Skip booklet index and go to page content

Rationale for the Development of a List of Regulated Substances Under CEPA Section 200 and their Threshold Quantities

Preface

Environment Canada's mandate is to preserve and enhance the quality of the natural environment and its vision is to see a Canada where people make responsible decisions about the environment, and where the environment is thereby sustained for the benefit of present and future generations. The mission of its Environmental Emergencies program is to reduce the frequency, severity and consequences of environmental emergencies.

The events of September 11th highlighted the need for increased action to prevent and prepare for potential threats to national security. Canadians are becoming more aware of the risks and are demanding that we adopt appropriate emergency management programs that meet international standards and best practices, to address natural and human-caused incidents, including terrorist threats.

Hence, Environment Canada will be using powers under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act 1999 (CEPA 1999) to ensure that industrial facilities using dangerous substances have emergency plans in place to prevent accidents, and respond quickly and effectively to protect the environment and the health of Canadians in the event of an accident, vandalism or terrorist attack. Part 8 of CEPA, Environmental matters related to emergencies (Sections 193 to 205) provides the Minister of the Environment with various powers to address environmental emergencies.

Two of the authorities that have been identified as being particularly relevant in taking action under Part 8 are Sections 199 and 200 respecting the prevention of, preparedness for, response to and recovery from an environmental emergency (E2).

CEPA Part 8 allows the Minister of the Environment to require E2 plans for toxic or other hazardous substances. The primary objective for requiring E2 planning under Sections 199 and 200 is to ensure that appropriate risk management measures are adopted and implemented for all potential risks associated with the manufacture, storage and use of toxic and hazardous substances in Canada.

Environment Canada has reviewed the relationship between taking action under Section 199 dealing solely with CEPA toxics and that under Section 200, which provides a much broader scope of authority. The department has concluded that the most effective and efficient means of achieving departmental objectives is to require E2 Plans for both CEPA toxics and other hazardous substances by regulation under Section 200. At the same time, the Minister still retains the authority to require E2 Plans for CEPA toxics under Section 199.

Section 200 allows the federal government to establish a list of substances that if they enter the environment as a result of environmental emergency: a) have or may have an immediate or long-term harmful effect on the environment or its biological diversity b) constitutes or may constitute a danger to the environment on which human life depends, or c) constitutes or may constitute a danger in Canada to human life or health. An E2 plan would be required of all facilities that store or use any of these substances at or above the specified threshold quantities.

On December 18, 2001, Environment Canada hosted a multi-stakeholder consultation on the proposed Section 200 regulations under CEPA. Approximately 40 groups or individuals were represented at the session. Stakeholders included affected industry sectors and their associations (e.g. Canadian Chemical Producer's Association, Canadian Petroleum Products Institute, Mining Association of Canada, Canadian Fertilizer Institute, Canadian Association of Agri-Retailers and Forest Products Association of Canada), various non-government organizations (e.g. Environmental organizations, Federation of Canadian Municipalities, Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs), provincial/municipal representatives and other federal departments and agencies.

The consultations confirmed that there is general support for the proposed regulation and consensus was reached to utilize the list of substances and thresholds developed by the "Conseil pour la réduction des accidents industriels majeurs" (CRAIM 2001) as the basis for the drafting of the proposed initial regulation. CRAIM is the Montréal regional chapter of the former Major Industrial Accidents Council of Canada (MIACC).

The CEPA National Advisory Committee (NAC) was also engaged through a series of regular briefings. The provinces too are generally supportive of the initiative; the only issue being the need to avoid duplication with any provincial requirements in this area. Environment Canada is cognizant of the need to avoid duplication with any other federal and/or provincial requirements. The department has initiated dialogue with federal and provincial/territorial agencies to identify and resolve any such potential duplication. It is fully committed to pursuing administrative agreements or other mechanisms to eliminate or minimize any such duplication.

The CRAIM list of hazardous substances was developed using a multi-stakeholder process that reviewed and adopted all the hazardous substances from the Risk Management Program (RMP) developed by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and a selection of chemicals from the Major Industrial Accident Council of Canada (MIACC) lists.

The revised CRAIM List of 174 substances contains: 63 inflammables (RMP), 77 toxics (RMP), 10 inflammables (MIACC / Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) or National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)), 20 toxic (MIACC / OSHA or NFPA), 3 explosives and 1 miscellaneous. It was designed to take into account the List of hazardous substances from the EPA Risk Management Program (RMP) while also retaining the most hazardous substances from MIACC List 2.

