Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the Contact Us page.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

ARCHIVED - CEPA Annual Report for the Period April 1994 to March 1995

CEPA Part VII: General Information

Notices of Objection and Boards of Review

The public may file a "notice of objection" to a decision or proposed regulation.

Because CEPA is organized by subject areas, guidelines or notices of objection appear in numerous sections of the Act. For example, section 51(2) covers notices dealing with nutrients, while section 62(2) details notices related to controls on international air pollution, and section 74 addresses objections relating to ocean dumping permits. Each subject area has its own administrative requirements for notices of objection.

Under procedures set out in sections 89 to 97 of CEPA, the Ministers may establish a board of review to examine a notice of objection. To date, the federal government has not established any boards of review, although some notices of objection have been filed.

Environment Canada has developed procedural rules to govern matters such as administration, written submissions, evidence, confidentiality of documents, public access, conduct of hearings and reporting. The "Administrative Rules for Environmental Protection Boards of Review" will be published in the Canadian Gazette Part I. Publication of the final rules in the Canada Gazette Part II is expected by the fall of 1995.

Enforcement and Compliance

Laws must be effectively enforced. Enforcement must be fair and nationally consistent. All people responsible for administering legislation and those who comply with it must know what is expected of them. These are the reasons that Environment Canada developed an Enforcement and Compliance Policy for CEPA. This policy, prepared in cooperation with the Department of Justice, guides Environment Canada in the Enforcement of CEPA and its regulations. While conducting inspections to verify compliance with the regulations, inspectors follow the policy and determine how to respond to a violation. They consider, among other things, the nature of the offence, the violator's willingness to comply and the violator's past compliance history.

Stronger Enforcement Mechanisms

Environment Canada is continuing to implement an enhanced enforcement program, announced in December 1991 and designed to strengthen the government's ability to enforce environmental laws. The Program provides additional resources to help enforce CEPA regulations.

The funds also enable Environment Canada to develop specialized training courses; negotiate agreements and work-sharing arrangements with the provinces, territories and other federal departments; and create an integrated, computerized information system to support enforcement.

Office of Enforcement

The office of Enforcement, created in July 1991, has responsibilities which include:

  • providing overall functional direction for investigations, inspections and other enforcement actions;
  • developing and monitoring the annual National Inspection Plan;
  • developing enforcement training courses;
  • delivering the annual National Training Program to inspectors and investigators;
  • reviewing new regulations; and
  • developing a management information system.

Inspections

Inspectors verify compliance with CEPA and its regulations. As part of this job, they may conduct inspections; witness compliance tests; check records, files and other documents required by regulation to be maintained; sample substances, effluents and emissions; and check data and reports filed with Environment Canada.

Investigations

Both investigators and inspectors examine suspected violations. When they decide that a violation has occurred, they take enforcement action in accordance with CEPA Enforcement and Compliance Policy.

In 1994-95, many enforcement actions resulted in warnings, given when the degree of harm or potential harm to the environment, human life or human health appeared to be minimal.

When there is an actual or potential release of a substance in contravention of CEPA regulations, enforcement officers use directions. CEPA requires that parties owning, managing or controlling substances take reasonable emergency measures to remedy any dangerous condition, or to reduce any danger to the environment, human life or human health that resulted, or may result, from a release. When they fail to take necessary measures to protect the public, inspectors issue directions.

When an alleged violation meets the criteria for prosecution contained in the CEPA Enforcement and Compliance Policy, enforcement officers undertake investigations which may lead to court action.

CEPA Section 108: Applications for Investigations

One of the guiding principles of CEPA's Enforcement and Compliance Policy is to encourage people to report suspected violations to enforcement officers.

Under section 108 of CEPA, any two residents of Canada (18 years of age or older) who believe that an offence has been committed under CEPA may ask the Minister of the Environment for an investigation of the alleged offence.

The alleged offence must meet conditions set out in section 108 before an investigation can begin. If the alleged offence meets these conditions, section 109 requires that an investigation take place to determine the facts relating to the alleged offence. Within 90 days, the Minister of Environment must report to the applicants on the progress of the investigation and the proposed action.

