This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

ARCHIVED - Ticketing for Certain Offences Under CEPA, 1999

CEPA offences to be ticketable under the Contraventions Regulations

Certain offences under CEPA 1999 are being designated as contraventions in the Contraventions Regulations under the Contraventions Act. This means that enforcement officers can issue tickets for these offenses. Tickets are an alternative form of prosecution. However, where, in the view of an enforcement officer, the circumstances of a violation require a court hearing, Environment Canada still has the option to lay charges and prosecute these offenses through the courts.

To read which CEPA offences will become "contraventions", please consult the proposed regulation.

What happens when a person gets a ticket

The person receiving a ticket for a CEPA offence designated as a contravention has the option to plead guilty, pay the fine of $500 stated on the ticket and avoid a court hearing. The person also has the right to plead not guilty and have the matter heard in court, or request a court hearing in order to secure more time to pay the imposed fine.

The use of tickets is likely familiar to most Canadians who are aware of tickets for traffic offences and for other offences such as littering or building a fire in a provincial or national park without a permit.

In the case of CEPA contraventions, every day that the offence continues is a separate violation. This means that, if an offence continues for 10 days, a CEPA enforcement officer could issue a ticket for each of the 10 days that the violation continues. Tickets for certain violations of CEPA, 1999 are a new tool for enforcement officers. They are a simplified process of dealing with violations involving matters such as reports not filed or filed after their due date, incomplete reports or absence of required signatures on reports or other documents. For the time being, only CEPA enforcement officers in Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario and Manitoba will be able to issue tickets. Officers in the three territories and remaining provinces will be able to do so, once Justice Canada has completed the necessary arrangements with the territories and the other provinces.

You may wish to refer to the Compliance and Enforcement Policy for CEPA, 1999, to read how enforcement officers will use ticketing. To read the policy, please click on the heading "Policies" on the lefthand side of the CEPA Environmental Registry. Then proceed down the page and click on the title of the policy.

Comments on CEPA ticketable offences

Interested parties may provide comments during the 60-day consultation period beginning on May 5, 2001 and ending on July 3, 2001. Please send such comments and recommendations to :

Michel Gagnon, Director
Contraventions Project
Department of Justice
284 Wellington Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A OH8
Tel: 613-998-5669
Fax: 613-998-1175
E-mail: michel.gagnon@justice.gc.ca

or

Nadine Levin, Senior Policy Specialist
Enforcement Branch
Environment Canada
200 Sacré-Coeur Blvd., 13th Floor
Hull, Quebec
K1A 0H3
Tel : 819-953-0331
Fax : 819-994-0724
E-mail : Environmental Enforcement

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

ARCHIVÉ - Infractions à la LCPE 1999 passibles d'une contravention

Les infractions qui sont passibles d'une contravention

Certaines infractions aux termes de la LCPE 1999 sont désignées en tant que violations passibles d'une contravention dans le Règlement sur les contraventions de la Loi sur les contraventions. Ceci signifie que les agents de l'autorité de la LCPE 1999 peuvent émettre des contraventions pour ces infractions. Les contraventions représentent une procédure simplifiée de poursuite. Toutefois, lorsque, selon l'agent de l'autorité, il y a des circonstances où il vaut mieux déposer une accusation et intenter une action en justice, Environment Canada a toujours l'autorité de le faire.

Pour savoir quelles infractions sont désignées passibles d'une contravention, consultez le projet de règlement.

Les démarches suivant l'émission d'une contravention

La personne qui reçoit une contravention à la suite d'une infraction à la LCPE, 1999 peut choisir de plaider coupable, de payer l'amende de $500 indiquée sur la contravention et ainsi peut éviter une audience juidiciaire. Elle a aussi le droit de plaider non coupable; dans cette situation, le cas sera entendu en cour. De plus, elle peut demander une audience judiciaire afin d'allonger le délai pour payer l'amende imposée.

Le système de contraventions est bien connu de la majorité des Canadiens qui sont familiers avec des contraventions pour des délits de la route et autres infractions, tel que jeter des déchets ou allumer un feu dans un parc provincial ou national sans avoir préalablement obtenu un permis.

Lorsque survient une infraction à la LCPE 1999, chaque jour où l'infraction continue représente une nouvelle contravention. Donc, si l'infraction se poursuit pour 10 jours, l'agent de l'autorité pourrait émettre une contravention pour chacun des 10 jours qu'a duré l'infraction.

Les contraventions représentent un outil nouveau pour les agents de l'autorité de la LCPE 1999. Elles constituent un processus simplifié de faire face à certaines infractions, y compris l'omission de fournir des rapports ou leur soumission après la date limite, des rapports incomplets ou l'absence de signatures requises sur les rapports ou autres documents. À l'heure actuelle, seuls les agents de l'autorité de la LCPE 1999 à l'Île-du-Prince-Edouard, en Nouvelle-Écosse, au Nouveau-Brunswick, au Québec, en Ontario et au Manitoba peuvent émettre des contraventions. Les agents des trois territoires et des autres provinces pourront le faire dès que le ministère de la Justice aura conclu les accords nécessaires avec le gouvernement de ces territoires et provinces.

Prière de consulter la Politique d'observation et d'application de la LCPE 1999 afin de vous renseigner sur la façon dont les agents de l'autorité utiliseront les contraventions. Pour accéder à cette politique, veuillez cliquer sur la rubrique « Politiques » située dans l'encadré gauche du Registre environnemental de la LCPE. Ensuite, descendez et cliquez sur le titre de la Politique.

Commentaires sur les infractions à la LCPE 1999 passibles d'une contravention

Les parties intéressées peuvent soumettre leurs commentaires durant la période de 60 jours prévue à cet effet, débutant le 5 mai 2001 et se terminant le 3 juillet 2001. Veuillez faire parvenir vos commentaires et recommandations à:

Michel Gagnon, Directeur
Projet sur les contraventions
Ministère de la Justice
284, rue Wellington
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A OH8
Tel: 613-998-5669
Fax: 613-998-1175
Courriel: michel.gagnon@justice.gc.ca

ou

Nadine Levin, Spécialiste principale en politique
Direction de l'application de la loi
Environnement Canada
351, boul. St-Joseph
Hull (Québec)
K1A 0H3
Tel : 819-953-0331
Fax : 819-994-0724
Courriel: Nadine.Levin@ec.gc.ca

Date de modification :