This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Disposal at sea permit No. 4543-2-06903

Download permit in PDF format (65 KB)

(Amendment: August 16, 2016;)

Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to section 127 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999), Disposal at Sea Permit No. 4543-2-06903 authorizing the loading for disposal and the disposal of waste or other matter at sea is approved. The permit is published on the CEPA Registry on Tuesday, May 24, 2016.

1. Permittee: Department of Public Works and Government Services, Halifax, Nova Scotia.

2. Waste or other matter to be disposed of: Dredged material.

2.1. Nature of waste or other matter: Dredged material consisting of rock, gravel, sand, silt, clay and seaweed.

3. Duration of permit: Permit is valid from June 1, 2016, to May 31, 2017.

3.1. The loading and disposal at sea activities are restricted to the following period: from June 1, 2016, to November 27, 2016.

4. Loading site: Yarmouth Bar Basin and Entrance Channel, Nova Scotia, at approximately 43.81510° N; 66.14837° W North American Datum of 1983 (NAD83), as described in the drawing titled “Figure 2 Dredging Area” submitted in support of the permit application.

5. Disposal site: Outer False Harbour, Nova Scotia, within a 100-metre radius of 43.79667° N; 66.15783° W (NAD83), as described in the drawing titled “Drawing CA-AT-D106” (April 26, 2016).

6. Method of loading: Dredging will be carried out using a barge-mounted mechanical dredge.

7. Route to disposal site(s) and method of transport: Most direct navigational route from the loading site to the disposal site via dump scow.

8. Method of disposal: Disposal will be carried out by dump scow.

9. Total quantity to be disposed of: Not to exceed 50 000 cubic metres, place measure.

9.1. The Permittee shall submit the procedures to measure or estimate quantities of dredged material disposed of at the disposal site to Ms. Jayne Roma, identified in paragraph 13.1(a). The Department of the Environment shall approve the procedures prior to the commencement of the first dredging operation to be conducted under this permit.

10. Fees: The fee prescribed by the Disposal at Sea Permit Fee Regulations shall be paid by the Permittee in accordance with those regulations.

11. Inspection:

11.1. By accepting this permit, the Permittee and its contractors accept that they are subject to inspection pursuant to Part 10 of CEPA 1999.

11.2. Ships operating under the authority of this permit shall be marked in accordance with the Collision Regulations of the Canada Shipping Act, 2001, when located on or in the waterway.

12. Contractors:

12.1. The loading or disposal at sea referred to under this permit shall not be carried out by any person without written authorization from the Permittee.

12.2. The Permittee shall ensure that all persons involved in the loading, transport or disposal activities authorized by this permit conduct these activities in accordance with the relevant permit conditions.

13. Reporting and notification:

13.1. The Permittee shall provide the following information at least 48 hours before loading and disposal activities commence: name or number of ship, platform or structure used to carry out the loading and/or disposal, name of the contractor including corporate and on-site contact information, and expected period of loading and disposal activities. The above-noted information shall be submitted to

  1. Ms. Jayne Roma, Environmental Protection Operations Directorate, Department of the Environment, Atlantic Region, Queen Square, 16th Floor, 45 Alderney Drive, Dartmouth NS  B2Y 2N6, 902-426-8373 (fax), jayne.roma@canada.ca (email);

  2. Mr. Mark Dalton, Environmental Enforcement Directorate, Department of the Environment, Atlantic Region, Queen Square, 16th Floor, 45 Alderney Drive, Dartmouth NS  B2Y 2N6, 902-426-7924 (fax), mark.dalton@canada.ca (email);

  3. Ms. Rachel Gautreau, Canadian Wildlife Service, Department of the Environment, Atlantic Region, 17 Waterfowl Lane, Sackville NB  E4L 1G6, 506-364-5062 (fax), rachel.gautreau@canada.ca (email); and

  4. Mr. Tony Henderson, Department of Fisheries and Oceans, 1 Challenger Drive, Dartmouth NS  B2Y 4A2, 902-426-1489 (fax), tony.henderson@dfo-mpo.gc.ca (email).

13.2. The Canadian Coast Guard Marine Communication and Traffic Services (MCTS) of Sydney (notshipssyd@dfo-mpo.gc.ca) is to be notified in advance of the commencement of work so that appropriate “Notices to Shipping/Mariners” may be issued.

