This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Discussion Document
Amendments to the Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations
by
Waste Reduction and Management Division
Environment and Climate Change Canada

November 12, 2015

Introduction

Environment and Climate Change Canada is amending the Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations, 2005 (EIHWHRMR) to strengthen Canada’s ability to meet its obligations under the Basel Convention on Transboundary Movement of Hazardous Wastes and Their Disposal (the Basel Convention). The proposed amendments will expand the definitions of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material, and will add new conditions for the return of waste or recyclable materials that are refused by an importing or transit country.

This document explains the proposed regulatory changes and the potential impacts on companies who export waste or recyclable materials. Stakeholders are invited to provide comments on the proposal by December 11, 2015 to tanya.smyth-monteiro@canada.caPlease type “Consultation – Proposed amendments to the Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulation” in the subject line of your message.

Management of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material in Canada

The control of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable materials within Canada is a responsibility shared by the federal, provincial, territorial and municipal governments. The federal government is responsible for regulating international movements and movements between provinces and territories. Provincial and territorial governments are responsible for regulating and licensing waste generators, carriers, and disposal, recycling and treatment facilities. Municipal governments are responsible for establishing waste collection and disposal programs within their jurisdictions.

The EIHWHRMR were enacted to ensure that hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable materials that are exported and imported are managed in an environmentally sound manner to protect the environment and human health. These Regulations contribute to Canada’s ability to meet its obligations under the following three international agreements by bringing these obligations into national legislation:

  • the United Nations Basel Convention on the Control of Transboundary Movements of Hazardous Wastes and their Disposal, 1989 (ratified by Canada in 1992);
  • the Decision C(2001)/107/Final of the Council of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation (OECD) Concerning the Control of Transboundary Movements of Wastes Destined for Recovery Operations; and
  • the Canada-USA Agreement on the Transboundary Movement of Hazardous Wastes, 1986 as amended in 1992 to include provisions for non-hazardous waste.

The EIHWHRMR set out the conditions for the export, import, and transit of hazardous wastes and hazardous recyclable materials shipped across the Canadian border. This helps to ensure that shipments of wastes and recyclable materials entering into, leaving, or passing through Canada can be tracked and controlled by Environment and Climate Change Canada, with the assistance of other government agencies. The EIHWHRMR also ensure that exports of Canadian hazardous wastes and hazardous recyclable materials have been consented to by the import or transit country before any shipment takes place

Rationale for the Proposed Amendments

Since the EIHWHRMR came into force in 2005, there have been occasional (about an average of one each year) exports of waste or recyclable material from Canada that were not considered to be “hazardous waste or hazardous recyclable material” under the EIHWHRMR, but were considered to be hazardous and were controlled or prohibited by an import or transit country. In these cases, the EIHWHRMR did not require the Canadian exporter to notify Environment and Climate Change Canada, so no consent was sought from the importing country and no permit for export was issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada. However, the waste or materials were controlled or prohibited by the importing country, and were consequently considered to be illegal shipments under the Basel Convention because they were shipped from Canada without the prior consent of the importing country. Most of these cases involved waste or recyclable materials collected from households.  In these cases the importing country either sent the illegal shipment back to Canada, or requested that the exporter or Government of Canada take back the waste shipment, as required under the Basel Convention. 

The EIHWHRMR will be amended to ensure that any waste or recyclable material that is controlled or prohibited by an import or transit country will also be considered to be “hazardous waste or hazardous recyclable material” under Canadian regulations. The EIHWHRMR will also be amended to align requirements for returning waste or recyclable material refused by an importing or transit country with the requirements of the Basel Convention.

Cross Border Movement of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations

The proposed amendments to the EIHWHRMR will be introduced ahead of another larger regulatory initiative entitled the “Cross-border Movement of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations” which will consolidate three existing regulations: the Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations, the Interprovincial Movement of Hazardous Waste Regulations and the PCB Waste Export Regulations, 1996.  The regulatory changes being considered for this larger initiative were the subject of consultations in 2010. Regulatory changes that are not the subject of this discussion document, such as used electrical and electronic equipment, and changes needed to support implementation of a new electronic system to track shipments, will remain part of the larger initiative.

