The Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 and the Assessment of Existing Substances

What is an existing substance?

According to the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) an "existing substance" is one that is being or has been used in Canada as a commercial substance or product, or released into the Canadian environment as a single substance, effluent, mixture, or contaminant.

What is the Domestic Substances List?

The Domestic Substances List (DSL) is a list of substances that, between January 1, 1984 and December 31, 1986 were in Canadian commerce; used for manufacturing purposes; or manufactured in or imported to Canada in a quantity of 100 kilograms or more in any calendar year.

The DSL contains approximately 23,000 substances. It is amended regularly to include additional substances that have been deemed eligible following their assessment under the New Substances Notification Regulations.

What are risk assessments?

Risk assessments are carried out under CEPA 1999 to determine the potential impacts of substances on living organisms and the physical environment. These assessments consider not only the inherent toxicity of a substance, but also the likelihood that a person, organism, or the environment will be exposed to it.

What criteria are used to assess whether a substance is harmful?

According to section 64 of CEPA 1999, substances are considered harmful if they are entering or could enter the environment in quantities or concentrations or under conditions that:

  • have or may have an immediate or long-term harmful effect on the environment or its biological diversity;
  • constitute or may constitute a danger to the environment on which life depends; or
  • constitute or may constitute a danger to human life or health in Canada.

What is the process for assessing existing substances?

CEPA 1999 requires that all substances on the DSL that have not been subject to assessment as new substances be categorized within seven years of the Act's Royal Assent, which took place on September 14, 1999. The categorization was completed by September 14, 2006.

Categorization involved identifying substances on the DSL that should be subjected to a screening-level risk assessment. This included substances that:

  • are inherently toxic and either take a long time to break down (i.e., are persistent) or end up in the food chain because they build up in the tissue of living organisms (i.e., are bioaccumulative); or
  • present the greatest potential for exposure to individual Canadians.

Screening-level risk assessments consider whether substances meet the criteria set out in section 64 of CEPA 1999. An assessment may result in one of the following outcomes:

  • no further action (at that time);
  • the addition of the substance to the Priority Substances List under the Priority Substance Assessment Program; or
  • recommendation that the substance be added to Schedule 1 of CEPA 1999.

What is the process for reviewing the decisions of other jurisdictions?

On occasion, "other jurisdictions" - defined in CEPA 1999 as Canadian provinces and territories and member countries of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development - decide to prohibit or substantially restrict a substance for environmental or health reasons.

When the Minister of the Environment is informed of such a case, the information used by the other jurisdiction is reviewed to determine whether it also supports the substance being deemed harmful under section 64 of CEPA 1999.

What is the Priority Substances List?

Environment Canada and Health Canada share responsibility for assessing substances that pose the greatest risk to human health and the environment. As part of this responsibility, the Ministers of the two departments are required to develop and maintain the Priority Substances List (PSL).

The PSL identifies substances that are to be given priority for assessment under section 64 of CEPA 1999. Strict guidelines govern these comprehensive assessments, which examine all relevant aspects of a substance and can involve information gathering and testing.

What happens when a substance meets the criteria in section 64 of CEPA 1999?

Substances that meet the criteria set out in section 64 of CEPA 1999 may be added to Schedule 1 of the Act and considered for various risk-management measures. These could include regulations, guidelines or codes of practice to control any aspect of their life cycles - from research and development to manufacture, transport, use, storage, and final disposal.

Substances that meet these criteria and are also persistent, bioaccumulative, and produced primarily as a result of human activity are considered among the most dangerous. As such, they are proposed for virtual elimination under CEPA 1999. This means that their releases to the environment are to be reduced to a level below which they cannot be measured accurately.

Assessment of existing substances under the Chemicals Management Plan

The Government of Canada announced its Chemicals Management Plan in December 2006. The plan includes a number of new, proactive measures to ensure that chemical substances are managed properly.

Further information

Internet:

Inquiry Centre:


10 Wellington Street
23rd Floor
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 0H3
Telephone: 1 800 668-6767 [in Canada only] or 819-997-2800
Fax: 819-994-1412
TTY: 819-994-0736
E-mail: enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) et l'évaluation des substances existantes

Qu'est-ce qu'une substance existante?

Aux termes de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)], une « substance existante » s'entend d'une substance qui est ou a été utilisée au Canada sous forme de substance ou de produit commercial, ou qui est rejetée dans l'environnement canadien sous forme simple, d'effluent, de mélange ou de contaminant.

Qu'est-ce que la Liste intérieure des substances?

La Liste intérieure des substances (LIS) est une liste des substances qui, entre le 1er  janvier 1984 et le 31 décembre 1986, étaient commercialisées au Canada, utilisées à des fins de fabrication, ou fabriquées ou importées au Canada à raison de 100 kilogrammes ou plus au cours d'une année civile.

La LIS contient environ 23 000 substances. On y ajoute régulièrement des substances jugées admissibles à la suite de l'évaluation réalisée en vertu du Règlement sur les renseignements concernant les substances nouvelles.

