The Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 and government operations and federal and aboriginal land

Download fact sheet in PDF format (24 KB)

What is Part 9 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999?

Part 9 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) pertains to Government operations and federal and Aboriginal land. It applies to:

  • federal departments, agencies, Crown corporations and boards;
  • all federal works and undertakings;
  • Aboriginal land; and
  • parties who occupy or use federal land.

These are often referred to collectively as the "Federal House."

Do other parts of CEPA 1999 apply to the Federal House?

Members of the Federal House are subject to all of CEPA 1999, as it generally applies to every Canadian. This means that regulations for toxic substances, fuels, ocean disposal and other matters apply equally to the Federal House.

Compliance is similarly monitored, and CEPA 1999 violations within the Federal House can be prosecuted in the same manner as any other violations.

Why is there a special part for government operations and federal and Aboriginal lands?

Under Canada's Constitution, provincial environmental laws do not generally apply to the Federal House. This means that federal operations and land, including Aboriginal land, are for the most part not subject to provincial regulations or permit systems covering emissions, effluents, environmental emergencies, waste handling and other environmental matters.

Part 9 of CEPA 1999 fills this gap through enabling regulatory authorities that ensure federal facilities and federal and Aboriginal lands can be covered by the same types of environmental regulations as entities regulated by the Provinces and Territories.

It also provides the authority for making environmental regulations or guidelines that can be applied exclusively to the Federal House. As noted in the preamble to CEPA 1999, this will help move the Federal House toward the goal of "ensuring that its operations and activities on federal and aboriginal land are carried out in a manner that is consistent with the principles of pollution prevention and the protection of the environment and human health."

What is included in Part 9?

Part 9 gives the Governor in Council (federal Cabinet) broad power to issue regulations specifically for the Federal House that cover:

  • any environmental matter;
  • environmental management systems;
  • the control or prevention of pollution;
  • substances or activities involving any substances (including manufacture, processing, release to the environment and disposal).

Part 9 also requires the Minister of the Environment to issue objectives, codes of practice, and guidelines that will apply specifically to the Federal House.

Who is being consulted?

In administering CEPA 1999, the Government offers to consult with affected and interested parties in making decisions that affect the environment. Under Part 9 of the Act, the Minister of the Environment must offer to consult with any territorial government that may be affected by a proposed regulation, guideline, code of practice or objective. The Minister is also required to consult with the members of the National Advisory Committee who represent Aboriginal governments that may be affected by a proposed regulation. As well, the Minister may consult with affected departments, boards, agencies, federal works and undertakings, persons on or using Aboriginal or federal land, Crown corporations and other interested parties.

Further information

Internet:

CEPA 1999 - Part 9

Inquiry Centre:

Environment Canada
10 Wellington Street
23rd floor, Place Vincent Massey
Gatineau QC  K1A 0H3
Telephone: 1 800 668-6767 [in Canada only] or 819-997-2800
Fax: 819-994-1412
TTY: 819-994-0736
E-mail: enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Date modified:

La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) et les opérations gouvernementales, le territoire domanial et les terres autochtones

Téléchargez la fiche d'information en format PDF (23 ko)

En quoi consiste la Partie 9 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)?

La Partie 9 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] a trait aux opérations gouvernementales, au territoire domanial et aux terres autochtones. Elle régit :

  • les ministères et les organismes fédéraux, les sociétés d'État et les commissions;
  • les entreprises fédérales;
  • les terres autochtones;
  • les personnes qui s'y trouvent.

Ceux-ci sont communément appelés la « grande maison fédérale ».

D'autres parties de la LCPE (1999) s'appliquent-elles à la grande maison fédérale?

Les membres de la grande maison fédérale sont visés, comme tous les Canadiens, par toutes les dispositions de la LCPE (1999). Par conséquent, les règlements concernant les substances toxiques, le carburant, l'immersion en mer et les autres substances s'appliquent aussi à la grande maison fédérale.

La conformité de la grande maison fédérale à la LCPE (1999) fait l'objet d'une surveillance, et les infractions commises par ses membres peuvent faire l'objet de poursuites comme toute autre infraction.

Pourquoi y a-t-il une partie réservée aux opérations gouvernementales, au territoire domanial et aux terres autochtones?

En vertu de la Constitution du Canada, les lois environnementales provinciales ne s'appliquent pas en général à la grande maison fédérale. Autrement dit, les opérations fédérales, le territoire domanial et les terres autochtones ne sont pas, pour la plupart, assujettis aux règlements ou aux régimes de permis provinciaux régissant les émissions, les effluents, les urgences environnementales, la gestion des déchets et les autres questions environnementales.

La Partie 9 de la LCPE (1999) comble cette lacune en permettant aux organismes de réglementation de s'assurer que les installations fédérales, le territoire domanial et les terres autochtones peuvent être couverts par les mêmes types de règlements que le sont les entités de compétence provinciale et territoriale.

La Partie 9 permet aussi d'adopter des règlements ou des lignes directrices en matière d'environnement s'appliquant exclusivement à la grande maison fédérale. Tel qu'il est indiqué dans le préambule de la LCPE (1999), il sera ainsi plus facile pour la grande maison fédérale « de faire en sorte que ses opérations et activités sur le territoire domanial et les terres autochtones respectent les principes de la prévention de la pollution et de la protection de l'environnement et de la santé humaine ».

Que contient la Partie 9?

La Partie 9 confère au gouverneur en conseil (le cabinet fédéral) le vaste pouvoir de prendre, précisément pour la grande maison fédérale, des règlements en ce qui concerne :

  • les questions environnementales;
  • les systèmes de gestion environnementale;
  • la lutte contre la pollution, ou la prévention de celle-ci;
  • les substances, ou les activités qui en comportent (fabrication, traitement, rejet dans l'environnement et élimination).

La Partie 9 exige en outre que le ministre de l'Environnement établisse des objectifs, des codes de pratique et des lignes directrices s'appliquant précisément à la grande maison fédérale.

Qui est consulté?

Pour l'application de la LCPE (1999), le gouvernement propose de consulter les parties touchées qui s'intéressent à la prise des décisions ayant une incidence sur l'environnement. En vertu de la Partie 9, le ministre de l'Environnement doit proposer de consulter les gouvernements territoriaux susceptibles d'être touchés par un projet de règlement, de ligne directrice, de code de pratique ou d'objectif. Il doit aussi consulter les membres du Comité consultatif national (CCN) représentant les gouvernements autochtones qui peuvent être touchés par un projet de règlement. Enfin, il peut consulter les ministères, les commissions, les organismes, les entreprises fédérales, les personnes qui se trouvent sur les terres autochtones ou le territoire domanial, ou dont les activités s'y rapportent, les sociétés d'État et toute partie intéressée.

Pour plus de renseignements :

Internet :

Partie 9 de la LCPE

Informathèque

Environnement Canada
10, rue Wellington, 23e étage
Gatineau (Québec)  K1A 0H3
Téléphone : 1 800 668-6767 [au Canada seulement] ou 819-997-2800
Télécopieur : 819-994-1412
ATS : 819-994-0736
Courriel : enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Date de modification :