Equivalency Agreement

An Agreement on the Equivalency of Federal and Nova Scotia Regulations for the Control of Greenhouse Gas Emissions from Electricity Producers in Nova Scotia

Between

The Government of Canada
as Represented by the Minister of the Environment
(“Canada”)

And

The Government of Nova Scotia
as Represented by the Minister of Environment
 (“Nova Scotia”)

Whereas Canada and Nova Scotia (“the Parties”) are parties to the Canada-Nova Scotia Agreement in Principle on Efforts to Address Climate Change dated January 25, 2010;

And Whereas electricity sector regulation with respect to greenhouse gas emissions is a matter of importance to the Parties;

And Whereas Canada has set out the following principles as a basis for the development of the Reduction of Carbon Dioxide Emissions from Coal-Fired Generation of Electricity Regulations: 

  • Maximizing emissions reductions:

  • Treating regions and regulatees equitably;

  • Avoiding setting an undesirable precedent for other sectors;

  • Minimizing stranded capital investments; and

  • Maintaining the consistency of a national regulatory approach;

And Whereas the Parties wish, wherever possible, to avoid duplication of effort in controlling greenhouse gas emissions;

And Whereas Nova Scotia promulgated the Greenhouse Gas Emissions Regulations, made under subsection 28(6) and section 112 of the Environment Act, S.N.S. 1994-95, c. 1, on August 14, 2009;

And Whereas the Parties agree to enter into an outcome-based equivalency agreement ( the “Agreement”) regarding Canada’s Reduction of Carbon Dioxide Emissions from Coal-Fired Generation of Electricity Regulations, made under s.93 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (S.C. 1999, c.33) and published in the Canada Gazette, Part II, Vol. 146, No. 19 on September 12, 2012 (the “Regulations”),

And Whereas the Parties acknowledge that this agreement is without prejudice to the position of either Party regarding legislative jurisdiction with respect to electricity sector regulation;

And Whereas section 10 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 allows the Minister of the Environment to agree in writing with a provincial government that there are in force by or under the laws applicable to the jurisdiction of the government provisions that are equivalent to a regulation made under subsection 93(1) of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, and provisions that are similar to sections 17 to 20 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 for the investigation of alleged offences under environmental legislation of that jurisdiction;

And Whereas the Environment Act and the Greenhouse Gas Emissions Regulations establish obligations having force of law;

And Whereas section 342 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 requires the Minister of the Environment to report annually to Parliament on the administration and enforcement of CEPA;

And Whereas section 16 of the Environment Act requires the provincial Minister of Environment to report periodically to the people of the Province of Nova Scotia on the state of the environment in the Province;

Now Therefore, the Parties agree:

1.0      Definitions

 “CEPA” means the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, S.C. 1999, c. 33, as amended; and

Environment Act” means the Environment Act, S.N.S. 1994-95, c. 1, as amended.

2.0      Equivalency

2.1       Provisions that are in force by or under the laws of Nova Scotia, and in particular the Environment Act and the Greenhouse Gas Emissions Regulations[1] are equivalent to the provisions of the CEPA and the Reduction of Carbon Dioxide Emissions from Coal-Fired Generation of Electricity Regulations[2], for the purposes of section 10 of CEPA, by reason of the fact that the following criteria have been met:

  1. Emissions Requirements
    1. The effect on emissions levels of the limits, determined in tonnes of carbon dioxide equivalent, that are applicable under the Environment Act and the Greenhouse Gas Emissions Regulations are, for the calendar years 2015 to 2019, equivalent to the effect on emissions levels of the limits imposed under the CEPA and the Reduction of Carbon Dioxide Emissions from Coal-Fired Generation of Electricity Regulations.

    2. The effect on emissions levels of the limits, determined in tonnes of carbon dioxide equivalent, that will be applicable under the Environment Act and the Greenhouse Gas Emissions Regulations in accordance with section 4 of this Agreement will be, for the calendar years 2020 to 2030, equivalent to the effect on emissions levels of the limits imposed under the CEPA and the Reduction of Carbon Dioxide Emissions from Coal-Fired Generation of Electricity Regulations.
  2. Citizens’ Request for Investigations

    Sections 115 and 116 of the Environment Act provide a mechanism similar to that provided in sections 17 to 20 of the CEPA whereby an alleged offence will be investigated on the application of citizens, and a report shall be made by an administrator appointed under the Environment Act to the applicants outlining the progress of the investigation and the action, if any, that is or will be taken.

