Authorizations for ozone-depleting substances

Under the Ozone-depleting Substances Regulations, 1998, every person must receive written authorization from the Minister of the Environment prior to manufacturing, importing or exporting a "controlled substance". There are two types of authorization: allowances and permits.

Allowances

Allowances provide authorization for the production and importation of unused hydrochlorofluorocarbons (HCFCs) and methyl bromide for circumstances not governed by permits, e.g., the importation of unused methyl bromide for uses other than quarantine or pre-shipment or the importation of unused HCFCs for non-essential uses.

Unlike permits, persons do not make application for consumption allowances. The allowances are entitlements. The Regulations provide criteria to determine those activities that would entitle a person to an allowance and define the method by which the quantity of the allowance is calculated. The sum of all allowances within Canada for each group of controlled substance is progressively reduced according to a schedule fixed by the Regulations. In order to accommodate the shifting markets allowance holders face, in terms of their needs and choice of supplier, allowance holders may make application to transfer all or some portion of their allowance to others.

At the end of each year, the authorizations provided by permits, allowances and transfers lapse. Persons may reapply for permits and transfers in the succeeding year. Allowance holders are automatically informed of their allowances for the succeeding year.

HCFCs allowances

Methyl Bromide Allowances


Permits

A permit is required by anyone who intends to:

  1. import or export a controlled substance that is recovered, recycled, reclaimed or used or a controlled substance for destruction;

  2. export a controlled substance other than a recovered, recycled, reclaimed or used controlled substance or a controlled substance for destruction;

  3. manufacture or import a controlled substance for a purpose set out in Schedule 3 of the Regulations (e.g., for essential uses, feedstock, quarantine application or pre-shipment application as defined in the Regulations or as an analytical standard);

  4. export a product that contains, or is intended to contain, chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs), bromofluorocarbons (Halons), tetrachloromethane (carbon tetrachloride) or 1,1,1-trichloroethane (methyl chloroform);

  5. manufacture, import, use, sell, offer for sale, or export a controlled substance for an essential purpose.

Controlled substances

Under the Ozone-depleting Substances Regulations, 1998, controlled substances are:

Group 1: Tetrachloromethane (carbon tetrachloride)

Group 2: 1,1,1-trichloroethane (Methyl chloroform), not including 1,1,2-trichloroethane

Group 3:

  • Trichlorofluoromethane (CFC-11)
  • Dichlorodifluoromethane (CFC-12)
  • Trichlorotrifluoroethane (CFC-113)
  • Dichlorotetrafluoroethane (CFC-114)
  • Chloropentafluoroethane (CFC-115)

Group 4: Chlorofluorocarbons other than those set out in group 3

Group 5:

  • Bromochlorodifluoromethane (Halon 1211)
  • Bromotrifluoromethane (Halon 1301)
  • Dibromotetrafluoroethane (Halon 2402)

Group 6: Bromofluorocarbons other than those set out in group 5

Group 7: Hydrobromofluorocarbons (HBFCs)

Group 8: Methyl Bromide

Group 9: Hydrochlorofluorocarbons (HCFCs)

Note: Individuals and companies are entitled to claim information provided under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act and its regulations as confidential. Where the Act or other legislation prohibits the disclosure of such information, it has been "masked" to protect it from disclosure.

Contact:
Chemical Production Division
Industrial sectors, Chemicals and Waste Directorate
Environment Canada
Place Vincent Massey, 11th floor
351 St. Joseph Blvd.
Gatineau, PQ K1A 0H3
Telephone: 819-938-4228
Fax: 819-938-4218
E-mail: ec.gestionhalocarbures-halocarbonsmanagement.ec@canada.ca
Website: Ozone

Date modified:

Autorisations pour les substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone

Selon le Règlement sur les substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone (1998), toute personne doit obtenir l'autorisation écrite du ministre de l'Environnement avant de fabriquer, d'importer ou d'exporter une « substance contrôlée ». Il y a deux types d'autorisations : les allocations et les permis.

Allocations

Les allocations autorisent la production et l'importation d'hydrochlorofluorocarbures (HCFC) et de bromure de méthyle inutilisés dans les cas non régis par les permis (p. ex. l'importation de bromure de méthyle inutilisé à des fins autres que le traitement en quarantaine ou le traitement préalable à l'expédition, ou l'importation de HCFCs inutilisés à des fins non essentielles).

