This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Part I - Canada's Draft National Implementation Plan for the Stockholm Convention

Chapter 8: Other Commitments

8.1 Financial Assistance

Article 13 of the Convention states that each Party will undertake to provide, within its capabilities, financial support and incentives in respect of national activities intended to achieve the objective of the Convention.

 

  1. Each Party undertakes to provide, within its capabilities, financial support and incentives in respect of those national activities that are intended to achieve the objective of this Convention in accordance with its national plans, priorities and programmes.
  2. The developed country Parties shall provide new and additional financial resources to enable developing country Parties and Parties with economies in transition to meet the agreed full incremental costs of implementing measures which fulfill their obligations under this Convention as agreed between a recipient Party and an entity participating in the mechanism described in paragraph 6.
  3. Developed country Parties, and other Parties ... may also provide and developing country Parties and Parties with economies in transition avail themselves of financial resources to assist in their implementation of this Convention through other bilateral, regional and multilateral sources or channels.

The remaining provisions of Article 13 relate to the intent of the Article and to the nature of the funding mechanism. The Global Environment Facility (GEF) will operate as the primary financial mechanism for the Convention, on an interim basis, from the date of entry into force until at least the first meeting of the COP. In taking on its role as primary financial mechanism, the GEF has developed a new operational program specific to POPs. The GEF has indicated that new and additional resources from donor countries will be required in order to adequately support the implementation of the POPsConvention.

Canada will participate in the financial provisions of the Convention on an ongoing basis through its financial contribution to GEF. The GEF is the Government of Canada's primary mechanism to address global environmental commitments in developing countries. Canada, with CIDA as lead, has an independent seat on the 32 member GEF Governing Council and is the seventh largest donor to the GEF, contributing CDN $159 million over the four years of the third replenishment (2002-2006). Canada has consistently given 4.28% of the total replenishment: GEF-1 had a total replenishment of $US2 billion and GEF-2 had a replenishment of $US2.75 billion.

In 2000, Canada established the five-year $20 million (CDN) Canada POPs Fund, administered by the World Bank, to assist developing countries and countries with economies in transition to build their capacities to deal with POPs and to implement their obligations under the Convention.

8.2 Technical Assistance

Article 12 of the Convention states that Parties to the Convention shall:

 

  • 2.  ...cooperate to provide timely and appropriate technical assistance to developing country Parties and Parties with economies in transition, to assist them, taking into account their particular needs, to develop and strengthen their capacity to implement their obligations under this Convention.
  • 3.  ...include, as appropriate and as mutually agreed, technical assistance for capacity-building relating to implementation of the obligations under this Convention. Further guidance in this regard shall be provided by the Conference of the Parties.
  • 4.  ...establish, as appropriate, arrangements for the purpose of providing technical assistance and promoting the transfer of technology to developing country Parties and Parties with economies in transition relating to the implementation of this Convention. These arrangements shall include regional and subregional centres for capacity-building and transfer of technology to assist developing country Parties and Parties with economies in transition to fulfil their obligations under this Convention. Further guidance in this regard shall be provided by the Conference of the Parties.
  • 5.  ...in the context of this Article, take full account of the specific needs and special situation of least developed countries and small island developing states in their actions with regard to technical assistance.

As noted above, the Canada POPs Fund assists developing countries and countries with economies in transition to build their capacities to deal with POPs and to implement their obligations under the Convention. The Fund is available for a variety of projects, tailored to the needs of specific countries, such as: developing POPs inventories; establishing the regulatory mechanisms and building the institutional framework needed to control POPs releases; and finding alternative chemicals or strategies to the use of POPs.

Canada also provides technical assistance to developing countries and countries with economies in transition, for capacity building in the fields of chemical management and alternatives to POPs use, such as integrated pest management. For example, the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) and the International Development Research Centre support sustainable environmental development programs in many countries. CIDAadministers the Canadian Consultant Trust Fund and Industry Canada administers Technology Partnerships Canada.

8.3 Reporting

Under Article 15 of the Convention, Canada has committed to reporting on its implementation of obligations.

