 2003, Environment Canada's Fuel Division staff met with representatives of CPPI, Imperial Oil, Shell, Suncor, Petro-Canada and Ultramar to discuss CPPI's comments. The outcomes from that meeting are reflected in this document.

Comments and reply

Gasoline-like Blendstock

  • CPPI suggested changes so that the proposed provisions for record-keeping and administrative requirements in respect of gasoline-like blendstock would not apply in respect of exported volumes.

    Reply: At a meeting with CPPI on April 17, 2003 to address their comments, it was pointed out that gasoline for export was not subject to the gasoline-like blendstock provisions. CPPI agreed at that meeting that there was not a need to make the changes it had suggested in this regard.

  • The proposed amendments to paragraph 6(1)(f) of the Sulphur in Gasoline Regulations would require a record of the volume of a batch of gasoline-like blendstock be made prior to its import, dispatch or sale. CPPI pointed out that volumes may not be finalized until after the transfer change of ownership takes place and recommended changes to address this.

    Reply: The paragraph has been modified to require a record of "the volume of the batch that is scheduled to be dispatched or imported." A consequent modification has also been made to subsection 6(3) to clarify that the actual volume of the batch is to be reported through the annual report. Similar changes have also been made to section 13 of the Benzene in Gasoline Regulations. The changes were discussed with CPPI on April 17, 2003 at a meeting held to discuss their comments. CPPI agreed at that meeting that the changes address their concern.

  • The proposed amendments to subsection 6(1) the Sulphur in Gasoline Regulations would require that a record be made for each batch of gasoline-like blendstock identifying the fuel as "gasoline-like blendstock that is intended to be further refined or blended to produce low-sulphur gasoline". CPPI indicated that this is problematic as it is unlikely that a supplier can make a statement how gasoline-like blendstock would be handled if sold to a third party.

    Reply: The requirement is only to identify the fuel as gasoline-like blendstock. This is important so that a person purchasing or receiving gasoline-like blendstock is informed about the fuel. This was discussed with CPPI on April 17, 2003 at a meeting held to discuss their comments. CPPI agreed at that meeting that no changes were required in this regard.

    The proposed amendments to subsection 6(2) the Sulphur in Gasoline Regulations would require that a copy of the record made for a batch of gasoline-like blendstock be provided to the person receiving the batch before the transfer of possession or ownership of the batch. CPPI felt that some flexibility was needed on the timing, in regards to off-hours, weekends, etc.

    Reply: Gasoline-like blendstock is not required to meet the limits for sulphur, benzene, or the benzene emissions number. It therefore is very important that batches of gasoline-like blendstock be fully documented and that anyone receiving a batch of gasoline-like blendstock be sent a copy of the documentation before taking ownership. This was discussed with CPPI on April 17, 2003 at a meeting held to discuss their comments. CPPI agreed at that meeting that no changes were required in respect of this requirement.

Change in Test Method for Measuring Sulphur Levels

  • CPPI supported changing the test method to ASTM D-5453, but offered some comments on implications of changing the test method. Specifically, CPPI noted that the amendments should not result in companies having to resubmit notices of election to use a pool average, and that it should be made clear that arithmetic conversion of units for the concentration of sulphur in gasoline is acceptable. CPPI also requested confirmation that values measured by the test method in use by a primary supplier can be used for calculating its pool average.

    Reply: Prior to the amendments, the limits for sulphur set out in the regulations were specified in percent by weight, as measured using the specified reference test method (CAN/CGSB-3.0 No. 16.1-98). The amended regulations now specify the limits in units of mg/kg, as measured using the new specified reference test method (ASTM D-5453). Environment Canada does not consider that the change of the reference test method specified in the regulations would require companies to resubmit notices of election to use a pool average. Results in percent by weight obtained from using the CAN/CGSB-3.0 No. 16.1-98 method can be converted arithmetically by multiplying them by 10 000 and reporting the result in mg/kg, with at least two significant digits.
  • Consumers' Co-op requested that CAN/CGSB-3.0 No. 16.1-98 be retained as an alternate test method.

    Reply: CAN/CGSB-3.0 No. 16.1-98 has not been explicitly specified in the regulations as an alternate test method, as its equivalency to the reference test method ASTM D-5453 has not been demonstrated for low sulphur levels. However, there are provisions in the regulations for companies to use alternate test methods, provided that equivalency to test method ASTM D-5453 is demonstrated. A regulatee would have to apply to Environment Canada under the relevant provisions.

