Skip booklet index and go to page content

Response to Comments: Companion Document for the Multi-Sector Air Pollutants Regulations

Overview

The Government of Canada announced its intention to regulate emissions from industrial sources in October 2006. Since then, the federal government has actively engaged with provincial and territorial governments, along with company representatives, industry associations, equipment manufacturers, retrofit companies, testing companies and non-governmental organizations (NGO) to explore and develop approaches to address air quality concerns across Canada.

In October 2012, the federal/provincial/territorial Ministers of the Environment, with the exception of Quebec, agreed to implement the Air Quality Management System (AQMS). Although Quebec supports the general objectives of AQMS, it will not implement the system because it considers the federal industrial emission requirements duplicative of its Clean Air Regulation. Quebec is, however, collaborating with other jurisdictions on developing some elements of the system, notably the Canadian Ambient Air Quality Standards (CAAQs), air zones and airsheds.

In June 2014, the Government of Canada published the proposed Multi-sector Air Pollutants Regulations in Canada Gazette, Part I (herein referred to as CGI) for a 60-day public comment period. Stakeholders and interested parties were identified and advised of this publication and comment period through regular mail, email and telephone calls. A press release and other documents were published on the Department’s web site to inform and share documents with interested parties. Following the publication of the proposed Regulations, the Department held several consultation sessions, meetings and webinars with over 500 representatives from over 100 organizations to inform them of the proposed Regulations.

Since the requirements in the Regulations could have an impact on international trade practices, the Department notified the World Trade Organization’s Committee on Technical Barriers to Trade in June 2014, which included reference to the publication of the proposed Regulations in the CGI, and the associated public comment period. None of the comments received by the Department made reference to the notification to the Committee on Technical Barriers to Trade.

The Department received a total of 58 submissions during the 60-day public comment period from companies, industry associations, provinces, equipment manufacturers, engineering firms, equipment retrofit companies, environmental testing consultants, and the general public. Comments received by the Department addressed many elements of the proposed Regulations, as well as the Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement (RIAS). Several stakeholders commented on specific provisions, their intent and function. Several comments suggested improvements to the administration provisions in the proposed Regulations. Many of these comments did not impact the general policy intent of the Regulations, but were considered in the preparation of the final text of the Regulations. The Department subsequently followed up with several of these stakeholders to better understand their comments and give them an opportunity to provide further information.

The Department has made efforts to respond to all the comments received during the 60-day comment period. Whenever possible, similar comments were merged for response. The Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement for the Regulations provides a summary of key comments with departmental responses. This document provides a fuller account of the breadth of comments received and associated government responses.

Some important changes made to the regulatory text in response to comments received include:

Boilers and Heaters

  • Accommodation for technical difficulties associated with specialized boilers and heater equipment
  • Reduced testing and reporting requirements, and additional time to demonstrate compliance
  • Increased flexibility to classify pre-existing, low-emitting equipment, options for quantification, and increased eligibility of technical experts for certification
  • Removal of the design standard that had required large modern equipment to be designed to meet a more stringent emission limit than required for compliance
  • Increased clarity of definitions

Engines

  • Addition of an exclusion for pre-existing engines found in small businesses
  • Increased flexibility for low-use engines
  • Additional options for testing of rich burn engines and for determining the number of operating hours used in the yearly average calculation;
  • Additional testing requirements for lean burn engines
  • Additional time for compliance with requirements for newly acquired engines
  • Additional time to register pre-existing engines
  • Increased clarity of definitions

Cement

  • Improved precision to technical definitions

Common Elements and Part 4 – General

  • The Alternative rule provisions have been expanded to allow a responsible person to replace any rule set out in any document that has been incorporated by reference in the Regulations, with a few exceptions
  • Revised to be more explicit that all records used to demonstrate compliance, or copies thereof, are maintained on-site, within Canada; and,
  • Increased clarity of definitions

These changes do not substantively affect the Regulations in terms of health and environmental benefits or the ability of the federal government to ensure compliance, but do provide flexibility that reduces unnecessary economic impacts of the Regulations on industry.

 
Overview
Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Réponses aux commentaires sur le Règlement multisectoriel sur les polluants atmosphériques - document d’accompagnement

Contexte

Le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé la première fois son intention de réglementer les émissions de polluants atmosphériques provenant de sources industrielles en octobre 2006. Depuis, il participe activement avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux ainsi que les représentants des sociétés, les associations de l’industrie, les fabricants d’équipement, les sociétés de modernisation, les laboratoires d’analyse et les organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) afin d’examiner et d’élaborer des approches pour répondre aux préoccupations liées à la qualité de l’air au Canada.

En octobre 2012, les ministres de l’Environnement des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux, à l’exception du Québec, ont convenu de mettre en œuvre le Système de gestion de la qualité de l’air (SGQA). Le Québec appuie les objectifs généraux du SGQA, mais ne le mettra pas en œuvre puisque ce dernier considère que les exigences fédérales pour les émissions industrielles font double emploi avec le Règlement sur l’assainissement de l’atmosphère du Québec. Le Québec collabore toutefois avec les autres gouvernements en vue d’élaborer certains éléments du système, notamment les normes canadiennes de qualité de l’air ambiant (NCQAA), les zones atmosphériques et les bassins atmosphériques.