 

  1. Each Party shall report to the Conference of the Parties on the measures it has taken to implement the provisions of this Convention and on the effectiveness of such measures in meeting the objectives of the Convention.
  2. Each Party shall provide to the Secretariat:
    (a) Statistical data on its total quantities of production, import and export of each of the chemicals listed in Annex A and Annex B or a reasonable estimate of such data; and
    (b) To the extent practicable, a list of the States from which it has imported each such substance and the States to which it has exported each such substance.
  3. Such reporting shall be at periodic intervals and in a format to be decided by the Conference of the Parties at its first meeting.

Canada is in a position to report under Article 15 in the format and at intervals to be decided by the Conference of the Parties. Reporting programs that will assist with this obligation include, but are not limited to:

  • the National Pollutant Release Inventory;
  • Inventory of Releases: PCDD/PCDF;
  • the Residual Discharge Information System;
  • the National Inventory of PCBs in Use and PCB Wastes in Storage in Canada;
  • the National Pesticide Sales Data Base, to be implemented following the coming into force of the new PCPA;
  • the Canada-U.S. Great Lakes Binational Toxics Strategy; and
  • emissions monitoring by federal, provincial and territorial government agencies and industries.

Canada has prohibited the manufacture, import and export of POPslisted under the Convention, with the exception of waste containing POPs, as discussed in Chapter 6. Therefore, reporting under Article 15(2) will pertain to POPs in waste only.

8.4 Effectiveness Evaluation

As a Party to the Convention and as called for under Article 16, Canada will cooperate with the Conference of the Parties and the Secretariat in evaluating the effectiveness of the Convention, including assisting with the development of comparable monitoring data and implementation of any ensuing arrangements, in accordance with Canada's technical and financial capabilities and using reports as discussed in Section 8.3 (Reporting) of this Chapter of the NIP.

As part of the foundation for effectiveness evaluation of the Convention, a Global Network for the Monitoring of Chemicals in the Environment has been established. The Global Atmospheric Passive Sampling or GAPS Study was initiated in December 2004 at approximately 50 sites around the world on all continents. The goal is to provide comparable monitoring data through harmonized methodologies on the presence of POPs as well as their regional and global environmental transport. It will focus on the twelve POPs and be designed to accommodate other substances that might be added in the future to the Stockholm Convention. Logistics for this one year research study -including shipping, receiving and analysis of passive samples - is coordinated through Environment Canada. First results from GAPS are expected in summer 2005.

Canada was a leader in promoting global monitoring for effectiveness evaluation during the negotiations of the Stockholm Convention. Canadian representatives actively participated in the genesis of this initiative and are assisting in the development of the Global Network for the Monitoring of Chemicals in the Environment. Results from the GAPS study will be used to comment on the feasibility of the passive sampling approach that was promulgated in the UNEP Guidance Document for Global Monitoring of POPs in air.

Through the Commission on Environmental Co-operation Environmental Monitoring and Assessment Working Group, Environment Canada's MSC works to build capacity in Mexico, to develop and seek support for North American networks for monitoring using common protocols developed tri-nationally and to assess and integrate the knowledge on a North American basis in reports made public in the three countries

8.5 Addition of Future Chemicals to the Convention

The Convention provides a process for future addition of POPs under Article 8. At its discretion, any Party may nominate a substance for consideration by the Conference of Parties. Nominated substances will be considered for listing under Annexes A, B and/or C (respectively, for elimination, restriction, and/or control of releases of unintentionally produced substances). Under Article 19, paragraph 6, a POPs Review Committee will be established at the first meeting of the Conference of Parties (COP-1), with membership consisting of appointed experts in chemical assessment or management. The Committee conducts a review process for each candidate substance, as elaborated in Article 8, which involves a series of successive information gathering and decision-making steps, based on: screening criteria (Annex D); risk profile (Annex E); and socio-economic (Annex F) information. The review process is designed to ensure a flexible and transparent review process, and the Conference of Parties is able to consider and act on challenges to Committee recommendations along the process. The Conference of Parties will ultimately decide, in a precautionary manner, whether to add a chemical and specify its control measures, in Annexes A, B and/or C.

Canada will actively participate in discussions and negotiations concerning addition of future chemicals to the Convention. Candidate substances for risk assessment / management are identified through seven main mechanisms under CEPA 1999: industry information, categorization of the Domestic Substances List (DSL), provincial or international decisions, public nominations, new substances notifications, emerging science and monitoring, and international action, assessment or data collection. The new PCPA will also consider substance information from domestic and other sources. Information from these mechanisms will be the basis of any nominations by Canada for addition to the Convention. In a similar manner, Canada's participation in responding to substance proposals by other Parties will be based on domestic information, assessments and measures pertinent to such chemicals.