Ethanol Blended Gasoline

  • CPPI noted that plans for expanded ethanol use in Canadian gasoline will significantly change the production and distribution of gasoline in Canada. In this regard, CPPI suggested additional amendments to those proposed in Part I of the Canada Gazette. Specifically, CPPI pointed out that the Sulphur in Gasoline Regulations and the Benzene in Gasoline Regulations do not enable refiners blending ethanol at a common terminal (i.e., used by several companies) with co-mingled gasoline to adjust their refinery pool averages to reflect the addition of the ethanol. CPPI recommended that paragraphs 10(4)(b) and 10(5)(b) of the Sulphur in Gasoline Regulations be deleted, along with paragraphs 18(4)(b) and 18(5)(b) of the Benzene in Gasoline Regulations. Petro-Canada expressed similar views.

    Reply: These comments are outside the scope of the proposed amendments. Nevertheless, they are responded to below:

    The regulations include the option for refiners to elect to meet limits on the basis of a refinery pool average. Since a pool average includes all batches of complying or low-sulphur gasoline produced by the refinery, it is critical to know the composition of each batch of gasoline produced at the refinery. Under some limited circumstances explicitly set out in the regulations, a refinery pool average may reflect the addition of oxygenates (e.g., ethanol) or butane at a downstream facility. The circumstances do not include the addition of ethanol or butane at a facility where gasoline from more than one refinery is co-mingled - under those circumstances, it would not be possible to determine that the ethanol or butane was added to the gasoline from a specific refinery and hence a refinery-specific pool average could not be determined with certainty. The suggested changes by CPPI in this regard have not been made.

  • CPPI expressed concern that the Sulphur in Gasoline Regulations and the Benzene in Gasoline Regulations might require sampling, analyzing and reporting of every truckload of gasoline to which ethanol was added at a refinery terminal, in order for the ethanol content to be reflected in the refinery pool average. Petro-Canada and Consumers' Co-op had the same concern. Consumers' Co-op indicated a preference for changes to the amending regulations that would facilitate oxygenate addition at its refinery loading racks.

    Reply: These comments are outside the scope of the proposed amendments. Nevertheless, they are responded to below:

    The regulations include the option for refiners to elect to meet limits on the basis of a refinery pool average. Since a pool average includes all batches of complying or low-sulphur gasoline produced by the refinery, it is critical to know the composition of each batch of gasoline produced at the refinery. The existing regulations include provisions (subsection 19(2) of the Benzene in Gasoline Regulations) that under certain circumstances, a person receiving gasoline for cargo tankers or railway cars from a storage facility may sample the batch from the storage facility, instead of taking samples from each tanker or railway car. This provision can be used where ethanol is added at a refinery storage facility. Note that the refiner must still keep records or composition for each batch dispatched from its refinery and must describe in its compliance plan how it will demonstrate that the sample represents the gasoline in the cargo tankers or railway cars.

Miscellaneous Issues

  • CPPI submitted that the amendments should come into force on a specific date, rather than on the day they are registered. CPPI considered that changes affecting administrative and record-keeping requirements might require three months in order to modify computer systems and software.

    Reply: After discussions with CPPI, several amendments to record-keeping requirements in the Sulphur in Gasoline Regulations now come into force on January 1, 2004.

  • The proposed amendments to subsection 2(4) of the Sulphur in Gasoline Regulations specified that the limits for sulphur would not apply to gasoline in transit or for export, provided that there is written evidence establishing that the gasoline is in transit or for export (proposed new paragraphs (g) and (h)). CPPI noted that the requirement for written evidence was new and confusing and recommended that it be dropped.

    Reply: Under the Canadian Environmental Act 1999, a person does not contravene the prescribed requirements set out in a regulation made under section 140 of the Act, if

    1. "the fuel is in transit . . . and there is written evidence establishing that the fuel is in transit;" or
    2. "the fuel is produced or sold for export and there is written evidence establishing that the fuel will be exported;"

    These provisions already apply in respect of the Sulphur in Gasoline Regulations, and since the provisions are set out in CEPA 1999, their effect cannot be changed through wording of a regulation made under that Act. Nevertheless, it is recognized that the proposed wording was seen to be confusing, and therefore the final amendments have been clarified in a new section of the regulations (namely, section 1.1). This new section was modelled after similar clauses in section 2 of the Sulphur in Diesel Fuel Regulations.