Hazardous substance threshold quantities were established using the principle of "equivalence of harm".

Knowledge of where specific toxic or hazardous substances exist in Canada and their quantities, has been a critical missing element in preparing for emergencies from an environmental, health protection and national security perspective.

The proposed environmental emergency (E2) regulation under Section 200 of CEPA will initially cover some 174 substances that, if released to the environment as a result of an environmental emergency, act of terrorism or vandalism, may harm human health or environmental quality. They include 16 substances that are either on the List of Toxic Substances (Schedule 1) under CEPA 1999 or are proposed to be added to the List. Hence the regulation will address both CEPA toxics and other hazardous substances of concern.

Canadian facilities subject to the proposed regulation would be required to submit: a notice containing information on the location and quantities of listed substances; a second notice that the required E2 plan has been prepared and a third notice that the E2 plan has been implemented; within 90 days, six months and one year, respectively; of the later of, the proposed regulation coming into force or after a substance reaches or exceeds the prescribed quantity.

Regulated facilities will have the option of submitting the required information in hard copy or electronically. Once reviewed, the notices (minus any legitimate confidential business information or information deemed to be of concern from a national security perspective) will be posted on the EEB website where they will be available for public review. In concert with the Canadian Security Intelligence Service, steps will be taken to manage the sensitive information in a way that does not place Canadians at risk, and access to such information by potential criminal or terrorist elements is prevented.

Under the proposed regulations, a flexible approach to E2 planning is being pursued, thereby providing regulated facilities latitude to reflect local conditions and situations in the development and implementation of the E2 plans.

The E2 plan will have to: identify all major potential environmental emergencies, the potential impact on human health and the environment, including both on-site and off-site consequences, and the associated prevention efforts underway as well as the preparedness, response and recovery capabilities; describe the roles and responsibilities of individuals during an environmental emergency including contact numbers; identify training required for emergency response personnel; include a list of the emergency response equipment available and their location and measures to be used to notify members of the public who would be adversely affected. A copy of the E2 plan must be kept on site and be available for inspection.

In addition, there are provisions for the automatic updating of significant changes to the notices such as: any increase equal to or greater than 10% in the maximum expected quantity reported; or location of substance; or any change at any time after the filing to head office. An amended notice must be filed within 60 days after that time. If the person no longer has the substance at or above the prescribed quantities for 1 year, an amended notice must be filed within 90 days after that time.

Existing E2 plans prepared for other purposes may suffice or may have to be amended or modified only to the extent of any inconsistencies with the requirements under this regulation. Where such a plan does not meet all the requirements of the regulation, the plan shall be amended to meet the remainder of those requirements.

As part of an ongoing auditing process, Environment Canada will be requesting both on a random or targeted manner, copies of some of these environmental emergency plans to be submitted to the department for review. Such action would help Environment Canada assess whether the departmental guidance on environmental emergency planning is adequate and being properly interpreted. Otherwise, more prescriptive measures such as those in the U.S. could be required in the future, if warranted.

Environment Canada undertook consultations with both CEPA NAC and other key stakeholders, prior to finalizing the legal text of the proposed regulations for publication in Canada Gazette Part 1.

The rationale for the CRAIM list described in this document focuses almost exclusively on human health and safety issues. It identifies the primary sources for the various substances included in the CRAIM list (namely U.S. EPA, OSHA and MIACC) and details the original evaluation criteria used by these organizations. The document also explains how, based on the level of severity within the different ranking schemes used, threshold quantities for toxic, flammable and explosive substances were derived. As one would expect, the threshold amount varies inversely with the calculated level of severity of the hazard for each substance.

Environment Canada recognizes the limitations in the scope of the issues the CRAIM list and its source lists are designed to address. Thus, the department plans to refine the environmental emergencies data gathering guidelines, the risk evaluation framework and the rationale to incorporate environmental considerations in keeping with the goals of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, i.e. the mutual protection of both the environment and human health. The three conditions for the application of the environmental emergencies provisions under CEPA are described in Section 194 of the Act.

Environment Canada will continue to assess the remaining CEPA toxics and other substances of concern, (eg. pesticides, biologics and ammonium nitrate) for possible future inclusion on the Section 200 list. As part of this ongoing process, substances may be added or dropped from the current list and thresholds adjusted if new data show that to be warranted.

