This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

ARCHIVED - CEPA Annual Report for Period April 1999 to March 2000

Part V: International Air Pollution

International Air Pollution (CEPA Sections 61-65)

Part V authorizes the control of domestic sources of air contaminants that create air pollution in other countries or that violate international agreements.

Canada plays a lead role on the international stage in seeking international cooperation and agreements on measures to control air pollution. This is because, due to global wind patterns and a cold climate, many more pollutants arrive in Canada by air and remain here than leave from here by air. To protect the Canadian environment, it is therefore essential not only to control domestic sources of air pollution, but also to participate in efforts to ensure that other countries control their air pollution as well.

Work under Part V of CEPA includes both international work and work within Canada, with provincial and territorial governments and multistakeholder groups, toward meeting national pollution prevention goals and international commitments.

Persistent Organic Pollutants and Heavy Metals

On June 24, 1998, Canada and 31 other countries signed the POPs and HMs Protocols under the UN ECE Convention on Long-range Transboundary Air Pollution. Canada was the first country to ratify both protocols, on December 18, 1998.

The POPs Protocol addresses the production, use and atmospheric emission of 16 persistent organic pollutants through multiple control regimes. The HMs Protocol requires the control of cadmium, lead and mercury by:

  • controlling atmospheric emissions from new plants in designated industrial sectors,
  • reducing atmospheric emissions from existing facilities by 50% of 1990 levels, and
  • controlling the lead content in gasoline and the mercury content in alkaline batteries.

In June 1998, Canada hosted the first round of international negotiations for a global POPs agreement under the United Nations Environment Programme. Canada's objective is to obtain a commitment from countries around the world to undertake appropriate control actions on POPs. Negotiations are expected to be completed by December 2000.

In March 1999, Environment Canada and its provincial and territorial counterparts held multistakeholder consultations on a proposed Strategic Implementation Framework for International Commitments on Hazardous Air Pollutants. The Strategic Implementation Framework describes the set of programs and measures that Canada will use to tackle the issue of POP and HM releases in Canada.

In addition to these international initiatives, Canada is working in a continental context with the United States and Mexico under the North American Free Trade Agreement's Commission on Environmental Cooperation to develop and implement regional action plans on DDT, chlordane, PCBs and mercury. (On June 30, 2000, the three countries signed a regional action plan on mercury. Initiation of regional action plans have been approved for lindane, as well as for dioxins, furans and HCB.)

Bilaterally, Canada is also working with the United States under the Great Lakes Binational Toxics Strategy to reduce emissions of POPs and HMs in the Great Lakes Basin.

Sulphur Dioxide

Although sulphur dioxide emissions continued to drop throughout the 1980s and 1990s, the actual deposition of wet sulphate is still above critical load levels in some regions. The critical load for aquatic ecosystems is the amount of wet sulphate deposition that must not be exceeded in order to protect at least 95% of lakes in a region from acidifying to a pH level of less than 6.0. Many studies suggest that a pH of at least 6.0 is needed to protect most aquatic organisms.

Canada has been successful at meeting the national caps set for sulphur dioxide emissions, largely as a result of the Eastern Canada Acid Rain Program, which capped provincial sulphur dioxide emissions in the seven easternmost provinces. Some western provinces have also set stringent emission requirements on major new sources, such as natural gas plants, to minimize increases in emissions. However, even with full implementation of these programs and the United States Acid Rain Program by 2010, ecosystems in eastern Canada will continue to receive harmful levels of acid deposition. Further action was necessary; so, in October 1998, 26 federal, provincial and territorial ministers of energy and environment signed the Canada-wide Acid Rain Strategy for Post-2000. As part of the implementation strategy, targets and schedules for further reductions in sulphur dioxide emissions will be developed for eastern Canada by the end of the year 2000.

Eastern Canada Emissions of Sulphur Dioxide

Nitrogen Oxides

Canada is committed, pursuant to the 1988 UN-ECE Nitrogen Oxide Protocol, to freeze national emissions of nitrogen oxides at 1987 levels and continued to meet this commitment in 1999-2000.