    It should be noted that the exceptions set out in section 139 of CEPA 1999 (as discussed in the first paragraph of this Reply section) still apply in respect of the Sulphur in Gasoline Regulations and all other regulation made under Part 7, Division 4 (Fuels) of CEPA 1999.

  • CPPI submitted that the new provisions for record retention in the Sulphur in Gasoline Regulations should be aligned with the corresponding provisions of the proposed amendments to the Benzene in Gasoline Regulations.

    Reply: After discussions with CPPI, it was determined that the provisions for record keeping in the two regulations are effectively aligned because of the different coming into force provisions of the original regulations. No changes were made in this regard.

  • CPPI suggested that paragraph 3(1)(b) of the Sulphur in Gasoline Regulations be updated to change the reference to the standard CAN/CGSB-3.5-94 to CAN/CGSB-3.5-99.

    Reply: The suggested change has not been made. Subsection 1(2) of the regulations already provides for incorporation of amended standards and methods. It should be noted that while the amendments have updated clauses referencing various ASTM test methods, the changes to the clauses were made to the correctly reference the American Society of Testing and Materials.

  • CPPI noted that in subsection 2(5) of the proposed amendments to the Sulphur in Gasoline Regulations, "paragraph (c) should read paragraph (d)".

    Reply: Amending regulations (published in Part II of the Canada Gazette on March 23, 2000) repealed paragraph (d) of the Sulphur in Gasoline Regulations. The final version of the amendments therefore has not been changed from what was proposed.

  • CPPI noted that in subsection 10(i) of the proposed amendments to the Benzene in Gasoline Regulations, "subsectin 9(1)" should read "subsection 9(1)".

    Reply: The typographic error has been corrected in the final amending regulations.

    Imperial Oil pointed out that it was increasingly integrating the operation of its Ontario refineries and that changes to the regulations to allow it to combine the refinery pool averages would significantly reduce the administrative burden. It therefore requested that the limit of 12 000 m3 per year specified in paragraph 18(6)(a) of the Benzene in Gasoline Regulations and in paragraphs 9(1)(a) and (b) of the Sulphur in Gasoline Regulations be eliminated.

    Reply: These comments are outside the scope of the proposed amendments. Nevertheless, they are responded to below:

    A fundamental aspect of the design of the regulations is that they include the option for refiners to elect to meet limits on the basis of individual refinery pool averages - the regulations intentionally do not allow for companies to elect to meet limits on the basis of gasoline supplied from multiple refineries.

    When the regulations were passed, it was recognized that the 12 000 m3 limit would not encompass the combination of refinery pools. The provisions allowing the combination of one or more pool averages were included in the regulations to address the situation of persons importing / producing less than 12 000 m3 per year. Persons importing / producing less than this amount of gasoline would normally be small companies - allowing them to combine pools to the 12 000 m3 limit was intended to lessen the administrative burden on small companies that may occasionally produce / import small volumes of gasoline.

    Environment Canada believes that it is important to retain the fundamental approach of the regulations in controlling gasoline quality on the basis of individual facilities. The changes requested by Imperial Oil have therefore not been made.

Appendix

Submissions from the following parties were received by Environment Canada:

  • Canadian Petroleum Products Institute (CPPI)
  • Imperial Oil
  • Petro-Canada
  • Suncor Energy Products Inc.
  • Consumers' Co-operative Refineries Limited

Submissions are not available electronically. If you wish a copy of the submissions, please contact the Fuels Division at ogeb@ec.gc.ca.


1 Indicated support for the comments of CPPI

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Réponse aux commentaires reçus relatifs aux communications portant sur les modifications proposées pour le Règlement sur le soufre dans l'essence et pour le Règlement sur le benzène dans l'essence, publiées le 1er février 2003 dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada

Division des carburants Environnement Canada
Septembre 2003

Téléchargez le document en format PDF (PDF; 121 Ko)

Modifications proposées pour les règlements sur le soufre et le benzène dans l'essence

Introduction

On a rédigé ce document en réponse aux commentaires reçus par Environnement Canada concernant les modifications proposées pour le Règlement sur le soufre dans l'essence et pour le Règlement sur le benzène dans l'essence, publiés dans le la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada le 1er février 2003.

