New source emission guidelines for thermal electricity generation

The annexed New Source Emission Guidelines for Thermal Electricity Generation are a revised version of the former Thermal Power Generation Emissions - National Guidelines for New Stationary Sources which were issued May 15, 1993.

Whereas, pursuant to paragraph 54(1)(c) of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999Footnote 1, the Minister of the Environment has formulated the annexed New Source Emission Guidelines for Thermal Electricity Generation;

And Whereas the annexed Guidelines include emission limits for nitrogen oxides, particulate matter and sulphur dioxide based on the emissions performance achievable using current best available economically feasible technologies and strategies;

And Whereas the annexed Guidelines reflect the intention of the Minister of the Environment to continually update these Guidelines to reflect advancements in emission control technologies and strategies over time.

Therefore, the Minister of the Environment, pursuant to subsection 54(1) of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, is pleased to issue the annexed New Source Emission Guidelines for Thermal Electricity Generation and pursuant to subsection (4) direct that they be published in the Canada Gazette, Part I.

David Anderson
Minister of the Environment


Foreword

1. During the development of the annexed Guidelines, representatives of the federal and provincial governments, environmental non-government organizations and industry were consulted regarding control strategies and emission limits for the air pollutants addressed in the Guidelines.

2. The Minister of the Environment recommends that the appropriate regulatory authorities adopt the annexed Guidelines as practical baseline standards for new fossil fuel-fired steam generating units within their jurisdiction. However, local conditions, such as density of industrial development, topography and other environmental considerations, may necessitate the adoption of more stringent requirements than those suggested in these Guidelines. The continual advancement in emission control technologies and strategies should also be taken into account.


Scope

3. (1) The annexed Guidelines indicate the quantities and concentrations above which nitrogen oxides, particulate matter and sulphur dioxide should not be emitted from fossil fuel-fired steam-driven electricity generating units, operated in whole or in part for the purpose of the sale of electricity to industry, commerce, or the public.

(2) The Guidelines are intended to apply to new generating units only. However, it is recognized that opportunities to reduce emissions may arise during major alterations to an existing generating unit. It is therefore recommended that an assessment of the feasibility of emission reduction measures be completed prior to commencing such alterations. This assessment should be undertaken by the owner of the unit in close consultation with the appropriate regulatory authority, and improved emission control measures should be implemented wherever feasible.

(3) The Guidelines are part of continuing efforts to diminish the emissions of air-polluting discharges to the atmosphere, and will contribute to that end by restricting such discharges from future additions to electric generating system capacity. The recommended emission limits are achievable using control methods now available to the industry for the abatement of the specified air pollutants.


Interpretation

4. In these guidelines

"appropriate regulatory authority" means any federal, provincial or territorial government that has or could exercise regulatory or other authority over the emissions set out in these Guidelines. (autorité compétente de réglementation)

"averaging period" means a period for determining emission rates based on a 720 hour rolling average. (période de prise de la moyenne)

"continuous monitoring system" means the complete equipment for sampling, conditioning and analyzing emissions or process parameters and for recording data. (dispositif de surveillance en continu)

"first commercial operation" means the date of the first operation of a steam generating unit at which time electric generating capacity is electrically connected to the transmission and/or distribution systems for the use of tariff- paying customers. (début de l'exploitation commerciale)

"fossil fuel" means natural gas, petroleum, coal, and any form of gaseous, liquid or solid fuel derived from such for the purpose of creating useful heat. (combustible fossile)

"generating unit" means a fossil fuel-fired steam combustion device used for the purpose of burning fossil fuel, at a rate in excess of 73 megajoules per second heat input, for the purpose of producing steam for utility electric generation. (générateur)

"gross energy output" means the gross useful work performed by the steam generated. For units generating only electricity, the gross useful work performed is the gross electrical output from the turbine/generator set. For cogeneration units, site-specific provisions for accounting for any useful thermal energy output supplied by the plant may be specified by the appropriate regulatory authority. (rendement énergétique brut)

"kg/MWh" means kilograms per megawatt-hour. (kg/MWh)

"net energy output" means gross energy output minus unit service power requirements. (rendement énergétique net)