Contrairement aux permis, une personne ne peut pas faire de demande pour des allocations de consommation. Les allocations sont des droits transférables. Le Règlement établit des critères pour déterminer les activités qui permettent d'accorder une allocation à une personne et qui définit la méthode permettant de calculer l'allocation. La somme de toutes les allocations à l'intérieur du Canada pour chaque groupe de substances contrôlées est progressivement réduite selon un calendrier déterminé par le Règlement. Pour s'adapter à la fluctuation des marchés auxquels les titulaires d'allocations doivent faire face pour leurs besoins et leurs choix d'un fournisseur, ces titulaires peuvent demander à céder la totalité ou une partie de leurs allocations à d'autres.

Toute autorisation relative à un permis, à une allocation ou à un cession expire à la fin de chaque année. Une personne peut faire une nouvelle demande pour un permis et un cession pour l'année suivante. Les personnes titulaires d'allocations sont automatiquement informées de leurs allocations pour l'année suivante.

HCFCs

Bromure de méthyle

Permis

Un permis est exigé de toute personne qui a l'intention :

  1. d'importer ou d'exporter une substance contrôlée qui est récupérée, recyclée, régénérée ou déjà utilisée, ou une substance contrôlée en vue de sa destruction;
  2. exporter une substance contrôlée autre qu'une substance contrôlée, récupérée, recyclée, régénérée ou déjà utilisée, ou autre qu'une substance contrôlée en vue de sa destruction;
  3. de fabriquer ou d'importer une substance contrôlée pour une des fins visées à l'annexe 3 du Règlement (p. ex. utilisation essentielle, matière première, traitement en quarantaine ou traitement préalable à l'expédition, tels que définis par le Règlement, ou étalon analytique);
  4. d'exporter un produit qui contient ou est destiné à contenir des chlorofluoroalcanes (CFC), des bromofluorocarbures (Halons), le tétrachlorométhane (tétrachlorure de méthyle) ou le 1,1,1-trichloroéthane (méthylchloroforme); ou
  5. de fabriquer, d'importer, d'utiliser, de vendre, de mettre en vente ou d'exporter une substance contrôlée qui est destinée à une fin essentielle.

Substances contrôlées

Aux termes du Règlement sur les substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone, 1998, voici les substances contrôlées :

Groupe 1 : Tétrachlorométhane (tétrachlorure de carbone)

Groupe 2: 1,1,1-trichloroéthane (méthylchloroforme), ne comprend pas 1,1,2-trichloroéthane

Groupe 3 :

  • Trichlorofluorométhane (CFC-11)
  • Dichlorodifluorométhane (CFC-12)
  • Trichlorotrifluoroéthane (CFC-113)
  • Dichlorotétrafluoroéthane (CFC-114)
  • Chloropentafluoroéthane (CFC-115)

Groupe 4 : Chlorofluorocarbures autres que ceux visés au groupe 3

Groupe 5 :

  • Bromochlorodifluorométhane (Halon 1211)
  • Bromotrifluorométhane (Halon 1301)
  • Dibromotétrafluoroéthane (Halon 2402)

Groupe 6 : Bromofluorocarbures autres que ceux visés au groupe 5

Groupe 7 : Hydrobromofluorocarbures (HBFC)

Groupe 8 : Bromure de méthyle

Groupe 9 : Hydrochlorofluorocarbures (HCFC)

Remarque : Les personnes et les sociétés ont le droit de demander que les renseignements fournis en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement et de ses Règlements demeurent confidentiels. Lorsque la Loi ou d'autres législations interdisent la divulgation de ces renseignements, ils sont « masqués » pour empêcher leur divulgation.

Personne-ressource :
Division de la production des produits chimiques
Direction des secteurs industriels, des substances chimiques et des déchets
Environnement Canada
Place Vincent Massey, 11e étage
351, boulevard St-Joseph
Gatineau (Québec)  K1A 0H3
Téléphone: 819-938-4228
Télécopieur: 819-938-4218
Courriel: ec.gestionhalocarbures-halocarbonsmanagement.ec@canada.ca
Site Web: Ozone

Date de modification :