Hexabromocyclododecane and the Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2012

Did you know?

Hexabromocyclododecane, which has the molecular formula C12H18Br6 (HBCD), and certain products containing HBCD are subject to the Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2012 (the Regulations) as amended in 2016, under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999.

Prohibited activities

The Regulations prohibit the import, manufacture, use, sale and offer for sale of HBCD, and expanded and extruded polystyrene (EPS and XPS) foam and their intermediary products containing HBCD for building or construction applications, with a limited number of exemptions. This prohibition is in effect as of January 1, 2017.

Exemptions

The Regulations do not prohibit:

  • The import, manufacture, use, sale and offer for sale of HBCD or a EPS or XPS foam product containing it, if HBCD is incidentally presentFootnote1 [subsection 4(1)]
  • The import, manufacture, use, sale and offer for sale of products that contain HBCD other than EPS or XPS foams and their intermediary products for a building or construction application [subsection 4(3)]
  • The use, sale or offer for sale of:
    • HBCD that was manufactured or imported before January 1, 2017 [subsection 4.1(1)]
    • EPS and XPS foams and their intermediary products that contain HBCD, for a building or construction application, if manufactured or imported before January 1, 2017 [subsection 4.1(2)]

Permits

The Regulations do not allow for permits for HBCD.

Laboratory uses

  • The prohibition does not apply to listed toxic substances, or to any products containing them, that are to be used in a laboratory for analysis, in scientific research or as a laboratory analytical standard [subsection 3(1)].
  • Users of any listed toxic substance or product containing it for the above purposes are required to report the information set out in Schedule 3 to the Minister before the use of more than 10 grams of each substance each calendar year [subsections 3(2) and 3(3)].  

See also

More information on the Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2012 can be found on the CEPA Registry.

Questions? Require assistance?

Inquiries on the Prohibition Regulations can be made by emailing ec.interdiction-prohibition.ec@canada.ca or by phoning the Environment and Climate Change Canada Inquiry Centre at:

1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only) or 819-938-3860
Fax: 819-938-9423

Disclaimer

This factsheet is not to be construed as a legal document. Any discrepancy between this document and the Canada Gazette, Part II (CG II) published text and/or the Justice Canada regulatory text, the CGII and Justice Canada text prevails.

Date modified:

L’hexabromocyclododécane et le Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites (2012)

Saviez-vous que?

L’hexabromocyclododécane, dont la formule moléculaire est C12H18Br6 (HBCD) et certains produits qui en contiennent sont visés par le Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites (2012) (le Règlement), tel que modifié en 2016.

Interdiction

Le Règlement interdit l’importation, la fabrication, l’utilisation, la vente et la mise en vente de l’HBCD, et des mousses de polystyrène expansé ou extrudé destinés au secteur du bâtiment et de la construction et tout produit servant à leur fabrication qui en contiennent, sauf un nombre limité d’exemptions. Cette interdiction entre en vigueur le 1er janvier 2017.

Exemptions

Le Règlement n’interdit pas :

  • l’importation, la fabrication, l’utilisation, la vente et la mise en vente de l’HBCD ou des mousses de polystyrène expansé ou extrudé qui en contiennent, lorsque la présence de la substance est incidenteNote de bas de page 1 [paragraphe 4(1)]
  • l’importation, la fabrication, l’utilisation, la vente et la mise en vente de produits qui contiennent de l'HCBD autres que les mousses de polystyrène expansé ou extrudé et tout produit servant à leur fabrication destinés au secteur du bâtiment et de la construction [paragraphe 4(3)]
  • l’utilisation, la vente ou la mise en vente :
    • de l’HBCD fabriqué ou importé avant le 1er janvier 2017 [paragraphe 4.1(1)]
    • des mousses de polystyrène expansé ou extrudé et tout produit servant à la fabrication de ces mousses qui contiennent de l'HBCD, destinés au secteur du bâtiment et de la construction, lorsque lesdits produits ont été fabriqués ou importés avant le 1er janvier 2017 [paragraphe 4.1(2)]

Permis

Le Règlement ne prévoit pas de permis pour l’HBCD.

Utilisations en laboratoire

  • L’interdiction ne s’applique pas aux substances toxiques identifiées dans le Règlement ni aux produits qui en contiennent qui sont destinés à être utilisés pour des analyses en laboratoire, pour la recherche scientifique ou en tant qu’étalon analytique de laboratoire [paragraphe 3(1)].
  • Dans chaque année civile dans laquelle un utilisateur prévoit utiliser plus de 10 grammes d’une substance – seule ou dans un produit – à ces fins, l'utilisateur doit présenter au ministre les renseignements prévus à l’annexe 3 du règlement [paragraphes 3(2) et 3(3)].

Pour en savoir plus

Pour plus d'information au sujet du Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites (2012), veuillez consulter le Registre de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999).

Vous avez des questions?

Veuillez adresser vos demandes d’information par courriel à ec.interdiction-prohibition.ec@canada.ca, par téléphone en communiquant avec le Centre de renseignements à la population d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada au 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement) ou au 819-938-3860, ou par télécopieur au 819-938-9423.

Avis de non-responsabilité

Cette fiche d’information ne constitue pas un document juridique. En cas de divergence entre le présent document et les textes publiés dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada (GC II) ou tout autre texte de réglementation, la GC II et les textes de Justice Canada l’emportent.

Date de modification :