"new generating unit" means any generating unit including a generating unit which replaces an existing generating unit with equivalent technology or with any other steam generating technology which is based on fossil fuel combustion, for which first commercial operation commences after April 1, 2003. (nouveau générateur)

"ng/J" means nanograms per joule. (ng/J)

"nitrogen oxides" means all oxides of nitrogen except nitrous oxide, collectively expressed as nitrogen dioxide. (oxydes d'azote)

"opacity" means the degree to which emissions reduce the transmission of light and obscure the view of an object in the background. (opacité)

"Protocol and Performance Specifications EPS 1/PG/7" means Protocols and Performance Specifications for Continuous Monitoring of Gaseous Emissions from Thermal Power Generation (EPS 1/PG/7), September 1993, published by the Department of the Environment, as may be amended from time to time. (Protocoles et spécifications des exigences en matière de performance SPE 1/PG/7)

"Reference Method EPS 1-AP-75-2" means Standard Reference Methods for Source Testing: Measurement of Opacity of Emissions from Stationary Sources (Reference Method EPS 1-AP-75-2), November 1977, published by the Department of the Environment as may be amended from time to time. (Méthodes de référence SPE 1-AP-75-2)

"Reference Method EPS 1/RM/8" means Reference Methods for Source Testing: Measurement of Releases of Particulate from Stationary Sources (Reference Method EPS/1/RM/8) , December 1993, published by the Department of the Environment as may be amended from time to time. (Méthodes de référence SPE 1/RM/8)

"720 hour rolling average" means for each pollutant, the average of the consecutive hourly mean emission rates, determined for the preceding 720 hours of system operation. Intervals of zero emissions are not to be included in the calculation of rolling averages. (moyenne mobile sur 720 heures)


Emission guidelines

5.(1) The hourly mean rate of discharge of sulphur dioxide emitted into the ambient air from a new generating unit, as determined over successive 720 hour rolling average periods, should not exceed any one of the following sets of final sulphur dioxide emission rates:

  1. 4.24 kg/MWh net energy output and 8 percent of the uncontrolled emission rate as determined under subsection (2); or
  2. 2.65 kg/MWh net energy output and 25 percent of the uncontrolled emission rate as determined under subsection (2); or
  3. 0.53 kg/MWh net energy output.

(2) The uncontrolled emission rate of sulphur dioxide from the generating unit in kg per megawatt-hour net energy output (kg/MWh) shall be calculated using the formula

(A/B) × C × (1000 MJ/1 GJ) × D

where

A is the sulphur concentration in fuel expressed in the decimal form of a percentage, on a dry basis;

B is the higher heating value of fuel in megajoules per kilogram (MJ/kg);

C is a constant equal to 2, representing the ratio of molecular weight of sulphur dioxide to molecular weight of sulphur;

D is a constant equal to 10.6 GJ/MWh, representing the reference net plant heat rate in gigajoules per megawatt-hour.

6. The hourly mean rate of discharge of nitrogen oxides, expressed as NO2, emitted into the ambient air from a new generating unit when determined over successive 720 hour rolling average periods should not exceed the emission rate of 0.69 kg/MWh net energy output.

7. The hourly mean rate of discharge of particulate matter emitted into the ambient air from a new generating unit when determined over successive 720 hour rolling average periods should not exceed 0.095 kg/MWh net energy output.


Opacity

8. (1) Subject to subsection (2), a new generating unit should not emit visible emissions with opacity greater than 20%.

(2) A new generating unit may emit visible emissions with opacity greater than 20% but no more than 40% for a maximum of six (6) minutes in the sixty (60) minute period following any increase in opacity above 20%.


Compliance

9. (1) Natural variations in coal constituents can cause emissions to vary and make enforcement on an hourly or daily basis impractical. However, calculating the 720 hour rolling average allows the regulatory authority to be informed daily, for each generating unit, of the maximum average emission rate in the previous 24 hours, since the rolling average must be calculated hourly, on the previous 720 hours' emission values.

(2) Subject to subsection (3), the emission guidelines set out in sections 5 to 8 may be exceeded in the event of

  1. malfunction or breakdown in air pollution control equipment; or
  2. start-up or shutdown in the operation of the source.

