This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Consultation Document : Proposed Revisions to the Federal Mobile PCB Treatment and Destruction Regulations May 2006


Environment Canada is developing recommendations for updating the polychlorinated biphenyl (PCB) regulatory framework under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999. This process entails considering new developments based both on updated technologies and on Canada's national and international commitments to PCB management.

This consultation document contains a brief description of the objectives, structure, and content of the proposed revisions to the Federal Mobile PCB Treatment and Destruction Regulations in the context of the updated framework. The proposed revisions outlined in this consultation document: specify more stringent requirements for releases of gases, liquids, and solids from PCB destruction facilities operated on federal lands or under contract with a federal institution; establish requirements for an environmental management system; and require regulatees to submit periodic reports to the Minister on the progress of destruction operations.

The purpose of these consultations is to invite all interested and affected parties and Aboriginal governments and organizations to provide their comments on the proposed revisions, raise awareness of their concerns, and contribute to the development of recommendations that are based on a common understanding of the environmental benefits to be achieved through these revisions.

Environment Canada will review all written responses received prior to drafting and publishing the proposed revisions in the Canada Gazette, Part I, and will take them into full account in drafting the legal text for the proposed revisions.

The next opportunity for interested and affected parties and Aboriginal governments and organizations to comment on the proposed revisions will be following the publication of the provisions in the Canada Gazette, Part I. Please send your comments by September 15, 2006 on this consultation document in writing to either of the following addresses:

Regular mail:
Director
Waste Management
Environment Canada
Place Montcalm
70 Crémazie St., 6th Floor
Gatineau QC K1A 0H3

Email: TMB@ec.gc.ca

Please type "Consultation on Federal PCB Treatment and Destruction Regulations" in the subject line of your message.

France Jacovella
Director
Waste Management
Environment Canada

 
Table of Contents
Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Document de consultation : Projet de révision du Règlement fédéral sur le traitement et la destruction des BPC au moyen d'unités mobiles Mai 2006


Environnement Canada prépare des recommandations concernant la mise à jour du cadre de réglementation des biphényles polychlorés (BPC) en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999. Ce processus nécessite que l'on tienne compte des développements récents dans le domaine en fonction des nouvelles technologies et des engagements nationaux et internationaux du Canada en ce qui a trait à la gestion des BPC.

Ce document de consultation contient une brève description des objectifs, de la structure et du contenu des modifications proposées au Règlement fédéral sur le traitement et la destruction des BPC au moyen d'unités mobiles dans le contexte d'un cadre mis à jour. Les modifications proposées présentées dans le document précisent des exigences plus rigoureuses pour les rejets de gaz, de liquides et de solides provenant des installations de destruction de BPC utilisées sur le territoire domanial ou aux termes d'un contrat passé avec une institution fédérale, établissent les exigences relatives à un système de gestion de l'environnement et exigent que les entités réglementées fournissent au ministre des rapports périodiques sur les progrès des activités de destruction.

Ces consultations visent à inviter toutes les parties intéressées et touchées ainsi que des gouvernements et organisations autochtones à faire part de leurs commentaires sur les modifications proposées, à faire connaître davantage leurs préoccupations et à participer à l'élaboration de recommandations qui sont fondées sur une compréhension commune des avantages environnementaux devant résulter des modifications en question.

Environnement Canada examinera toutes les réponses reçues par écrit avant d'ébaucher et de publier les dispositions réglementaires proposées dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, et il en tiendra pleinement compte dans la rédaction du texte juridique de celles-ci.

La prochaine occasion qu'auront les parties intéressées et touchées ainsi que les gouvernements et organisations autochtones de communiquer leurs observations au sujet des modifications proposées sera après la publication de celles-ci dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada. Veuillez envoyer vos commentaires sur ce document de consultation par écrit d'ici le 15 septembre 2006 à l'une ou l'autre des adresses suivantes :

Courrier :
Directeur
Gestion des déchets
Environnement Canada
Place Montcalm
70, rue Crémazie, 6e étage
Gatineau, (Québec) K1A 0H3

Courriel : TMB@ec.gc.ca

Veuillez inscrire « Consultation sur le Règlement fédéral sur le traitement et la destruction des BPC au moyen d'unités mobiles » comme objet de votre message

France Jacovella
Directrice
Gestion des déchets
Environnement Canada

 
Table des Matières
Date de modification :