En juin 2014, le gouvernement du Canada a publié le projet de règlement intitulé Règlement multisectoriel sur les polluants atmosphériques dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, en vue d’une période de consultation publique de 60 jours. Les intervenants et les parties concernées ont été désignés et avisés par courrier, courriel et téléphone de la publication du projet de règlement et de la tenue de la période de commentaires. Un communiqué de presse et d’autres documents ont été publiés sur le site Web du Ministère pour aviser les parties concernées et leur communiquer des documents. À la suite de la publication du projet de règlement, le Ministère a organisé un grand nombre de séances de consultation, de réunions et de webinaires à l’intention de plus de 500 représentants de plus d’une centaine de sociétés pour les informer du projet de règlement.

Étant donné que les exigences du règlement pourraient avoir une incidence sur les pratiques commerciales internationales, le Ministère a transmis, en juin 2014, un avis au Comité des obstacles techniques au commerce de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce. Cet avis faisait notamment référence à la publication du projet de règlement dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, et à la période de consultation publique connexe. Aucun des commentaires reçus par le Ministère ne faisait référence à cet avis transmis au Comité des obstacles techniques au commerce.

Au cours de la période de consultation publique de 60 jours, le Ministère a reçu 58 présentations de la part d’entreprises, d’associations industrielles, de provinces, de fabricants d’équipement, de firmes d’ingénierie, d’entreprises de mise à niveau de l’équipement, d’experts-conseils en essais environnementaux et du grand public. Les commentaires reçus par le Ministère portaient sur divers aspects du projet de règlement ainsi que sur le Résumé de l’étude d’impact de la réglementation (REIR). Plusieurs intervenants ont formulé des commentaires sur des dispositions particulières, leur intention et leur fonction. Dans plusieurs commentaires, les intervenants ont suggéré que des améliorations soient apportées aux dispositions administratives du projet de règlement. Bon nombre de ces commentaires n’ont eu aucune incidence sur l’objectif stratégique du règlement, mais ont néanmoins été pris en considération au moment de la rédaction du texte définitif du règlement.

Le Ministère a fait des efforts pour répondre à tous les commentaires reçus pendant la période de consultation publique de 60 jours. Dans la mesure du possible, les commentaires semblables ont été fusionnés et une seule réponse est fournie. Le Résumé de l’étude d’impact de la réglementation présente un résumé des principaux commentaires et les réponses du Ministère. Ce document offre un compte-rendu plus complet des commentaires reçus et des réponses du gouvernement à ces commentaires.

Voici certains des changements importants qui ont été apportés au texte réglementaire en réponse aux commentaires reçus.

Chaudières et fours industriels

  • Accommodements pour tenir compte des problèmes techniques reliés aux chaudières et fours industriels spécialisés
  • Exigences réduites pour la vérification et la déclaration ou la soumission des données en plus de délais prolongés afin de démontrer la conformité aux exigences
  • Plus de flexibilité pour la classification d’équipement préexistant et à faible taux d’émission et options supplémentaires de quantification. Différentes façons d’être reconnu comme expert technique afin de pouvoir certifier des informations
  • Retrait des exigences d’émission plus strictes lors de la conception de gros équipement moderne, qui introduisaient des normes plus strictes que ne l’exige le reste du règlement
  • Plus de clarté dans les définitions

Moteurs

  • L’ajout d’une exclusion pour les moteurs préexistants exploités par de petites entreprises
  • Plus de flexibilité pour les moteurs à faible utilisation
  • Options supplémentaires pour les essais de rendement  des moteurs à mélange riche et pour déterminer le nombre d’heures de fonctionnement des moteurs inclus dans le calcul de la moyenne annuelle;
  • Plus d’exigences d’essais et de  vérification des émissions des moteurs à mélange pauvre
  • Plus de temps pour se conformer aux exigences  relatives aux moteurs nouvellement acquis
  • Plus de temps pour effectuer l’enregistrement de moteurs préexistants
  • Plus de clarté dans les définitions

Ciment

  • Des définitions techniques plus détaillées.

Éléments communs et Partie 4 – Générale

  • Dispositions réglementaires supplémentaires pour la règle de remplacement offrant à la personne responsable l’option de remplacer n’importe quelle règle énoncée dans un document incorporé par renvoi dans ce règlement, sous certaines réserves
  • Révision afin de spécifier que toutes les données de vérification en vue démontrer la conformité aux exigences ou des copies de ces dernières, sont conservés à l’installation, au Canada
  • Plus de clarté dans les définitions

Ces changements n’affectent pas de manière importante les avantages pour l’environnement et la santé découlant du règlement, ni la capacité du gouvernement fédéral à assurer la conformité, mais fournit de la flexibilité en réduisant les impacts économiques inutiles de la réglementation pour l’industrie.

 
Contexte
Date de modification :