This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Disposal at sea permit No. 4543-2-06908

Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to section 127 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999), Disposal at Sea Permit No. 4543-2-06908 authorizing the loading for disposal and the disposal of waste or other matter at sea is approved. The permit is published on the CEPA Registry on Tuesday, June 7, 2016.

1. Permittee: Husky Oil Operations Limited, St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador.

2. Waste or other matter to be disposed of: Ships, aircraft, platforms or other structures from which all material that can create floating debris or other marine pollution has been removed to the maximum extent possible if, in the case of disposal, those substances would not pose a serious obstacle to fishing or navigation after being disposed of.

2.1. Nature of waste or other matter: Water injection riser and bend stiffener removed from the SeaRose FPSO (floating production, storage and offloading vessel), as described in the disposal plan required by paragraph 13.1 of this permit.

3. Duration of permit: Permit is valid from June 15, 2016, to June 14, 2017.

4. Loading site: SeaRose FPSO, Newfoundland and Labrador, at approximately 46.78862° N, 48.01628° W North American Datum of 1983 (NAD83).

5. Disposal site: White Rose Disposal Site, bound by 46.76270° N 48.04692° W; 46.76717° N, 48.05317° W; 46.76667° N, 48.04000° W; and 46.75767° N, 48.04050° W (NAD83), as described in the drawing titled “Drawing CA-AT-D162” (May 3, 2016).

6. Method of loading: Loading shall be carried out by removing the water injection riser and bend stiffener from the SeaRose FPSO, using the North Sea Giant vessel, or a similar vessel, in accordance with the disposal plan required by paragraph 13.1 of this permit.

7. Route to disposal site(s) and method of transport: Most direct navigational route from the loading site to the disposal site, as described in the disposal plan required by paragraph 13.1 of this permit.

8. Method of disposal: Disposal shall be carried out by disposing the water injection riser and bend stiffener from the North Sea Giant vessel, or a similar vessel, in accordance with the disposal plan required by paragraph 13.1 of this permit.

9. Total quantity to be disposed of: Not to exceed 42 tonnes.

10. Inspection:

10.1. By accepting this permit, the Permittee and its contractors accept that they are subject to inspection pursuant to Part 10 of CEPA 1999.

10.2. Ships operating under the authority of this permit shall be marked in accordance with the Collision Regulations of the Canada Shipping Act, 2001, when located on or in the waterway.

11. Contractors:

11.1. The loading or disposal at sea referred to under this permit shall not be carried out by any person without written authorization from the Permittee.

11.2. The Permittee shall ensure that all persons involved in the loading, transport or disposal activities authorized by this permit conduct these activities in accordance with the relevant permit conditions.

12. Reporting and notification:

12.1. The Permittee shall provide the following information no later than 48 hours before loading and disposal activities commence and no sooner than 7 days before loading and disposal activities commence: name of the contractor, including corporate and on-site contact information; and expected period of loading and disposal activities. The above-noted information shall be submitted to

  1. Ms. Natasha Boyd, Environmental Protection Operations Directorate, Department of the Environment, Atlantic Region, 6 Bruce Street, Mount Pearl NL  A1N 4T3, 709-772-5097 (fax), natasha.boyd@canada.ca (email); and

  2. Mr. Gary Kennell, Environmental Enforcement Directorate, Department of the Environment, Atlantic Region, 6 Bruce Street, Mount Pearl NL  A1N 4T3, 709-772-5097 (fax), gary.kennell@canada.ca (email).

12.2. The Permittee shall submit a written report to the Minister, as represented by the Regional Director of the Environmental Protection Operations Directorate, Atlantic Region, care of Ms. Natasha Boyd, as identified in paragraph 12.1(a), within 30 days after the expiry of the permit. This report shall contain the following information: a list of all work completed pursuant to the permit, confirmation of the final position of disposal and the date on which the disposal activity occurred.

12.3. At all times, a copy of this permit and of documents and drawings referenced in this permit shall be available at the loading site and on all powered vessels directly engaged in the loading and disposal operations.

13. Special precautions:

13.1. The Permittee shall submit a written disposal plan to the Minister, as represented by the Regional Director of the Environmental Protection Operations Directorate, Atlantic Region, care of Ms. Natasha Boyd, as identified in paragraph 12.1(a), for approval by the Department of the Environment prior to the commencement of the first disposal operation authorized by this permit. The plan shall address, at a minimum, a description of loading and disposal activities, mitigation measures, the release zone(s), vessel tracking, and a schedule for use of the disposal site. Modifications to the plan shall be made only with the written approval of the Department of the Environment. A copy of the disposal plan shall be kept with the permit, at all times, as per paragraph 12.3.

Jeffrey Corkum
Regional Director
Environmental Protection Operations Directorate
Atlantic Region

On behalf of the Minister of the Environment and Climate Change

Signed on June 2, 2016

 

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Permis d'immersion en mer no 4543-2-06908

Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999)

Avis est par les présentes donné, conformément à l’article 127 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)], que le permis d’immersion en mer no 4543-2-06908, autorisant le chargement pour immersion et l’immersion de déchets ou d’autres matières en mer, est approuvé. Le permis est publié dans le Registre de la LCPE le mardi 7 juin 2016.

1. Titulaire : Husky Oil Operations Limited, St. John’s (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador).

2. Déchets ou autres matières à immerger : Navires, aéronefs, plates-formes ou autres ouvrages à condition que les matériaux risquant de produire des débris flottants ou de contribuer d’une autre manière à la pollution du milieu marin aient été retirés dans la plus grande mesure possible et que leur immersion éventuelle ne constitue pas un obstacle à la pêche ou à la navigation.

