Skip booklet index and go to page content

Implementation Guidelines for the Environmental Emergency Regulations 2011


9.0 Summary of the Risk Evaluation Framework

This section introduces the evaluation methodology that Environment Canada has developed and is using to evaluate the properties of chemical substances that would prove hazardous in the event of an environmental emergency, and to calculate the threshold quantity for substances listed in Schedule 1 of the E2 Regulations.

The Risk Evaluation Framework (REF) is designed to:

  • evaluate the risk posed by a substance to the environment and human health;
  • determine the need to add this substance to Schedule 1 of the E2 Regulations, based on the risk evaluation results obtained; and
  • calculate the minimum quantity (the threshold) for substances listed in Schedule 1 of the E2 Regulations.

Section 200 of CEPA 1999 is the authority that allows the Governor in Council to make regulations establishing a list of substances that, should they enter the environment as a result of an environmental emergency, might be harmful to the environment, or to human life or health. Section 200 also gives the Governor in Council the authority to prescribe a minimum quantity for these substances.

In 2003, when the E2 Regulations were published, the REF had not yet been developed. As a result, the substances in Schedule 1 (parts 1 and 2) were adopted from the Major Industrial Accidents Reduction Council (MIARC). These thresholds, therefore, were not generated by the REF. The rationale for the MIARC list focused almost entirely on human health and safety criteria (MIARC 2002; J.P. Lacoursière Inc. 2002). The first amendment to the E2 Regulations added substances from the Toxic Substances List (CEPA 1999), and other substances of concern.

The regulated list is not a static one. Environment Canada continues to assess CEPA 1999 substances and other substances of concern (reactives, pesticides, petroleum, biologics, etc.) for possible inclusion in the E2 Regulations. As part of this ongoing process, substances may be added to or removed from Schedule 1 of the E2 Regulations, or thresholds may be adjusted if new data show such adjustments to be warranted.

Please see Appendix 9 for examples of these calculations.

Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Lignes directrices pour la mise en application du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales 2011

9.0 Résumé du cadre d'évaluation des risques

La présente section donne un aperçu de la méthodologie d'évaluation qu'Environnement Canada a mise au point et qu'il utilise pour évaluer les propriétés des substances chimiques qui pourraient se révéler dangereuses en cas d'urgence environnementale et pour calculer la quantité seuil des substances figurant à l'annexe 1 du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales.

Le cadre d'évaluation des risques est conçu pour :

  • évaluer les risques que présente une substance pour l'environnement et la santé humaine;
  • déterminer la nécessité d'ajouter cette substance à l'annexe 1 du Règlement, en fonction des résultats de l'évaluation des risques;
  • calculer la quantité minimale (le seuil) en ce qui concerne les substances inscrites à l'annexe 1 du Règlement.

L'article 200 de la LCPE (1999) autorise le gouverneur en conseil à prendre des règlements établissant une liste de substances qui, si elles pénètrent dans l'environnement à la suite d'une urgence environnementale, pourraient être nocives pour l'environnement ou pour la vie ou la santé humaines. L'article 200 confère aussi au gouverneur en conseil l'autorité de désigner une quantité minimale pour ces substances.

Lors de la publication du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales en 2003, le cadre d'évaluation des risques n'avait pas encore été établi. Par conséquent, les substances inscrites à l'annexe 1 (parties 1 et 2) du Règlementprovenaient du Conseil pour la réduction des accidents industriels majeurs (CRAIM). Ces seuils n'avaient donc pas été générés par le cadre d'évaluation des risques. La justification de la liste du CRAIM reposait presque entièrement sur des critères de santé et de sécurité humaines (CRAIM, 2002; J.P Lacoursière Inc. 2002). La première modification apportée au Règlement a été l'ajout de substances inscrites sur la Liste des substances toxiques de la LCPE (1999) et d'autres substances préoccupantes.

La liste des substances réglementées n'est pas figée. Environnement Canada poursuit l'évaluation des substances visées par la LCPE (1999) et celle d'autres substances préoccupantes (réactifs, pesticides, pétrole, produits biologiques, etc.) afin de déterminer si elles doivent être ajoutées au Règlement sur les urgences environnementales. Dans le cadre de ce processus continu, les substances peuvent être ajoutées ou retirées de l'annexe 1 du Règlement, ou les seuils peuvent être ajustés si de nouvelles données le justifient.

Veuillez vous reporter à l'annexe 9pour consulter des exemples de ces calculs.