Parties qui ont présenté des commentaires

Les parties ci-dessous nous ont fait parvenir des commentaires sur les règlements proposés (voir l'annexe) :

  • L'Institut canadien des produits pétroliers (ICCP)
  • La Compagnie pétrolière impériale Ltée1
  • Petro-Canada1
  • Suncor Energy Products Inc1
  • Consumers' Co-operative Refineries Limited

Le 17 avril 2003, le personnel de la Division des carburants d'Environnement Canada a rencontré des représentants de l'ICCP, de la Compagnie pétrolière impériale Ltée, de Shell Oil, de Suncor, de Petro-Canada et d'Ultramar pour discuter des commentaires de l'ICCP. Le présent document fait état des résultats de cette réunion.

Commentaires et réponse

Composés de base de type essence automobile

  • L'ICCP a suggéré des changements exemptant les quantités exportées des dispositions concernant la tenue des registres et des exigences administratives relatives aux composés de base de type essence automobile.

    Réponse : À une réunion tenue avec l'ICCP le 17 avril 2003 pour répondre à ces commentaires, on a souligné que les dispositions visant les composés de base de type essence automobile ne s'appliquaient pas à l'essence destinée à l'exportation. À cette réunion, l'ICCP a convenu que les changements qu'il avait suggérés à cet égard n'étaient pas vraiment nécessaires.

  • Les modifications proposées à l'alinéa 6(1)f) du Règlement sur le soufre dans l'essence devraient exiger la consignation dans un registre du volume des lots de composés de base de type essence automobile avant leur importation, leur expédition ou leur vente. L'ICCP a souligné qu'il n'est pas possible d'obtenir des informations finales avant la vente et il a recommandé des changements en conséquence.

    Réponse : On a modifié l'alinéa afin que soit consigné le volume du lot qui doit être expédié ou importé. On a aussi modifié en conséquence le paragraphe 6(3) pour indiquer qu'on doit déclarer le volume réel du lot dans le rapport annuel. On a également fait des changements semblables dans l'article 13 du Règlement sur le benzène dans l'essence. On a discuté de ce point le 17 avril 2003, lors de la réunion tenue avec l'ICCP pour examiner ses commentaires. À l'issue de cette réunion, l'ICCP a convenu que les changements apportés étaient satisfaisants.

  • Les modifications proposées au paragraphe 6(1) du Règlement sur le soufre dans l'essence devraient exiger la consignation au registre de chaque lot de « composé de base de type essence automobile, destiné à être raffiné davantage ou mélangé pour produire de l'essence à faible teneur en soufre ». L'ICCP a indiqué que cette exigence pose problème, étant donné qu'il est improbable qu'un a fournisseur puisse faire une déclaration concernant le traitement prévu pour des composés de base de type essence automobile s'ils sont vendus ou cédés à une tierce partie.

    Réponse : Cette exigence ne vise qu'à classer le carburant dans la catégorie des composés de base de type essence automobile, et cela est important, car la personne qui les achète ou les reçoit doit avoir les informations requises sur ces carburants. On a discuté de ce point le 17 avril 2003, lors de la réunion tenue avec l'ICCP pour examiner ses commentaires. À l'issue de cette réunion, l'ICCP a convenu qu'aucun changement n'était nécessaire pour ce point.

  • Les modifications proposées au paragraphe 6(2) du Règlement sur le soufre dans l'essence devraient exiger qu'on fournisse à la personne qui reçoit le lot un exemplaire de l'enregistrement du registre fait pour un lot de composés de base de type essence automobile avant sa vente ou cession. L'ICCP était d'avis qu'il fallait faire preuve d'une certaine souplesse pour l'échéance afin de tenir compte des temps libres, des fins de semaine, etc.

    Réponse : Parce que les exigences relatives aux teneurs limites en soufre ou en benzène, ou au volume des émissions de benzène, ne visent pas les composés de base de type essence automobile, il est très important que les lots de ces composés soient très bien documentés et que toute personne qui les reçoit reçoive également, avant d'en prendre possession, un exemplaire de la documentation connexe. On a discuté ce point le 17 avril 2003, lors de la réunion tenue avec l'ICCP pour examiner ses commentaires. À l'issue de cette réunion, l'ICCP a convenu qu'aucun changement n'était nécessaire pour cette exigence.