Volatile Organic Compounds (VOCs)

Canada signed the UN-ECE Convention on Long-range Transboundary Air Pollution in 1979. The third protocol to be negotiated under the Convention was a protocol to control and reduce VOCs, completed and signed in 1991. It is unlikely that Canada will ever ratify the VOC protocol now that the UN-ECE Protocol to Abate Acidification, Eutrophication and Ground-level Ozone (AEGLO) has been completed and signed in 1999. This agreement also requires parties to control and reduce VOC but the protocol's main goal is the reduction of ground-level ozone. The implementation of the Canada-wide Standard for Ozone and the negotiation and signature of an agreement with the United States to reduce transboundary ground-level ozone are expected to fulfill the domestic requirements for Canada set out in the AEGLO protocol. Canada is expecting to ratify this protocol by 2002.

International Air Quality Agreements and Protocols

Canada/United States

  • Air Quality Agreement (1991)
    • basis for commitments to control acid rain: sulphur dioxide and nitrogen oxide emissions
    • agreement to negotiate a new annex to address ground-level ozone through controls on emissions of nitrogen oxides and volatile organic compounds (VOCs)
    • agreement to cooperate on joint technical analysis of transboundary fine inhalable particles leading to negotiation of another annex to the Agreement

Canada/United States/Mexico

  • Regional action plans on DDT, chlordane, PCBs and mercury

Europe

  • UN-ECE Convention on Long-range Transboundary Air Pollution
    • two Sulphur Dioxide Protocols (1985 and 1994)
    • Nitrogen Oxide Protocol (1988)
    • Volatile Organic Compounds (1991)
    • Persistent Organic Pollutants (POPs) (1998)
    • Heavy Metals (HMs) (1998)
  • NEW: Acidification, Eutrophication, Ground-level Ozone (1999)

Global

  • Vienna Convention on the Ozone Layer and Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer (1987)
  • United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (1992) and Kyoto Protocol on Greenhouse Gas Emissions (1997)
  • Action Plan with rules and mechanisms to implement the Protocol (1998)


Ozone-depleting Substances (ODS)

Amendments to the Ozone-depleting Substances Regulations were drafted in the winter of 2000. These amendments include control measures to implement additional requirements under the Montreal Protocol and meet Canada's domestic commitments under the Ozone Layer Protection Program. Publication of the amendments in the Canada Gazette, Part II, is planned by the end of 2000.

In January 2000, the Federal–Provincial Working Group on Ozone-depleting Substances and Halocarbon Alternatives issued a proposed strategy to accelerate the phase-out of remaining uses of CFCs and halons and ensure proper disposal of surplus stocks. Consultation sessions were held in various centres in Canada during February 2000 with a view to having a strategy ready for endorsement by the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment in the fall of 2000.

Under the Montreal Protocol Multilateral Fund, Canada received approval to undertake projects to assist developing countries phase out ODS in Chile, Jamaica, Uruguay, Belize, Cuba and Burkina Faso. Most of these projects are focused on providing training and equipment to facilitate the phase-out of CFCs used in refrigeration and air conditioning. Among the key activities relating to these and other approved Canadian bilateral projects was a workshop in Jamaica to train customs officials on the methods used to identify and manage ODS at the border. The workshop, organized by the United Nations Environment Programme, was important because, as one of the first of its kind, it set the blueprint for other such workshops that will take place throughout the developing world over the next few years. Ensuring that the world's customs officials are well trained to prevent illegal trade in ODS is key to the successful implementation of the Montreal Protocol.

Ozone above the earth, in the stratosphere, is beneficial, protecting the Earth's environment from the sun's damaging rays. That's why we worry about holes in the ozone layer and are taking action to control the ozone-depleting substances that contribute to the deterioration of the ozone layer.

Ozone at ground level, on the other hand, is detrimental to the Earth's environment, affecting the quality of the air we breathe and contributing to the greenhouse effect. Ground-level ozone is not beneficial, and so we are taking steps to control its presence.


Canada-wide Standards

In January 1998, the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME), except Quebec, endorsed a Canada-wide Accord on Environmental Harmonization and the Policy for the Management of Toxic Substances. Federal-provincial-territorial development committees have been working on a number of Canada-wide Standards. The Canada-wide Standards for particulate matter, ozone, benzene phase 1, and mercury emissions were endorsed by the CCME in June 2000. Work continues on others, such as dioxins and furans, petroleum hydrocarbons in soil and mercury in products, to be approved by the CCME in spring 2001.