In summary, Canada is prepared to generate nominations as appropriate, and to participate in decisions about additions of new chemicals to the Convention.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Partie I : Plan national de mise en oeuvre du Canada en vertu de la Convention de Stockholm

Chapitre 8. Autres engagements

8.1 Assistance financière

L'article 13 de la Convention stipule que chaque Partie s'engage à fournir, dans la mesure de ses moyens, un appui et des incitations d'ordre financier au titre des activités nationales qui visent à la réalisation de l'objectif de la Convention.

 

  1. Chaque Partie s'engage à fournir, dans la mesure de ses moyens, un appui et des incitations d'ordre financier au titre des activités nationales qui visent à la réalisation de l'objectif de la présente Convention, conformément à ses plans, priorités et programmes nationaux.
  2. Les pays développés Parties fournissent des ressources financières nouvelles et additionnelles pour permettre aux Parties qui sont des pays en développement ou à économie en transition de couvrir la totalité des surcoûts convenus de l'application des mesures leur permettant de s'acquitter de leurs obligations au titre de la Convention, comme convenu entre une Partie bénéficiaire et une entité participant au mécanisme décrit au paragraphe 6. [...]
  3. Les pays développés Parties, et d'autres pays [...] peuvent aussi fournir, et les Parties qui sont des pays en développement ou à économie en transition obtenir des ressources financières pour les aider dans l'application de la présente Convention par d'autres sources et voies bilatérales, régionales ou multilatérales.

Les autres dispositions de l'article 13 portent sur le but de ce dernier et sur la nature du mécanisme de financement. Le Fonds pour l'environnement mondial (FEM) fait office, à titre provisoire, de principal mécanisme financier de la Convention, de la date d'entrée en vigueur jusqu'à la première réunion de la CdP. Pour jouer le rôle qu'on lui a attribué, le FEM a élaboré un nouveau programme opérationnel expressément pour les POP. Il a indiqué que les pays donateurs devront lui fournir des ressources nouvelles et additionnelles pour qu'il puisse appuyer de façon adéquate la mise en oeuvre de la Convention sur les POP.

Le Canada respectera les dispositions d'ordre financier de la Convention en versant des contributions régulières au FEM. Celui-ci constitue le principal mécanisme dont dispose l'État canadien pour remplir ses engagements environnementaux mondiaux dans les pays en développement. Le Canada, sous la direction de l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI), occupe un siège indépendant au Conseil du FEM, composé de 32 membres, et est le septième donateur en importance du Fonds, contribuant pour 159 millions de dollars CAN pendant la période de quatre ans sur laquelle s'étale la troisième reconstitution (2002-2006). L'apport du Canada a toujours représenté 4,28 p. 100 de la reconstitution totale, qui s'établissait à 2 milliards de dollars US pour le FEM-1 et à 2,75 milliards de dollars US pour le FEM-2.

En 2000, le Canada a créé le Fonds canadien sur les POP, un fonds quinquennal de 20 000 000 $ CAN administré par la Banque mondiale, pour aider les pays en développement et les pays à économie en transition à renforcer leurs moyens de traiter les POP et à s'acquitter de leurs obligations au titre de la Convention.

8.2 Assistance technique

L'article 12 de la Convention stipule ce qui suit :

 

  • 2.  Les Parties coopèrent pour fournir en temps utile une assistance technique appropriée aux Parties qui sont des pays en développement ou à économie en transition pour les aider, compte tenu de leurs besoins particuliers, à développer et à renforcer leurs moyens de s'acquitter de leurs obligations au titre de la Convention.
  • 3.  [ ...] l'assistance technique [...] comprend, selon qu'il convient et comme convenu d'un commun accord, la fourniture d'une assistance technique pour le renforcement des capacités aux fins d'exécution des obligations au titre de la Convention. La Conférence des Parties donnera des directives supplémentaires en la matière.
  • 4.  Les Parties prennent, le cas échéant, des dispositions pour fournir une assistance technique et favoriser le transfert de technologie aux Parties qui sont des pays en développement ou à économie en transition, en vue de l'application de la présente Convention. Ces dispositions comprennent la création de centres régionaux et sous-régionaux pour le renforcement des capacités et le transfert de technologie afin d'aider les Parties qui sont des pays en développement ou à économie en transition à s'acquitter de leurs obligations au titre de la Convention. La Conférence des Parties donnera des directives supplémentaires en la matière.
  • 5.  Aux fins du présent article, les Parties tiennent pleinement compte des besoins spécifiques et de la situation particulière des pays les moins avancés et des petits États insulaires en développement lorsqu'elles prennent des décisions concernant l'assistance technique.