13.3. The Permittee shall submit a written report to the Minister, as represented by the Regional Director of the Environmental Protection Operations Directorate, Atlantic Region, care of Ms. Jayne Roma, as identified in paragraph 13.1(a), within 30 days after the expiry of the permit. This report shall contain the following information: the quantity of matter disposed of at the disposal site and the dates on which disposal activities occurred.

13.4. At all times, a copy of this permit and of documents and drawings referenced in this permit shall be available at the loading site and on all powered ships directly engaged in the loading and disposal operations.

14. Special precautions:

14.1. The Permittee shall submit a written dredged material disposal plan to the Minister, as represented by the Regional Director of the Environmental Protection Operations Directorate, Atlantic Region, care of Ms. Jayne Roma, as identified in paragraph 13.1 (a), for approval by the Department of the Environment prior to the commencement of the first dredging operation authorized by this permit. The plan shall address, at a minimum, procedures to accurately measure or estimate quantities of dredged material disposed of at the disposal site, the release zone, vessel tracking, and a schedule for use of the disposal site. Modifications to the plan shall be made only with the written approval of the Department of the Environment.

Jeffrey Corkum
Regional Director
Environmental Protection Operations Directorate
Atlantic Region

On behalf of the Minister of the Environment and Climate Change

Signed on May 17, 2016

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Permis d'immersion en mer no 4543-2-06903

Téléchargez le permis en format PDF (65 ko)

(Modification : le 16 août 2016;)

Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999)

Avis est par les présentes donné, conformément à l’article 127 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)], que le permis d’immersion en mer no 4543-2-06903, autorisant le chargement pour immersion et l’immersion de déchets ou d’autres matières en mer, est approuvé. Le permis est publié dans le Registre de la LCPE le mardi 24 mai 2016.

1. Titulaire : Ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux, Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse).

2. Déchets ou autres matières à immerger : Déblais de dragage.

2.1. Nature des déchets ou autres matières : Déblais de dragage composés de roches, de gravier, de sable, de limon, d’argile et de varech.

3. Durée du permis : Le permis est valide du 1er juin 2016 au 31 mai 2017.

3.1 Les activités de chargement et d’immersion en mer doivent être effectuées entre le 1er juin 2016 et le 27 novembre 2016.

4. Lieu (x) de chargement : Bassin et chenal d’entrée de Yarmouth Bar (Nouvelle-Écosse), à environ 43,81510° N., 66,14837° O. selon le système de référence nord-américain de 1983 (NAD83), tel qu’il est décrit dans le dessin intitulé « Figure 2 Dredging Area » présenté à l’appui de la demande de permis.

5. Lieu(x) d’immersion : Havre Outer False (Nouvelle-Écosse), dans un rayon de 100 mètres de 43,79667° N., 66,15783° O. (NAD83), tel qu’il est décrit dans le dessin intitulé « Drawing CA-AT-D106 » (26 avril 2016).

6. Méthode de chargement : Le dragage se fera à l’aide d’une drague mécanique sur chaland.

7. Parcours à suivre et mode de transport : La voie navigable la plus directe entre le lieu de chargement et le lieu d’immersion à l’aide d’un chaland à fond ouvrant.

8. Méthode d’immersion : L’immersion se fera à l’aide d’un chaland à fond ouvrant.

9. Quantité totale à immerger : Ne pas excéder 50 000 mètres cubes, mesure en place.

9.1. Le titulaire doit veiller à ce que les méthodes utilisées pour mesurer ou évaluer les quantités de matières draguées immergées au(x) lieu(x) d’immersion soient soumises à Madame Jayne Roma, dont les coordonnées figurent au paragraphe 13.1 a). Les méthodes doivent être approuvées par le ministère de l’Environnement avant le début des opérations de dragage effectuées en vertu de ce permis.

10. Droits : Le titulaire doit payer le droit prescrit en vertu du Règlement sur les prix à payer pour les permis d’immersion en mer.

11. Inspection :

11.1. En acceptant ce permis, le titulaire et ses entrepreneurs acceptent d’être assujettis à des inspections conformément à la partie 10 de la LCPE (1999).

