This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Disposal at Sea Permit No. 4543-2-02898

Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to section 127 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, Disposal at Sea Permit No. 4543-2-02898 authorizing the loading for disposal and the disposal of waste or other matter at sea is approved.

1. Permittee: The Muskox Company (6355 NWT Ltd.), Yellowknife, Northwest Territories.

2. Waste or other matter to be disposed of: Uncontaminated organic matter of natural origin.

2.1. Nature of waste or other matter: Muskox offal, bones and heads.

2.2. No materials other than Muskox offal, bones and heads may be disposed of under this permit.

2.3. The disposal of whole Muskox is prohibited.

3. Duration of permit: Permit is valid from February 1, 2013, to June 30, 2013.

4. Loading site(s): 71.99333° N, 125.30000° W (WGS 84) on Banks Island, Northwest Territories.

5. Disposal site(s): On the ice, within a 200-metre radius of 71.96083° N, 125.33900° W (WGS 84), over 10 to 20 metres of water. If ice conditions do not permit the safe transport and/or placement of the material at the specified disposal site, the permittee shall contact the Department of the Environment Disposal at Sea Officer (204-983-4815) to discuss an alternate disposal site location. Relocation of the disposal site is at the discretion of the above-mentioned Disposal at Sea Officer and GPS coordinates for the proposed location must be provided at the time of request.

6. Route to disposal site(s) and method of transport: Most direct navigational route from the loading site to the on-ice disposal site via trucks or other suitable vehicles.

7. Method of disposal: Waste material will be allowed to freeze in piles near the abattoir site; it will then be loaded into trucks, trailers or toboggans for transport to the disposal site. Piles are not to exceed the volume of one truck load and are to be spaced at a minimum of 50 metres apart within 200 metres of the centre of the disposal site identified in paragraph 5. The material will fall through the ice during the spring melt.

8. Total quantity to be disposed of: Not to exceed 200 tonnes.

9. Inspection:

9.1. By accepting this permit, the Permittee and its contractors accept that they are subject to inspection pursuant to Part 10 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999.

9.2. The Permittee shall ensure that records of all loading and disposal activities are kept on site for the duration of the permit and are available for inspection by any enforcement officer or analyst, for two years following the expiry of the permit.

10. Contractors:

10.1. The loading or disposal at sea referred to under this permit shall not be carried out by any person without written authorization from the Permittee.

10.2. The Permittee shall ensure that all persons involved in the loading, transport or disposal activities authorized by this permit conduct these activities in accordance with the relevant permit conditions.

11. Reporting and notification:

11.1. Prior to commencement of the work authorized under this permit, the Permitee shall submit the following information to the Minister, as represented by the Regional Director, Environmental Protection Operations Directorate, Prairie and Northern Region, Care of the Operations Manager, Environmental Enforcement Division, Northern District (N.W.T., Nvt.), Prairie and Northern Region, Department of the Environment, 4th Floor, 5019 – 52nd St., P.O. Box 2310, Yellowknife NT X1A 2P7, 867-873-8185 (fax) or das.pnr@ec.gc.ca (email). 

Required information:

  1. Demonstration that on-site expert inspection of the waste material indicated that the slaughtered animals were brucellosis-free. The submitted information must specify the number of animals harvested, the number of animals inspected and the disease status of the inspected animals.

  2. Demonstration that either the on-site disease assessment has been verified through the Canadian Food Inspection Agency’s approved analysis of samples from all animals contributing to the material to be disposed or, if testing of all animals is not possible, the permittee shall provide statistically valid assurance that the untested animals were disease-free. Reports shall include:
    1. the name, affiliation and certification of the laboratory carrying out the analysis;
    2. the date the report was drafted;
    3. the number of samples submitted;
    4. the number of samples analyzed;
    5. a summary of the results; and
    6. a concise summary indicating whether any evidence of brucellosis was found.

  3. An emergency response plan outlining the precautions taken to prevent the release of hazardous materials during the loading, transport and disposal operations as well as preparations/plans in place to remediate spills should they occur. The plan shall include the following:
    1. Contact information for responsible project representatives;
    2. Listing of the hazardous products present during the project;
    3. Listing of incident reporting requirements and contact information; and
    4. Description of potential emergency scenarios and proposed response (response must identify resources required, methods proposed for product recovery and clean-up).

11.2. At all times, a copy of this permit and of documents and drawings referenced in this permit shall be available at the loading site.

11.3. The Permittee shall notify the Minister’s representative identified in paragraph 11.1., in writing, at least 7 days prior to the start of the first disposal operation to be conducted under this permit.