  3. Sanctions and Enforcement Programs

    The penalty and enforcement provisions of the Environment Act are equivalent to the penalty and enforcement provisions in the CEPA.

3.0      Information-Sharing

3.1       The Parties will share information upon request respecting the administration of this Agreement in order to meet each Minister’s respective reporting obligations to Parliament or to the people of Nova Scotia as the case may be. 

 3.2      For the administration of this Agreement, Nova Scotia will provide to Canada:

  1. written notification of relevant proposed and actual amendments to the Greenhouse Gas Emissions Regulations and any other statutory and/or regulatory provisions relevant to this Agreement;

  2. annual reports on the quantity of electricity generated by each coal-fired electricity unit in Nova Scotia;

  3. annual reports and compliance period reports required under section 5 and 6 of the Greenhouse Gas Emissions Regulations;

  4. copies of the orders issued, amended, or renewed under the Environment Act concerning the Greenhouse Gas Emissions Regulations;

  5. approvals, including amendments and renewals of approvals; and

  6. annual statistics on enforcement actions by Nova Scotia concerning the Greenhouse Gas Emission Regulations.

3.3       For the administration of this Agreement, Canada:

  1. will provide to Nova Scotia written notification of relevant proposed and actual amendments to the CEPA and the Reduction of Carbon Dioxide Emissions from Coal-Fired Generation of Electricity Regulations as well as any other statutory and/or regulatory provisions relevant to this Agreement; and

  2. will enter into discussions with Nova Scotia toward a Memorandum of Agreement that would allow Canada to provide Nova Scotia with annual data on the quantity of greenhouse gas emissions from the electricity sector in Nova Scotia collected by the Minister of the Environment under the CEPA.

3.4       Information gathered for the purpose of complying with this Agreement shall be subject to the provisions of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, SNS 1993, c5, and the Access to Information Act, RSC 1985, cA-1.

4.0      Conditions

4.1       As part of this Agreement Nova Scotia agrees to amend its Greenhouse Gas Emissions Regulations to include mandatory caps or limits on greenhouse gas emissions for electricity producers covered under the Greenhouse Gas Emissions Regulations where that cap or limit:

  1. for the years 2015 to 2019, is not higher than the cap or limit for that year as currently set out in the Greenhouse Gas Emissions Regulations;

  2. for the year 2020 is no higher than 7.5 Mt; and

  3. for the years 2021 to 2030, follows the pathway set out below:
    1. For the calendar years 2021 to 2024, no higher than the cumulative amount of 27.5 Mt;
    2. For the calendar year 2025, no higher than 6 Mt;
    3. For the calendar years 2026 to 2029, no higher than the cumulative amount of 21.5 Mt; and
    4. For the calendar year 2030, no higher than 4.5 Mt.
  4. These regulations will be in place on or before January 1, 2016.

4.2       Upon the coming-into-force of the amendment referred to in paragraph 4.1, the Minister of the Environment will recommend to the Governor in Council to make an order declaring that the provisions of the Reduction of Carbon Dioxide Emissions from Coal-Fired Generation of Electricity Regulations do not apply in Nova Scotia.

4.3       The parties agree that, should they develop further regulations relating to GHGs and air pollutants affecting the electricity sector in Nova Scotia, they will use their best efforts to conclude an equivalency agreement respecting those regulations.

5.0      Entry Into Force and Conditions for Renewal

5.1       This Agreement comes into force on July 1, 2015 provided that the Governor in Council has made an order pursuant to subsection 10(3) of the CEPA declaring that the provisions of the Reduction of Carbon Dioxide Emissions from Coal-Fired Generation of Electricity Regulations do not apply in Nova Scotia.

5.2       This Agreement terminates on December 31, 2019. 

5.3       Should both Parties be in compliance with the Agreement when it terminates, the Parties commit to initiate its renewal, provided that the effect on emissions levels of the limits to be imposed pursuant to the Environment Act and the Greenhouse Gas Emissions Regulations for the years 2020 to 2030 is equivalent to or better than the effect on emissions levels that would result from the application of the Reduction of Carbon Dioxide Emissions from Coal-Fired Generation of Electricity Regulations in Nova Scotia during this period. 

