Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Plans and Policies

Plans

CEPA 1999 provides for the following types of plans:

For a description of the different types of plans, please click on the name of the plan.

Policies

Having selected from among alternatives and in light of given conditions, Environment Canada, in consultation with key stakeholders, may develop policies to provide a definite course or method of action to guide and determine present and future decisions under CEPA 1999. Policies can provide a high-level overall plan to embrace the general goals and acceptable procedures of the Act or can provide direction on how laws or regulations will be implemented.

Policies are not law, but may form the basis for laws and regulations. Policies provide a framework which forms the basis for attaining of key management objectives.

Toxic Substances Management Policy (TSMP)

The federal government's Toxic Substances Management Policy was announced in Parliament on June 2, 1995. This policy provides a science-based framework for the management of toxic substances. The key management objectives in the policy are:

  • virtual elimination of releases to the environment of toxic substances that are persistent and bioaccumulative and are present in the environment primarily due to human activity (Track 1); and
  • management of other toxic substances and substances of concern throughout their life cycles to prevent or minimize their release into the environment (Track 2).

For substances declared to be toxic under CEPA 1999, the policy provides directional guidance in selecting management objectives.

The Toxic Substances Management Policy Interdepartmental Forum, representing 12 key departments, co-ordinates the implementation of the TSMP. The initial list of 12 substances which meet the criteria for management under Track 1 of TSMP was published in Part 1 of the Canada Gazette on July 4, 1998. They are:

  • aldrin
  • chlordane
  • DDT
  • dieldrin
  • endrin
  • heptachlor
  • hexachlorobenzene (HCB)
  • mirex
  • polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs)
  • polychlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxins (PCDDs)
  • polychlorinated dibenzofurans (PCDFs)
  • toxaphene

All 12 substances are persistent organic pollutants, or POPs, which also enter the Canadian environment from foreign sources through long-range atmospheric transport. Within Canada, action has already been taken to severely limit or ban the production, use or release of these 12 substances. Nine of these substances were active ingredients in pesticides that are now prohibited in Canada.

For more information, please visit Environment Canada's Management of Toxic Substances website.

Compliance and Enforcement Policy

For more information, please visit Environment Canada's Enforcement of Canada’s Federal Environmental and Wildlife Laws web section.

Pollution Prevention Planning

Part 4 of CEPA 1999 gives the Minister of the Environment the authority to require the preparation and implementation of pollution prevention plans (P2 plans) for CEPA 1999 toxic substances (substances that have been added to Schedule 1 of CEPA 1999). This document provides an indication of the circumstances under which pollution prevention plans are required. For more information on how these provisions of CEPA 1999 are implemented, go to the Plans section of the CEPA Registry.

For more information, please visit Environment Canada's Pollution Prevention Planning web section.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Plans et politiques

Plans

Voici les catégories de plans prévues par la LCPE (1999) :

Pour obtenir une description des différentes catégories de plans, veuillez cliquer sur le nom du plan désiré.

Politiques

Ayant procédé à un choix parmi les solutions possibles et tenu compte des conditions courantes, il se peut qu'Environnement Canada, en consultation avec les principaux intervenants, élabore des politiques qui guideront et détermineront les prises de décisions présentes et futures dans le cadre de la LCPE (1999). Les politiques établissent un plan d'ensemble qui englobe les buts généraux et les procédures jugées acceptables dans le cadre de la Loi.

Les politiques ne sont pas des lois, mais peuvent servir de fondement à l'élaboration de lois et de règlements. Les politiques établissent un cadre qui favorise la réalisation des principaux objectifs en matière de gestion ou peuvent fournir une indication de la façon dont les lois ou les règlements seront mis en oeuvre.

Politique fédérale de gestion des substances toxiques (PFGST)

La politique de gestion des substances toxiques du gouvernement fédéral a été annoncée au Parlement le 2 juin 1995. Cette politique prévoit un cadre scientifique pour la gestion des substances toxiques. Les principaux objectifs de la gestion de la politique sont les suivants :

  • La quasi-élimination des rejets dans l'environnement des substances toxiques qui sont persistantes et bioaccumulables et qui sont présentes dans l'environnement surtout en raison de l'activité humaine (voie 1);
  • La gestion des autres substances toxiques et des substances préoccupantes durant tout leur cycle de vie de façon à prévenir ou à réduire leur rejet dans l'environnement (voie 2).

Pour les substances qui sont déclarées toxiques aux termes de la LCPE (1999), la politique consiste à orienter le choix des objectifs de gestion.

Le forum interministériel sur la politique de gestion des substances toxiques, qui représente 12 ministères clés, coordonne la mise en œuvre de la PFGST. La première liste des 12 substances qui satisfont aux critères de gestion de la voie 1 de la PFGST a été publiée dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada le 4 juillet 1998. Ce sont :

  • aldrine
  • chlordane
  • DDT
  • dieldrine
  • endrine
  • heptachlore
  • hexachlorobenzène (HCB)
  • mirex
  • biphényles polychlorés (BPC)
  • dibenzo-p-dioxines polychlorés (DDPC)
  • dibenzofurannes polychlorés (DFPC)
  • toxaphène.

Ces 12 substances sont toutes des polluants organiques persistants (POP) qui pénètrent aussi dans l'environnement canadien en provenance de sources étrangères au moyen du transport atmosphérique à longue distance. Au Canada, des mesures ont déjà été prises pour limiter grandement ou interdire la production, l'utilisation ou le rejet de ces 12 substances. Parmi elles, neuf constituaient des ingrédients actifs dans les pesticides qui sont maintenant interdits au Canada.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez le Site Web de la gestion des substances toxiques d'Environnement Canada

Politique d'observation et d'application

Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez la section Web sur l'application des lois fédérales canadiennes sur l'environnement et sur la faune d'Environnement Canada

Plans de prévention de la pollution

La partie 4 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] autorise le ministre de l'Environnement à exiger l'élaboration et l'exécution de plans de prévention de la pollution (plans P2) concernant toutes les substances toxiques régies par la LCPE (1999) [substances qui ont été ajoutées à l'annexe 1 de la LCPE (1999)]. Dans le présent document, nous signalons dans quelles circonstances des plans de prévention de la pollution seront exigés. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la mise en oeuvre de ces dispositions de la LCPE (1999), veuillez consulter la section du Registre de la LCPE consacrée aux plans.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez la section Web sur la Planification de la prévention de la pollution d'Environnement Canada.