This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Objection

Minister of the Environment  Coat of Arms  Ministre de l'Environnement

The Honorable   L'honorable

Jim Prentice

Ottawa, Canada KIA OH3

July 20, 2010

Mr. Karluss V. Thomas
Executive Director
Silicones Environmental, Health and
Safety Council of North America
2325 Dulles Corner Boulevard, Suite 500
Herndon, VA 20171
U.S.A.

Dear Mr. Thomas:

I am responding to the Notice of Objection you filed on July 10, 2009, regarding the proposed Order to add Cyclotetrasiloxane, octamethyl (D4) and Cyclopentasiloxane, decamethyl (D5) to Schedule 1 to the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, that was published in the Canada Gazette, Part I, on May 16, 2009.

I have carefully considered your submission and request to establish a Board of Review pursuant to section 333 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 for both substances. I am of the view that your Notice does not bring forth new scientific data or information that would likely lead to a different conclusion respecting D4, as detailed in the final screening assessment report published in January 2009. Therefore, I will not establish a Board of Review for D4. Further periods for comment, as well as opportunities to file notices of objection will be made available following the publication of proposed instruments for the preventive or control action of D4, such as a proposed regulation.

With respect to D5, I agree that a further inquiry into the nature and extent of the danger posed by this substance is warranted, considering the advent of information and data not previously examined. Therefore, I will establish a Board of Review for D5 and will publish a Ministerial Order to this effect in the Canada Gazette, Part I. The Board of Review will comprise three distinguished members of the Canadian academic community. The Board Chair will be Dr. John Giesy of the University of Saskatchewan, and the other members will be Dr. Keith Solomon of the University of Guelph and Dr. Sam Kacew of the University of Ottawa.

I appreciate your bringing the Silicones Environmental, Health and Safety Council of North America's concerns to my attention, and extend my best wishes.

Sincerely,

Signature of minister

The Honourable Jim Prentice, P.C., Q.C., M.P.

Canada Wordmark

Date modified:

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Avis d'opposition

Minister of the Environment  Armoiries  Ministre de l'Environnement

The Honorable   L'honorable

Jim Prentice

Ottawa, Canada KIA OH3

Le 20 juillet 2010

M. Karluss V. Thomas
Executive Director
Silicones Environmental, Health and
Safety Council of North America
2325 Dulles Corner Boulevard, Suite 500
Herndon, VA 20171
U.S.A.

Cher Monsieur Thoma s:

Je réponds à votre avis d'opposition daté du 10 juillet 2009 concernant le décret proposé d'inscription de l'Octaméthylcyclotétrasiloxane (D4) et du Décaméthylcyclopentasiloxane (D5) à l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999), publié dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada le 16 mai 2009.

J'ai examiné attentivement et soigneusement votre soumission et demande d'établissement d'une commission de révision en vertu de l'article 333 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] pour ces deux substances.

Je suis d'avis que votre avis d'opposition n'apporte aucune nouvelle donnée ou information scientifique qui serait susceptible de mener à une conclusion différente en ce qui concerne le D4, telle qu'elle est décrite dans le rapport final d'évaluation préalable publié en janvier 2009. Par conséquent, je n'établirai pas de commission de révision. D'autres périodes de commentaires et occasions pour présenter des avis d'opposition seront fournies, en vertu de la Loi, à la suite de la publication des instruments pour les mesures de prévention ou de contrôle du D4, tel qu'un projet de règlement.

En ce qui concerne le D5, je suis d'accord qu'une autre enquête sur la nature et l’étendue du danger que pose cette substance est justifiée, étant donné l'arrivée d'information et de données qui n'ont pas encore été examinées. Par conséquent, j'établirai une commission de révision du D5 et publierai un décret ministériel à ce sujet dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada. La commission de révision sera composée de trois membres distingués du milieu universitaire canadien. Le président de la commission sera M. John Giesy, Ph. D., de l'Université de la Saskatchewan, et les autres membres seront M. Keith Solomon, Ph. D., de l'Université de Guelph et M. Sam Kacew, Ph. D., de l'Université d'Ottawa.

Je vous remercie de m'avoir fait part des préoccupations du Silicones Environmental, Health and Safety Council of North America.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l'expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Signature of minister

The Honourable Jim Prentice, P.C., Q.C., M.P.

image de marque du Canada