This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

ARCHIVED - Interim Order Guidance Letter

December 20, 2010
(aussi disponible en français)

To: Manufacturers and Importers of Off-Road Compression-Ignition Engines and Machines

Subject: Interim Order Modifying the Operation of the Off-Road Compression-Ignition Engine Emission Regulations (Interim Order)

I am writing to inform you of the Government of Canada's decision to issue an Interim Order and to communicate the evidence of conformity requirements under the Interim Order.

As you are likely aware, Environment Canada has initiated a process to amend the Off-Road Compression-Ignition Engine Emission Regulations - SOR/2005-32 (Regulations) to maintain alignment with the more stringent Tier 4 emission standards of the United States Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA) for off-road diesel engines. However, it is not expected that these amendments would come into force before the 2012 model year. Environment Canada recognizes that until such time that the Canadian Regulations are amended to maintain alignment with the "Tier 4" standards, there may be certain instances where companies seek to import "Tier 4 flexibility" engines into Canada. Engines manufactured under the U.S. EPA flexibility program are effectively a carry-over of a Tier 2 or 3 build, but would not be covered by a U.S. EPA certificate of conformity.

Consistent with Environment Canada's policy of alignment with U.S. EPA standards, our objective is to ensure that Canadians have access to the same engines as those offered in the U.S. Accordingly, the Interim Order modifies the operation of the Regulations thereby permitting the import of "Tier 4 flexibility" engines into Canada. The Interim Order will, in accordance with subsection 163(5) of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, remain in force until it is repealed, until the Regulations are amended, or for a period of up to one year. A copy of the Interim Order is available on the department's CEPA Registry website.

In consideration of the above there are three possible options for importing off-road diesel engines into Canada.

  1. Engines sold concurrently in Canada and the U.S. under the U.S. EPA Tier 4 flexibility provisions;
  2. Engines covered by a valid U.S. EPA certificate of conformity that are sold concurrently in Canada and the United States; and
  3. Engines that will not be sold concurrently in Canada and the United States (i.e. so-called "Canada Unique" engines);

Attached is a document that describes these options and their required corresponding evidence of conformity in greater detail.

If you have any questions concerning this matter or the forthcoming amendments to the Regulations, please contact the Regulatory Administration Section or the Air Pollutant Regulatory Development Section, as the case may be. Both sections can be reached via VehicleandEngineInfo@ec.gc.caor by telephone at (819) 956-5941.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

Mark Cauchi
Director, Transportation Division
Energy and Transportation Directorate
ESB
Environment Canada

 

Attach.


 

Options for importing off-road compression-ignition engines into Canada

Please be aware that this is intended as general guidance and should not be construed as legal advice. In the event of a discrepancy between this guidance, the Regulations, and the Interim Order, the Regulations and the Interim order, as the case may be, prevail.

Section 16 and 17 of the Off-Road Compression-Ignition Engine Emissions Regulations specify the evidence of conformity requirements for off-road diesel engines. The responsibility to submit evidence of conformity rests, in all cases, with the company, as defined in CEPA 1999. Companies seeking to import off-road diesel engines must make the necessary arrangements to ensure that they are able to produce the evidence of conformity as required. Please contact Environment Canada at Emission-Verification@ec.gc.ca for further information regarding evidence of conformity.

1. Engines sold concurrently in Canada and the U.S. under the U.S. EPA Tier 4 flexibility provisions

While the Interim Order is in effect, a company may import an engine that is produced under the U.S. EPA "Tier 4 flexibility" provisions and sold concurrently in Canada and the U.S.  Under the Interim Order, instead of conforming to the standards set out in sections 9 to 11 of the Regulations, an engine that bears the U.S. emission control information label referred to in section 625(j)(1) must conform to the emission standards referred to in section 625, part 1039, of Title 40 of the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations.

To do so, the company and engine must conform to all other applicable requirements of the Regulations. Additionally, the company must submit the declaration referred to in section 19 of the Regulations (please refer to Chapter 8 of the "Guidance Document for the Off-Road Compression-Ignition Engine Emission Regulations") and make the statement under subparagraph 19(1)(e)(ii) that "The company complies with section 17 of the Off-Road Compression-Ignition Engine Emission Regulations".