Changements apportés à la méthode d'essai utilisée pour le dosage du soufre

  • L'ICCP, qui était d'avis qu'il fallait remplacer la méthode d'essai par la méthode ASTM D-5453, a présenté des commentaires sur les conséquences de ce changement. Il a soutenu notamment que ces modifications ne devraient pas obliger les sociétés à présenter un nouvel avis de décision pour utiliser une moyenne de l'ensemble des lots, et qu'il devrait être clair que, pour déterminer la teneur en soufre de l'essence, la méthode de la conversion arithmétique des unités est acceptable. L'ICCP a aussi demandé qu'il soit confirmé qu'on peut utiliser les valeurs obtenues par la méthode d'essai utilisée par un fournisseur principal pour le calcul de la moyenne de l'ensemble des lots.

    Réponse : Avant les modifications, les limites établies pour le soufre dans les règlements étaient exprimées en pour cent en poids, après des mesures effectuées conformément à la méthode d'essai de référence prescrite (CAN/CGSB-3.0 n° 16.1-98). Le règlement modifié prescrit maintenant des limites exprimées en mg/kg, mesurées conformément à la nouvelle méthode d'essai de référence prescrite par le nouveau règlement (ASTM D-5453). Environnement Canada ne croit pas que ce changement de méthode de référence oblige toutes les compagnies à présenter de nouveaux avis de décision pour l'utilisation d'une moyenne de l'ensemble des lots. On peut faire une conversion arithmétique des valeurs exprimées en pour cent en poids obtenues selon la méthode CAN/CGSB-3.0 n° 16.1-98 en les multipliant par 10 000, afin d'obtenir des résultats en mg/kg avec au moins deux chiffres significatifs.

  • Les Consumers' Co-operative ont demandé que l'on conserve la méthode CAN/CGSB-3.0 n° 16.1-98 comme méthode de remplacement.

    Réponse : Dans le Règlement, on n'a pas désigné explicitement la méthode d'essai CAN/CGSB-3.0 n° 16.1-98 comme méthode de remplacement, étant donné qu'il n'a pu être démontré qu'elle est équivalente à la méthode d'essai de référence ASTM D-5453 pour les faibles teneurs en soufre. Toutefois, certaines dispositions du Règlement permettent aux compagnies d'utiliser d'autres méthodes d'essai, s'il peut être démontré qu'elles sont équivalentes à la méthode ASTM D-5453. Les personnes visées par le Règlement doivent alors présenter une demande à Environnement Canada, conformément aux dispositions applicables.

Mélanges essence - éthanol

  • L'ICCP a fait remarquer que les plans relatifs à l'accroissement de l'utilisation de l'éthanol dans l'essence canadienne devraient changer notablement les méthodes de production et de distribution de l'essence au Canada. À cet égard, l'ICCP a suggéré qu'on apporte des modifications supplémentaires, harmonisées avec celles proposées dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada. L'ICCP indique notamment que le Règlement sur le soufre dans l'essence et le Règlement sur le benzène dans l'essence ne permet pas aux raffineurs qui mélangent l'éthanol à de l'essence composite dans un terminal commun (c.-à-d. qui est utilisé par plusieurs compagnies) d'ajuster les moyennes de l'ensemble des lots de leur raffinerie de manière à tenir compte de l'addition d'éthanol. L'ICCP recommande que les alinéas 10(4)b) et 10(5)b) du Règlement sur le soufre dans l'essence soient supprimés, ainsi que les alinéas 18(4)b) et 18(5)b) du Règlement sur le benzène dans l'essence. Petro-Canada a émis des opinions semblables.

    Réponse : Ces commentaires débordent du cadre des modifications proposées. Néanmoins, on a répondu ce qui suit :

    Le Règlement prévoit que les raffineurs peuvent choisir de satisfaire aux limites en se basant sur une moyenne de l'ensemble des lots d'une raffinerie. Étant donné que cette moyenne inclut tous les lots d'essence conformes ou à faible teneur en soufre produits par cette raffinerie, il est essentiel de connaître la composition de chacun des lots d'essence qui y sont produits. Dans certaines circonstances limitées explicitement définies par les règlements, la moyenne de l'ensemble des lots d'une raffinerie peut tenir compte de l'addition de composés oxygénés (p. ex., l'éthanol) ou de butane dans une installation en aval. Les circonstances prévues n'incluent pas l'addition d'éthanol ou de butane par une installation où l'essence de plus d'une raffinerie est de type composite, parce que, dans ce cas, il ne serait pas possible d'établir que telle ou telle raffinerie a ajouté de l'éthanol ou du butane à l'essence, et il serait donc impossible d'établir avec certitude une moyenne pour l'ensemble des lots d'une raffinerie. On n'a pas donné suite aux changements suggérés par l'ICCP à cet égard.