5.4       Should this Agreement be terminated before December 31, 2019, Canada will ensure that the Reduction of Carbon Dioxide Emissions from Coal-Fired Generation of Electricity Regulations start applying in Nova Scotia with as little disruption as possible in the circumstances, in a manner that takes into consideration the importance of a reliable supply of electricity that does not place an undue economic burden on Nova Scotia.

Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada

____________________
Witness

_______________  
Date 

________________________
Hon. Peter Kent,
Minister of the Environment

Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Nova Scotia

____________________
Witness

_______________  
Date 

________________________
Hon. Sterling Belliveau,
Minister of Environment



[1] N.S. Reg. 260/2009

[2] SOR/2012-167   

Date modified:

Accord d'équivalence

Accord d'équivalence concernant les règlements fédéral et néo-écossais visant le contrôle des émissions de gaz à effet de serre des producteurs d'électricité de la Nouvelle-Écosse

Entre

Le gouvernement du Canada,
représenté par le ministre de l'Environnement
(« Canada »)

Et

Le gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Écosse,
représenté par le ministre de l'Environnement
(« Nouvelle-Écosse »)

Attendu que le Canada et la Nouvelle-Écosse (les « parties ») ont signé le 25 janvier 2010 l’Entente de principe entre le Canada et la Nouvelle-Écosse sur la lutte contre les changements climatiques;

Attendu que la réglementation des émissions de gaz à effet de serre du secteur de l'électricité est une question importante pour les parties;

Attendu que le Règlement sur la réduction des émissions de dioxyde de carbone − secteur de l’électricité thermique au charbon a été élaboré par le Canada sur la base des principes suivants :

  • L’importance de maximiserles réductions d'émissions;

  • L’importance de traiterles régions et les entités réglementées de façon équitable;

  • L’importance d’éviter de fixer un précédent indésirable pour les autres secteurs;

  • L’importance de réduire au minimum les investissements de capitaux non recouvrables;

  • L’importance de maintenirla cohérence d'une approche réglementaire nationale;

Attendu que les parties souhaitent éviter, dans la mesure du possible, le dédoublement des efforts visant le contrôle des émissions de gaz à effet de serre;

Attendu que la Nouvelle-Écosse a promulgué le règlement Greenhouse Gas Emissions Regulations, pris aux termes du paragraphe 28(6) et de l'article 112 de la loi Environment Act, S.N.S. 1994-95, ch. 1, le 14 août 2009;

Attendu que les parties conviennent de signer un accord d'équivalence axé sur les résultats (« accord ») concernant le Règlement sur la réduction des émissions de dioxyde de carbone − secteur de l’électricité thermique au charbon, pris aux termes de l'art. 93 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) (L.C. 1999, ch. 33) et publié dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada, vol. 146, nº 19 le12 septembre 2012 (« règlement »);

Attendu que les parties reconnaissent que le présent accord ne porte pas atteinte à la position de l'une ou l'autre des parties concernant la compétence législative relative à la réglementation du secteur de l'électricité;

Attendu que l'article 10 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) autorise le ministre de l'Environnement à conclure avec un gouvernement provincial un accord écrit selon lequel sont applicables dans le cadre des règles de droit de la province des dispositions équivalentes à un règlement pris aux termes du paragraphe 93(1) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) ainsi que des dispositions similaires aux articles 17 à 20 de cette loi concernant les enquêtes pour infractions présumées à la législation du lieu en matière d’environnement.

Attendu que la loi Environment Act et le règlement Greenhouse Gas Emissions Regulations établissent des obligations ayant force de loi;

Attendu que l'article 342 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) stipule que le ministre de l'Environnement doit faire rapport annuellement au Parlement de l'application de cette loi;

Attendu que l'article 16 de la loi Environment Actstipule que le ministre provincial de l'Environnement doit faire rapport périodiquement à la population de la Nouvelle-Écosse de l'état de l'environnement dans la province;

Par conséquent, les parties conviennent de ce qui suit :

1.0      Définitions

« LCPE (1999) » La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999), L.C. 1999, ch. 33, avec ses modifications successives;

« Environment Act » La loi Environment Act, S.N.S. 1994-95, ch. 1, avec ses modifications successives.