The evidence of conformity in this case shall include the below noted items that must be submitted to the Minister upon request pursuant to section 18 of the Regulations and is not required prior to importation:

  1. A copy of the prior year U.S. EPA certificate of conformity;
  2. A copy of all records provided to the U.S. EPA to obtain the U.S. EPA certificate of conformity;
  3. A copy of all documentation provided to the U.S. EPA related to the flexibility engine pursuant to CFR 1039.625(j);
  4. A statement that the engine is built to the same specifications as in a previous model year to obtain the applicable Tier 2 or Tier 3 U.S. EPAcertificate (as applicable to the power category);
  5. A document demonstrating that the engine is sold concurrently in the U.S. during the period corresponding to the model year of the engine;
  6. A copy of the engine information label indicating that the engine is part of the U.S. EPA flexibility program under CFR 1039.625;

2. Engines covered by a valid U.S. EPAcertificate of conformity that are sold concurrently in Canada and the United State

An engine that is covered by a U.S. EPA certificate of conformity would be required to comply with the emission requirements referred to in the U.S. EPA certificate pursuant subsection 14(2) of the Regulations. The evidence of conformity remains as specified in section 16 of the Regulations with an engine information label consistent with that specified in the U.S. EPA certificate. The evidence of conformity must be obtained and produced by the company upon request by the Minister and is not required prior to importation.

In this case the evidence of conformity, pursuant to section 16 of the Regulations, consists of the following:

  1. A copy of the certificate;
  2. A document to demonstrate concurrent sale;
  3. Supporting documentation submitted to the U.S. EPA; and
  4. A U.S. engine information label

3. Engines that will not be sold concurrently in Canada and the United States (i.e. so-called "Canada Unique" engines)

An engine that is not covered by a U.S. EPA certificate of conformity or that is not sold concurrently in Canada and the United States is required to comply with all applicable standards specified in the Regulations and is subject to the provisions of section 17 of the Regulations. In this case, evidence of conformity required under paragraph 153(1)(b) of the Act must be obtained and produced by a company in a form and manner that is satisfactory to the Minister prior to its importation.

The following list elaborates on section 7.3 of the "Guidance Document for the Off-Road Compression-Ignition Engine Emission Regulations" which outlines the procedure to provide evidence of conformity in a form and manner satisfactory to the Minister, pursuant to section 17 of the Regulations. Evidence of Conformity must consist of:

  1. Information equivalent to what must be submitted to the U.S. EPA to obtain a certificate of conformity.  In the case of an engine that was previously covered by a U.S. EPA certificate of conformity, a copy of the records previously submitted to the U.S. EPA in support of the application for the issuance of the U.S. EPA certificate in respect of the engine;
  2. A copy of the previously issued U.S. EPA certificate of conformity (if previously covered by a U.S. EPA certificate of conformity);
  3. A copy of the engine information label;
  4. A copy of the English and French emission-related maintenance instructions;
  5. A statement that the engine is built to the same specifications as in a previous model year to obtain a U.S. EPA certificate and meets Tier 2 or 3 standards (If applicable and as applicable to the power category);
  6. An original signed Statement of Compliance Letter from an authorized representative of the company that is importing the engines into Canada which includes the following information as a minimum:
    • Name and address of the company;
    • Business number assigned to the company by the Minister of National Revenue;
    • The identification of the engines (e.g. make, model, model year, engine family);
    • Estimated projected Canadian sales;
    • A statement of compliance with all applicable standards set out in the Off-Road Compression-Ignition Engine Emission Regulations made under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999;
    • A statement acknowledging that the signatory is authorized to act on behalf of the company;
    • A request for an acknowledgment by Environment Canada that the evidence of conformity submitted has been obtained and produced in a form and manner satisfactory to the Minister;

The Statement of Compliance Letter may include the following additional information:

  • The identity of persons/entities (both inside or outside of the company) that Environment Canada may contact regarding the submission (e.g. technical contacts for companies);
  • Indicate whether some information is to be treated as confidential;
  • Any other information believed to be relevant.

