Skip booklet index and go to page content

CEPA Review: The Interim Government Response

Download the Report in Adobe PDF Format (652 Kb)

Message from the Ministers

The Government of Canada is committed to protecting human health and the environment for the well-being of all Canadians. In the last Speech from the Throne, the Government committed to “take measures to achieve tangible improvements in our environment, including reduction in pollution and greenhouse gas emissions.”

The Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) is the Government's cornerstone legislation for preventing pollution in order to protect Canada's environment and the health of Canadians.

This legislation is strengthened by the requirement that it be reviewed by a Committee of Parliament on a regular basis. During the past year, the House of Commons Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development conducted its review and issued its report in May 2007, The Canadian Environmental Protection Act--Five-year Review: Closing the Gaps . During the same period, the Senate Standing Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources also reviewed certain aspects of CEPA 1999, and plans to issue its report by the end of October 2007.

As we await the Senate Committee report this fall, we are pleased to provide this interim response to the House of Commons Standing Committee. We acknowledge the thoughtful work of the members of the Committee in conducting its review. The Committee's recommendations will provide valuable guidance to ensure that CEPA remains modern and effective legislation for protecting the environment and health of Canadians. We also value the reasoned and helpful contributions of the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment and of the many witnesses who contributed to the reviews from civil society, business, academia and international institutions.

The Honourable John Baird, P.C., M.P. The Honourable Tony Clement, P.C., M.P.

Minister of the Environment Minister of Health

 
Table of Contents
Date modified:

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

L'examen de la LCPE : Réponse provisoire du gouvernement

Message des Ministres

Le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à protéger la santé humaine et l'environnement pour le bien-être de tous les Canadiens. Dans son dernier discours du Trône, le gouvernement s'est engagé à « prendre des mesures concrètes pour protéger notre environnement, notamment des mesures pour réduire la pollution et les émissions de gaz à effet de serre ».

La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) (LCPE [1999]) est la principale mesure législative du gouvernement pour prévenir la pollution afin de protéger l'environnement du Canada et la santé de sa population.

La disposition prévoyant un examen régulier par un comité parlementaire vient renforcer cette loi. Au cours de la dernière année, le Comité permanent de l'environnement et du développement durable de la Chambre des communes a effectué son examen. Son rapport, Examen quinquennal de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999 : combler les lacunes, a été publié en mai 2007. Pendant la même période, le Comité sénatorial permanent de l'énergie, de l'environnement et des ressources naturelles s'est aussi penché sur certains éléments de la LCPE (1999); il prévoit publier son rapport avant la fin d'octobre 2007.

En attendant la publication du rapport du Comité sénatorial, prévue pour cet automne, nous sommes heureux de fournir cette réponse provisoire au Comité permanent de la Chambre des communes. Nous reconnaissons le travail de réflexion effectué par les membres du Comité dans le cadre de leur examen. Les recommandations du Comité contribueront grandement à veiller à ce que la LCPE demeure une mesure législative moderne et efficace pour protéger l'environnement et la santé des Canadiens. Nous tenons aussi à souligner les interventions réfléchies et utiles du Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement ainsi que des nombreux témoins de la société civile, des entreprises, des universités et des institutions internationales qui ont contribué aux examens.

L'honorable John Baird, C.P., député L'honorable Tony Clement, C.P., député

Ministre de l'Environnement Ministre de la Santé

Table des Matières