Environment Canada also intends to initiate dialogue with both the United States and Mexico on the opportunities for and potential benefits of taking a more harmonized approach to environmental emergency planning across North America.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Exposé raisonné concernant la préparation d'une liste de substances réglementées en vertu de l'article 200 de la LCPE, et la détermination de leurs quantités seuils

Préface

Environnement Canada a pour mandat de préserver et d'améliorer la qualité du milieu naturel, et sa vision est de concourir à ce que le public canadien prenne des décisions responsables en matière d'environnement, de manière à assurer sa pérennité, au profit des générations futures comme de la présente génération. La mission de l'équipe du Programme des interventions d'urgence est d'abaisser la fréquence et la gravité des urgences environnementales ainsi que d'en atténuer les conséquences environnementales.

Les événements du 11 septembre montrent qu'il faut intensifier les mesures de prévention et de préparation face à d'éventuelles menaces à la sécurité nationale. La population s'éveille au risque et elle exige que soient adoptés des programmes appropriés de gestion des situations d'urgence conformes à des normes et à de meilleures pratiques internationales, pour faire face à des accidents d'origine naturelle ou anthropique ainsi qu'à la menace terroriste.

Ainsi, Environnement Canada utilisera des pouvoirs conférés par la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement de 1999 (LCPE 1999) pour obliger les installations industrielles qui utilisent des substances dangereuses à adopter des plans d'urgence pour la prévention des accidents et pour réagir rapidement et efficacement afin de protéger l'environnement ainsi que la santé de la population en cas d'accident, de vandalisme ou d'acte terroriste. La partie 8 de la LCPE, Questions d'ordre d'urgence (articles193 à 205) confère au ministre de l'Environnement divers pouvoirs lui permettant de traiter d'interventions d'urgence environnementale.

Deux de ces pouvoirs particulièrement pertinents à des interventions en vertu des articles 199 et 200 de la partie 8 traitent de la prévention, des dispositifs d'alerte et de préparation ou des mesures correctives ou de réparation des dommages suite à une urgence environnementale (UE).

La partie 8 de la LCPE permet au ministre d'exiger la préparation de plans d'UE applicables aux substances toxiques ou à d'autres substances dangereuses. L'objectif principal de l'obligation de préparer des plans en vertu des articles 199 et 200 est de faire en sorte que des mesures appropriées de gestion du risque soient élaborées et appliquées en fonction de tout risque possible que peuvent présenter la fabrication, l'entreposage et l'utilisation de substances toxiques et de substances dangereuses au Canada.

Environnement Canada s'est penché sur la relation entre les interventions en vertu de l'article 199, qui traite uniquement des substances toxiques au sens de la LCPE, et celles prises en vertu de l'article 200, qui confère des pouvoirs beaucoup plus étendus. Le ministère est parvenu à la conclusion que l'obligation de préparer des plans d'UE, par réglementation en vertu de l'article 200, en fonction des substances toxiques au sens de la LCPE et aussi des autres substances dangereuses, constitue le meilleur moyen d'atteindre les objectifs ministériels. Et le ministre conserve toujours le pouvoir d'exiger la préparation de plans d'UE pour les substances toxiques en vertu de l'article 199.

L'article 200 permet au gouvernement fédéral de dresser une liste de substances qui, si elles parviennent dans l'environnement par suite d'une situation d'urgence environnementale, a) exercent un effet nocif immédiat ou à long terme sur le milieu ou sur la diversité biologique, ou peuvent le faire; b) présentent ou peuvent présenter un danger pour le milieu dont dépend la vie humaine, ou c) présentent ou peuvent présenter au Canada un danger pour la santé ou pour la vie humaine. Toutes les installations entreposant ou utilisant l'une de ces substances en une quantité déterminée ou plus seraient tenues de préparer un plan d'UE.

Le 18 décembre 2001, Environnement Canada a tenu une consultation multipartite sur le projet de règlement en vertu de l'article 200 de la LCPE. Une quarantaine de groupes ou de personnes y ont pris part. Des secteurs industriels concernés et leurs associations (comme l'Association canadienne des fabricants de produits chimiques, l'Institut canadien des produits pétroliers, l'Association minière du Canada, l'Institut Canadien des engrais, la Canadian Association of Agri-Retailers et l'Association des produits forestiers du Canada), diverses organisations non gouvernementales (comme les organisations de défense de l'environnement, la Fédération canadienne des municipalités et l'Association canadienne des chefs de pompiers), des représentants des paliers provincial et municipal ainsi que d'autres agences et ministères fédéraux, ont pris part aux travaux.