Comme on l'a mentionné ci-dessus, le Fonds canadien sur les POP aide les pays en développement et les pays à économie en transition à renforcer leurs moyens de traiter les POP et à s'acquitter de leurs obligations au titre de la Convention. Le Fonds sert à financer divers projets adaptés aux besoins de pays déterminés, tels que la création d'inventaires de POP, l'établissement des mécanismes réglementaires et le renforcement du cadre institutionnel nécessaires pour réduire les rejets de POP et la recherche de stratégies ou de substances chimiques de remplacement des POP.

Le Canada fournit aussi une assistance technique aux pays en développement et aux pays à économie en transition pour les aider à renforcer leur capacité de gestion des substances chimiques et d'application de solutions de remplacement des POP, tels que la lutte intégrée contre les parasites. Par exemple, l'ACDI et le Centre de recherches pour le développement international (CRDI) appuient des programmes environnementaux de développement durable dans de nombreux pays. L'ACDI administre le Fonds fiduciaire des consultants canadiens, et Industrie Canada administre Partenariat technologique Canada.

8.3 Rapports

En vertu de l'article 15 de la Convention, le Canada s'est engagé à faire rapport sur l'exécution de ses obligations.

 

  1. Chaque Partie fait rapport à la Conférence des Parties sur les mesures qu'elle a prises pour appliquer les dispositions de la présente Convention et sur leur efficacité dans la réalisation de l'objectif de la Convention.
  2. Chaque Partie fournit au Secrétariat ce qui suit :
    1. Des données statistiques sur les quantités totales produites, importées et exportées de chacune des substances chimiques inscrites aux annexes A et B, ou une estimation plausible de ces quantités;
    2. Dans la mesure du possible, une liste des États d'où elle a importé chaque substance, et des États vers lesquels elle a exporté chaque substance.
  3. Ces informations sont communiquées périodiquement et selon une présentation à déterminer à la Conférence des Parties à sa première réunion.

Le Canada est en mesure de faire rapport conformément à l'article 15, selon la présentation et aux intervalles dont décidera la Conférence des Parties. Voici certains des programmes de déclaration qui aideront le Canada à communiquer les renseignements exigés :

  • Inventaire national des rejets de polluants;
  • Inventaire des rejets de dioxines et de furannes;
  • système d'inventaire des rejets résiduels;
  • Inventaire national des matières utilisées contenant des BPC et des déchets contenant des BPC en entreposage au Canada;
  • base de données sur les ventes de pesticides au Canada, qui sera mise en service après l'entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle LPA;
  • Stratégie binationale (Canada-États-Unis) de lutte contre les toxiques dans les Grands Lacs;
  • surveillance des émissions par les organismes gouvernementaux fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux et les industries.

Le Canada a interdit la fabrication, l'importation et l'exportation des POP inscrits à la Convention, exception faite des déchets contenant des POP, comme on l'a expliqué au chapitre 6. Par conséquent, le rapport produit en vertu du paragraphe 2 de l'article 15 portera uniquement sur les déchets contenant des POP.

8.4 Évaluation de l'efficacité

En tant que Partie à la Convention et comme le prévoit l'article 16 de celle-ci, le Canada, selon ses moyens techniques et financiers et en tirant parti des rapports cités à la section 8.3 (Rapports), collabore avec la CdP et le Secrétariat à l'évaluation de l'efficacité de la Convention, notamment en participant à la définition de données de surveillance comparables et en mettant en place tout arrangement éventuel qui peut en découler.