11.2. Les navires visés par le présent permis doivent être identifiés tel qu’il est prescrit par le Règlement sur les abordages de la Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada lorsqu’ils se trouvent dans la voie navigable.

12. Entrepreneurs :

12.1. Personne ne doit effectuer le chargement ou l’immersion en mer désignés aux termes du présent permis sans l’autorisation écrite du titulaire.

12.2. Le titulaire doit s’assurer que toutes les personnes qui prennent part aux opérations de chargement, de transport ou d’immersion pour lesquelles le permis a été accordé respectent les conditions mentionnées dans le permis.

13. Rapports et avis :

13.1. Le titulaire doit fournir les renseignements suivants au moins 48 heures avant le début des activités de chargement et d’immersion : le nom ou le numéro d’identification du navire, de la plate-forme ou de l’ouvrage duquel le chargement ou l’immersion sont effectués, le nom de l’entrepreneur, y compris les coordonnées des personnes-ressources de l’entreprise et de celles qui se trouvent sur les lieux ainsi que la période prévue des activités de chargement et d’immersion. Les renseignements susmentionnés doivent être acheminés à :

  1. Madame Jayne Roma, Direction des activités de protection de l’environnement, ministère de l’Environnement, région de l’Atlantique, Queen Square, 16e étage, 45, promenade Alderney, Dartmouth (NE)  B2Y 2N6, 902-426-8373 (télécopieur), jayne.roma@canada.ca (courriel);

  2. Monsieur Mark Dalton, Direction de l’application de la loi en matière d’environnement, ministère de l’Environnement, région de l’Atlantique, Queen Square, 16e étage, 45, promenade Alderney, Dartmouth (NE)  B2Y 2N6, 902-426-7924 (télécopieur), mark.dalton@canada.ca (courriel);

  3. Madame Rachel Gautreau, Service canadien de la faune, ministère de l’Environnement, région de l’Atlantique, 17, allée Waterfowl, Sackville (NB)  E4L 1G6, 506-364-5062 (télécopieur), rachel.gautreau@canada.ca (courriel);

  4. Monsieur Tony Henderson, ministère des Pêches et des Océans, 1, promenade Challenger, Dartmouth (NE)  B2Y 4A2, 902-426-1489 (télécopieur), tony.henderson@dfo-mpo.gc.ca (courriel).

13.2. Le programme des Services de communications et de trafic maritimes de la Garde côtière canadienne de Sydney (notshipssyd@dfo-mpo.gc.ca) doit être avisé avant le début des travaux afin que les « avis à la navigation » appropriés soient délivrés.

13.3. Le titulaire doit présenter un rapport écrit au ministre, représenté par le directeur régional de la Direction des activités de protection de l’environnement, région de l’Atlantique, aux soins de Madame Jayne Roma, dont les coordonnées figurent au paragraphe 13.1 a), dans les 30 jours suivant l’expiration du permis. Ce rapport doit contenir les renseignements suivants : la quantité de matières immergées au(x) lieu(x) d’immersion et les dates auxquelles les activités d’immersion ont eu lieu.

13.4. Une copie de ce permis, des documents et des dessins visés par le présent permis, doit être conservée en tout temps au lieu de chargement ainsi que sur tout navire participant directement aux opérations de chargement et d’immersion.

14. Précautions spéciales :

14.1. Le titulaire doit présenter par écrit, un plan pour l’immersion des matières draguées au ministre, représenté par le directeur régional de la Direction des activités de protection de l’environnement, région de l’Atlantique, dont les coordonnées figurent au paragraphe 13.1 a). Le plan doit être approuvé par le ministère de l’Environnement avant le début des opérations effectuées en vertu de ce permis. Le plan doit inclure, au minimum, des méthodes pour mesurer ou estimer adéquatement les quantités de matières draguées immergées au(x) lieu(x) d’immersion, la zone de dégagement, la surveillance des navires et un horaire pour l’usage du (des) lieu(x) d’immersion. Toute modification apportée au plan requiert l’approbation écrite du ministère de l’Environnement.

Le directeur régional
Direction des activités de protection de l'environnement
Région de l'Atlantique
Jeffrey Corkum

Au nom de la ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique

Signé le 17 mai 2016

Date de modification :