Ces consultations ont permis de confirmer que le projet de règlement obtient l'assentiment général, et il est apparu un consensus concernant l'utilisation de la liste des substances et de seuils déterminés par le « Conseil pour la réduction des accidents industriels majeurs » (CRAIM, 2001) comme base de la rédaction du projet initial de règlement. Le CRAIM est la section montréalaise de l'ancien Conseil canadien des accidents industriels majeurs (CCAIM).

Le Conseil consultatif national (CCN) de la LCPE a aussi tenu une série de briefings réguliers. Dans l'ensemble, les gouvernements provinciaux aussi appuient cette initiative; le seul problème est la nécessité d'éviter toute redondance avec les exigences provinciales en cette matière. Environnement Canada est conscient de la nécessité d'éviter toute redondance avec toute exigence provinciale autant qu'avec d'autres exigences fédérales. Le ministère a entrepris un dialogue avec des agences fédérales, des provinces et des territoires afin de trouver et de résoudre tout cas de redondance possible. Il est résolu à appliquer des ententes administratives ou d'autres formules pour réduire le plus possible ou pour supprimer ces redondances.

Pour dresser sa liste des substances dangereuses, le CRAIM a appliqué un processus comptant de nombreux intervenants par lequel toutes les substances dangereuses du Risk Management Program (RMP), de l'U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), ainsi qu'un certain nombre de substances chimiques figurant sur les listes du Conseil canadien des accidents industriels majeurs (CCAIM), ont été passées en revue et adoptées.

La liste révisée du CRAIM compte 174 substances, dont 63 substances inflammables (RMP), 77 substances toxiques (RMP), 10 substances inflammables (CCAIM/Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) ou National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)), 20 substances toxiques (CCAIM / OSHA ou NFPA), 3 substances explosives et 1 substance diverse. Cette liste a été conçue de manière à tenir compte de la liste des substances dangereuses du Risk Management Program (RMP) de l'EPA, tout en conservant les substances les plus dangereuses à figurer sur la liste 2 du CCAIM.

Les quantités servant de seuil aux substances dangereuses ont été fixées selon le principe de « l'équivalence de préjudice ».

La connaissance des emplacements au Canada où se trouvent des substances toxiques ou dangereuses précises, ainsi que de leurs quantités, a fait cruellement défaut au moment de la préparation à des situations d'urgence dans la perspective de la protection de la santé et de l'environnement, ainsi que dans celle de la sécurité nationale.

Le projet de règlement sur les urgences environnementales (UE) en vertu de l'article 200 de la LCPE concernera initialement 174 substances qui, si elles passent dans l'environnement à la suite d'une situation d'urgence environnementale, d'un acte de terrorisme ou de vandalisme, peuvent nuire à la santé humaine ou altérer la qualité de l'environnement. On compte parmi elles seize substances figurant sur la liste des substances toxiques (annexe 1) en vertu de la LCPE 1999 ou qu'il est proposé d'ajouter à cette liste. Donc, le règlement viserait les substances toxiques mentionnées dans la LCPE ainsi que d'autres substances dangereuses qui sont préoccupantes.

Les installations canadiennes visées par le projet de règlement devraient présenter ce qui suit : un avis fournissant les renseignements sur l'emplacement des substances listées et sur leur quantité, un deuxième avis pour signifier que le plan d'UE requis a bien été préparé, et un troisième pour signaler que le plan a été mis en application, soit dans des délais de 90 jours, de six mois et d'une année, respectivement, suivant l'entrée en vigueur du règlement proposé, soit après qu'une substance ait atteint ou dépassé la quantité stipulée.

Les installations réglementées pourront à leur guise présenter les renseignements requis sous forme imprimée ou sous forme électronique. Lorsqu'ils auront été examinés, les avis (expurgés de tout renseignement légitimement confidentiel ou des renseignements qu'on jugerait relever de la sécurité nationale) seront affichés sur le site Web du CEU, où ils pourront être consultés en vue de l'examen public. De concert avec le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité, des mesures seront prises pour gérer les renseignements de nature délicate de façon à ne pas exposer la population et de façon à ce que des éléments terroristes ou criminels ne puissent pas éventuellement y avoir accès.