(3) These events should be minimized, both as to frequency of occurrence and duration of each event.


Emission testing

10.(1) For the purposes of sections 5 to 8, emission tests should be conducted and a written report of results submitted to the appropriate regulatory authority within 180 days from first commercial operation of a generating unit and at such other times as the appropriate regulatory authority may require.

(2) Emission tests required under subsection (1) should be carried out in accordance with

  1. Protocol and Performance Specifications EPS 1/PG/7 for nitrogen oxides and sulphur dioxide;
  2. Reference Method EPS 1/RM/8 for particulate matter;
  3. Reference Method EPS 1-AP-75-2 for visible emissions.


Emission monitoring

11.(1) A continuous monitoring system for measuring the opacity of emissions should be installed on each new generating unit that is fired with solid or liquid fossil fuel. The installation and operation of the system should be in accordance with the performance specification for transmissometer systems established by the appropriate regulatory authority.

(2) A continuous system for measuring sulphur dioxide should be installed on each new generating unit that is fired with solid or liquid fossil fuel. The installation and operation of the system should be in accordance with Protocol and Performance Specifications EPS 1/PG/7.

(3) A continuous monitoring system for measuring nitrogen oxides should be installed on each new generating unit. The installation and operation of the system should be in accordance with Protocol and Performance Specifications EPS 1/PG/7.

(4) All continuous monitoring systems should be installed, calibrated and operating prior to the emission tests required under subsections (1) to (3). During emission tests or within 30 days after the tests have been conducted, and at such other times as may be required, an evaluation of the performance of the continuous monitoring systems should be conducted in accordance with the requirements and procedures set out in Protocol and Performance Specifications EPS 1/PG/7. A written report of the results should be prepared and submitted, within sixty (60) days of the evaluation, to the appropriate regulatory authority.

Notification and Record Keeping

12.(1) The 720 hour rolling average emission rate for each pollutant included in these Guidelines should be sent to the appropriate regulatory authority at least every calendar quarter.

(2) Operators of new generating units should keep records of malfunction and breakdowns and should report each occurrence, at least every calendar quarter, to the appropriate regulatory authority. The appropriate regulatory authority should be furnished with written notification of

  1. the proposed construction, replacement or major modification of a generating unit;
  2. the anticipated date of first commercial operation of the source, postmarked not less than 30 days prior to such date; and
  3. the date of any performance tests and evaluations of continuous monitoring system performance, postmarked not less than 30 days prior to such date.
Date modified:

Lignes directrices sur les émissions des centrales thermiques nouvelles

Les Lignes directrices sur les émissions des centrales thermiques nouvelles ci-après sont une version révisée des Lignes directrices nationales sur les émissions des centrales thermiques nouvelles publiées le 15 mai 1993.

Attendu que, en vertu de l'alinéa 54(1)c) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)Note de bas de page 1, le ministre de l'Environnement a formulé la version ci-après des Lignes directrices sur les émissions des centrales thermiques nouvelles;

Attendu que les lignes directrices ci-après précisent des limites aux émissions d'oxydes d'azote, de particules et de dioxyde de soufre en fonction de la performance possible en matière d'émissions des meilleures technologies et stratégies courantes économiquement réalisables;

Attendu que les lignes directrices ci-après traduisent l'intention du ministre de l'Environnement de les mettre à jour continuellement afin de tenir compte des progrès au fil du temps des technologies et des stratégies de réduction des émissions.

À ces causes, il plaît au ministre de l'Environnement, en vertu du paragraphe 54(1) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999), d'émettre la version ci-après des Lignes directrices sur les émissions des centrales thermiques nouvelles et, en vertu du paragraphe 54(4) de la même loi, d'ordonner qu'elle soit publiée dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada.

David Anderson
Ministre de l'Environnement


Avant-propos

1. Au cours de l'élaboration des présentes lignes directrices, des représentants des gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux, d'organismes environnementaux non gouvernementaux et de l'industrie ont été consultés au sujet des stratégies de lutte contre les polluants atmosphériques visés et des limites aux émissions de ces polluants.