To reduce the regulatory paperwork burden upon companies seeking to import "Canada-unique" engines, some engine manufacturers may voluntarily submit their technical documentation (i.e. items (a) through (e)) directly to Environment Canada. In this case, companies would then be required to submit a Statement of Compliance Letter (item (f)) prior to importation for each subject engine family. It is the responsibility of companies (importers) to ascertain whether this technical documentation has been submitted for engines (machines) they plan to import.

 


The electronic version of this document contains embedded hyperlinks to the Off-Road Compression-Ignition Engine Emission Regulations as well as the related guidance material. These documents are also available on the CEPA Registry website.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

ARCHIVÉ - Lettre d'orientation relative à l'arrêté d'urgence

20 décembre 2010
(also available in English)

Destinataires : Fabricants et importateurs de machines et de moteurs hors route à allumage par compression

Objet : Arrêté d'urgence modifiant l'application du Règlement sur les émissions des moteurs hors route à allumage par compression (arrêté d'urgence)

Je vous écris pour vous tenir au courant de la décision du gouvernement du Canada d'émettre un arrêté d'urgence et vous communiquer les exigences de justification de la conformité en vertu de cet arrêté d'urgence

Comme vous êtes probablement au courant, Environnement Canada (EC) a amorcé une procédure pour modifier le Règlement sur les émissions des moteurs hors route à allumage par compression - DORS/2005-32 (Règlement) pour s'harmoniser avec les normes sur les émissions de groupe 4 plus sévères de la Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) des États-Unis (É.-U.) pour les moteurs diesel hors route. Toutefois, on ne prévoit pas que ces modifications entrent en vigueur avant l'année de modèle 2012. Environnement Canada reconnaît que, jusqu'à l'entrée en vigueur de ces modifications visant à harmoniser le règlement canadien avec les normes du groupe 4, certaines entreprises chercheront à importer au Canada des moteurs respectant les dispositions de flexibilité relatives au groupe 4. Les moteurs fabriqués en vertu du programme de flexibilité de l'EPAsont en effet des moteurs construits sur la base des groupes 2 ou 3, mais ne seraient pas couverts par un certificat de conformité de l'EPA.

Conformément à la politique d'harmonisation d'Environnement Canada avec les normes de l'EPA, notre objectif est d'assurer que les Canadiens ont accès aux mêmes types de moteurs que ceux qui sont offerts aux États-Unis. Par conséquent, l'arrêté d'urgence modifie la mise en œuvre du règlement, permettant ainsi l'importation au Canada de moteurs respectant les dispositions de flexibilité relatives au groupe 4. L'arrêté d'urgence, conformément au paragraphe 163(5) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999 (LCPE, 1999), restera en vigueur jusqu'à ce qu'il soit abrogé, jusqu'à ce que le Règlement soit modifié ou pour une période maximale d'un an. Une copie de l'arrêté d'urgence est disponible sur le site web du Registre de la LCPE du Ministère.

En tenant compte de ce qui précède, trois options sont possibles pour importer des moteurs diesel hors route au Canada.

  1. Des moteurs vendus simultanément au Canada et aux É.-U. en vertu des dispositions de flexibilité relatives au groupe 4 de l'EPA.
  2. Des moteurs couverts par un certificat de conformité valide de l'EPA, vendus simultanément au Canada et aux États-Unis.
  3. Des moteurs qui ne seront pas vendus simultanément au Canada et aux États-Unis (c.-à-d. des moteurs « Canada-seulement »).

Vous trouverez ci-joint un document qui décrit en détail ces options et les exigences correspondantes de justification de la conformité.

Si vous avez des questions à ce sujet ou à propos des modifications prochaines du Règlement, veuillez communiquer avec la Section de l'administration des règlements ou la Section de l'élaboration des règlements sur les polluants atmosphériques, selon le cas. Vous pouvez joindre les deux sections par courriel à l'adresse VehicleandEngineInfo@ec.gc.ca ou par téléphone au numéro (819) 956-5941.