Selon le projet de règlement, on cherche à appliquer une approche souple à la planification des mesures d'urgence environnementale. Cela conférerait aux installations qui seront réglementées la latitude requise pour tenir compte des conditions et des situations locales lors de la préparation et de l'application de plans d'UE.

Le plan d'UE devra : nommer tous les cas importants d'urgence environnementale qui sont possibles, leur effet possible sur la santé et sur l'environnement, notamment les conséquences hors-site comme sur le site, et les efforts de prévention en cours ainsi que les dispositifs d'alerte, d'intervention et de réparation des dommages. Il devra décrire les rôles et responsabilités des personnes en cas de situation d'urgence environnementale, notamment les numéros des contacts, préciser la formation requise pour le personnel d'intervention, et comprendre une liste du matériel d'intervention d'urgence disponible et de son emplacement ainsi que des mesures à appliquer pour avertir la partie du public qui serait affectée. Un exemplaire du plan d'UE devra être conservé sur place et on devra pouvoir le consulter en cas d'inspection.

En outre, il existe des dispositions de mise à jour automatique en cas de changement important aux avis comme : toute augmentation égale ou supérieure à 10 % de la quantité maximale prévue qui est déclarée, l'emplacement de la substance, tout changement à tout moment après le dépôt à l'administration centrale. Tout avis modifié devra être déposé dans les 60 jours suivant cette date. Si la quantité de la substance devient inférieure, pendant un an, à la quantité stipulée, un avis modifié devra être déposé dans les 90 jours suivant cette date.

Les plans existants d'UE préparés à d'autres fins peuvent convenir ou encore il peut être nécessaire de les modifier plus ou moins, dans la mesure qu'il faut pour régler les écarts au regard des exigences du règlement. Lorsqu'un plan ne répond pas à toutes les exigences, il faudra le modifier en conséquence.

Dans le cadre d'un processus permanent de vérification, Environnement Canada demandera, de manière aléatoire aussi bien que de manière déterminée, qu'on lui fournisse pour examen des exemplaires de certains de ces plans d'urgence environnementale. Pareille mesure aiderait Environnement Canada à évaluer si les directives ministérielles sur la planification des mesures d'urgence environnementale sont adéquates et si elles sont bien interprétées. Sinon, des mesures davantage prescriptives, comme celles en vigueur aux É.-U., pourraient s'imposer le cas échéant.

Environnement Canada a entrepris des consultations auprès du CCN-LCPE et d'autres intervenants majeurs avant de mettre la dernière main au libellé juridique du règlement proposé pour publication dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada.

L'exposé raisonné concernant la liste du CRAIM porte presque exclusivement sur la santé et la sécurité des personnes. Il nomme les sources principales des diverses substances figurant sur cette liste (U.S. EPA, OSHA et CCAIM) et explique en détail les critères d'évaluation appliqués à l'origine par ces organisations. Ce document explique aussi comment ont été déterminés les seuils de quantité pour les substances toxiques, inflammables et explosives, en fonction de la gravité à l'intérieur des différents plans de classement. Comme on pouvait s'y attendre, les quantités seuils varient d'une substance à l'autre, de manière inversement proportionnelle au degré de gravité du danger.

Environnement Canada est conscient que la liste du CRAIM et que les listes ayant servi de référence ne tiennent pas compte de tout. C'est pourquoi le ministère entend préciser davantage les lignes directrices sur la cueillette de données concernant les urgences environnementales, le cadre d'estimation du risque et les raisons pour intégrer des considérations d'ordre environnemental conformes aux objectifs de la Loi canadienne sur le protection de l'environnement, c.-à-d. la protection de la santé et celle de l'environnement. L'article 194 de la LCPE décrit les trois conditions d'application des dispositions relatives aux urgences environnementales.

Le ministère continuera d'évaluer les substances toxiques au sens de la LCPE qui restent, ainsi que d'autres substances préoccupantes (p. ex., les pesticides, des substances biologiques et le nitrate d'ammonium) en vue de les inscrire, le cas échéant, sur la liste constituée en vertu de l'article 200. Dans le cadre de ce processus en cours, des substances pourraient être ajoutées ou retirées de la liste actuelle, et les seuils pourraient être modifiés si de nouvelles données le justifiaient.

Environnement Canada a également l'intention de lancer le dialogue avec les É.-U. et le Mexique sur la possibilité d'appliquer une approche plus uniformisée à la planification des mesures d'urgence à l'échelle de l'Amérique du Nord, et sur les avantages qu'on y trouverait.

Date de modification :