One investigation was pursued under section 108 during the past year. No violation of CEPA was found.

Uniform Enforcement Guidelines

To complement CEPA's Enforcement and Compliance Policy, Environment Canada continued, during the fiscal year 1994-95, to draft Uniform Enforcement Guidelines (UEGs) for priority Regulations:

  • Vinyl Chloride Release Regulations;
  • New Substances Notification Regulations;
  • Ozone-depleting Substances Regulations;
  • Ozone-depleting Substances Products Regulation;
  • Federal Mobile PCB Treatment and Destruction Regulations;
  • Pulp and Paper Mill Effluent Chlorinated Dioxins and Furans Regulations.

Additionally, Working Groups were established to develop, Implementation Strategies for both the PCB and the Export and Import of Hazardous Wastes Regulations. These strategies further elaborate on the UEGs in that they include compliance verification activities for specific provisions as well as suggested enforcement actions for possible infractions. Section by section analysis of these regulations incorporates legal, technical and enforceability issues as background for inspectors. This aids in the provision of overall guidance and inspection priorities.

National Inspection Plan

The National Inspection Plan (NIP), an annual work plan, identifies the number and types of inspections to be carried out under CEPA regulations. A collaboration between staff at Environment Canada's headquarters and regional offices, the plan uses a target oriented approach to focus on the most serious environmental threats in each region. In implementing the NIP, Environment Canada carries out inspections, verifies documents and data submitted by regulatees in compliance with regulatory requirements and evaluates compliance testing results.

National Training Program

Training continues to be a major element of Environment Canada's environmental protection enforcement program. The addition of the wildlife enforcement function to the Office of Enforcement in the fall of 1993 has meant that a new range of special training requirements must now also be met. Similarly, the signing of various federal/provincial administrative agreements has introduced a need to train provincial staff as they begin to assume the responsibilities of administering federal legislation. The National Training Program has therefore been expanded to ensure that pollution and wildlife enforcement officers and analysts are trained to perform duties that involve basic inspection and investigation skills, and very specialized regulation-specific enforcement activities.

In 1994-1995, Environment Canada delivered courses on:

  • Train the trainers
  • Basic Inspectors Course
  • Expert Witness Course
  • Health and Safety Course;
  • Ozone Depleting Substances Regulations;
  • New Substances Notification Regulations;
  • Pulp and Paper Mill Defoamer and Woodchip Regulations (for provincial staff in B.C.);
  • Pulp and Paper Milll Effluent Chlorinated Dioxins and Furans Regulations (for provincial staff in B.C.).

Environment Canada has continued to develop a health and safety guide, and a field sampling manual for both inspectors and investigators. It also participates in federal-provincial working groups for both wildlife and environmental protection, working with our partners to identify ways of better coordinating training and resources, and learning from the experience of others.

Internationally, Environment Canada participated in the International Environmental Enforcement Conference in Mexico. This event raised the profile of our program and follows up with Canada's obligations under North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) and the North American Commission on Environmental Cooperation (NACEC) in Montreal. EC helped to present a course in Chile in March 1995. This participation was made possible through an agreement between the Government of Canada and Chile.

Computerized Information System

In 1994-95, the Office of Enforcement was actively involved in the programming and installation of the Enforcement Activities Tracking System (EATS). During the past year, the Office of Enforcement worked extensively on programming, testing and debugging the software. The Atlantic Region was selected as the pilot region and received training and a pre-release version of EATS in June 1994. By March 31, 1995, EATS had been installed in each of the five regional offices and Headquarters.

A committee with members from the regions and headquarters provided advice and guidance on the development of the system throughout the year.

Enforcement Activities

The following table shows 1994-95 enforcement activities under CEPA. If you have any questions, you may contact the Office of Enforcement at (819) 953-1174.

