This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Discussion Document
On-Road Vehicle and Engine Emission Regulations

Updating Canada's Motorcycle Emission Standards to Align with New U.S. Rules

1. Introduction

The On-Road Vehicle and Engine Emission Regulations1 under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 came into effect on January 1, 2004. The Regulations contain emission standards for various classes of on-road vehicles and for heavy-duty engines, including requirements for motorcycles of the 2004 and later model years. These Regulations are designed to align Canadian requirements with corresponding U.S. federal emission standards.

On January 15, 2004, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) published a new final rule2 to introduce more stringent emission standards for on-road motorcycles beginning in the 2006 model year. The EPA rule introduces some new important elements in both the application and structure of future U.S. motorcycle emission standards. These elements must be addressed in order to maintain Canada/U.S. alignment with respect to motorcycle emission standards.

This paper reviews the main elements of the U.S. rule and discusses the proposed approach for maintaining alignment through amendments to the On-Road Vehicle and Engine Emission Regulations. Environment Canada is soliciting the views of interested parties on the proposed approach in advance of a formal proposal to amend the Regulations in Part 1 of the Canada Gazette.

1 On-Road Vehicle and Engine Emission Regulations, Canada Gazette Part II, January 1, 2003, SOR/2003-2

2 Control of Emissions from Highway Motorcycles; Final Rule, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Federal Register, January 15, 2004.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Document de discussion
Règlement sur les émissions des véhicules routiers et de leurs moteurs

Mise à jour des normes d'émissions du Canada pour les motocyclettes en vue de maintenir l'harmonisation avec les nouvelles règles adoptées aux États-Unis

1. Introduction

Le Règlement sur les émissions des véhicules routiers et de leurs moteurs1 en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) est entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 2004. Le règlement fixe les normes d'émissions des différentes catégories de véhicules routiers et de moteurs de véhicules lourds, incluant les exigences pour les motocyclettes à compter de l'année de modèle 2004. Le règlement vise à harmoniser les exigences canadiennes avec les normes d'émissions fédérales correspondantes des États-Unis.

Le 15 janvier 2004, l'Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) des États-Unis a publié une nouvelle règle définitive2 qui fixe des normes d'émissions plus strictes pour les motocyclettes à compter de l'année de modèle 2006. La règle de l'EPA introduit d'importants nouveaux éléments relativement à l'application et à la structure des nouvelles normes d'émissions pour les motocyclettes aux États-Unis. Il faut tenir compte de ces éléments dans le but de maintenir l'harmonisation des normes d'émissions pour les motocyclettes au Canada et aux États-Unis.

Dans le présent document, on examine les principaux éléments de la règle américaine et on discute de l'approche d'harmonisation proposée fondée sur des modifications au Règlement sur les émissions des véhicules routiers et de leurs moteurs. Environnement Canada demande aux parties intéressées de lui faire part de leurs points de vue sur l'approche proposée avant le dépôt d'une proposition formelle de modification du règlement dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada.

1 Règlement sur les émissions des véhicules routiers et de leurs moteurs, Gazette du Canada, Partie II, 1er janvier 2003, DORS/2003-2.

2 Control of Emissions from Highway Motorcycles; Final Rule, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Federal Register, 15 janvier 2004.

Date de modification :