This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

New Substances Program - Operational Policies Manual

| TOC | Previous | Next |

4. Risk Assessment


4.A Operational Policy for Using Third-Party Information

Purpose

This document describes Environment Canada's and Health Canada's operational policy for using third-party information (information from sources not associated with the notification) in assessments of new substances under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) and the New Substances Notification Regulations (NSNR).

Application

This operational policy applies to all new substances notifications.

Context

Under section 81 and section 106 of CEPA 1999, importers and manufacturers of new substances must provide prescribed information so that Environment Canada and Health Canada can assess the new substances to determine if they are "toxic" (in accordance with the criteria set out in section 64 of CEPA 1999) or capable of becoming "toxic." A substance is considered "new" if it is not listed on the Domestic Substances List (DSL). The notification requirements are established in the NSNR.

Notification of new substances in Canada is a tiered system, with more detailed information required for notification of higher volumes of a substance. Third-party information can be useful in supplementing required information, thus helping to build a weight of evidence during assessments.

Operational Policy

Use of Third-Party Information

Program evaluators may use all available information when assessing a substance, including notified information as well as third-party information. Third-party information includes information from publicly available sources and information already in possession of the Program, such as data from other new substances notifications for similar substances. Third-party information is used to augment notified information and support assessment conclusions by building a weight of evidence. Third-party information is not used to relieve notifiers of their obligations to provide information under the Act and NSNR.

Third party information can support the validity of the notified data, or in cases where data is contradictory, it can help to determine the factors that may have influenced the test results. In some cases, third-party information (e.g. chronic studies) may be preferable over notified data (e.g. acute studies).

Example: When conducting an exposure assessment, evaluators use the notified information as well as third-party information, such as emission scenarios, monitoring data, and other notified information for a substance with similar use and exposure patterns. Quantitative information from a third-party may be used to help determine a predicted environmental concentration. Third-party information may also be used to assist in identifying other possible uses of the substance or to support assumptions in the exposure assessment, such as typical volumes employed in an application.

Confidentiality of Third Party Information

If third party information is protected under the Disclosure of Information provisions of the Act, it will be removed from assessment reports prior to being released to the notifier or the public. Masked names will also be maintained. Refer to the Operational Policy for Maintaining Confidentiality of Substances Identities for more information.

Related Information

  • Operational Policy for Maintaining Confidentiality of Substances Identities

4.B. Environmental and Health Risk Assessment Process Used by EC and HC for the NSN Assessment Phase a) For Chemicals/Polymers b) For Biotech (TO BE DEVELOPED)

4.C. How the NS Program Interprets "Toxic" and "Suspicion of Toxic" in Making Its Risk Assessments (TO BE DEVELOPED)

4.D. Peer Review of Assessment Reports (TO BE DEVELOPED)

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Programme des substances nouvelles - Manuel des politiques opérationnelles

| TdesM | Précédent | Suivant |

4. Évaluation des risques


4.A. politique opérationnelle concernant l'utilisation de renseignements provenant d'un tiers

Objet

Le présent document décrit la politique opérationnelle établie par Environnement Canada et Santé Canada concernant l'utilisation de renseignements provenant d'un tiers (de sources n'ayant aucun lien avec la déclaration) pour l'évaluation de substances nouvelles conformément à la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999 (LCPE 1999) et le Règlement sur les renseignements concernant les substances nouvelles (RRSN).

Application

La présente politique opérationnelle s'applique à toutes les déclarations de substances nouvelles.

Contexte

En vertu des articles 81 et 106 de la LCPE 1999, les importateurs et les fabricants de nouvelles substances sont tenus de fournir les renseignements prescrits afin de permettre à Environnement Canada et à Santé Canada d'évaluer les substances et de déterminer si elles sont « toxiques » (en regard des critères énoncées à l'article 64 de la LCPE 1999) ou susceptibles de le devenir. Une substance est considérée comme « nouvelle » lorsqu'elle ne figure pas à la Liste intérieure des substances (LIS). Le Règlement sur les renseignements concernant les substances nouvelles (RRSN) énonce les exigences en matière de renseignements.

Au Canada, la déclaration des renseignements concernant des substances nouvelles est un système étagé qui exige des renseignements plus détaillés lorsque la déclaration vise des volumes élevés. Les renseignements provenant d'un tiers peuvent être utiles pour compléter l'information requise, ce qui permet de constituer une preuve durant les évaluations.

Politique opérationnelle

Utilisation de renseignements provenant de tiers

Les évaluateurs du Programme peuvent utiliser tous les renseignements disponibles pour évaluer une substance, autant les renseignements tirés des déclarations que ceux provenant de tiers, notamment l'information provenant de sources publiques et les renseignements déjà à la disposition du Programme, comme des données tirées de déclarations de substances nouvelles similaires. Ces renseignements viennent compléter l'information fournie dans les déclarations et étayer les conclusions des évaluateurs en les fondant sur des preuves. Ils ne déchargent toutefois pas les déclarants de leur obligation de fournir des renseignements, au sens de la Loi et du Règlement.

Les renseignements provenant de tiers peuvent confirmer la validité des données fournies par les déclarants; lorsque les données sont contradictoires, ils permettent de déterminer les facteurs susceptibles d'avoir eu une incidence sur les résultats des essais. Ces renseignements (par exemple, études sur la chronicité) sont parfois préférables aux données figurant sur les déclarations (par exemple, expériences aiguës).

Exemple : Pour évaluer le degré d'exposition, les évaluateurs se basent sur les renseignements contenus dans les déclarations et des renseignements provenant de tiers, notamment les scénarios d' émissions, les données de surveillance et d'autres renseignements déclarés concernant une substance similaire quant à l'utilisation et à l'exposition. Les données quantitatives provenant de tiers peuvent servir à déterminer le taux prévu de concentration dans l'environnement. Ils peuvent également servir à identifier d'autres utilisations potentielles de la substance ou à étayer des hypothèses dans l'évaluation de l'exposition, comme les volumes généralement employés dans une application.

Confidentialité des renseignements provenant de tiers

Les renseignements provenant de tiers qui sont protégés en vertu des dispositions de la Loi relatives à la divulgation des renseignements sont supprimés des rapports d'évaluation avant que les résultats ne soient communiqués au déclarant ou au public. Les dénominations maquillées sont également conservées. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter la Politique opérationnelle concernant le maintien de la confidentialité de l'identité des substances.

Renseignements connexes

  • Politique opérationnelle concernant le maintien de la confidentialité de l'identité des substances

4.B. Processus d'évaluation des risques pour l'environnement et la santé mis en oeuvre par EC et SC pour l'évaluation des DSN a) pour les substances chimiques et les polymères et b) pour les substances issues de la biotechnologie (À VENIR)

4.C. Comment le Programme des SN interprète les termes " toxique "et "soupçon de toxicité " dans ses évaluations des risques (À VENIR)

4.D. Examen des rapports d'évaluation par les pairs (À VENIR)

Date de modification :