Qu'est-ce que l'évaluation des risques?

Les évaluations des risques sont réalisées en vertu de la LCPE (1999) pour déterminer les impacts que les substances pourraient avoir sur les organismes vivants et l'environnement physique. Ces évaluations tiennent compte non seulement de la toxicité intrinsèque d'une substance, mais aussi de la probabilité qu'une personne, un organisme ou l'environnement soit exposé à celle-ci.

Quels sont les critères utilisés pour évaluer si une substance est dangereuse?

Aux termes de l'article 64 de la LCPE (1999), est dangereuse toute substance qui pénètre ou peut pénétrer dans l'environnement en une quantité ou concentration ou dans des conditions de nature à :

  • avoir, immédiatement ou à long terme, un effet nocif sur l'environnement ou sur la diversité biologique;
  • mettre en danger l'environnement essentiel pour la vie;
  • constituer un danger au Canada pour la vie ou la santé humaines.

En quoi consiste le processus d'évaluation des substances existantes?

Le LCPE (1999) exige que toutes les substances inscrites sur la LIS qui ne sont pas assujetties à une évaluation en tant que substances nouvelles soient catégorisées dans les sept ans qui suivent la sanction royale de la Loi, qui a eu lieu le 14 septembre 1999. La catégorisation a pris fin le 14 septembre 2006.

La catégorisation a consisté à identifier les substances de la LIS qui devraient être assujetties à une évaluation préalable des risques. À cette fin, la catégorisation visait à examiner les substances :

  • qui présentent une toxicité intrinsèque et qui prend du temps à se dégrader (persistantes) ou s'accumulent dans les organismes vivants et aboutissent dans la chaîne alimentaire (biocumulatives);
  • présente le plus fort risque d'exposition de la population du Canada.

Les évaluations préalables des risques déterminent si les substances correspondent aux critères de l'article 64 de la LCPE ( 1999). L'évaluation préalable des risques peut produire l'un des résultats suivants:

  • ne rien faire (à ce moment-là);
  • l'ajout de la substance à la Liste des substances d'intérêt prioritaire dans le cadre du Programme d'évaluation des substances d'intérêt prioritaires;
  • on recommande que la substance soit ajoutée à l'Annexe 1 de la LCPE (1999).

En quoi consiste le processus d'examen des décisions d'autres instances?

Parfois, « d'autres instances » - définies dans la LCPE (1999) comme les provinces et les territoires canadiens et les pays membres de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques - décident d'interdire une substance ou de l'assujettir à des restrictions importantes pour des raisons environnementales ou de santé.

Quand le ministre de l'Environnement est informé d'un tel cas, les renseignements utilisés par l'autre instance sont examinés pour déterminer s'il convient du danger que la substance représente aux termes de l'article 64 de la LCPE (1999).

Qu'est-ce que la Liste des substances d'intérêt prioritaire?

Environnement Canada et Santé Canada se partagent la responsabilité d'évaluer les substances qui présentent le plus haut niveau de risque pour la santé humaine et l'environnement. Dans le cadre de cette responsabilité, les deux ministres sont tenus de dresser et de tenir à jour la Liste des substances d'intérêt prioritaire (LSIP).

La LSIP détermine les substances à évaluer en priorité aux termes de l'article 64 de la LCPE (1999). Ces évaluations approfondies sont régies par des lignes directrices strictes. Elles examinent tous les aspects pertinents d'une substance et peuvent nécessiter une collecte d'information et des essais.

Que se passe-t-il quand une substance correspond aux critères de l'article 64 de la LCPE (1999)?

Les substances qui correspondent aux critères établis à l'article 64 de la LCPE (1999) peuvent être ajoutées à l'Annexe I de la Loi et peuvent faire l'objet de diverses mesures de gestion des risques. Ces mesures peuvent inclure des règlements, des directives ou des codes de pratique pour contrôler tout aspect de leur cycle de vie - de la recherche - développement à la fabrication, au transport, à l'utilisation, à l'entreposage et à l'élimination finale.

Les substances les plus dangereuses sont celles qui correspondent à ces critères, qui sont persistantes et biocumulatives, et qui découlent principalement de l'activité humaine. Par conséquent, on propose leur quasi-élimination en vertu de la LCPE (1999). Leur rejet dans l'environnement devra être réduit à un niveau en dessous duquel il ne pourra être mesuré avec exactitude.

Évaluation des substances existantes dans le cadre du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques

Le gouvernement du Canada a fait l'annonce de son Plan de gestion des produits chimiques en décembre 2006. Le plan inclut un certain nombre de nouvelles mesures proactives pour s'assurer que les substances chimiques sont bien gérées.

Pour plus de renseignements

Internet :

Informathèque

Environnement Canada
10, rue Wellington
23e étage
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 0H3
Téléphone : 1 800 668-6767 [au Canada seulement] ou 819-997-2800
Télécopieur : 819-994-1412
ATS : 819-994-0736
Courriel : enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca