The Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 and pollution prevention

Download fact sheet in PDF format (26 KB)

What is pollution prevention?

Pollution prevention is the use of processes, practices, materials, products, substances or forms of energy that avoid or minimize the creation of pollutants and waste, and reduce the overall risk to the environment or human health.


How do we implement pollution prevention?

Although other methods of environmental protection focus on managing waste and pollution after they have been created, pollution prevention avoids the creation of waste and pollution in the first place.

Effective pollution prevention requires a different approach to the design and operation of businesses such as mines, farms, manufacturing plants, refineries, transportation systems, parks and other facilities that have the potential to create waste. The techniques and practices used to implement pollution prevention can vary from sector to sector, but generally focus on such areas as:

  • substituting materials and feedstock with less harmful alternatives;
  • product design/reformulation to eliminate waste and pollution;
  • changes to improve process efficiency;
  • on-site reuse and recycling;
  • training staff in safe handling and storage;
  • purchasing techniques to reduce waste,
  • implementting equipment modifications; and
  • operating efficiencies/clean production methods.

The Government of Canada's environmental-protection strategies are driven by a vision of environmentally sustainable economic development. This vision depends on a clean, healthy environment and a strong, healthy economy. By preventing the creation of pollutants and waste, we help protect the environment from harm. By increasing the efficiency of production, avoiding accidental and operational releases, and reducing the non-productive costs of treatment and disposal, we make our economy more efficient and competitive.


What is the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999?

The Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) is designed to protect the environment and human health, and thereby to contribute to sustainable development, through pollution prevention. The Government of Canada has a duty to administer CEPA 1999 in a manner that promotes enforceable pollution prevention approaches.


How does CEPA 1999 encourage pollution prevention?

The federal government has a number of pollution prevention responsibilities under CEPA 1999. A key one is the management and control of substances listed on Schedule 1 of the Act.

Part 4 of CEPA 1999 addresses environmental protection through pollution prevention planning provisions which, if implemented, can minimize the need for additional regulations or other government interventions to manage the risks to the environment and human health by Schedule 1 substances. It authorizes the Minister of the Environment to require anyone using (i.e. manufacturing or importing) and/or releasing a Schedule 1 substance to prepare and implement a pollution prevention plan to:

  • generate action that will contribute to the effective and efficient management of substances listed on Schedule 1 and reduce the overall risk to the environment and human health;
  • provide an early opportunity to develop and implement situation-specific solutions; and
  • encourage pollution prevention.

Other parts of the Act that contain pollution prevention provisions include the following:

  • Part 3 of the Act states that the Minister shall publish or distribute information respecting pollution prevention (the Canadian Pollution Prevention Information Clearinghouse provides Canadians with information on how to put pollution prevention into practice);
  • Part 5 states that the Ministers shall give priority to pollution prevention actions in developing proposed regulations or instruments respecting preventive or control actions in relation to substances listed on Schedule 1;
  • Part 7 authorizes the Minister, under certain circumstances, to require pollution prevention plans for Canadian sources of international air and water pollution;
  • Part 9 authorizes the Governor in Council to make regulations respecting pollution prevention and pollution prevention plans for federal lands and facilities;
  • Part 10 authorizes judges to require those in violation of CEPA 1999 to prepare and implement a pollution prevention plan.


What about new substances?

CEPA 1999 contains provisions that enable the government to impose controls on new substances that could harm human health or the environment. Anyone interested in manufacturing or importing a substance that is not on the Domestic Substances List is required to provide specific information on that substance for risk-assessment purposes.


Further information

Regulatory Innovation and Management Systems:

Environment Canada
Regulatory Innovation and Management Systems
351 St. Joseph Boulevard , 20th Floor
Gatineau Quebec  K1A 0H3
Tel: 1-844-580-3637
E-mail: ec.planp2-p2plan.ec@canada.ca

Internet:

Inquiry Centre:

10 Wellington Street
23rd floor
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 0H3
Telephone: 1 800 668-6767 [in Canada only] or 819-997-2800
Fax: 819-994-1412
TTY: 819-994-0736
E-mail: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca

Date modified:

La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) et la prévention de la pollution

Téléchargez la fiche d'information en format PDF (28 ko)

Qu'est-ce que la prévention de la pollution?

La prévention de la pollution, c'est « l'utilisation de procédés, pratiques, matériaux, produits, substances ou formes d'énergie qui, d'une part, empêchent ou réduisent au minimum la production de polluants ou de déchets, et, d'autre part, réduisent les risques d'atteinte à l'environnement ou à la santé humaine ».


Comment concrétise-t-on la prévention de la pollution?

Certaines méthodes de protection de l'environnement sont axées sur la gestion des déchets et de la pollution après coup, alors que la prévention consiste à d'abord éviter la création de déchets et de polluants.

