General Information

This section includes a variety of general information that is related to the activities which take place under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999. Such information is broad in nature and includes documents such as recent CEPA 1999 annual reports and fact sheets.

Fact Sheets

CEPA Annual Reports

Committees

Interdepartmental Cooperation

The Environment Canada/Health Canada CEPA Management Committee

The CEPA Management Committee was established pursuant to the 1990 Memorandum of Understanding between Environment Canada and Health Canada concerning toxic substances and CEPA. It oversees Environment Canada and Health Canada programs dealing with priority substances, new chemicals and biotechnology products, the development of regulatory and non-regulatory control options for toxic substances, amendments to CEPA and its regulations and other related issues. Joint subcommittees have been set up to address new chemicals and toxic substances.

The National Advisory Committee (NAC) Under CEPA 1999

Under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, Section 6 provides for the CEPA National Advisory Committee (NAC) to be the main intergovernmental forum for the purpose of enabling national action and avoiding duplication in regulatory activity among governments.

The Environmental Registry

The Environmental Registry was launched on Environment Canada's web site with the proclamation of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) on March 31, 2000 as required under Section 12 of CEPA 1999.

The goal of the Registry is to make it easier to access current information related to the Act such as:

  • Regulations
  • Canada Gazette notices and orders
  • Permits
  • Guidelines
  • Codes of practice
  • Agreements
  • Plans
  • Policies
  • Substances
  • Enforcement and compliance actions

Most importantly, the Environmental Registry is available for Canadians to understand how the federal government administers CEPA 1999 and to participate in the consultation and decision making processes under the Act. Industry, environmental, labor, health and aboriginal groups and individuals are examples of those who are continually invited to participate in a wide variety of public consultations.

Since the launch of the Environmental Registry, ongoing efforts have been made to increase the Registry's reliability and user friendliness. The Registry continues to expand in order to serve Canadians better and now encompasses thousands of documents related to the Act. The content and structure of the Registry is always evolving as new documents are added and as improvements are recommended by users.

If you have suggested improvements to the Environmental Registry, please write to: CEPARegistry@ec.gc.ca

Information générale

Cette section comporte divers renseignements généraux qui sont reliés aux activités entreprises en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999). Ces renseignements sont de nature générale et comportent certains documents, comme les récents rapports annuels de la LCPE (1999) et des fiches d'information.

Fiches d'information

Rapports annuels de la LCPE

Comités

Collaboration interministérielle

Comité de gestion de la LCPE d'Environnement Canada et de Santé Canada

Le comité de gestion de la LCPE a été établi conformément au Protocole d'entente de 1990 entre Environnement Canada et Santé Canada concernant les substances toxiques et la LCPE. Ce comité surveille les programmes d'Environnement Canada et de Santé Canada qui traitent des substances prioritaires, des nouveaux produits chimiques et biotechnologiques, de la mise au point d'options de contrôle réglementaires et non réglementaires des substances toxiques, des modifications à la LCPE et à ses règlements et d'autres questions connexes. Des sous-comités mixtes ont été établis pour tenir compte des nouveaux produits chimiques et des nouvelles substances toxiques.

Le Comité consultatif national (CCN) de la LCPE de 1999

L'article 6 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) prévoit la création d'un Comité consultatif national (CCN) de la LCPE agissant à titre de principal forum intergouvernemental dans le but de rendre réalisable une action nationale et d'éviter le dédoublement des règlements pris par les gouvernements.

Le registre environnemental

Le registre environnemental, dont l'établissement est prévu à l'article 12 de la LCPE (1999), a été lancé sur le site Web d'Environnement Canada en conjonction avec la proclamation de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)], le 31 mars 2000.

Le registre a pour but de faciliter l'accès à une information actuelle concernant la Loi :

  • règlements
  • avis et décrets de la Gazette du Canada
  • permis
  • lignes directrices
  • codes de pratiques
  • accords
  • plans
  • politiques
  • substances
  • mesures d'application de la loi et de conformité

La plus importante caractéristique du registre est qu'il est accessible aux Canadiens qui souhaitent comprendre comment le gouvernement fédéral applique la LCPE 1999 et qui veulent participer aux processus consultatifs et décisionnels découlant de la Loi. Les groupes et les particuliers de différents domaines (p. ex. industrie, environnement, syndicats, secteur de la santé, milieu autochtone) sont régulièrement invités à participer à une grande diversité de consultations publiques.

Depuis le lancement du registre environnemental, on s'efforce constamment d'en rehausser la fiabilité et la convivialité. Le registre, qui continue de s'élargir pour mieux servir la population canadienne, comprend maintenant des milliers de documents concernant la Loi. Le contenu et la structure du registre évoluent à mesure qu'on y verse de nouveaux documents et que les usagers y recommandent des améliorations.

Si vous souhaitez suggérer des améliorations au registre environnemental, écrivez à CEPARegistry@ec.gc.ca.