Enforcement Activities (1994-95)
RegulationsInspec-
tions
Investi-
gations
War-
nings
Govt.
War-
nings
Others
Direc-
tions
Prose-
cutions
Convic-
tions
Storage of PCB Material42532157 11
PCB Regulations2447 3   
PCB Waste Export1      
PCB Destruction9      
Secondary Lead36  1   
Vinyl Chloride1    1 
Asbestos Mines and Mills26      
Mercury, Chlor-Alkali12      
Gasoline131    2
Contaminated Fuel4      
Ozone-depleting #1,#2, #4188 6 21
Ozone-depleting (Products)18429 19 22
Ocean Dumping1324 2 12
Export-Import Hazardous Waste17011 8 11
Phosphorous Concentration331 1   
Dioxins and Furans30  9   
Defoamer and Wood Chips20      
Others4      
Total1,3626421106089

 

Prosecutions (April 1, 1994 to March 31, 1995)
Company Name and AddressStatusOffence Date
and
Loca-
tion
Date ChargedSections/
Offences
Court DateResultPenaltyNotes
Atlantic Region
Miramachi Pulp & Paper Inc. Newcastle, NBCon-
cluded
94/03/1894/06/16CEPA - 1 Count PCB Storage Regulations

1 Count Chloro-
biphenyls Regulations App. 451 of PCB oil allegedly leaked into environment
94/08/09Guilty Plea$100 fine and court order to pay $8,000 to the N.B. Dept. of Education for Envi-ronmental Education in area of offence and additional $8,000 to N.B. Community College Scholarship Fund.The charge under the chlorobiphenyls was withdrawn. The company has agreed to pay an additional $500 to Environment Canada for publication in a newspaper of facts related to the case.
Quebec Region
Anachemia Ltd. 500, 2nd Avenue Lachine, QuébecIn Trial91/08/06-91/11/19 Mon-
tréal, Québec
94/10/14CEPA - 5 Counts Ozone-
depleting Substances #1. Illegal importation of products containing CFC's
95/02/24   
Accès-O-Tonik 2095. Blvd. Charest, West Sainte-Foy, QuébecCon-
cluded
93/10/18 Sainte-Foy, Québec94/05/13CEPA - Ozone-depleting Substances #3. 2 Counts Sale of products containing CFCs94/08/26Guilty Plea$600 Fine 
Zep du Canada Inc. 660, Lépine Avenue Dorval, QuébecCon-
cluded
94/01/19 Dorval, Québec94/04/14CEPA - Ozone-depleting Substances #3. 3 Counts Illegal importation, offer for sale and sale of products containing CFCs94/09/06Guilty Plea$9,600 fine and assume the responsibility for the cost of the destruction of CFC containers. 
Ontario Region
Biocan Waste Management Systems and Gary Zimak Thunder Bay, OntarioCon-
cluded
93/08/05 Canada Customs Thunder Bay, Ontario94/06/14CEPA - Export and Import of Hazardous Waste Regulations94/0926Guilty PleaBiocan: $5,000 fine President: $2,500 fineAlso community service for one year.
Imperial Oil Chemicals Division, Sarnia, OntarioFor TrialJune 19, July 12, 199395/01/30CEPA - 4 counts. Vinyl Chloride Release Regulation95/11/06  Two counts against Imperial Oil and two counts against Plant Manager
Prairie & Northern Region
No prosecutions during fiscal year 1994-95.        
Pacific & Yukon Region
Vandervalk-CorneliusCon-
cluded
94/09/094/11/21CEPA - Ocean Dumping 1 count94/12/01Guilty Plea$500 fine$145 restitution 35 hours of community service and a public apology.
Bella Coola Fisheries Ltd. 9829 River Road Delta, B.C.Con-
cluded
March 1992; Feb., Aug., Sept. and Dec. 199394/04/07CEPA - Ozone-depleting Substances #2 - 5 Counts Importation of Ozone-
depleting Substances
94/11/23Guilty Plea$7,500 fine

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

ARCHIVÉE - LCPE - Rapport annuel pour la période d'avril 1994 à mars 1995

Partie VII de la LCPE : Les dispositions générales

Les avis d'opposition et les commissions de révision

Le public peut déposer un « avis d'opposition » à une décision ou à un projet de règlement.