  • L'ICCP s'est dite préoccupée de la possibilité que le Règlement sur le soufre dans l'essence et le Règlement sur le benzène dans l'essence exige l'échantillonnage, l'analyse et la déclaration du contenu de chaque camion-citerne transportant de l'essence à laquelle de l'éthanol a été ajoutée au terminal de la raffinerie, afin que la moyenne de l'ensemble des lots de la raffinerie tienne compte de la teneur en éthanol. Petro-Canada et la Consumers' Co-operative étaient du même avis, et cette dernière a indiqué qu'elle préférait des modifications facilitant l'addition de composés oxygénés sur la plate-forme de chargement des raffineries.

    Réponse : Ces commentaires débordent du cadre des modifications proposées. Néanmoins, on a répondu ce qui suit :

    Les règlements prévoient que les raffineurs peuvent choisir de satisfaire aux limites en se basant sur une moyenne de l'ensemble des lots d'une raffinerie. Étant donné que cette moyenne inclut tous les lots d'essence conformes ou à faible teneur en soufre produits par cette raffinerie, il est essentiel de connaître la composition de chacun des lots d'essence qui y sont produits. Les règlements comportent des dispositions [paragraphe 19(2) du Règlement sur le benzène dans l'essence] qui, dans certaines circonstances, autorisent une personne recevant de l'essence de pétroliers ou de wagons-citernes d'une installation d'entreposage à prélever des échantillons de l'ensemble du lot, plutôt que d'avoir à prélever des échantillons de chacun des bateaux ou wagons. On peut également avoir recours à cette clause si l'on ajoute de l'éthanol à l'installation de stockage de la raffinerie. Veuillez noter que le raffineur doit néanmoins consigner dans ses registres la composition de chaque lot expédié à partir de sa raffinerie et qu'il doit indiquer, dans son plan de conformité, comment il entend démontrer que ces échantillons représentent l'essence transportée dans les bateaux ou wagons.

Autres points

  • L'ICCP a soutenu que les modifications devraient entrer en vigueur à une date définie, plutôt qu'à partir du jour où elles sont approuvées. L'ICCP croit que la modification des systèmes informatiques et des logiciels pour satisfaire aux exigences administratives et de tenue des registres pourraient prendre jusqu'à trois mois.

    Réponse : Après discussion avec l'ICCP, on doit faire en sorte que plusieurs modifications aux exigences relatives à la tenue des registres du Règlement sur le soufre dans l'essence entrent en vigueur le 1er janvier 2004.

  • Selon les modifications proposées pour le paragraphe 2(4) du Règlement sur le soufre dans l'essence, les limites pour le soufre ne s'appliqueront qu'à essence en transit destinée à l'exportation, à la condition qu'on puisse prouver par des documents écrits que cette essence est en transit ou destinée à l'exportation (nouveaux alinéas proposés g) et h). L'ICCP a noté que les exigences relatives à ces preuves écrites étaient nouvelles et portaient à confusion, et il a recommandé leur annulation.

    Réponse : En application de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement de 1999 (LCPE 1999), une personne ne contrevient pas aux exigences prescrites par un règlement adopté en application de l'article 140 de la Loi, selon lequel est exempté le combustible :

    1. « a) qui est en transit [...] et est accompagné d'une preuve attestant qu'il est en transit; ou
    2. qui est produit ou vendu pour exportation et est accompagné d'une preuve attestant qu'il sera exporté; »

    Ces dispositions s'appliquent déjà aux termes du Règlement sur le soufre dans l'essence, en application de la LCPE 1999 et, pour cette raison, on ne peut les modifier par voie de règlement. Néanmoins, on reconnaît que le libellé proposé porte à confusion, et on a donc révisé les modifications de façon à les rendre plus claires dans un nouvel article du règlement (voir l'article 1.1), qu'on a rédigé sur le modèle de dispositions semblables dans l'article 2 du Règlement sur le soufre dans le carburant diesel.

    Il faut noter que les exceptions de l'article 139 de la LCPE 1999 (voir la discussion du premier paragraphe de la présente section sur les réponses) s'appliquent néanmoins en vertu du Règlement sur le soufre dans l'essence et de tout autre règlement adopté dans le cadre de la Section 4 de la Partie 7 (Carburants) de la LCPE 1999.