Voluntary Initiatives -- Memorandums of Understanding (MOUs)

MOUs -- Manufacturers of Recreational Marine Engines, Utility Engines, Diesel Off-road Engines

As part of its non-regulatory approach to environmental protection, Environment Canada has developed MOUs with industry groups representing manufacturers of recreational marine engines, utility engines (for example, chainsaws and lawn mowers) and diesel off-road engines (for example, construction and agricultural equipment) to voluntarily supply cleaner engines to the Canadian market. The MOUs were developed to secure near-term environmental benefits by fast-tracking the introduction into Canada of the same cleaner, less-polluting engines designed to comply with U.S. federal emissions standards.

During 1999-2000, MOUs were signed with manufacturers of recreational marine engines, handheld utility engines (for example, string trimmers and chainsaws) and diesel off-road engines. These agreements are to come into effect in 2000 and 2001.

MOU -- Automotive Sector

In 1992, the Canadian Vehicle Manufacturers Association, the Government of Ontario and Environment Canada joined together to launch a major pollution prevention initiative for the Big Three automotive manufacturers, representing 28 Canadian assembly and parts manufacturing plants. Key environmental teams set to work designing pollution prevention plans aimed at reducing and/or eliminating the use, generation and release of 65 targeted substances. Over the years, these plans have realized major gains in overall environmental performance in areas as varied as waste reduction, recycling, reuse, and the elimination of the targeted substances.

Individual companies are engaged in efforts to reduce pollution at source. Each company is looking to minimize the environmental impact of its operations by utilizing more energy-efficient paint application technology that reduces VOCs emissions; by incorporating state-of-the-art wastewater treatment facilities; and by putting in place solid waste, used solvent and oil recycling programs. The plan is fully supportive of the Canada–U.S. Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement and complements the ARET program.

The Automotive Pollution Prevention MOU was renewed by the three major partners in 1999.

MOU -- Railway Sector

In 1995, Environment Canada negotiated an MOU with the Railway Association of Canada to voluntarily cap nitrogen oxide emissions at 115 000 tonnes per annum, approximately 9% of all nitrogen oxide emissions in the transportation sector. Continued attention is being paid to emissions from this sector. (A report on annual emissions was released in December 2000.)

Date modified:

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

ARCHIVÉE - Rapport annuel de la LCPE pour la période d'avril 1999 à mars 2000

Partie V : Pollution atmosphérique internationale

Pollution atmosphérique internationale (Articles 61 à 65 de la LCPE)

La Partie V permet le contrôle des sources nationales de contaminants atmosphériques qui créent de la pollution atmosphérique dans d'autres pays ou qui violent des accords internationaux.

Le Canada joue un rôle de premier plan dans le domaine de la coopération internationale et des accords sur les mesures de contrôle de la pollution atmosphérique. La configuration globale des vents et au climat froid fait que plus de polluants arrivent au Canada par transport atmosphérique, et y demeurent, plutôt que d'être transportés ailleurs. Pour protéger l'environnement du Canada, il est donc essentiel de contrôler non seulement les sources nationales de pollution atmosphérique mais également de prendre part aux efforts déployés pour s'assurer que les autres pays contrôlent également leur pollution atmosphérique.

Le travail dans le cadre de la Partie V de la LCPE comprend à la fois le travail sur le plan international et le travail au sein du Canada, avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et les groupes multilatéraux, en vue d'atteindre des objectifs nationaux de prévention de la pollution et de conclure des accords internationaux.

Polluants organiques rémanents et métaux lourds

Le 24 juin 1998, le Canada et 31 autres pays ont signé les Protocoles sur les POP et les ML en vertu de la Convention sur la pollution atmosphérique transfrontalière à longue distance de la CEE-ONU. Le Canada a été le premier pays à ratifier les deux protocoles, le 18 décembre 1998.

Le protocole sur les POP porte sur la production, l'utilisation et les émissions atmosphériques de 16 polluants organiques rémanents par de multiples moyens de contrôle.

Le Protocole sur les ML exige que le cadmium, le plomb et le mercure soient contrôlés par les mesures suivantes :

  • contrôle des émissions atmosphériques produites par les nouvelles installations dans les secteurs industriels désignés,
  • réduction de 50 p. cent par rapport aux niveaux de 1990 des émissions atmosphériques produites par les installations existantes; et
  • contrôle de la teneur en plomb dans l'essence et de la teneur en mercure dans les piles alcalines.