2. Le ministre de l'Environnement recommande que les autorités compétentes de réglementation adoptent les présentes lignes directrices comme normes pratiques de base concernant les nouveaux générateurs de vapeur alimentés au combustible fossile qui se trouvant sur le territoire relevant de leur compétence. Toutefois, les conditions locales, telles que la densité du développement industriel, la topographie et d'autres facteurs d'ordre environnemental, peuvent rendre nécessaire l'adoption d'exigences plus sévères que celles énoncées dans les présentes lignes directrices. Le progrès continu des technologies et des stratégies de réduction des émissions devra également être pris en considération.


Domaines d'application

3. (1) Les présentes lignes directrices précisent les quantités et les concentrations d'oxydes d'azote, de particules et de dioxyde de soufre à ne pas dépasser dans les émissions des générateurs de vapeur alimentés au combustible fossile et exploités en tout ou en partie pour vendre l'électricité produite à des établissements industriels et commerciaux ou au public.

(2) Les présentes lignes directrices ne visent que les nouveaux générateurs. On reconnaît cependant qu'il est possible de réduire les émissions lors d'importantes modifications effectuées aux générateurs existants. Il est donc recommandé d'effectuer une évaluation de la faisabilité des mesures de réduction des émissions avant d'entreprendre de telles modifications. Cette évaluation doit être entreprise par le propriétaire du générateur, en étroite consultation avec l'autorité compétente de réglementation, et les mesures améliorées de lutte contre les émissions doivent être mises en application lorsque cela est faisable.

(3) Les présentes lignes directrices s'inscrivent dans la lutte continue contre les émissions de polluants atmosphériques, contribuant à leur diminution et limitant les rejets des générateurs d'électricité qui viennent s'ajouter au parc existant. Les limites recommandées peuvent être atteintes à l'aide des méthodes actuellement disponibles dans l'industrie pour la réduction des émissions des polluants atmosphériques visés.


Définitions

4. Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent au présent document :

« autorité compétente de réglementation » Le gouvernement fédéral ou un gouvernement provincial ou territorial qui a exercé ou qui pourrait exercer une autorité réglementaire ou autre sur les émissions visées dans les présentes lignes directrices. (appropriate regulatory authority)

« combustible fossile » Le gaz naturel, le pétrole, le charbon et tout dérivé gazeux, liquide ou solide, servant à produire de la chaleur utile. (fossil fuel)

« début de l'exploitation commerciale » Date de démarrage d'un générateur de vapeur à laquelle les clients sont branchés à la centrale électrique par le réseau de transmission ou de distribution. (first commercial operation)

« dispositif de surveillance en continu » Équipement d'échantillonnage, de traitement et d'analyse des émissions ou des paramètres d'exploitation et d'enregistrement des données. (continuous monitoring system)

« générateur » Dispositif de combustion servant à brûler du combustible fossile à un rythme supérieur à 73 mégajoules par seconde d'apport de chaleur, en vue de produire de la vapeur pour produire de l'électricité de service. (generating unit)

« kg/MWh » Kilogrammes par mégawatt-heure. (kg/MWh)

« Méthodes de référence SPE 1-AP-75-2 » Le document intitulé Méthodes normalisées de référence pour le contrôle de l'opacité des émissions provenant de sources fixes (SPE 1-AP-75-2), novembre 1977, publié par le ministère de l'Environnement, compte tenu de ses modifications successives. (Reference Method EPS 1-AP-75-2)

« Méthodes de référence SPE 1/RM/8 » Le document intitulé Méthodes de référence en vue d'essais aux sources: mesures des émissions de particules provenant de sources fixes (SPE 1/RM/8), décembre 1993, publié par le ministère de l'Environnement, compte tenu de ses modifications successives. (Reference Method EPS 1/RM/8)

« moyenne mobile sur 720 heures » Pour chaque polluant, moyenne des émissions moyennes horaires consécutives des 720 heures précédentes de fonctionnement du système. Les intervalles d'émission nulle ne doivent pas servir au calcul de la moyenne mobile. (720 hour rolling average)

« ng/J » Nanogrammes par joule. (ng/J)