  • L'ICCP était d'avis que les nouvelles dispositions pour la tenue des registres du Règlement sur le soufre dans l'essence devraient être harmonisées avec les modifications proposées pour le Règlement sur le benzène dans l'essence.

    Réponse : Après discussion avec l'ICCP, il a été déterminé que les dispositions relatives à la tenue des registres dans les deux règlements sont bien harmonisées, compte tenu des différences entre leurs modalités d'entrée en vigueur. On n'a donc pas donné suite à cette demande de changement.

  • L'ICCP était d'avis qu'il faut mettre à jour l'alinéa 3(1)b) du Règlement sur le soufre dans l'essence de manière à remplacer la référence à la norme CAN/CGSB-3.5-94 par une référence à CAN/CGSB-3.5-99.

    Réponse : On n'a pas retenu le changement proposé. Le paragraphe 1(2) du Règlement prévoit déjà l'incorporation de normes et de méthodes modifiées. Il faut noter que, même si les modifications comportaient des dispositions mises à jour faisant référence à diverses méthodes d'essai de l'ASTM, les changements apportés à ces modifications font correctement référence aux normes de l'American Society of Testing and Materials.

  • L'ICCP a fait remarquer qu'au paragraphe 2(5) des modifications proposées pour le Règlement sur le soufre dans l'essence, il faut lire « alinéa c) » plutôt qu'« alinéa d) ».

    Réponse : Les modifications apportées aux règlements (publiées dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada, le 23 mars 2000) ont supprimé l'alinéa d) du Règlement sur le soufre dans l'essence. Pour cette raison, on a maintenu la version finale des modifications proposées.

  • L'ICCP a noté qu'au paragraphe 10(i) du texte anglais des modifications proposé pour le Règlement sur le benzène dans l'essence, il faut lire « subsection 9(1) » plutôt que « subsectin 9(1) ».

    Réponse : On a corrigé cette coquille dans la version finale du Règlement.

    La Compagnie pétrolière impériale Ltée a fait remarquer qu'elle visait à intégrer de plus en plus les activités de ses raffineries de l'Ontario et que des changements aux règlements permettant de combiner les moyennes de l'ensemble des lots de ses raffineries réduiraient notablement les tâches administratives. Pour cette raison, elle a demandé l'abolition de la limite de 12000 m3 par année établie par l'alinéa 18(6)a) du Règlement sur le benzène dans l'essence et par les alinéas 9(1)a) et b) du Règlement sur le soufre dans l'essence.

    Réponse : Ces commentaires débordent du cadre des modifications proposées. Néanmoins, on a répondu ce qui suit :

    L'un des aspects fondamentaux de ces règlements est qu'ils permettent aux raffineries de choisir la méthode de la moyenne de l'ensemble des lots pour se conformer aux limites – c'est à dessein qu'ils ne leur permettent pas de choisir une méthode combinant l'essence de plusieurs raffineries.

    Lors de l'adoption de ces règlements, on a reconnu que la limite de 12 000 m3 ne devait pas permettre de combiner les moyennes de l'ensemble des lots des raffineries. On a rajouté au règlement des dispositions qui permettent la combinaison d'une ou de plusieurs moyennes de l'ensemble des lots pour ceux qui importent ou produisent moins de 12 000 m3 par année. Il s'agit normalement de petites compagnies, pour lesquelles on a autorisé la combinaison des moyennes de l'ensemble des lots jusqu'à la limite de 12 000 m3 afin de réduire le fardeau administratif imposé aux petites entreprises qui peuvent produire ou importer à l’occasion de petits volumes d'essence.

    Environnement Canada croit qu'il importe de maintenir l'approche fondamentale de ces règlements, qui est de déterminée la qualité de l'essence pour chacune des installations.

    On n'a donc pas donné suite à cette demande de changement de la Compagnie pétrolière impériale Ltée.

Annexe

Les parties ci-dessous ont fait parvenir des commentaires à Environnement Canada :

  • L'Institut canadien des produits pétroliers (ICCP)
  • La Compagnie pétrolière impériale Ltée
  • Petro-Canada
  • Suncor Energy Products Inc.
  • Consumers' Co-operative Refineries Limited

Les soumissions ne sont pas disponibles électroniquement. Si vous voulez une copie des soumissions, veuillez contact la division combustible à ogeb@ec.gc.ca.


1 Cette entreprise a fait savoir qu'elle appuyait les commentaires de l'ICCP.

Date de modification :