The Proposed Amendments

The proposed amendments to the EIHWHRMR are in two key areas.

1) Definition of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material

The definitions of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable materials will be expanded in the EIHWHRMR to capture as such any waste or recyclable material that an importing or transit country prohibits from import, defines as hazardous, or requires that their consent be obtained before the import or transit takes place, as per the Basel Convention or the Canada-USA Agreement. In effect, this means that any waste or recyclable material that is considered to be hazardous or is controlled or prohibited in another country will also be treated as “hazardous” under Canadian regulations for that particular shipment, and a Canadian exporter would be required to obtain a permit from Environment and Climate Change Canada for its export. For example, if household waste or recyclables were considered to be hazardous or controlled in another country, a Canadian company would need to notify Environment and Climate Change Canada, and obtain a permit for its export to that country.

Since the large majority (98%) of exports of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable materials from Canada are to the United States, and since the export and import of household waste and recyclable material is not controlled in the U.S., and waste and recyclable material defined as hazardous in U.S. regulations are already covered by the Canadian regulations, Canadian exporters who ship these materials to the United States are not expected to be impacted by this proposed amendment. Exporters who ship waste or recyclable materials, especially waste or recyclable materials collected from households to countries other than the United States may need to obtain a permit for their export under the amended EIHWHRMR. Companies who import hazardous waste or hazardous recyclable materials will not be affected by the proposed changes.

These proposed amendments to the definitions of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material would replace the approach originally proposed for controlling the transboundary movement of non-hazardous waste for final disposal during 2010 consultations.

2) Return provisions

The proposed amendments would change the requirements for returning waste or recyclable material refused by an importing or transit country to better align them with the requirements of the Basel Convention, and would also allow for flexibility in the time period to return a refused shipment. The proposed amendments would require an exporter to return a shipment that was refused by the competent authority of the country of destination or any country of transit. Under the current EIHWHRMR, the return of the waste is only required when refused by the authorized facility named in the export permit.

Environment and Climate Change Canada and the authority of the country concerned would also be able to agree on a period of time other than 90 days to make arrangements to return the shipment or have the waste or recyclable material disposed or recycled in an environmentally sound manner in the country concerned.  Currently the exporter is required, within 90 days after the day on which the Minister is notified of the refusal of a shipment, to make arrangements to return it or have the waste or recyclable material disposed or recycled in an environmentally sound manner in the country concerned.

Costs of the Proposed Amendments

This section describes preliminary estimates of the administrative and compliance costs for regulatees associated with the proposed amendments. Environment and Climate Change Canada would like feedback from stakeholders on whether these costs are realistic.

The Treasury Board of Canada defines administrative costs as the total costs of “planning, collecting, processing and reporting information, and completing forms and retaining data required by the federal government to comply with a regulation”. They are estimated by assessing the labour cost and time of the person who undertakes an administrative activity.

Compliance costs are defined as “up-front capital costs, as well as ongoing maintenance and training costs that businesses face when complying with a regulation”. These costs are estimated by adding the labour costs of the person who undertakes the compliance activity and the capital costs incurred to comply with the regulatory requirement.

Environment and Climate Change Canada has assumed that the proposed amendments will affect very few Canadian companies. An estimated six companies ship waste or recyclable materials that are not considered hazardous under current EIHWHRMR, but that would be considered hazardous, controlled or prohibited in another country. As with the current EIHWHRMR, the administrative costs or compliance costs for these exporters would include:

  • completing a notification, and submitting it to Environment and Climate Change Canada;
  • completing and distributing a movement document for each shipment;
  • providing confirmation of disposal or recycling;
  • writing and putting a contract in place;
  • insurance for environmental liability; and
  • document retention.

Preliminary estimates were calculated for administrative and compliance costs as follows: completing, submitting and retaining notification, movement document and confirmation of disposal or recycling ($130 annually per exporter); putting in place contracts ($220 annually per exporter); and purchasing insurance ($10,000 annually per exporter).

We want to hear from you. Please send any questions or comments by email to: tanya.smyth-monteiro@canada.ca. Please type “Consultation – Proposed amendment to the Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulation” in the subject line of your message.

