This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Objection

September 6, 2011

Robert J. Fensterheim
Executive Director
Chlorinated Paraffins Industry Association (CPIA)
1250 Connecticut Avenue, NW
Suite 700
Washington, DC. 20036
USA

Dear M. Fensterheim,

I am responding to the notice of objection and request for a board of review that you filed on November 19, 2008 regarding the proposed Order adding chlorinated paraffins (now referred to as chlorinated alkanes) to the List of Toxic substances in Schedule I of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999), published in the Canada Gazette, Part I, on September 20, 2008.

I have carefully considered your submissions in the notice of objection.  I am of the view that your notice does not bring forth any new scientific data or information with respect to the nature and extent of the danger posed by chlorinated alkanes that warrant establishing a board of review.

I am of the view that the no new data or information challenges the foundation for the conclusion that chlorinated alkanes containing up to 20 carbon atoms have or may have a harmful effect on the environment or that chlorinated alkanes containing up to 17 carbon atoms constitute or may constitute a danger to human life or health, as detailed in the final follow-up assessment report that was released on August 30, 2008.  In other words, no points have been raised which change our understanding of the nature and extent of the danger posed by chlorinated alkanes containing 10 to 20 carbon atoms.  

However, new human health information relating to long-chain chlorinated paraffins (chlorinated alkanes) that have the molecular formula CnHxCl(2n+2-x) in which 18 ≤ n ≤ 38 has led to reconsideration of the conclusion reached regarding the danger posed to human health under paragraph 64(c) of CEPA 1999. More specifically, recent scientific information published after the 2008 final follow-up assessment support a conclusion that chlorinated alkanes that have the molecular formula CnHxCl(2n+2-x) in which 18 ≤ n ≤ 38, do not meet the criteria set out under paragraph 64(c) of CEPA 1999. An update of the human health assessment of long-chain chlorinated alkanes that have the molecular formula CnHxCl(2n+2-x) in which 18 ≤ n ≤ 38 which details this new information and the change in conclusion has been released on August 6, 2011, for a 60-day public comment period.

In light of all these considerations, I will not establish a board of review.

Please rest assured that the Government of Canada is committed to consulting with all stakeholders, such as your organization, and with the public on the development of risk management options, including regulations.  All issues raised in the context of these consultations will continue to be considered in an open and transparent way.

Further periods for comments as well as opportunities to file notices of objection will be provided, under the Act, following the publication of instruments for the preventive or control action of chlorinated alkanes, such as a proposed regulation.

I appreciate your bringing the Chlorinated Paraffins Industry Association’s concerns to my attention. I look forward to working with you in the future on matters of environmental or human health interest to your association.

Sincerely,

The Honourable Peter Ken, P.C., Q.C., M.P.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d'opposition

 

Le 6 septembre 2001

Monsieur Robert J. Fensterheim
Directeur général
Chlorinated Paraffins Industry Association (CPIA)
1250 Connecticut Avenue, NW
Suite 700
Washington DC 20036
ÉTATS-UNIS

Monsieur,

Je souhaite, par la présente, répondre à l'avis d'opposition et à la demande de constitution d'une commission de révision que vous avez présentés le 19 novembre 2008 relativement au projet de décret visant à inscrire les paraffines chlorées (maintenant appelées alcanes chlorés) à la Liste des substances toxiques de l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)]. Ce projet de décret a été publié dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada le 20 septembre 2008.

Après avoir soigneusement examiné votre avis d'opposition, j'estime qu'il ne présente aucune nouvelle information ou donnée scientifique quant à la nature et à l'ampleur du danger représenté par les alcanes chlorés qui puisse justifier l’établissement d’une commission de révision.

Je suis d'avis qu'aucune nouvelle donnée ou information ne remet en cause le fondement de la conclusion selon laquelle les alcanes chlorés comportant jusqu'à 20 atomes de carbone ont ou peuvent avoir un effet nocif sur l'environnement ou que les alcanes chlorés comportant jusqu'à 17 atomes de carbone constituent ou peuvent constituer un danger pour la vie ou la santé humaines, comme l'indique le rapport final de l’évaluation de suivi, publié le 30 août 2008. En d'autres mots, aucun point soulevé ne modifie notre compréhension de la nature et de l’ampleur du danger présenté par les alcanes chlorés constitués de 10 à 20 atomes de carbone.

Toutefois, de nouveaux renseignements sur les paraffines chlorées (alcanes chlorés) à longue chaîne dont la formule moléculaire est CnHxCl(2n+2-x), où 18 ≤ n ≤ 38, ont mené à un réexamen de la conclusion formulée en vertu de l'alinéa 64c) de la LCPE (1999) concernant leur danger pour la santé humaine. Plus précisément, des données scientifiques publiées après le rapport final de l’évaluation de suivi de 2008 appuient la conclusion selon laquelle les alcanes chlorés dont la formule moléculaire est CnHxCl(2n+2-x), où 18 ≤ n ≤ 38, ne satisfont pas au critère énoncé à l'alinéa 64c) de LCPE (1999). Une nouvelle évaluation du danger de ces alcanes chlorés pour la santé humaine a été publiée le 6 août 2011 pour une période de commentaires de 60 jours par le public. Cette évaluation présente les nouvelles données de même que la conclusion modifiée.

À la lumière de tous les éléments qui précèdent, une commission de révision ne sera pas mise sur pied.

Soyez assuré que le gouvernement du Canada entend consulter toutes les parties concernées, notamment votre organisation, ainsi que le public au sujet de l’établissement de mesures de gestion des risques, ce qui inclut la réglementation. Toutes les questions soulevées dans le cadre de ces consultations continueront d'être considérées de façon ouverte et transparente.

D'autres périodes de commentaires ainsi que la possibilité de présenter des avis d'opposition seront fournies, en vertu de la Loi, à la suite de la publication d’instruments établissant des mesures de prévention ou de contrôle des alcanes chlorés, tel qu'un projet de règlement.

Je vous remercie d'avoir porté à mon attention les préoccupations de la Chlorinated Paraffins Industry Association. J'espère avoir l'occasion de travailler avec vous à nouveau sur des questions liées à l'environnement ou à la santé humaine auxquelles votre association s'intéresse.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l'expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

L'honorable Peter Kent, C.P., C.R., député.

Date de modification :