Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Categorization of Existing Substances

Since 1994, Canada has been screening all new chemical substances before allowing their use. However, many chemical substances were introduced prior to 1994. Many of these older, or "existing substances" had not been examined for their potential risks by environmental and health scientists in government. Approximately 23 000 existing substances are registered on the Domestic Substances List (DSL).

The Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) requires that existing substances be sorted or "categorized" by the Government of Canada to determine which need further attention. Categorization is the first step in scientifically assessing all chemical substances on the DSL.

Using information from Canadian industry, academic research and other countries, Government of Canada scientists at Health Canada and Environment Canada worked with partners in applying a set of rigorous tools to each of the approximately 23 000 chemical substances on the DSL. In September 2006, Canada completed this scientific evaluation or "categorization" exercise. The information from categorization is now available and is being used to focus attention on those chemical substances of highest priority for assessment or further research, and those in need of controls to protect human health and the environment.

Catégorisation des substances existantes

Depuis 1994, le Canada examine toutes les nouvelles substances chimiques avant d'en autoriser l'utilisation. Toutefois, les chercheurs des ministères de l'Environnement et de la Santé n'ont pas fait d'évaluation préalable des risques posés par une grande partie des nombreuses substances chimiques introduites avant 1994 (les « substances existantes »). La Liste intérieure des substances (LIS) compte environ 23 000 substances existantes homologuées.

Aux termes de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE 1999], le gouvernement du Canada doit classer les substances existantes selon des catégories afin de déterminer lesquelles d'entre elles doivent faire l'objet d'un examen plus approfondi. Cette catégorisation est la première étape de l'évaluation scientifique de toutes les substances chimiques de la LIS.

En se basant sur des informations provenant de l'industrie canadienne, du milieu de la recherche universitaires et d'autres pays, les chercheurs de Santé Canada et d'Environnement Canada, en collaboration avec des partenaires, ont appliqué un ensemble de critères rigoureux à chacune des quelque 23 000 substances chimiques de la LIS. En septembre 2006, le Canada a terminé cette évaluation scientifique, l'exercice de catégorisation. Les informations relatives à cet exercice de catégorisation, qui sont maintenant disponibles, contribuent à axer les évaluations ou des recherches supplémentaires sur ces substances chimiques d'intérêt prioritaire, ainsi que sur celles pour lesquelles des mesures de limitation sont nécessaires afin de protéger la santé humaine et l'environnement.