11.4. The Permittee shall submit a written report to the Minister’s representative identified in paragraph 11.1., within 30 days of the expiry of the permit. The report shall contain the following information:

  1. The date(s) the disposal activity occurred;
  2. The total number of trips to the disposal site;
  3. GPS coordinates for each load within the disposal site;
  4. The quantity of material disposed of per load in tonnes; and
  5. A photographic record of the offal piles on the ice.

11.5. The Permittee shall submit a report to the Minister’s representative, identified in paragraph 11.1, no later than September 15, 2013, providing the details of any offal observed by community members floating in the ocean or washed up on the shoreline after ice break-up. If no floating or beached wastes are observed by August 31, 2013, the Permittee shall notify the Minister’s representative of that fact in writing by September 15, 2013. 

12. Special precautions:

12.1. Diseased Muskox shall not be placed on the sea ice or in the ocean nor shall diseased Muskox be disposed of in a manner that permits entry of pathogens into any water body or watercourse.

12.2. If evidence of Brucella spp. is found in the Muskox herd, then no Muskox harvest wastes shall be disposed of at sea or in a manner that permits waste entry into any water body or watercourse.

Cheryl Baraniecki
Regional Director
Environmental Protection Operations Directorate
Prairie and Northern Region

On behalf of the Minister of the Environment

Download Permit in PDF Format (80 KB)

 

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Permis d'immersion en mer no 4543-2-02898

Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999)

Avis est par les présentes donné, conformément à l’article 127 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999), que le permis d’immersion en mer no 4543-2-02898, autorisant le chargement pour immersion et l’immersion de déchets ou d’autres matières en mer, est approuvé.

1. Titulaire : The Muskox Company (6355 NWT Ltd.), Yellowknife (Territoires du Nord-Ouest).

2. Déchets ou autres matières à immerger : Matières organiques non contaminées d’origine naturelle.

2.1. Nature des déchets ou autres matières : Abats de bœuf musqué, y compris des os et des têtes.

2.2. Il est interdit d’immerger toute matière autre que des abats, des os et des têtes de bœuf musqué.

2.3. Il est interdit d’immerger les carcasses complètes des bœufs musqués.

3. Durée du permis : Le permis est valide du 1er février au 30 juin 2013.

4.   Lieu(x) de chargement : 71.99333° N., 125.30000° O. (WGS 84) sur l’île Banks (Territoires du Nord-Ouest).

5. Lieu(x) d’immersion : Sur la glace, dans un rayon de 200 mètres de 71.96083° N., 125.33900° O. (WGS 84), sur une profondeur de 10 à 20 mètres d’eau. Si l’état de la glace ne permet pas de transporter et de décharger les abats au lieu d’immersion convenu de façon sécuritaire, le titulaire est tenu de communiquer avec un agent du Programme d’immersion en mer du ministère de l’Environnement au 204-983-4815 afin de convenir d’un autre lieu d’immersion. La décision quant au changement du lieu d’immersion revient à l’agent du Programme. Les coordonnées GPS de l’emplacement proposé doivent être fournies lors de la demande de changement. 

6. Parcours à suivre et mode de transport : Voie navigable la plus directe entre le lieu de chargement et le lieu d’immersion sur glace par camion ou autres véhicules appropriés.

7. Méthode d’immersion : Les déchets empilés seront laissés à congeler près de l’abattoir et ils seront ensuite chargés dans des camions, des remorques ou des toboggans pour être transportés au lieu d’immersion. Les piles ne doivent pas excéder le volume d’une charge de camion et doivent être déposées à des intervalles minimaux de 50 mètres l’une de l’autre, dans un rayon de 200 mètres du centre du lieu d’immersion indiqué au paragraphe 5. Les déchets s’élimineront avec la glace durant la fonte printanière.

8. Quantité totale à immerger : Ne pas excéder 200 tonnes métriques.

9. Inspection :

9.1. En acceptant ce permis, le titulaire et ses entrepreneurs acceptent d’être assujettis à des inspections conformément à la partie 10 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999).

9.2. Le titulaire doit s’assurer que les registres de toutes les activités de chargement et d’immersion sont gardés sur les lieux pendant toute la durée du permis et qu’ils seront disponibles aux fins d’inspection par tout agent d’application de la loi ou tout analyste, pendant deux ans suivant l’expiration du permis.

10. Entrepreneurs :

10.1. Personne ne doit effectuer le chargement ou l’immersion en mer désignés aux termes du présent permis sans l’autorisation écrite du titulaire.

10.2. Le titulaire doit s’assurer que toutes les personnes qui prennent part aux opérations de chargement, de transport ou d’immersion pour lesquelles le permis a été accordé respectent les conditions mentionnées dans le permis.