Environment and Climate Change Canada welcomes the further distribution of this document.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Document de consultation
Modifications au Règlement sur l’exportation et l’importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses
par
la Division de la réduction et de la gestion des déchets
Environnement et Changement climatique Canada

12 novembre 2015

Introduction

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est en voie de modifier le Règlement sur l’exportation et l’importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses (2005) (REIDDMRD) afin de renforcer la capacité du Canada de respecter ses obligations découlant de la Convention de Bâle sur le contrôle des mouvements transfrontaliers de déchets dangereux et de leur élimination (la Convention de Bâle). Les modifications proposées élargiraient la définition de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses et ajouteraient de nouvelles conditions concernant le renvoi de déchets ou de matières recyclables refusés par le pays importateur ou le pays de transit.

Le présent document explique les modifications réglementaires proposées et les conséquences potentielles sur les entreprises qui exportent des déchets ou des matières recyclables. Les intervenants sont invités à formuler des commentaires concernant la proposition d’ici le 11 décembre 2015 et à les envoyer à l’adresse suivante : tanya.smyth-monteiro@canada.ca. Veuillez écrire « Consultation – Modifications proposées au Règlement sur l’exportation et l’importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses » dans la ligne d’objet de votre message.

Gestion de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses au Canada

Le contrôle des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses au Canada est une responsabilité conjointe du gouvernement fédéral et des gouvernements provinciaux, territoriaux et municipaux. Le gouvernement fédéral est chargé de réglementer les mouvements internationaux ainsi que les mouvements entre les provinces et territoires, alors que les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux assurent la réglementation et l’octroi de permis pour les producteurs et les transporteurs de déchets, ainsi que pour les installations d’élimination, de recyclage et de traitement. Finalement, les gouvernements municipaux sont chargés des programmes de collecte et d’élimination des déchets sur leur territoire.

Le REIDDMRD a été adopté afin de veiller à ce que les déchets dangereux et les matières recyclables dangereuses exportés et importés soient gérés d’une manière écologique afin de protéger l’environnement et la santé humaine. Ce règlement contribue à la capacité du Canada de respecter ses obligations en vertu des trois accords internationaux suivants en incorporant les obligations en question dans la législation nationale :

  • Convention de Bâle sur le contrôle des mouvements transfrontaliers de déchets dangereux et de leur élimination, des Nations Unies (1989) (ratifiée par le Canada en 1992);
  • Décision C(2001)/107/Final sur le contrôle des mouvements transfrontières de déchets destinés à des opérations de valorisation, Organisation de coopération et de développement économique (OCDE);
  • Accord Canada-États-Unis concernant les déplacements transfrontaliers de déchets dangereux de 1986 (modifié en 1992 afin d’inclure les dispositions concernant les déchets non dangereux).

Le REIDDMRD établit les exigences relatives à l’exportation, à l’importation et au transit de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses qui traversent la frontière canadienne. Cela contribue à assurer que ces envois de déchets et de matières recyclables entrant ou sortant du Canada ou passant par le pays peuvent être suivis et contrôlés par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada avec l’appui d’autres agences gouvernementales. Le Règlement assure également que les exportations de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses du Canada ont reçues le consentement des pays d’importation ou de transit avant que l’envoi n’ait lieu.

Motifs pour les modifications proposées

Depuis l’entrée en vigueur du REIDDMRD, en 2005, il y a eu, à l’occasion (en moyenne environ une fois par année), des exportations depuis le Canada de déchets ou de matières recyclables qui n’étaient pas considérés comme étant des déchets dangereux ou des matières recyclables dangereuses selon ce règlement, mais qui étaient jugés comme étant dangereux et étaient contrôlés ou interdits par un pays importateur ou de transit. Dans ces cas, l’exportateur canadien n’était pas tenu d’aviser Environnement et Changement climatique Canada en vertu du REIDDMRD. Ainsi, aucun consentement n’était demandé au pays importateur et aucun permis d’exportation n’était accordé par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Cependant, les déchets ou les matières étaient contrôlés ou interdits par le pays importateur, et étaient donc considérés comme des envois illégaux aux termes de la Convention de Bâle, car ils avaient été expédié du Canada sans d’abord avoir obtenu le consentement du pays importateur. La plupart de ces cas concernaient des déchets ou des matières recyclables provenant de collectes auprès de ménages. Lors de telles situations, le pays importateur retournait l’envoi illégal au Canada ou demandait à l’exportateur ou au gouvernement du Canada de récupérer les déchets envoyés, comme l’exige la Convention de Bâle.