Comme la LCPE est subdivisée par sujet, les directives sur les avis d'opposition figurent dans de nombreux articles. Ainsi, le paragraphe 51(2) a trait aux avis d'opposition relatifs aux substances nutritives, tandis que le paragraphe 62(2) concerne les avis liés à la pollution atmosphérique internationale et l'article 74 se rapporte à ceux qui visent les permis d'immersion de déchets en mer. Les exigences administratives à l'égard des avis d'opposition sont formulées différemment pour chaque sujet.

Conformément aux procédures décrites aux articles 89 à 97 de la LCPE, les ministres peuvent constituer une commission de révision chargée d'examiner les avis d'opposition. Jusqu'ici, le gouvernement fédéral n'en a pas créé, malgré le dépôt de certains avis d'opposition.

Environnement Canada a élaboré des règles procédurales régissant des questions comme l'administration, les mémoires, les preuves, la confidentialité des documents, l'accès du public, la tenue des audiences et la préparation des rapports. Les « Règles des commissions de révision en matière de protection de l'environnement » seront publiées dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I. Les règles définitives devraient paraître dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie II, à l'automne 1995.

L'application de la loi

Il faut appliquer les lois de faÿon efficace, équitable et uniforme à l'échelle du pays. Par ailleurs, ceux qui exécutent la loi et ceux qui y sont soumis doivent en connaître les modalités. Voilà pourquoi Environnement Canada, de concert avec le ministère de la Justice, a élaboré la Politique d'application de la LCPE. Cette politique oriente le Ministère quant à l'exécution de la LCPE et de ses règlements. Pendant les inspections visant à vérifier la conformité aux règlements, les inspecteurs suivent cette politique et déterminent comment donner suite aux infractions. À cette fin, ils prennent en compte notamment la nature des infractions, les antécédents des contrevenants et leur volonté de se mettre en conformité.

Le renforcement des mécanismes d'application

Environnement Canada continue de mettre sur pied le Programme d'application améliorée qui avait été annoncé en 1991. Ce programme est conÿu pour aider le gouvernement fédéral à faire respecter la législation sur l'environnement et prévoit l'affectation de ressources supplémentaires pour faciliter l'application des règlements de la LCPE.

Les fonds permettent également à Environnement Canada d'élaborer des cours de formation spécialisés, de négocier des ententes et des accords de partage des tâches avec les provinces, les territoires et d'autres ministères fédéraux, ainsi que de mettre en place un système d'information informatisé et intégré à l'appui des mesures d'exécution.

Le Bureau de l'application de la Loi

Le Bureau de l'application de la Loi, créé en juillet 1991, assume notamment les responsabilités suivantes :

  • assurer l'orientation fonctionnelle globale des enquêtes, des inspections et des autres mesures d'exécution;
  • mettre au point le Plan annuel national d'inspection et en surveiller la mise en oeuvre;
  • élaborer des cours de formation;
  • réaliser le Programme annuel national de formation des inspecteurs et des enquêteurs;
  • examiner les nouveaux règlements;
  • développer un système intégré de gestion des données.

Les inspections

Les inspecteurs déterminent la conformité à la LCPE et à ses règlements. Dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions, ils peuvent procéder à des inspections, observer le déroulement des essais de conformité, contrôler les dossiers et autres documents réglementaires, échantillonner des substances, des effluents et des émissions et vérifier les données et les rapports présentés à Environnement Canada.

Les enquêtes

Les enquêteurs et les inspecteurs examinent les infractions présumées. Lorsqu'ils concluent à une infraction, ils prennent des mesures d'exécution, conformément à la Politique d'application de la LCPE.

En 1994-1995, plusieurs mesures d'exécution ont abouti à des avertissements, signifiés lorsque le degré de danger réel ou éventuel pour l'environnement et pour la vie ou la santé humaine semblait minime.

