This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Proposed Extended Producer Responsibility Regulations for Managing End-of-Life Ozone-Depleting Substances (ODS) and their Halocarbon Alternatives

Introduction

Environment Canada will be drafting proposed regulations to manage the end-of-life of ozone-depleting substances and their halocarbon alternatives. The proposed regulations may require importers, manufacturers, distributors and reclaimers of chlorofluorocarbons (CFC), hydrochlorofluorocarbons (HCFC), hydrofluorocarbons (HFC) and perfluorocarbons (PFC) for use in the cooling sector to participate in an extended producer responsibility (EPR) program. The proposed regulations will require that EPR programs accept refrigerants that contain CFC, HCFC, HFC or PFC from certain stationary and mobile refrigeration and air-conditioning equipment.

Environment Canada has undertaken consultations on the proposed EPR regulations. These consultations are meant to provide the opportunity for all stakeholders to comment on the proposed regulations, raise awareness of their concerns, and contribute to the development of regulations based on a common understanding of the environmental benefits to be achieved. Environment Canada has developed a consultation document to stimulate and engage discussions.

Face-to-face consultations were held in Toronto on November 30 and December 1, 2009. Environment Canada is considering the possibility of holding further consultation meetings with stakeholders regarding the proposed approach.

For additional information concerning the proposed regulations, please contact:

Regular mail:

Ozone Protection Programs
Chemicals Management Division
Environment Canada
Place Vincent Massey
351 St. Joseph Boulevard, 17th Floor
Gatineau QC  K1A 0H3

Email:

OzoneProtectionPrograms@ec.gc.ca

Please type "Consultation on Proposed EPR Regulations" in the subject line.

Related links:

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Projet de règlement sur la responsabilité élargie des producteurs pour gérer la fin de vie des substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone (SACO) et de leurs halocarbures de remplacement

Introduction

Environnement Canada rédigera un projet de règlement pour gérer la fin de vie des substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone et de leurs halocarbures de remplacement. Dans le projet de règlement, les fabricants, les distributeurs et les entreprises de régénération de chlorofluorocarbures (CFC), d'hydrochlorofluorocarbures (HCFC), d'hydrofluorocarbures (HFC) et de perfluorocarbures (PFC) utilisés dans le secteur du refroidissement pourraient être tenus de participer à un programme de responsabilité élargie des producteurs (REP). Le projet de règlement exigera que les programmes REP acceptent les réfrigérants qui contiennent des CFC, HCFC, HFC et PFC de certains équipements de climatisation et de réfrigération, mobiles et stationnaires.

Environnement Canada a organisé des consultations sur le projet de règlement. Ces consultations ont pour but d'offrir la possibilité à tous les intervenants de faire part de leurs observations sur le projet de règlement, de faire connaître davantage leurs préoccupations et de contribuer à l'élaboration d'un règlement fondé sur une compréhension commune des avantages pour l'environnement qui peuvent en découler. En ce sens, Environnement Canada a préparé un document de consultation pour entamer et stimuler les discussions.

Des consultations en personne ont eu lieu à Toronto les 30 novembre et 1er décembre 2009. Environnement Canada envisage la possibilité d'organiser d'autres réunions de consultations avec les intervenants au sujet du règlement proposé.

Pour obtenir plus d'information concernant ce projet de règlement, veuillez communiquer avec :

Par la poste :

Programmes de protection de l'ozone
Division de la gestion des substances chimiques
Environnement Canada
Place Vincent-Massey
351, boulevard St-Joseph, 17e étage
Gatineau (Québec)  K1A 0H3

Par courriel :

OzoneProtectionPrograms@ec.gc.ca

Veuillez inscrire « Consultations sur le projet de règlement sur la REP » dans le champ « objet ».

Liens connexes :

Date de modification :