 

Veuillez agréer l'expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

 

 

Mark Cauchi
Directeur, Division des transports
Direction de l'énergie et du transport
Direction générale de l'intendance environnementale
Environnement Canada

 

Pièce jointe


 

Options d'importation au Canada de moteurs hors route à allumage par compression

Veuillez prendre note que le but du présent document est de vous donner une directive générale et qu'il ne devrait pas tenir lieu d'avis juridique. En cas d'une divergence entre cette directive, le Règlement et l'arrêté d'urgence, le Règlement et l'arrêté d'urgence, selon le cas, l'emportent sur ces directives.

Les articles 16 et 17 du Règlement sur les émissions des moteurs hors route à allumage par compression prévoient les exigences de justification de la conformité pour les moteurs diesel hors route. Dans tous les cas, selon la LCPE, 1999, l'entreprise est chargée de soumettre la justification de la conformité. Les entreprises qui cherchent à importer des moteurs diesel hors route doivent prendre les dispositions nécessaires pour s'assurer qu'elles sont en mesure de produire la justification de la conformité au besoin. Pour de plus amples renseignements à ce sujet, veuillez communiquer avec Environnement Canada à Emission-Verification@ec.gc.ca.

1. Moteurs vendus simultanément au Canada et aux É.-U. en vertu des dispositions de flexibilité relatives au groupe 4 de l'EPA

Pendant que l'arrêté d'urgence reste en vigueur, une entreprise peut importer un moteur fabriqué en vertu des dispositions de flexibilité relatives au groupe 4 de l'EPA et vendu simultanément au Canada et aux É.-U.  En vertu de l'arrêté d'urgence, au lieu de se conformer aux normes définies dans les articles 9 à 11 du Règlement, un moteur portant l'étiquette d'information américaine de contrôle d'émission visée au paragraphe 625(j)(1) doit se conformer aux normes d'émission visées à l'article 625, partie 1039, du titre 40 du Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) américain.

Pour ce faire, l'entreprise et le moteur doivent se conformer à toutes les exigences en vigueur du Règlement. En outre, l'entreprise doit soumettre la déclaration visée à l'article 19 du Règlement (veuillez consulter le chapitre 8 du « Document d'orientation du Règlement sur les émissions des moteurs hors route à allumage par compression ») et énoncer en vertu du sous-alinéa 19(1)e)(ii) que « L'entreprise se conforme à l'article 17 du Règlement sur les émissions des moteurs hors route à allumage par compression ».

  1. Une copie du certificat de conformité de l'EPA de l'année précédente.
  2. Une copie de tous les dossiers fournis à l'EPA en vue d'obtenir le certificat de conformité de l'EPA.
  3. Une copie de tous les documents fournis l'EPA relativement à son programme de flexibilité pour moteur conformément au CFR 1039.625(j);
  4. Une déclaration énonçant que le moteur est construit selon les mêmes spécifications que celles d'une année de fabrication précédente visant à obtenir le certificat de l'EPA en vigueur pour le groupe 2 ou 3 (conformément à la catégorie de puissance).
  5. Un document attestant que le moteur est vendu simultanément aux É.-U. pendant la période qui correspond à l'année de fabrication du moteur.
  6. Une copie de l'étiquette d'information du moteur indiquant que le moteur fait partie du programme de flexibilité de l'EPA en vertu du CFR 1039.625;

2. Moteurs couverts par un certificat de conformité valide de l'EPA, vendus simultanément au Canada et aux États-Unis

Un moteur couvert par un certificat de conformité de l'EPA devrait se conformer aux exigences d'émission visées au certificat de l'EPA conformément au paragraphe 14(2) du Règlement. La justification de la conformité reste telle qu'elle est définie à l'article 16 du Règlement, avec une étiquette d'information de moteur conforme à celle qui est précisée dans le certificat de l'EPA. La justification de la conformité doit être obtenue et produite par l'entreprise à la demande du ministre et n'est pas nécessaire avant l'importation.

Dans ce cas, la justification de la conformité, conformément à l'article 16 du Règlement, consiste en ce qui suit :

  1. une copie du certificat;
  2. un document attestant la vente simultanée;
  3. des documents justificatifs soumis à l'EPA;
  4. une étiquette d'information de moteur américaine.