Lorsque le rejet réel ou potentiel d'une substance contrevient à un règlement de la LCPE, les inspecteurs ou les enquêteurs donnent des directives. La LCPE exige que les parties qui possèdent, administrent ou contrôlent les substances prennent des mesures d'urgence raisonnables pour remédier à toute situation dangereuse ou pour atténuer le danger - pour l'environnement, la vie ou la santé humaine - qui est causé ou pourrait être causé par un rejet. Lorsque les parties ne prennent pas les mesures nécessaires pour protéger le public, les inspecteurs donnent des directives.

Lorsque l'infraction reprochée satisfait aux critères de la Politique d'application de la LCPE relatifs aux poursuites judiciaires, les inspecteurs mènent des enquêtes pouvant donner lieu à la judiciarisation.

L'article 108 de la LCPE : Les demandes d'enquête

L'un des principes directeurs de la Politique d'application de la LCPE est d'inciter les gens à signaler aux agents d'exécution les infractions reprochées.

L'article 108 de la LCPE indique que deux personnes âgées d'au moins 18 ans et résidant au Canada peuvent demander au ministre de l'Environnement d'ouvrir une enquête sur l'infraction présumée.

Avant l'ouverture d'une enquête, l'infraction présumée doit satisfaire aux conditions précisées à l'article 108. Lorsque ces conditions sont respectées, l'article 109 exige que le ministre fasse enquête pour établir les faits pertinents à l'infraction présumée. Dans les 90 jours suivant la réception de la demande, le ministre informe l'auteur de celle-ci du déroulement de l'enquête et des mesures qu'il entend prendre.

Au cours de l'année écoulée, une seule enquête a été menée en vertu de l'article 108. Aucune infraction à la LCPE n'a été constatée.

Directives sur l'application uniforme

Pour compléter la Politique d'application de la LCPE, Environnement Canada a continué en 1994-1995 à rédiger les Directives sur l'application uniforme (DAU) pour les règlements prioritaires suivants :

  • Règlement sur le rejet de chlorure de vinyle;
  • Règlement sur les renseignements concernant les substances nouvelles;
  • Règlement sur les substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone;
  • Règlement sur les produits contenant des substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone;
  • Règlement fédéral sur le traitement et la destruction au moyen d'unités mobiles;
  • Règlement sur les dioxines et les furannes chlorés dans les effluents des usines de pâtes et papiers.

En outre, Environnement Canada a formé des groupes de travail chargés d'élaborer les Stratégies de mise en oeuvre pour les Règlements sur les BPC et sur l'exportation et l'importation des déchets dangereux. Ces stratégies viennent compléter les DAU, car elles s'appliqueraient aux activités de vérification de la conformité à des dispositions particulières ainsi qu'aux mesures d'exécution proposées concernant des infractions éventuelles. L'analyse article par article de ces règlements tient compte des enjeux juridiques, techniques et d'applicabilité et sert de document de référence pour les inspecteurs en vue de faciliter l'orientation générale et de favoriser les priorités d'inspection.

Le Plan national d'inspection

Le Plan national d'inspection (PNI), qui est un plan de travail annuel, précise le nombre et les types d'inspections à effectuer conformément aux règlements de la LCPE. Fruit de la collaboration entre le personnel de l'Administration centrale et celui des bureaux régionaux d'Environnement Canada, il vise les menaces environnementales les plus graves dans chaque région. En mettant en oeuvre le PNI, Environnement Canada fait des inspections, examine les documents et les données que les organismes réglementés sont tenus de remettre au Ministère et évalue les résultats des essais de conformité.