« nouveau générateur » Générateur, y compris un générateur qui remplace un générateur de vapeur existant alimenté au combustible fossile par une technologie équivalente ou par toute autre technologie de production de vapeur basée sur la combustion de combustibles fossiles, dont le début de l'exploitation commerciale est ultérieur au 1er avril 2003. (new generating unit)

« opacité » Intensité avec laquelle les émissions nuisent au passage de la lumière et cachent un objet en arrière-plan. (opacity)

« oxydes d'azote » Tous les oxydes d'azote, sauf l'oxyde nitreux, exprimés collectivement sous forme de dioxyde d'azote. (nitrogen oxides)

« période de prise de la moyenne » Période sur laquelle on établit les taux d'émission moyens basée sur une moyenne mobile sur 720 heures d'exploitation. (averaging period)

« Protocoles et spécifications des exigences en matière de performance SPE 1/PG/7 » Le document intitulé Protocoles et spécifications des exigences en matière de performance pour la surveillance continue des émissions gazeuses des centrales thermiques (SPE 1/PG/7), septembre 1993, publié par le ministère de l'Environnement, compte tenu de ses modifications successives. (Protocol and Performance Specifications EPS 1/PG/7)

« rendement énergétique brut » Travail utile brut effectué par la vapeur produite. Dans le cas des générateurs produisant seulement de l'électricité, le travail utile brut effectué correspond à la production brute d'électricité à partir de l'ensemble turbine/générateur. Dans le cas des cogénérateurs, l'autorité compétente de réglementation peut établir des prescriptions d'application locale pour tenir compte de la production d'énergie thermique utile par la centrale. (gross energy output)

« rendement énergétique net » Le rendement énergétique brut moins la puissance de service requise. (net energy output)


Lignes directrices

5. (1) Les émissions de dioxyde de soufre dans l'air ambiant des nouveaux générateurs ne doivent pas dépasser l'un ou l'autre des taux moyens horaires suivants déterminé au cours de périodes successives de moyenne mobile sur 720 heures :

  1. 4,24 kg/MWh de rendement énergétique net et 8 % du taux d'émission non contrôlé déterminé en (2) ci-après; ou
  2. 2,65 kg/MWh de rendement énergétique net et 25 % du taux d'émission non contrôlé déterminé en (2) ci-après; ou
  3. 0,53 kg/MWh de rendement énergétique net.

(2) Le taux d'émission non contrôlé de dioxyde de soufre des générateurs doit être exprimé en kilogrammes par mégawatt-heure (k/MWh) et calculé à l'aide de la formule suivante :

(A/B) x C x (1 000 MJ/1 GJ) x D

A est la concentration de soufre dans le combustible à l'état sec exprimée en décimales, sous la forme d'un pourcentage;

B est le pouvoir calorifique le plus élevé du combustible, en mégajoules par kilogramme (MJ/kg);

C est une constante égale à 2 représentant le rapport de la masse moléculaire du dioxyde de soufre sur la masse moléculaire du soufre;

D est une constante égale à 10,6 GJ/MWh représentant le rendement thermique net de référence de la centrale en gigajoules par mégawatt-heure.

6. Le taux horaire moyen d'émission des oxydes d'azote (NO2) émis dans l'air ambiant par les nouveaux générateurs ne doit pas dépasser le taux d'émission correspondant à 0,69 kg/MWh de rendement énergétique net lorsqu'il est déterminé au cours de périodes successives de moyenne mobile sur 720 heures.

7. Le taux horaire moyen d'émission des particules émises dans l'air ambiant par les nouveaux générateurs ne doit pas dépasser le taux d'émission correspondant à 0,095 kg/MWh de rendement énergétique net lorsqu'il est déterminé au cours de périodes successives de moyenne mobile sur 720 heures.


Opacité

8. (1) Sous réserve du paragraphe (2) ci-après, l'opacité des émissions visibles des nouveaux générateurs ne doit pas dépasser 20 %.

(2) L'opacité des émissions visibles des nouveaux générateurs peut dépasser 20 % mais pas plus de 40 % pendant un maximum de six (6) minutes au cours de la période de soixante (60) minutes suivant toute augmentation de l'opacité au-delà de 20 %.