En juin 1998, le Canada a été l'hôte de la première ronde de négociations en vue d'un accord international sur les POP dans le cadre du Programme des Nations Unies pour l'environnement. L'objectif du Canada est d'obtenir l'engagement des pays du monde entier à adopter des mesures de contrôle appropriées pour les POP. Les négociations devraient se terminer en décembre 2000.

En mars 1999, Environnement Canada et les ministères de l'environnement des provinces et territoires ont entrepris des consultations multilatérales sur une proposition de cadre de mise en œuvre stratégique pour les engagements internationaux concernant les polluants atmosphériques dangereux. Le cadre de mise en œuvre stratégique décrit l'ensemble des programmes et mesures qui seront appliqués pour s'attaquer à la question des rejets de POP et de ML au Canada.

En plus de ces initiatives internationales, le Canada travaille dans un contexte continental avec les États-Unis et le Mexique, dans le cadre de l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain de la Commission de coopération environnementale, à développer et à mettre en œuvre des plans d'action sur le DDT, le chlordane, les BPC et le mercure. (Le 30 juin 2000, les trois pays ont signé un plan d'action régional sur le mercure. L'amorce de plans d'actions régionaux a été approuvée pour le lindane de même que pour les dioxines, les furannes et l'hexachlorobenzène.)

Bilatéralement, le Canada travaille aussi avec les États-Unis dans le cadre de la Stratégie binationale des substances toxiques des Grands Lacs pour réduire les émissions de POP et de métaux lourds dans le bassin des Grands Lacs.

Dioxyde de soufre

Bien que les émissions de dioxyde de soufre ont continué de diminuer au cours des années quatre-vingt et quatre-vingt-dix, les dépôts humides de sulfate actuels demeurent supérieurs aux niveaux critiques dans certaines régions. La charge critique pour les écosystèmes aquatiques est déterminée par la quantité de dépôts humides de sulfate, quantité qui ne doit pas être dépassée pour protéger au moins 95 p. cent des lacs d'une région d'une acidification à un pH de moins de 6.0. Plusieurs études suggèrent qu'un pH d'au moins 6.0 est nécessaire pour protéger la plupart des organiques aquatiques.

Le Canada a réussi à atteindre les plafonds nationaux établis pour les émissions de dioxyde de soufre, en grande partie grâce aux résultats du Programme de lutte contre les pluies acides dans l'Est du Canada, qui limitait les émissions provinciales de dioxyde de soufre dans les sept provinces canadiennes les plus à l'est. Certaines provinces de l'Ouest ont également établi des exigences rigoureuses pour les émissions produites par de nouvelles sources majeures, comme les installations de traitement de gaz naturel, afin de minimiser les augmentations d'émissions. Toutefois, même avec la pleine mise en œuvre de ces programmes et du programme de lutte contre les pluies acides des États-Unis d'ici 2010, les écosystèmes de l'est du Canada continueront de recevoir des pluies acides à des taux nocifs. Des mesures additionnelles étaient donc nécessaires. En octobre 1998, 26 ministères fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux de l'énergie et de l'environnement ont signé la Stratégie pancanadienne sur les émissions acidifiantes après l'an 2000. Dans le cadre de la stratégie de mise en œuvre, des objectifs et des calendriers relatifs à des réductions additionnelles des émissions de dioxyde de soufre seront développés pour l'est du Canada d'ici à la fin de l'année 2000.

Émissions de dioxide de soufre dans l'Est du Canada

Oxydes d'azote

Le Canada s'est engagé, en vertu du Protocole sur les oxydes d'azote de la CEE-ONU de 1988 Canada, à geler ses émissions nationales d'oxydes d'azote aux niveaux de 1987 et il a poursuivi son engagement en 1999-2000.

Composés organiques volatiles

Le Canada a signé la Convention sur la pollution atmosphérique transfrontalière à longue distance de la CEE-ONU en 1979. Le troisième protocole a être négocié en vertu de la Convention était un protocole visant à contrôler et à réduire les COV, qui a été conclu et signé en 1991. Il est peu probable que le Canada ratifie un jour le protocole sur les COV maintenant que le Protocole pour réduire l'acidification, l'eutrophisation et l'ozone au niveau du sol (AEGLO) a été conclu et signé en 1999. Cet accord exige également que les parties contrôlent et réduisent les COV mais l'objectif principal de ce protocole est la réduction de l'ozone au niveau du sol. La mise en œuvre du standard pancanadien relatif à l'ozone et les négociations qui mèneront à la signature d'une entente avec les États-Unis en vue de réduire l'ozone au niveau du sol transfrontalier devraient permettre de répondre aux exigences nationales du Canada établies dans le protocole de l'AEGLO. Le Canada compte ratifier ce protocole d'ici 2002.