11. Rapports et avis :

11.1. Avant le début des travaux autorisés en vertu de ce permis, le titulaire doit présenter les renseignements suivants au ministre, représenté par le directeur régional de la Direction des activités de protection de l’environnement, région des Prairies et du Nord, aux soins du gestionnaire des opérations, Division de l’application de la loi, district du Nord (Territoires du Nord-Ouest, Nunavut), région des Prairies et du Nord, Ministère de l’Environnement, 5019-52e rue, 4e étage, C.P. 2310, Yellowknife (NT) X1A 2P7, 867-873-8185 (télécopieur), das.pnr@ec.gc.ca (courriel).

Renseignements exigés :

  1. La démonstration que l’inspection des experts sur place des déchets indique que les animaux abattus étaient exempts de brucellose. L’information soumise doit préciser le nombre d’animaux abattus, le nombre d’animaux inspectés et l’état sanitaire des animaux inspectés.

  2. La démonstration que l’état sanitaire a été vérifié sur place selon une méthode d’analyse d’échantillonnage approuvée par l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments de tous les animaux dont la dépouille fait partie de la matière à éliminer. Si le dépistage de tous les animaux n’est pas possible, le titulaire doit fournir une assurance statistiquement valide que les animaux non testés étaient exempts de maladie. Les rapports doivent inclure :
    1. le nom, l’affiliation et la certification du laboratoire chargé de l’analyse;
    2. la date de rédaction du rapport;
    3. le nombre d’échantillons soumis;
    4. le nombre d’échantillons analysés;
    5. un résumé des résultats;
    6. un résumé succinct indiquant qu’il n’y a effectivement aucune trace de brucellose.

  3. Un plan d’intervention en cas d’urgence indiquant les précautions à prendre pour prévenir le rejet de matières dangereuses aux étapes du chargement, du transport et de l’élimination, de même que les préparatifs et les plans prévus en cas de rejet accidentel. Le plan doit comprendre les éléments suivants :
    1. les coordonnées des responsables de projet concernés;
    2. la liste des produits dangereux visés par le projet;
    3. la liste des exigences relatives à la signalisation des incidents et les coordonnées des personnes-ressources;
    4. une description des éventuels scénarios d’urgence et des interventions proposées (la réponse doit indiquer les ressources nécessaires et les méthodes proposées pour récupérer les produits et nettoyer les lieux).

11.2. Une copie de ce permis, des documents et des dessins visés par le présent permis, doit être conservées en tout temps au lieu de chargement.

11.3. Le titulaire doit aviser, par écrit, le représentant du ministre mentionné au paragraphe 11.1. au moins sept jours avant le début de la première opération d’immersion effectuée en vertu du permis.

11.4. Le titulaire doit soumettre un rapport écrit au représentant du ministre mentionné au paragraphe 11.1, dans les 30 jours suivant l’expiration du permis. Le rapport doit comprendre les renseignements suivants :

  1. la ou les dates auxquelles les activités d’immersion ont eu lieu;
  2. le nombre total de voyages effectués au site d’immersion;
  3. les coordonnées GPS de chaque chargement dans le site d’immersion;
  4. la quantité de matière éliminée par chargement (en tonnes métriques);
  5. un enregistrement photographique des piles de carcasses sur la glace.

11.5. Le titulaire doit présenter un rapport au représentant du ministre dont le nom figure au paragraphe 11.1, avant le 15 septembre 2013, donnant des renseignements sur les abats de bœuf musqué qu’on aurait vus flotter au large ou qui se seraient échoués sur le rivage après le dégel. Si, au 31 août 2013, on n’a observé aucun déchet à la surface de l’eau ou sur le rivage, le titulaire doit en informer par écrit le représentant du ministre, au plus tard le 15 septembre 2013.

12. Précautions spéciales :

12.1. Il est interdit de placer sur la glace ou d’immerger en mer les bœufs musqués malades, et aucun bœuf musqué ne sera éliminé d’une façon qui pourrait permettre aux pathogènes d’atteindre un plan d’eau ou un cours d’eau.

12.2. S’il y a des traces de Brucella spp. dans le troupeau de bœuf musqué, aucun déchet de bœuf musqué ne sera immergé en mer, ni éliminé d’une façon qui pourrait permettre aux déchets d’atteindre un plan d’eau ou un cours d’eau.

La Directrice régionale
Direction des activités de protection de l'environnement
Région des Prairies et du Nord

Cheryl Baraniecki

Au nom du ministre de l'Environnement

Téléchargez le permis en format PDF (88 Ko)

 

Date de modification :