Pour être efficace, la prévention de la pollution exige que nous changions notre façon de concevoir et d'exploiter les mines, les fermes, les usines, les raffineries, les systèmes de transport, les parcs, et toute autre installation susceptible de produire des déchets et de la pollution. Les techniques et les pratiques utilisées pour réaliser la prévention de la pollution peuvent varier d'un secteur à l'autre, mais elles s'articulent généralement autour des points suivants :

  • la substitution des matériaux et des matières premières par des solutions de rechange moins nocives;
  • la conception / reformulation des produits pour éliminer les déchets et la pollution;
  • les changements visant à accroître l'efficacité du processus;
  • la réutilisation et le recyclage sur place;
  • la formation du personnel en matière de manipulation et d'entreposage sécuritaires;
  • les techniques d'approvisionnement pour réduire les déchets,
  • la modification de l'équipement;
  • l'efficacité de l'exploitation / méthodes de production propres.

Les stratégies de protection de l'environnement du gouvernement du Canada sont guidées par sa vision d'un développement économique éco-durable. Cette dernière repose sur un environnement propre et sain de même que sur une économie forte et en santé. L'adoption de mesures visant à empêcher la création de déchets et de polluants permet d'éviter les dommages causés à l'environnement. En outre, l'accroissement de l'efficacité de la production, l'évitement des rejets accidentels ou opérationnels et la réduction des coûts de traitement et d'élimination non liés à la production contribuent à accroître l'efficacité et le caractère concurrentiel de notre économie.


Qu'est-ce que la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)?

La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] est conçue de manière à protéger l'environnement et la santé et ainsi contribuer au développement durable au moyen de mesures de prévention de la pollution. Le gouvernement du Canada doit appliquer la LCPE (1999) de façon à promouvoir des mécanismes de prévention exécutoire.

Comment la LCPE (1999) encourage-t-elle la prévention de la pollution?

Aux termes de la LCPE (1999), le gouvernement fédéral a de nombreuses responsabilités en matière de prévention de la pollution. Une de ces responsabilités consiste à gérer et à contrôler les substances qui figurent à l'annexe 1 de la Loi.

La Partie 4 de la LCPE (1999) comprend des dispositions sur la planification de la prévention de la pollution qui, si elles sont mises en œuvre, peuvent minimiser le recours à d'autres règlements ou à des mesures gouvernementales additionnelles en vue de gérer les risques que posent les substances figurant à l'annexe 1 pour l'environnement et la santé humaine. Elle autorise le ministre de l'Environnement à obliger toute personne qui utilise (fabrication ou importation) et/ou rejette une substance inscrite à l'annexe 1 à préparer et à mettre en oeuvre un plan de prévention de la pollution en vue :

  • de susciter une action qui contribuera à l'efficacité et à l'efficience de la gestion des substances toxiques inscrites à l'annexe 1 et réduira le risque global pour l'environnement et la santé humaine;
  • de fournir une occasion précoce de concevoir et de mettre en œuvre des solutions applicables à une situation particulière;
  • d'encourager la prévention de la pollution.

D'autres parties de la Loi contiennent des dispositions sur la prévention de la pollution, y compris les suivantes :

  • la Partie 3 de la Loi stipule que le ministre doit diffuser l'information sur la prévention de la pollution (Centre canadien d'information sur la prévention de la pollution, qui explique aux Canadiens comment mettre en pratique la prévention de la pollution);
  • la Partie 5 précise que « lorsqu'il s'agit d'établir des projets de textes - règlements ou autres - portant sur les mesures de prévention ou de contrôle relatives à des substances inscrites sur la liste de l'annexe 1, les ministres donnent priorité aux mesures de prévention de la pollution »;
  • La Partie 7 autorise le ministre, dans certaines circonstances, à exiger des plans de prévention de la pollution pour les sources canadiennes de pollution internationale de l'air et de l'eau;
  • La Partie 9 stipule que le gouverneur en conseil peut faire des règlements qui respectent la prévention de la pollution et des plans de prévention de la pollution au pour le territoire domanial et les installations fédérales;
  • La Partie 10 autorise un juge à demander à quiconque qui enfreint la LCPE (1999) de préparer et d'exécuter un plan de prévention de la pollution.


Qu'en est-il des substances nouvelles?

La LCPE (1999) permet au gouvernement de contrôler les substances nouvelles susceptibles d'avoir des effets nocifs sur la santé humaine ou l'environnement. Quiconque désire fabriquer ou importer au Canada une substance ne figurant pas sur la Liste intérieure des substances devra donner de l'information en vue de l'évaluation des risques qu'elle présente.

Pour plus de renseignements :

Innovation réglementaire et systèmes de gestion :

Environnement Canada
Innovation réglementaire et systèmes de gestion
351, boul. St-Joseph, 20e étage
Gatineau (Québec)  K1A 0H3
Tél. : 1-844-580-3637
Courriel : ec.planp2-p2plan.ec@canada.ca

Internet :

Informathèque :

Environnement Canada
10, rue Wellington, 23e étage
Gatineau (Québec)  K1A 0H3
Téléphone : 1 800 668-6767 [au Canada seulement] ou 819-997-2800
Télécopieur : 819-994-1412
ATS : 819-994-0736
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca

Date de modification :