Le REIDDMRD sera modifié afin de veiller à ce que tous les déchets et toutes les matières recyclables qui sont contrôlés ou interdits par un pays importateur ou de transit soient également considérés comme étant  des déchets dangereux ou des matières recyclables dangereuses en vertu du règlement canadien. Le REIDDMRD sera également modifié afin d’aligner les exigences liées au renvoi des déchets ou des matières refusés par un pays importateur ou un pays de transit avec les exigences de la Convention de Bâle.

Règlement sur le contrôle des mouvements transfrontaliers de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses

Les modifications au REIDDMRD qui sont proposées seront introduites préalablement à une autre initiative règlementaire plus vaste intitulée « Règlement sur le contrôle des mouvements transfrontaliers de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses » qui regroupera trois règlements existants : le Règlement sur l’exportation et l’importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses, le Règlement sur les mouvements interprovinciaux des déchets dangereux et le Règlement sur l’exportation de déchets contenant des BPC (1996). Les modifications réglementaires envisagées pour cette initiative plus vaste ont fait l’objet de consultations en 2010. Les modifications réglementaires qui ne sont pas abordées dans le cadre du présent document de consultation, notamment en ce qui concerne l’équipement électronique et électrique ainsi que les changements nécessaires pour soutenir la mise en œuvre d’un nouveau système électronique de suivi des envois, feront partie de cette initiative plus vaste.

Les modifications proposées

Les modifications proposées au REIDDMRD concernent deux principaux volets.

1) Définitions de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses

Les définitions de « déchet dangereux » et de « matière recyclable dangereuse » du REIDDMRD seront élargies afin d’inclure tous les déchets ou toutes les matières recyclables qu’un pays importateur ou un pays de transit interdit d’importer ainsi que tous les déchets ou toutes les matières recyclables qu’il définit comme étant dangereux ou pour lesquels il exige que son consentement soit obtenu avant l’importation ou le transit, conformément à la Convention de Bâle ou à l’Accord entre le Canada et les États‑Unis. En pratique, cela signifie que tous les déchets ou toutes les matières recyclables qui sont considérés comme étant dangereux ou qui sont contrôlés ou interdits par un autre pays seront également considérés comme « dangereux » aux termes de la réglementation canadienne pour l’envoi concerné. Un exportateur canadien devra donc obtenir un permis d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada afin de procéder à son exportation. Par exemple si des déchets ou des matières recyclables provenant de collectes auprès de ménages étaient considérés comme étant dangereux ou étaient contrôlés dans un autre pays, une entreprise canadienne devra aviser Environnement et changement climatique Canada pour obtenir un permis avant de procéder à l’exportation vers le pays concerné.

Comme la grande majorité (98 %) des exportations de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses du Canada vont vers les États-Unis, que l’exportation et l’importation de déchets provenant de collectes auprès de ménages ne sont pas contrôlés par ce pays et que les déchets et les matières recyclables considérés comme étant dangereux par les règlements des États‑Unis sont déjà couverts par le REIDDMRD, les exportateurs canadiens qui expédient ces matières vers les États-Unis ne devraient pas être touchés par les modifications proposées. Les exportateurs qui expédient des déchets ou des matières recyclables, plus particulièrement des déchets ou des matières recyclables provenant de collectes auprès de ménages vers des pays autres que les États-Unis, pourraient avoir besoin d’obtenir un permis pour leurs exportations conformément au REIDDMRD modifié. Les entreprises qui importent des déchets dangereux ou des matières recyclables dangereuses ne seront pas touchées par les modifications proposées.

Cette proposition de modifications pour les définitions de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses remplacerait l’approche initiale proposée lors des consultations menées en 2010 pour le contrôle des mouvements transfrontaliers des déchets non dangereux destinés à l’élimination définitive.