2.0      Équivalence

2.1       Les dispositions applicables dans le cadre des règles de droit de la Nouvelle-Écosse, plus particulièrement celles de la loi Environment Act et du règlement Greenhouse Gas Emissions Regulations[1], sont équivalentes aux dispositions de la LCPE (1999) et du Règlement sur la réduction des émissions de dioxyde de carbone − secteur de l’électricité thermique au charbon[2], pour les fins de l'article 10 de la LCPE (1999), au motif que les critères suivants ont été satisfaits : 

  1. Exigences relatives aux émissions
    1. L'effet sur le niveau des émissions des limites établies en tonnes d'équivalent-CO2 qui sont imposées aux termes de la loi Environment Act et du règlement Greenhouse Gas Emissions Regulations est, pour les années civiles 2015 à 2019, équivalent à l'effet sur le niveau des émissions des limites imposées aux termes de la LCPE (1999) et du Règlement sur la réduction des émissions de dioxyde de carbone − secteur de l’électricité thermique au charbon.

    2. L'effet sur le niveau des émissions des limites établies en tonnes d'équivalent-CO2, qui seront imposées aux termes de la loi Environment Act et du règlement Greenhouse Gas Emissions Regulationsconformément à l'article 4 du présent accord sera, pour les années civiles 2020 à 2030, équivalent à l'effet sur le niveau des émissions des limites imposées aux termes de la LCPE (1999) et du Règlement sur la réduction des émissions de dioxyde de carbone − secteur de l’électricité thermique au charbon.
  2. Demandes d'enquêtes présentées par les citoyens

    Les articles 115 et 116 de la loi Environment Actétablissent un mécanisme similaire à celui prévu aux articles 17 à 20 de la LCPE (1999) et aux termes duquel tout citoyen peut demander l'ouverture d'une enquête sur une infraction présumée. Ce mécanisme prévoit également qu'un administrateur nommé aux termes de la loi Environment Actfera rapport au demandeur de la progression de l'enquête et des mesures qu'il a prises ou entend prendre, s'il y a lieu.

  3. Sanctions et programmes d'application de la loi

    Les dispositions de la loi Environment Act relatives aux pénalités et à l'application de la loi sont équivalentes à celles prévues par la LCPE (1999).

3.0      Diffusion de l'information

3.1       Sur demande, les parties communiqueront l'information relative à l'administration du présent accord, de manière à satisfaire à l'obligation faite à chacun des ministres de faire rapport au Parlement ou à la population de la Nouvelle-Écosse, selon le cas.     

3.2       Aux fins de l'administration du présent accord, la Nouvelle-Écosse fournira au Canada :

  1. un avis écrit portant sur les modifications pertinentes proposées et apportées au règlement Greenhouse Gas Emissions Regulations et à toute autre disposition législative ou réglementaire relative au présent accord;

  2. des rapports annuels sur la quantité d'électricité produite par chaque groupe de production d'électricité au charbon en Nouvelle-Écosse;

  3. les rapports annuels et les rapports de conformité périodiques exigés aux termes des articles 5 et 6 du règlement Greenhouse Gas Emissions Regulations;

  4. des copies des ordonnances émises, modifiées ou renouvelées aux termes de l'Environment Act  concernant le règlement Greenhouse Gas Emissions Regulations;

  5. les approbations, y compris les modifications et les renouvellements d'approbations;

  6. les statistiques annuelles sur les mesures d'application de la loi prises par la Nouvelle-Écosse concernant le règlement Greenhouse Gas Emission Regulations.

3.3       Aux fins de l'administration du présent accord, le Canada :

  1. fournira à la Nouvelle-Écosse un avis écrit portant sur les modifications pertinentes proposées et apportées à la LCPE (1999) et au Règlement sur la réduction des émissions de dioxyde de carbone − secteur de l’électricité thermique au charbon et à toute autre disposition législative ou réglementaire relative au présent accord;

  2. ouvrira des discussions avec la Nouvelle-Écosse en vue de la conclusion d'un protocole d'entente qui permettrait au Canada de fournir à la Nouvelle-Écosse des données annuelles sur la quantité d'émissions de gaz à effet de serre provenant du secteur de la production d'électricité en Nouvelle-Écosse, qui sont recueillies par le ministre de l'Environnement aux termes de la LCPE (1999).

