This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Objection to the Proposed Order to add respirable particulate matter less than or equal to 10 microns (PM10) to Schedule 1 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA, 1999)

Minister's Response to Concerns Raised by Alberta Environment

Apr 09 2001

Mr. David Spink
Environmental Sciences Division
Alberta Environment
4 Floor, Oxbridge Place
9820 106 Street
Edmonton AB T5K 2J6

Dear Mr. Spink:

This is in response to your Notice of Objection, dated August 8, 2000, respecting the proposed Order to add respirable particulate matter less than or equal to 10 microns (PM 10) to Schedule 1 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA, 1999) in which you request that I establish a Board of Review.

I have fully and carefully considered your Notice of Objection. I am of the view that it does not provide any information with respect to the nature and extent of the danger posed by particulate matter which would thus warrant the establishment of a Board of Review in this case. Therefore, I will not establish a Board of Review.

You raise a number of points in your submission on CEPA terminology and processes, as well as approaches to risk management for particulate matter which are beyond the criteria for considering a Board of Review. I am confident that the risk management processes that we have embarked upon for the PM 2.5 Canada-wide Standard will continue to evolve in a logical and effective manner.

I appreciate your comments and look forward to co-operative efforts between our two governments to address the particulate matter issue.

Yours sincerely,
David Anderson, P.C., M.P.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d'opposition au décret proposé d'inscription des particules inhalables de 10 microns ou moins (PM10) à l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)

Réponse du Ministre aux inquiétudes suscitées par Alberta Environment

Le 9 avril 2001

M. David Spink
Environmental Sciences Division
Alberta Environment
4 Floor, Oxbridge Place
9820 106 Street
Edmonton AB T5K 2J6

Cher Monsieur Spink :

La présente fait suite à votre lettre du 8 août 2000 concernant le projet de décret visant à ajouter toute matière particulaire inhalable de diamètre inférieur ou égal à 10 microns (MP10) à la Liste des substances toxiques de l'annexe I de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)], dans laquelle vous demandiez l'établissement d'une commission de révision.

J'ai examiné attentivement et soigneusement votre avis d'opposition. L'avis d'opposition ne contient pas des renseignements (en ce qui a trait à la nature et à l’étendue du danger posé par les matières particulaires inhalables de diamètre inférieur ou égal à 10 microns (MP10) qui justifient l’établissement d’une commission de révision dans ce cas. Par conséquent, je n'établirai pas une commission de révision.

Vous soulevez un certain nombre de points dans votre soumission concernant la terminologie et les processus de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)], ainsi que les approches adoptées pour gérer les risques associés aux matières particulaires qui dépassent les critères pour envisager l'établissement d'une commission de révision. Je suis convaincu que les processus de gestion des risques que nous avons adoptés en nous appuyant sur les standards pancanadiens concernant les MP2,5 continueront d'évoluer de manière logique et efficace.

J'apprécie vos commentaires et me réjouis à l'idée de nos efforts continus entre nos deux gouvernemens pour répondre aux préoccupations relatives aux matières particulaires.


Je vous prie d'agréer mes salutations distinguées.

David Anderson, c.p., député

Date de modification :