Conformité

9. (1) Les variations naturelles de la composition du charbon peuvent faire varier le taux des émissions et rendre impraticable la mise en vigueur des limites horaires ou journalières. Toutefois, le calcul d'une moyenne mobile sur 720 heures permet à l'autorité compétente de réglementation d'être informée quotidiennement des émissions moyennes maximales de chaque générateur au cours des 24 heures précédentes, étant donné que cette moyenne mobile doit être calculée à chaque heure à partir des quantités émises au cours des 720 heures précédentes.

(2) Sous réserve du paragraphe (3) ci-après, les limites des émissions fixées aux articles 5 à 8 peuvent être dépassées en cas :

  1. de mauvais fonctionnement ou de panne des dispositifs antipollution; ou
  2. de démarrage ou d'arrêt du fonctionnement de la source.

(3) La fréquence et la durée de ces événements doivent être réduites au minimum.


Essais de contrôle des émissions

10. (1) Aux fins des articles 5 à 8, des essais de contrôle doivent être réalisés et un rapport écrit des résultats doit être présenté à l'autorité compétente de réglementation dans les 180 jours suivant le début de l'exploitation commerciale d'un générateur et à tout autre moment pouvant être exigé par l'autorité compétente de réglementation.

(2) Les essais de contrôle des émissions exigés aux termes du paragraphe (1) ci-dessus doivent être menés :

  1. en ce qui concerne les oxydes d'azote et le dioxyde de soufre, conformément aux Protocoles et spécifications des exigences en matière de performance SPE 1/PG/7;
  2. en ce qui concerne les particules, conformément aux Méthodes de référence SPE 1/RM/8;
  3. en ce qui concerne les émissions visibles, conformément aux Méthodes de référence SPE 1-AP-75-2.


Surveillance des émissions

11. (1) Chaque nouveau générateur alimenté au combustible fossile solide ou liquide doit être doté d'un dispositif de surveillance en continu de l'opacité des émissions, dont l'installation et le fonctionnement doivent être conformes aux spécifications concernant le fonctionnement des transmissiomètres, établies par l'autorité compétente de réglementation.

(2) Chaque nouveau générateur alimenté au combustible fossile solide ou liquide doit être doté d'un dispositif de surveillance en continu des émissions de dioxyde de soufre, dont l'installation et le fonctionnement doivent être conformes aux Protocoles et spécifications des exigences en matière de performance SPE 1/PG/7.

(3) Chaque nouveau générateur doit être doté d'un dispositif de surveillance en continu des émissions d'oxydes d'azote, dont l'installation et le fonctionnement doivent être conformes aux Protocoles et spécifications des exigences en matière de performance SPE 1/PG/7.

(4) Les dispositifs de surveillance en continu doivent être installés et étalonnés et doivent commencer à fonctionner avant le début des essais de contrôle des émissions prescrits aux paragraphes (1) à (3) ci-dessus. Au cours des essais de contrôle des émissions ou dans les 30 jours suivants, et à tout moment qui pourra être fixé, ces dispositifs doivent être évalués conformément aux exigences et aux procédures établies dans les Protocoles et spécifications des exigences en matière de performance SPE 1/PG/7. Un rapport écrit des résultats doit être rédigé et remis, dans les 60 jours suivant l'évaluation, à l'autorité compétente de réglementation.


Avertissements et dossiers

12. (1) La moyenne mobile sur 720 heures des taux d'émissions pour chaque polluant visé par les présentes lignes directrices doit être communiquée à l'autorité compétente de réglementation au moins à tous les trimestres de l'année civile.

(2) Les exploitants des nouveaux générateurs doivent tenir des dossiers des pannes et des mauvais fonctionnements, et signaler chaque cas au moins à tous les trimestres de l'année civile à l'autorité compétente de réglementation, qui doit être avertie par écrit :

  1. du projet de construire, de remplacer ou de modifier de façon importante un générateur;
  2. de la date prévue du début de l'exploitation commerciale de la source, pas moins de 30 jours avant cette date sur la foi du cachet d'oblitération de la poste;
  3. de la date de tout essai de contrôle de la performance et de toute évaluation des dispositifs de surveillance en continu, pas moins de 30 jours avant cette date sur la foi du cachet d'oblitération de la poste.
Date de modification :