Le Programme national de formation

La formation est toujours une pièce maîtresse du programme d'exécution d'Environnement Canada en matière de législation sur la protection de l'environnement. Par suite de l'addition du volet « espèces sauvages » au Bureau de l'application de la loi à l'automne 1993, il faut désormais répondre à une nouvelle gamme de besoins spéciaux en formation. De même, la signature de diverses ententes administratives fédérales-provinciales exige de former les employés provinciaux qui vont se charger de l'application de la législation fédérale. Environnement Canada a donc élargi son programme de formation pour que les analystes et les agents d'exécution de la législation sur la pollution et les espèces sauvages soient formés aux fonctions nécessitant des aptitudes fondamentales d'inspection et d'enquête, ainsi qu'à une réglementation très spécialisée et à des activités d'exécution particulières.

En 1994-1995, Environnement Canada a offert les cours suivants :

  • Former les formateurs
  • Cours de base pour les inspecteurs
  • Cours pour les témoins experts
  • Cours sur la santé et la sécurité
  • Règlements sur les substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone
  • Règlements sur les renseignements concernant les substances nouvelles
  • Règlement sur les antimousses et les copeaux de bois des usines de pâtes et papiers (personnel provincial en C.-B.)
  • Règlement sur les dioxines et les furannes chlorés dans les effluents des usines de pâtes et papiers (personnel provincial en C.-B.)

Environnement Canada a continué à élaborer un guide sur la santé et la sécurité ainsi qu'un manuel d'échantillonnage sur le terrain pour les inspecteurs et les enquêteurs. Il participe également, de concert avec ses partenaires, aux activités de groupes de travail fédéraux-provinciaux concernant les espèces sauvages et la protection de l'environnement, afin de déterminer des faÿons de mieux coordonner la formation et les ressources et de tirer des enseignements de l'expérience des autres.

À l'échelle internationale, Environnement Canada a participé à la Conférence internationale sur l'exécution de la législation environnementale tenue au Mexique. Cet événement a fait connaître notre programme et fait suite aux obligations que le Canada a contractées au titre de l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA) et de la Commission nord-américaine de coopération environnementale (CNACE) dont le siège se trouve à Montréal. EC a aidé à dispenser un cours au Chili en mars 1995. Sa participation a été rendue possible grâce à une entente entre le gouvernement du Canada et le Chili.

Le système de suivi informatisé

En 1994-1995, le Bureau de l'application de la loi a participé activement à la programmation et à l'installation du Système de suivi de l'application de la loi (SSAL). Au cours de l'exercice écoulé, le Bureau de l'application de la loi a travaillé d'arrache-pied à la programmation, à la mise à l'essai et au débogage du logiciel. En juin 1994, on a donné une formation et remis une version pré-lancement du SSAL au personnel de la région de l'Atlantique, cette région ayant été choisie comme zone pilote. Au 31 mars 1995, le SSAL avait été installé dans chacun des cinq bureaux régionaux et à l'Administration centrale.

Un comité formé de membres des régions et de l'Administration centrale a conseillé et orienté le développement de ce système tout au long de l'année.

L'application de la loi

Le tableau qui suit indique les activités d'application de la LCPE en 1994-1995. Si vous avez des questions, veuillez vous adresser au Bureau de l'application de la loi, au (819-953-1174).

Application de la loi (1994-1995)
RèglementInspec-
tions
En-
quêtes
Aver-
tisse-
ments
Gouv.
Aver-
tisse-
ments
Autres
Direc-
tives
Pour-
suites
Condam-
nations
Stockage des matériaux contenant des BPC42532157 11
Règlement sur les BPC2447 3   
Exportation de déchets contenant des BPC1      
Destruction des BPC9      
Plomb de seconde fusion36  1   
Chlorure de vinyle1    1 
Rejet d'amiante par les mines et usines d'extraction d'amiante26      
Rejet de mercure par les fabriques de chlore12      
Essence131    2
Combustibles contaminés4      
Substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone #1,#2, #4188 6 21
Substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone (produits)18429 19 22
Immersion de déchets en mer1324 2 12
Exportation et importation des déchets dangereux17011 8 11
Concentraion en phosphore331 1   
Dioxines et furannes30  9   
Additifs antimousse et copeaux de bois20      
Autres4      
Total1,3626421106089

 