Accords et protocoles internationaux sur la qualité de l'air

Canada/États-Unis

  • Accord sur la qualité de l'air (1991)
    • base d'engagement à contrôler les pluies acides : émissions de dioxyde de soufre et d'oxydes d'azote
    • entente de négociations en vue d'une nouvelle annexe pour s'attaquer à l'ozone des basses couches de l'atmosphère par des mesures de contrôle des émissions d'oxydes d'azote et des composés organiques volatiles (COV)
    • entente de coopération sur l'analyse technique conjointe des particules fines inhalables transfrontalière qui mèneront à la négociation d'une autre annexe à l'Accord

Canada/États-Unis/Mexique

  • Plans d'action régionaux sur le DDT, le chlordane, les BPC et le mercure

Europe

  • Convention sur la pollution atmosphérique transfrontalière à longue distance de la CEE-ONU
    • Deux protocoles sur le dioxyde de soufre (1985 et 1994)
    • Protocole sur les oxydes d'azote (1988)
    • Composés organiques volatiles (1991)
    • Polluants organiques persistants (POP) (1998)
    • Métaux lourds (ML) (1998)
  • NOUVEAU : Acidification, Eutrophisation, Ozone des basses couches de l'atmosphère (1999)

International

  • Convention de Vienne sur la couche d'ozone et Protocole de Montréal sur les substances qui appauvrissent la couche d'ozone (1987)
  • Convention-cadre des États-Unis sur le changement climatique (1992) et Protocole de Kyoto sur les émissions de gaz à effet de serre (1997)
  • Plan d'action avec règles et mécanismes pour mettre en œuvre le Protocole (1998)


Substances qui appauvrissent l'ozone

Les modifications apportées au Règlement sur les substances qui appauvrissent l'ozone ont été rédigées à l'hiver 2000. Ces modifications comprennent des mesures de contrôle pour mettre en œuvre des exigences additionnelles en vertu du Protocole de Montréal et respectent l'engagement national du Canada en vertu du Programme de protection de la couche d'ozone. La publication des modifications dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie II est prévue pour la fin de l'année 2000.

En janvier 2000, le groupe de travail fédéral-provincial sur les substances appauvrissant la couche et leurs halocarbures de remplacement a présenté une proposition de stratégie pour accélérer l'élimination progressive des utilisations de CFC et des halons et pour assurer l'évacuation adéquate des stocks excédentaires. Des séances de consultation ont été tenues dans divers centres au Canada au cours du mois de février 2000 dans l'intention de mettre sur pied une stratégie qui pourra être endossée par le Conseil canadien des ministres de l'Environnement à l'automne 2000.

Dans le cadre du Fonds multilatéral établi en vertu du Protocole de Montréal, le Canada a reçu l'approbation d'entreprendre des projets qui aideront les pays en développement à éliminer progressivement les substances qui appauvrissent l'ozone au Chili, en Jamaïque, en Uruguay, au Belize, à Cuba et au Burkina Faso. La plupart de ces projets visent à procurer une formation et de l'équipement qui aideront à éliminer progressivement les CFC utilisés dans les domaines de la réfrigération et de la climatisation. Parmi les activités principales de ces projets et d'autres projets bilatéraux canadiens approuvés, l'on comptait un atelier en Jamaïque pour former les agents des douanes aux méthodes utilisées pour identifier et gérer les substances appauvrissant l'ozone à la frontière. L'atelier, organisé par le Programme des Nations Unies pour l'environnement, était important car, étant une première en son genre, il établissait un modèle pour d'autres ateliers de ce genre qui se tiendront à l'échelle des pays en développement au cours des prochaines années. Il est essentiel de s'assurer que les agents des douanes du monde entier sont bien formés pour empêcher le commerce illégal de substances appauvrissant l'ozone si l'on veut réussir la mise en œuvre du Protocole de Montréal.

L'ozone des hautes couches de l'atmosphère, situé dans la stratosphère, est bénéfique car il protège l'environnement de la Terre des rayons nocifs du soleil. C'est pourquoi nous nous préoccupons des trous dans la couche d'ozone et nous adoptons des mesures pour contrôler les substances appauvrissant l'ozone qui contribuent à la détérioration de la couche d'ozone.