3.4       Les renseignements recueillis dans le but de se conformer au présent accord seront assujettis aux dispositions de loi Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Actde la Nouvelle-Écosse, S.N.S. 1993, ch. 5, et de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, L.R.C. (1985), ch. A-1.

4.0      Conditions

4.1       Dans le cadre du présent accord, la Nouvelle-Écosse convient de modifier son règlement Greenhouse Gas Emissions Regulations afin d'y inclure des plafonds ou des limites obligatoires concernant les émissions de gaz à effet de serre pour les producteurs d'électricité visés par le règlement Greenhouse Gas Emissions Regulations, qui rencontrent les conditions suivantes :

  1. pour les années 2015 à 2019, les plafonds ou limites ne sont pas supérieurs aux plafonds ou limites actuellement établis pour l'année en question dans le règlement Greenhouse Gas Emissions Regulations;

  2. pour l'année 2020, le plafond ou la limite n’est pas supérieur à 7,5 Mt;

  3. pour les années 2021 à 2030, les plafonds ou limites ne sont pas supérieurs à ce qui suit :
    1. pour les années civiles 2021 à 2024, la quantité cumulative de 27,5 Mt;
    2. pour l'année civile 2025, 6 Mt;
    3. pour les années civiles 2026 à 2029, la quantité cumulative de 21,5 Mt;
    4. pour l'année civile 2030, 4,5 Mt.

  4. Ce règlement sera pris au plus tard le 1er janvier 2016.

4.2       Suite à l'entrée en vigueur de la modification mentionnée à l'article 4.1, le ministre de l'Environnement recommandera au gouverneur en conseil de prendre un décret déclarant que le Règlement sur la réduction des émissions de dioxyde de carbone − secteur de l’électricité thermique au charbon ne s'applique pas en Nouvelle-Écosse.

4.3       Si les parties établissent d'autres règlements relatifs aux gaz à effet de serre et aux polluants atmosphériques ayant une incidence sur le secteur de l'électricité en Nouvelle-Écosse, elles conviennent de faire tous les efforts pour conclure un accord d'équivalence concernant ces règlements.

5.0      Entrée en vigueur et conditions de renouvellement

5.1       Le présent accord entrera en vigueur le 1er juillet 2015, à condition que le gouverneur en conseil ait adopté un décret aux termes du paragraphe 10(3) de la LCPE (1999) déclarant que les dispositions du Règlement sur la réduction des émissions de dioxyde de carbone − secteur de l’électricité thermique au charbon ne s'appliquent pas en Nouvelle-Écosse.

5.2       Le présent accord prend fin le 31 décembre 2019.

5.3       Si les deux parties se conforment aux dispositions du présent accord au moment où il prend fin, elles s'engagent à le renouveler, à condition que l'effet sur le niveau des émissions des limites à imposer aux termes de la loi Environment Act et du règlement Greenhouse Gas Emissions Regulations pour les années 2020 à 2030 soit équivalent ou supérieur à l'effet sur le niveau des émissions qui résulterait de l'application du Règlement sur la réduction des émissions de dioxyde de carbone ― secteur de l’électricité thermique au charbon en Nouvelle-Écosse durant cette période.

5.4       Si le présent accord est résiliée avant le 31 décembre 2019, le Canada prendra les mesures nécessaires pour que les dispositions du Règlement sur la réduction des émissions de dioxyde de carbone − secteur de l’électricité thermique au charbon commencent à s'appliquer en Nouvelle-Écosse avec le moins de perturbations possible dans les circonstances, en tenant compte de l'importance d’un approvisionnement en électricité fiable et en n'imposant pas un fardeau économique indu à la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Sa Majesté la Reine du Chef du Canada

____________________
Témoin

_______________  
Date 

________________________
L'Hon. Peter Kent,
Ministre de l'Environnement

Sa Majesté la Reine du Chef de la Nouvelle-Écosse

____________________
Témoin

_______________  
Date 

________________________
L'Hon. Sterling Belliveau,
Ministre de l'Environnement



[1] N.S. Reg. 260/2009

[2] DORS/2012-167

Date de modification :