Changes to the National Pollutant Release Inventory (NPRI) for 2016

Environment Canada is proposing two changes to the requirements of the National Pollutant Release Inventory (NPRI), to take effect for the 2016 reporting year.

  1. Environment Canada is proposing to change the NPRI reporting threshold for “Cobalt (and its compounds)” to a 50 kg manufacture, process or other use threshold, and 0.1% concentration threshold, commencing with the 2016 reporting year. “Cobalt (and its compounds)” is currently listed on the NPRI, at the standard 10-tonne manufacture, process or other use threshold and 1% concentration threshold.
  2. Environment Canada is proposing to collect more contextual information on releases to water by adding the reporting of non-detect and concentration values to the NPRI for the 2016 reporting year. The proposed change is intended to improve the understandability of NPRI data on water releases by providing more contextual information, to address comments raised by data users during the NPRI Data Users’ Workshop in 2013 and by other data users within Environment Canada.

To obtain copies of these proposals, please contact the NPRI at inrp-npri@ec.gc.ca.

Consultation is being conducted with the NPRI Multi-Stakeholder Work Group from April 17, 2015 to June 26, 2015. Public comments on the proposed changes are welcome and should be sent to inrp-npri@ec.gc.ca by June 26, 2015.

Date modified:

Modifications à l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants (INRP) pour 2016

Environnement Canada propose deux modifications aux exigences de l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants (INRP) pour l’année de déclaration 2016.

  1. Environnement Canada propose de modifier le seuil de déclaration du cobalt (et ses composés) à l’INRP afin de l’abaisser à 50 kg pour la fabrication, la préparation ou autre utilisation et à une concentration de 0,1 %, à compter de l’année de déclaration 2016. Le cobalt (et ses composés) est actuellement inscrit à l’inventaire au seuil normal de 10 tonnes pour la fabrication, la préparation ou autre utilisation et à une concentration seuil de 1 %.
  2. Environnement Canada propose de recueillir plus de renseignements contextuels sur les rejets dans l’eau par la déclaration des valeurs non détectées et des concentrations à l’INRP pour l’année de déclaration 2016. Le changement proposé vise à améliorer la compréhensibilité des données de l’INRP sur les rejets dans l’eau en fournissant plus de renseignements contextuels, et à répondre aux commentaires formulés par les utilisateurs des données à l’occasion de l’atelier qui a été donné à leur intention en 2013, et par les autres utilisateurs des données au sein d’Environnement Canada.

Pour obtenir des copies des propositions, prière de communiquer avec l'INRP à inrp-npri@ec.gc.ca.

La consultation est menée par l’entremise du Groupe de travail multilatéral de l'INRP du 17 avril 2015 au 26 juin 2015. Les commentaires du public sur cette proposition de modification sont les bienvenus et doivent être envoyés avant le 26 juin 2015 à inrp-npri@ec.gc.ca.

Date de modification :