This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Canada-Ontario Agreement Respecting the Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem (COA) has been extended to March 2011

March 22, 2010

The Honourable Jim Prentice
Minister of the Environment
Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
10 Wellington Street, 28th Floor
Gatineau QC K1A 0H3

Dear Minister Prentice:

Re: Extension of Canada-Ontario Agreement Respecting the Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem

I am writing to confirm our mutual agreement to extend the term of the Canada-Ontario Agreement Respecting the Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem (COA) for one additional year.

The current COA is scheduled to expire on March 31, 2010. Article XI permits Canada and Ontario to amend the COA by an exchange of letters setting out the amendment and the effective date. On behalf of our respective governments, we have agreed to amend the COA by extending its term to March 31, 2011. We have agreed that the effective date of the amendment will be March 31, 2010. Further, we have agreed that our respective letters confirming the one-year extension shall be considered part of the COA.

Since 1971, Canada and Ontario have worked together under a series of Great Lakes agreements that have guided our efforts to improve the environmental quality of the Great Lakes Basin and contributed to meeting Canada's obligations under the Canada-United States Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement (GLWQA). As you know, Canada and the United States announced this past June their intention to negotiate amendments to the GLWQA to strengthen and modernize the agreement to address new risks. The amendment process is likely to take at least one year to conclude. We have agreed it is vital that Canada and Ontario continue to work together under the COA framework so that our efforts to protect and improve the Great Lakes can continue during the GLWQA amendment process.

We look forward to continuing our efforts to protect and improve the Great Lakes. We pledge to work together cooperatively under the existing COA and to negotiate a new COA once the amendments to the GLWQA are in place.

I appreciate Canada's commitment to the Great Lakes. The Great Lakes are vital to our Province and to our country.

Sincerely,

John Gerretsen Minister

c: The Honourable Linda Jeffrey
Ontario Minister of Natural Resources

The Honourable Carol Mitchell
Ontario Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

Related Links:

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Lettre du Ministre Gerretsen au Ministre Prentice concernant l'Accord Canada-Ontario de 2007-2010 concernant l'écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs

Le 22 mars 2010

Monsieur Jim Prentice
Ministre de l'Environnement
Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
10, rue Wellington, 28e étage
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H3

Monsieur le Ministre,

Objet: Prolongation de l'Entente Canada-Ontario sur l'écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs

La présente vise à confirmer notre accord mutuel relatif à la prolongation d'un an de l'Entente Canada-Ontario sur l'écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs.

L'entente actuelle expirera le 31 mars 2010. L'article XI autorise le Canada et l'Ontario à modifier l'Entente par l'échange de lettres précisant la nature de la modification et son entrée en vigueur. Au nom de nos gouvernements respectifs, nous avons convenu de modifier l'Entente afin de reporter son expiration au 31 mars 2011. Nous avons aussi convenu que la date d'entrée en vigueur de la modification serait le 31 mars 2010. Enfin, nous avons convenu que nos lettres respectives confirmant le prolongement d'un an seraient considérées comme faisant partie intégrante de l'Entente.

Depuis 1971, le Canada et l'Ontario font front commun, par le truchement d'ententes relatifs aux Grands Lacs, pour orienter leurs efforts d'amélioration de la qualité de l'environnement du bassin des Grands Lacs et pour aider le Canada à s'acquitter de ses obligations au sens de l'Accord Canada-États-Unis relatif à la qualité de l'eau dans les Grands Lacs. Comme vous le savez, le Canada et les États-Unis ont annoncé en juin dernier leur volonté de modifier l'Accord de manière à la renforcer et à la moderniser à la lumière des nouveaux risques qui se profilent. Le processus de modification nécessitera probablement au moins un an. Nous avons conclu qu'il était indispensable que le Canada et l'Ontario continuent à collaborer dans le contexte de l'Entente pour poursuivre nos efforts de protection et d'amélioration des Grands Lacs pendant le processus de modification de l'Accord Canada-États-Unis.

Il nous tarde de continuer à nous employer à protéger et à améliorer l'état des Grands Lacs. Nous nous engageons à collaborer en vertu de l'entente actuelle et de négocier une nouvelle entente une fois qu'auront été modifiées les dispositions de l'Accord Canada-États-Unis relatif à la qualité de l'eau dans les Grands Lacs.

Je suis reconnaissant du souci du Canada pour le bien-être des Grands Lacs. Les Grands Lacs sont essentiels pour notre province - et pour notre pays.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, mes salutations les plus distinguées.

Le ministre,

John Gerretsen

c. Linda Jeffrey
ministre des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario

Carol Mitchell
ministre de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario

Liens connexes :

Date de modification :