2) Dispositions visant les renvois

Les modifications proposées changeraient les exigences concernant les renvois de déchets ou de matières recyclables refusés par un pays importateur ou un pays de transit afin de mieux les aligner avec les exigences de la Convention de Bâle et donneraient plus de souplesse en ce qui concerne le délai permis pour le retour d’un envoi refusé. Selon les modifications proposées, l’exportateur serait tenu de retourner un envoi refusé par l’autorité compétente du pays de destination ou du pays de transit. Conformément au REIDDMRD actuel, le renvoi des déchets est seulement exigé s’ils sont refusés par l’installation agréée indiquée dans le permis d’exportation.

Environnement et changement climatique Canada et l’autorité du pays concerné pourraient également convenir d’un délai autre que 90 jours pour prendre les mesures relatives au retour de l’envoi ou pour que les déchets ou les matières recyclables soient éliminés ou recyclés dans le respect de l’environnement dans le pays concerné. Actuellement, l’exportateur est tenu, dans les 90 jours suivant l’avis au ministre concernant le refus d’un envoi, de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour le retourner ou pour s’assurer que les déchets ou les matières recyclables soient éliminés ou recyclés dans le respect de l’environnement dans le pays concerné.

Coûts des modifications proposées

Cette section décrit les estimations préliminaires des coûts de conformité et des coûts administratifs pour les entreprises réglementées concernées par les modifications proposées. Environnement et Changement climatique Canada aimerait obtenir de la rétroaction de la part des intervenants afin de savoir si ces coûts sont réalistes.

Le Conseil du Trésor du Canada définit les coûts administratifs comme le coût total de la « planification, la collecte et le traitement de l'information, l'établissement de rapports, le remplissage de formulaires et la conservation des données exigées par le gouvernement fédéral en vertu d'un règlement». Ces coûts sont estimés en évaluant les coûts de main‑d’œuvre et le temps passé par la personne qui exécute une activité administrative.

Les coûts de conformité sont définis comme la « mise de fonds initiale à laquelle s’ajoutent les coûts inhérents à l’entretien régulier ainsi qu’à la formation que l’entreprise doit assumer afin de se conformer à la réglementation ». Ces coûts sont estimés en ajoutant les coûts de main-d’œuvre de la personne qui exécute l’activité de conformité et les coûts réellement engagés pour se conformer aux exigences réglementaires.

Environnement et changement climatique Canada prévoit que les modifications proposées toucheront très peu d’entreprises canadiennes et estime qu’il y aura approximativement six nouvelles entreprises réglementées qui n’étaient pas auparavant assujetties au REIDDMRD. Il s’agirait d’entreprises qui expédient des déchets ou des matières recyclables qui ne sont pas considérés comme étant dangereux selon le REIDDMRD actuel, mais qui sont considérés comme étant dangereux ou qui sont contrôlés ou interdits dans un autre pays. Comme pour le REIDDMRD actuel, les coûts administratifs et les coûts de conformité pour ces nouvelles entreprises réglementées comprendraient :

  • le fait de remplir une notification et de l’envoyer à Environnement et Changement climatique Canada;
  • le fait de remplir et de distribuer un document de mouvement pour chacun des envois;
  • le fait de fournir une confirmation de l’élimination ou du recyclage;
  • la rédaction et la mise en place d’un contrat;
  • les assurances pour la responsabilité environnementale;
  • la conservation des documents.

Les estimations préliminaires ont été calculées pour les coûts de conformité et les coûts administratifs comme suit : le fait de remplir, d’envoyer et de conserver une notification, le document de mouvement et la confirmation de l’élimination ou du recyclage (130 $ annuellement par exportateur); la mise en place d’un contrat (220 $ annuellement par exportateur) et l’achat d’assurances (10 000 $ annuellement par exportateur).

Nous voulons connaître votre avis.

Envoyez toute question ou tout commentaire par courriel au : tanya.smyth-monteiro@canada.ca. Veuillez écrire « Consultation - Modifications proposées au Règlement sur l’exportation et l’importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses » dans la ligne d’objet de votre message.

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada encourage la transmission du présent document.

Date de modification :