CEPA Review

The CEPA Review site is a source of public information about activities related to the department's preparations related to the Parliamentary Review of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999).

CEPA 1999 is an important tool in Canada for the protection of the environment. The Act and its administration must be reviewed by Parliament every five years. This Parliamentary Review provides the Government of Canada with an opportunity to review the contribution of CEPA to the goals of pollution prevention, sustainable development and federal/provincial/territorial/aboriginal cooperation. The Parliamentary Review also provides an opportunity for Canadians to contribute feedback on how well they feel the Act is protecting the environment and human health.

Canadians from all walks of life have provided input to Health Canada and Environment Canada's preparations for the Parliamentary Review by making their views known. A summary document of what the departments have heard through public workshops and through web-based consultations is available through this site's Public Consultation section.

If you are interested in learning more about CEPA 1999 and how it works, or if you are interested in certain aspects of CEPA 1999, please refer to the "Guide to Understanding the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999". This site also contains information related to the Parliamentary Review process and the various mechanisms we have used to engage Canadians. You can also access more information on the Act by clicking on the Related Resourcessection on the sidebar.

Examen de la LCPE

Le section Web sur l'examen de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] est une source d'information publique sur les activités que mène le Ministère pour se préparer à l'examen parlementaire de la Loi.

Au Canada, la LCPE (1999) constitue un outil important pour la protection de l'environnement. Le Parlement doit examiner la Loi et son application tous les cinq ans. L'examen réglementaire permet au gouvernement du Canada d'évaluer la contribution de la LCPE aux objectifs de prévention de la pollution, de développement durable et de collaboration entre les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux, territoriaux et autochtones. Cet examen donne également aux Canadiens l'occasion de se prononcer sur l'efficacité avec laquelle, selon eux, la Loi protège l'environnement et la santé humaine.

Des Canadiens de tous les milieux ont fait connaître leur opinion à Santé Canada et à Environnement Canada dans le cadre des préparatifs pour l'examen parlementaire. Vous trouverez sous la rubrique Consultations publiques un document résumant les commentaires recueillis par ces ministères au cours d'ateliers publics et de consultations sur le Web.

Si vous désirez en apprendre davantage sur la Loi et son fonctionnement ou si vous vous intéressez à certains aspects de la LCPE (1999), veuillez vous reporter au Guide permettant de comprendre la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999). Vous trouverez également dans le présent site de l'information sur le processus d'examen par le comité parlementaire et les divers mécanismes qui ont été mis en place pour consulter les Canadiens. Vous obtiendrez aussi plus d'information au sujet de la Loi sous la rubrique Ressources connexes du menu latéral.