Poursuites judiciaires (1er avril 1994 au 31 mars 1995)
Nom et adresse de la sociétéÉtatDate et lieu de l'infra-
ction
Date de l'accus-
ation
Articles/
infractions
Date de l'au-
dience
Juge-
ment
PeineRemarques
Région de l'Atlantique
Miramachi Pulp &
Paper Inc.
Newcastle (N.-B.)
Réglé18-03-199416-06-1994LCPE. 1 chef d'accusation
Règlement sur le stockage de matériaux contenant des BPC
1 chef d'accusation
Règlement sur les chlorobiphényles Env. 451 L de pétrole contenant des BPC se seraient répandus dans l'environ-
nement
09-08-1994Plai-
doyer de

culpa-
bilité
Amende de 100 $ et ordonnance de la cour de payer 8 000 $ au min. de l'Éducation du N.-B. pour l'éducation environnementale dans le domaine des infractions et encore 8 000 $ au Fonds pour les bourses d'études des collèges communautaires du N.-B.Le chef d'accusation au titre du Règlement sur les chloro-
biphényles a été retiré. La société a accepté de verser encore 500 $ à Environ-
nement Canada pour la publication, dans un journal, des faits liés à l'affaire.
Région du Québec
Anachemia Ltd.
500, 2e Avenue
Lachine (Qc)
En cours06-08-1991 à 19-11-1991 Montréal (Qc)14-10-1994LCPE. 5 chefs d'accusation
Substances appau-
vrissant la couche d'ozone (no 1)

Importation illégale de produits contenant des CFC
24-02 1995   
Acces-O-Tonik
2095, bd Charest Ouest
Sainte-Foy (Qc)
Réglé18-10-1994
Sainte-Foy (Qc)
13-05-1994LCPE. Substances appau-
vrissant la couche d'ozone (no 3)

2 chefs d'accusation
Vente de produits contenant des CFC
26-08-1994Plai-
doyer de culpa-
bilité
Amende de 600 $ 
Zep du Canada Inc.
660, av. Lépine
Dorval (Qc)
Réglé19-01-1994
Dorval (Qc)
14-04-1994LCPE. Substances appau-
vrissant la couche d'ozone (no 3)

3 chefs d'accusation
Importation illégale, mise en vente et vente de produits contenant des CFC
06-09-1994Plai-
doyer de culpa-
bilité
Amende de 9 600 $ et prise en charge des coûts de la destruction des contenants de CFC 
Région de l'Ontario
Biocan Waste Management Systems et Gary Zimak
Thunder Bay (Ont.)
Réglé05-08-1994
Douanes Canada Thunder Bay (Ont.)
14-06-1994LCPE. Règlement sur l'exportation et l'importation des déchets dangereux26-09-1994Plai-
doyer de culpa-
bilité
Biocan : amende de 5 000 $
Président : amende de 2 500 $
Également travaux commu-
nautaires pendant un an.
Imperial Oil
Chemicals Division
Sarnia, Ontario
Procès à venir19 juillet su 12 juillet 199330-01-1995LCPE - 4 chefs d'accusation -
Règlement sur le rejet de chlorure de vinyle
06-11-1995  Deux chefs d'accusation contre Imperial Oil et deux contre le gérant de l'usine.
Région des Prairies et du Nord
Aucune poursuite judiciaire pendant l'exercice de 1994-1995        
Région du Pacifique et du Yukon
Vandervalk-CorneliusRéglé01-09-199421-11-1994LCPE. Immersion de déchets en mer
1 chef d'accusation
01-12-1994Plai-
doyer de culpa-
bilité
Amende de 500 $Restitution de 145 $ 35 heures de travaux commu-
nautaires et excuses publiques.
Bella Coola Fisheries Ltd.
9829, chemin River Delta (C.-B.)
RégléMars 1992; févr., août, sept. et déc. 199307-04-1994LCPE. Substances appau-
vrissant la couche d'ozone (no 2)

5 chefs d'accusation
Importation de substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone
23-11-1994Plai-
doyer de culpa-
bilité
Amende de 7 500 $