Pour mener à bien l'évaluation de l'efficacité de la Convention, on a créé un réseau mondial de surveillance des substances chimiques dans l'environnement. L'étude internationale sur l'échantillonnage atmosphérique passif a été amorcée en décembre 2004 à quelque 50 stations réparties sur les cinq continents. Elle a pour but de fournir, au moyen de méthodes harmonisées, des données de surveillance comparables sur la présence des POP ainsi que sur leur propagation dans l'environnement aux échelles régionale et mondiale. L'étude porte sur les 12 POP inscrits dans la Convention et est conçue de manière à pouvoir intégrer les autres substances qui y seront éventuellement ajoutées. L'organisation matérielle de cette étude d'une année, y compris l'envoi, la réception et l'analyse des échantillons passifs, est coordonnée par l'intermédiaire d'Environnement Canada. Les premiers résultats devraient être connus à l'été 2005.

Durant les négociations de la Convention de Stockholm, le Canada a été l'un des premiers à préconiser une surveillance mondiale pour évaluer l'efficacité des dispositions. Les représentants canadiens ont activement participé à la genèse de cette initiative et, actuellement, ils collaborent à la formation du réseau mondial de surveillance des substances chimiques dans l'environnement. On mettra à profit les résultats de l'étude sur l'échantillonnage atmosphérique passif pour évaluer la faisabilité de la méthode d'échantillonnage passif promulguée dans le guide pour une surveillance mondiale des POP dans l'atmosphère (Guidance Document for Global Monitoring of POPs) du PNUE.

Par l'intermédiaire du Groupe de travail sur la surveillance et l'évaluation environnementales de la Commission nord-américaine de coopération environnementale, le SMC d'Environnement Canada s'emploie à renforcer la capacité au Mexique, à assurer la création et le soutien de réseaux nord-américains afin de procéder à une surveillance au moyen des protocoles communs élaborés par le Canada, les États-Unis et le Mexique et à évaluer et à intégrer les connaissances à l'échelle nord-américaine dans les rapports publiés dans les trois pays.

8.5 Futures inscriptions de substances chimiques dans la Convention

L'article 8 de la Convention comporte une procédure pour l'inscription future de POP. Chaque Partie est libre de proposer l'inscription d'une substance aux fins d'examen par la CdP, qui décidera s'il faut ajouter la substance aux annexes A, B ou C (portant respectivement sur l'élimination, la restriction et la réduction des rejets résultant d'une production non intentionnelle). En vertu du paragraphe 6 de l'article 19, la CdP crée, à sa première réunion (CdP-1), un comité d'étude des POP qui se compose de spécialistes de l'évaluation ou de la gestion des substances chimiques. Comme on l'explique en détail à l'article 8, le Comité soumet chaque proposition d'inscription à un processus d'examen au cours duquel est franchie une série d'étapes successives de collecte d'informations et de prise de décisions fondées sur des critères de sélection (annexe D), le descriptif des risques (annexe E) et des informations se rapportant aux considérations socioéconomiques (annexe F). Le processus d'examen est conçu de manière à être souple et transparent. À n'importe quel moment, si une Partie conteste une recommandation du Comité, la CdP peut examiner la question et annuler la décision. En dernier ressort, il revient à la CdP de décider, de manière précautionneuse, d'inscrire ou non une substance chimique aux annexes A, B ou C, en précisant les mesures de réglementation de cette substance.

Le Canada prendra une part active aux discussions et aux négociations entourant l'inscription d'autres substances chimiques dans la Convention. En vertu de la LCPE 1999, les substances pouvant faire l'objet d'une évaluation des risques ou d'une gestion sont déterminées au moyen de sept mécanismes principaux : renseignements fournis par l'industrie, classification des substances inscrites sur la Liste intérieure des substances, décisions provinciales ou internationales, propositions du public, notifications de substances nouvelles, nouvelles techniques de surveillance ou de recherche et action, évaluation ou collecte de données internationales. La nouvelle LPA tiendra aussi compte des renseignements sur les substances obtenus d'autres sources, notamment nationales. Les renseignements recueillis grâce à ces mécanismes constitueront le fondement des propositions d'inscription à la Convention du Canada. De même, le Canada participera à l'examen des demandes d'inscription faites par les autres Parties en s'appuyant sur des informations, des évaluations et des mesures nationales relatives aux substances chimiques proposées.

Bref, le Canada est prêt à présenter des propositions, s'il y a lieu, et à participer aux décisions concernant l'inscription d'autres substances chimiques dans la Convention.

Date de modification :