Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Rationale for the Development of a List of Regulated Substances Under CEPA Section 200 and their Threshold Quantities

Lists of Figures and Tables

List of Tables

List of Figures

Figure 1 - Development of the CRAIM List

Figure 1 is a flow diagram, illustrating the origins of the CRAIM list (Conseil pour la réduction des accidents industriels majeurs). The CRAIM list was designed to take into account the list of hazardous substances from the EPA Risk Management Program (RMP) while retaining the most hazardous substances from MIACC (Major Industrial Accidents Council of Canada) List 2. Previously, the process for identifying hazardous substances for emergency measures was based primarily on concerns of air toxicity, physical damage (air blast effects), and accidents.

Toxic substances were included on the list based on their toxicity, physical state, vapour pressure, and accident history.

The substances in the CRAIM List began from the US EPA under the RMP, Seveso List (Council of European Communities), and the Original List of Accidents

Up to and including the year 1990, a hazardous chemical list was used which was created primarily on the basis of hazardous chemical accidents. This was the MIACC Original List 1. It was a Priority Hazardous Substance List. MIACC list 2 (Hazardous Substances) and 3 (Environmentally Hazardous Substances) were then assembled from the SEVESO List 1 and EPA Hazardous substance list.

The OSHA (the U.S Occupational Safety and Health Association) and the NFPA (National Fire Protection Association) hazardous substance lists, which contained flammable chemicals, and those relating to occupational safety and health, were drafted from Seveso and the EPA. These 2 substances lists also contributed to the final CRAIM list.

The final draft of CRAIM includes -63 flammables from RMP

  • 77 toxics from RMP
  • 10 flammables from MIACC (OSHA or NFPA)
  • 20 toxics from MIACC (OSHA or NFPA)
  • 3 explosives
  • 1 miscellaneous

In total there are 174 substances

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Exposé raisonné concernant la préparation d'une liste de substances réglementées en vertu de l'article 200 de la LCPE, et la détermination de leurs quantités seuils

Listes des tableaux et des figures

Liste des tableaux

Liste des figures

Figure 1 : Établissement de la liste du CRAIM

La figure 1 est un organigramme qui illustre l'origine de la liste du CRAIM (Conseil pour la réduction des accidents industriels majeurs). Cette liste a été dressée pour prendre en compte la liste des substances dangereuses du Risk Management Program (RMP) de l'EPA des États Unis, tout en conservant les substances les plus dangereuses de la liste 2 du CCAIM (Conseil canadien des accidents industriels majeurs). Auparavant, la procédure de détermination des substances dangereuses devant faire l'objet de mesures d'urgence s'appuyait surtout sur des préoccupations relatives à la toxicité dans l'air, aux dommages physiques (effets du souffle) et aux accidents.

Les substances toxiques ont été ajoutées à la liste à cause de leur toxicité, de leur état physique, de leur pression de vapeur et de leur historique d'accidents.

Les substances qui figurent sur la liste du CRAIM proviennent de listes de substances du RMP de l'EPA, de la liste de Seveso (Conseil des Communautés Européennes) et de la liste 1 du CCAIM (liste initiale des accidents).

Jusqu'en 1990 inclusivement, on a utilisé une liste de substances chimiques dangereuses dressée principalement à partir des accidents chimiques dangereux. C'était la liste 1 initiale du CCAIM. C'était une liste de substances dangereuses d'intérêt prioritaire. La liste 2 (Substances dangereuses) et la liste 3 (Substances dangereuses pour l'environnement) du CCAIM ont ensuite été dressées à partir de la liste 1 de Seveso et de la liste des substances dangereuses de l'EPA.

Les listes des substances dangereuses de l'OSHA (Occupational Safety and Health Association des États-Unis) et de la NFPA (National Fire Protection Association), qui contiennent des substances inflammables et des substances liées à l'hygiène et à la sécurité en milieu de travail, ont été dressées à partir des listes de Seveso et de l'EPA. On s'est aussi servi de ces 2 listes pour établir la liste finale du CRAIM.

La liste finale du CRAIM comprend

  • 63 substances inflammables figurant dans la liste du RMP;
  • 77 substances toxiques figurant dans la liste du RMP;
  • 10 substances inflammables figurant dans la liste initiale du CCAIM (OSHA ou NFPA);
  • 20 substances toxiques figurant dans la liste initiale du CCAIM (OSHA ou NFPA);
  • 3 substances explosives;
  • 1 autre substance.

Elle contient 174 substances en tout.

Date de modification :