3. Moteurs qui ne seront pas vendus simultanément au Canada et aux États-Unis (c.-à-d. des moteurs « Canada-seulement »)

Un moteur non couvert par un certificat de conformité de l'EPA ou qui n'est pas vendu simultanément au Canada et aux États-Unis devrait se conformer à toutes les normes en vigueur mentionnées dans le Règlement, ainsi qu'aux dispositions de l'article 17 du Règlement. Dans ce cas, la justification de la conformité nécessaire en vertu du paragraphe 153(1)b) de la Loi doit être obtenue et produite par une entreprise selon les modalités que le ministre juge satisfaisantes, avant l'importation du moteur.

La liste suivante donne les détails de l'article 7.3 du « Document d'orientation du Règlement sur les émissions des moteurs hors route à allumage par compression  ; qui décrit la procédure de présentation de la justification de la conformité selon les modalités que le ministre juge satisfaisantes, conformément à l'article 17 du Règlement. La justification de la conformité doit comporter les éléments qui suivent.

  1. Des renseignements équivalents à ceux qui doivent être présentés à l'EPA pour obtenir un certificat de conformité; dans le cas d'un moteur qui par le passé était couvert par un certificat de conformité de l'EPA, une copie des dossiers déjà soumis à l'EPA à l'appui de la demande d'octroi du certificat de l'EPA relativement au moteur.
  2. Une copie du certificat de conformité de l'EPA délivré précédemment (si le moteur était couvert précédemment par un certificat de conformité de l'EPA).
  3. Une copie de l'étiquette d'information de moteur.
  4. Une copie des instructions d'entretien relatives aux émissions, en anglais et en français.
  5. Une déclaration énonçant que le moteur est construit selon les mêmes spécifications que celles d'une année de fabrication précédente visant à obtenir un certificat de l'EPA et qu'il répond aux normes du groupe 2 ou 3 (s'il y a lieu et conformément à la catégorie de puissance).
  6. L'original signé de la lettre de déclaration de conformité par un représentant autorisé de l'entreprise qui importe les moteurs au Canada, devant comprendre au minimum les renseignements ci-dessous.
    • Nom et adresse de l'entreprise.
    • Numéro d'entreprise assigné par le ministre du Revenu national.
    • Identification des moteurs (p. ex. marque, modèle, année de fabrication, famille de moteur).
    • Ventes canadiennes prévues.
    • Une déclaration de conformité à toutes les normes en vigueur mentionnées dans le Règlement sur les émissions des moteurs hors route à allumage par compression en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999.
    • Une déclaration reconnaissant que le signataire est autorisé à agir au nom de l'entreprise.
    • Une demande de reconnaissance par Environnement Canada que la justification de la conformité présentée a été obtenue et produite selon les modalités que le ministre juge satisfaisantes.
    • La lettre de déclaration de conformité peut en outre comprendre les renseignements qui suivent.
    • L'identité des personnes ou des entités (à l'extérieur ou à l'intérieur de l'entreprise) avec qui Environnement Canada peut communiquer au sujet de la demande (p. ex. les personnes-ressources techniques des entreprises).
    • Une note indiquant si les renseignements doivent être traités de façon confidentielle.
    • Toute autre information jugée pertinente.

Afin de réduire la bureaucratie réglementaire imposée aux entreprises qui cherchent à importer des moteurs « Canada-seulement », certains fabricants de moteurs peuvent présenter de plein gré leurs documents techniques (c.-à-d. points (a) jusqu'à (e)) directement à Environnement Canada. Dans ce cas, les entreprises devraient présenter une lettre de déclaration de conformité (point (f)) avant l'importation de chaque famille de moteurs en question. Il incombe aux entreprises importatrices de s'assurer que les documents techniques relatifs aux moteurs (machines) sont présentés avant qu'elles planifient l'importation.


La version électronique de ce document contient des liens au Règlement sur les émissions des moteurs hors route à allumage par compression ainsi qu'au matériel d'orientation connexe. Ces documents sont également disponible sur le site web du Registre de la LCPE.

Date de modification :