L'ozone des basses couches de l'atmosphère, par contre, détruit l'environnement de la Terre, ce qui affecte la qualité de l'air que nous respirons et contribue à l'effet de serre. L'ozone des basses couches de l'atmosphère n'est pas bénéfique, c'est pourquoi nous adoptons des mesures pour contrôler sa présence.


Standards pancanadiens

En janvier 1998, le Conseil canadien des ministres de l'Environnement (CCME), à l'exception du Québec, a endossé un Accord pancanadien sur l'harmonisation environnementale et une Politique de gestion des substances toxiques. Des comités de développement fédéraux-provinciaux-territoriaux ont travaillé sur certains Standards pancanadiens. Les Standards pancanadiens relatifs aux particules en suspension, à l'ozone, au benzène, 1er Volet et aux émissions de mercure ont été acceptés par le CCME en juin 2000. Le travail se poursuit au niveau d'autres standards, comme le Standard relatif aux dioxines et aux furannes, le Standard relatif aux hydrocarbures pétroliers dans le sol et les standards relatifs aux produits qui contiennent du mercure, qui devraient être approuvés par le CCME au printemps 2001.

Initiatives volontaires -- Protocoles d'entente (PE)

PE -- Fabricants de moteurs d'embarcation de plaisance, d'engins utilitaires et de moteurs diesel non routiers

Dans le cadre de son approche non réglementaire pour la protection de l'environnement, Environnement Canada a conclu avec les groupes de l'industrie représentant les fabricants de moteurs d'embarcations de plaisance, les engins utilitaires (par exemple, les scies à chaîne et les tondeuses à gazon) et les moteurs diesel non routiers (par exemple, l'équipement de chantier et l'équipement agricole) des PE qui les engagent à introduire volontairement des moteurs plus propres sur le marché canadien. Les PE ont été conclus pour fournir des avantages à court terme en accélérant l'introduction au Canada de moteurs plus propres et moins polluants conçus pour respecter les normes d'émissions fédérales des États-Unis.

Au cours de l'année 1999-2000, des PE ont été signés avec les fabricants de moteurs d'embarcations de plaisance, de moteurs utilitaires portatifs (par exemple tondeuses à fil nylon et scies à chaîne) et de moteurs diesel non routiers. Ces ententes entreront en vigueur en 2000 et en 2001.

PE -- Secteur de l'automobile

En 1992, l'Association canadienne des constructeurs de véhicules, le gouvernement de l'Ontario et Environnement Canada se sont réunis pour lancer une initiative majeure en matière de prévention de la pollution qui touchait les trois grands fabricants américains de véhicules, représentant 28 usines de montage et de fabrication de pièces. Des équipes environnementales stratégiques mises sur pied pour concevoir des plans de prévention de la pollution avaient pour objectif de réduire et/ou d'éliminer l'utilisation, la production et les rejets de 65 substances visées. Au fil des ans, ces plans ont permis d'obtenir des gains majeurs en ce qui a trait au rendement environnemental global dans des domaines aussi variés que la réduction, le recyclage, la réutilisation et l'élimination de substances visées.

Les entreprises individuelles ont déployé des efforts pour réduire la pollution à la source. Chaque entreprise tente de minimiser les répercussions environnementales de ses opérations en utilisant des technologies d'application de peinture éconergétique qui réduisent les émissions de COV; en incorporant des installations de traitement des eaux usées à la fine pointe de la technologie; et en mettant en place des programmes de récupération des solvants et du pétrole. Ce plan appuie entièrement l'Accord canado-américain relatif à la qualité de l'eau dans les Grands Lacs et vient compléter le programme ARET.

Le PE sur la prévention de la pollution automobile a été renouvelé par les trois principaux partenaires en 1999.

PE -- Secteur ferroviaire

En 1995, Environnement Canada a négocié un PE avec l'Association des chemins de fer du Canada pour limiter volontairement les émissions d'oxydes d'azote à 115 000 tonnes par années, ce qui représente approximativement 9 p. cent de toutes les émissions d'oxydes d'azote du secteur du transport. Une attention continue est portée aux émissions de ce secteur. (Un rapport sur les émissions annuelles a été présenté en décembre 2000.)