2.1. Nature des déchets ou autres matières : Colonne montante d’injection d’eau et raidisseur enlevés du navire de production, de stockage et de déchargement (NPSD) SeaRose, conformément au plan d’immersion exigé en vertu du paragraphe 13.1 du présent permis.

3. Durée du permis : Le permis est valide du 15 juin 2016 au 14 juin 2017.

4. Lieu (x) de chargement : SeaRose FPSO (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador), à environ 46,78862° N., 48,01628° O. selon le système de référence nord-américain de 1983 (NAD83).

5. Lieu(x) d’immersion : Lieu d’immersion White Rose, délimité par 46,76270° N., 48,04692° O.; 46,76717° N., 48,05317° O.; 46,76667° N., 48,04000° O.; 46,75767° N., 48,04050° O. (NAD83), tel qu’il est décrit dans le dessin intitulé « Drawing CA-AT-D162 » (3 mai 2016).

6. Méthode de chargement : Le chargement se fera par l’intermédiaire de l’enlèvement de la colonne montante d’injection d’eau et du raidisseur du NPSD SeaRose, au moyen du navire North Sea Giant ou d’un navire semblable, conformément au plan d’immersion exigé en vertu du paragraphe 13.1 du présent permis.

7. Parcours à suivre et mode de transport : Voie navigable la plus directe entre le lieu de chargement et le lieu d’immersion, conformément au plan d’immersion exigé en vertu du paragraphe 13.1 du présent permis.

8. Méthode d’immersion : L’immersion se fera par l’intermédiaire de l’enlèvement de la colonne montante d’injection d’eau et du raidisseur du navire North Sea Giant ou d’un navire semblable, conformément au plan d’immersion exigé en vertu du paragraphe 13.1 du présent permis.

9. Quantité totale à immerger : Ne pas excéder 42 tonnes.

10. Inspection :

10.1. En acceptant ce permis, le titulaire et ses entrepreneurs acceptent d’être assujettis à des inspections conformément à la partie 10 de la LCPE (1999).

10.2. Les navires visés par le présent permis doivent être identifiés tel qu’il est prescrit par le Règlement sur les abordages de la Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada lorsqu’ils se trouvent dans la voie navigable.

11. Entrepreneurs :

11.1. Personne ne doit effectuer le chargement ou l’immersion en mer désignés aux termes du présent permis sans l’autorisation écrite du titulaire.

11.2. Le titulaire doit s’assurer que toutes les personnes qui prennent part aux opérations de chargement, de transport ou d’immersion pour lesquelles le permis a été accordé respectent les conditions mentionnées dans le permis.

12. Rapports et avis :

12.1. Au plus tard 48 heures avant le début des activités de chargement et d’immersion et au moins sept jours avant le début de ces activités, le titulaire doit fournir les renseignements suivants : le nom de l’entrepreneur, y compris les coordonnées des personnes-ressources de l’entreprise et de celles qui se trouvent sur les lieux, ainsi que la période prévue de ces activités. Les renseignements susmentionnés doivent être acheminés à :

  1. Madame Natasha Boyd, Direction des activités de protection de l’environnement, ministère de l’Environnement, région de l’Atlantique, 6, rue Bruce, Mount Pearl (NL)  A1N 4T3, 709-772-5097 (télécopieur), natasha.boyd@canada.ca (courriel); and

  2. Monsieur Gary Kennell, Direction de l’application de la loi en environnement, ministère de l’Environnement, région de l’Atlantique, 6, rue Bruce, Mount Pearl (NL)  A1N 4T3, 709-772-5097 (télécopieur), gary.kennell@canada.ca (courriel).

12.2. Le titulaire doit présenter un rapport écrit au ministre, représenté par le directeur régional de la Direction des activités de protection de l’environnement, région de l’Atlantique, aux soins de Madame Natasha Boyd, dont les coordonnées figurent au paragraphe 12.1 a), dans les 30 jours suivant l’expiration du permis. Ce rapport doit contenir les renseignements suivants : une liste de tous les travaux effectués visés par le permis, une confirmation de l’emplacement final de l’immersion et les dates auxquelles les activités d’immersion ont eu lieu.

12.3. Une copie de ce permis, des documents et des dessins visés par le présent permis doit être conservée en tout temps au lieu de chargement ainsi que sur tout navire participant directement aux opérations de chargement et d’immersion.

13. Précautions spéciales :

13.1. Le titulaire doit présenter par écrit un plan pour l’immersion des matières draguées au ministre, représenté par le directeur régional de la Direction des activités de protection de l’environnement, région de l’Atlantique, aux soins de Madame Natasha Boyd, dont les coordonnées figurent au paragraphe 12.1 a). Le plan doit être approuvé par le ministère de l’Environnement avant le début des opérations effectuées en vertu de ce permis. Le plan doit inclure, au minimum,  une description des activités de chargement et d’immersion, les mesures d’atténuation, la (les) zone(s) de dégagements, la surveillance des navires et un horaire pour l’usage du lieu d’immersion. Toute modification apportée au plan requiert l’approbation écrite du ministère de l’Environnement. Une copie du plan d’immersion doit être conservée en tout temps avec le permis, conformément au paragraphe 12.3.

Le directeur régional
Direction des activités de protection de l'environnement
Région de l'Atlantique
Jeffrey Corkum

Au nom de la ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique

Signé le 2 juin 2016

 

Date de modification :