This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Discussion Document
On-Road Vehicle and Engine Emission Regulations

Updating Canada's Motorcycle Emission Standards to Align with New U.S. Rules

6. Proposed Path Forward for Canada

6.1 Policy of Alignment with U.S.

The On-Road Vehicle and Engine Emission Regulations are intended to align with the emission standards of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA), consistent with the policy set out in the Federal Agenda on Cleaner Vehicles, Engines and Fuels. As outlined more fully in those documents, this approach provides Canadians with major improvements in emission control at a low additional cost. Continued alignment with the new U.S. emission standards for on-road motorcycles will result in important emission reductions from this class of vehicle in Canada.

The current On-Road Vehicle and Engine Emission Regulations incorporate the U.S. technical emission standards by reference to the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations for a given model year of vehicle. This approach seeks, to the extent possible, to ensure that the specified emission standards remain identical in both countries. Accordingly, EPA's emission standards for 2006 and later model year on-road motorcycles are automatically incorporated under the existing Regulations.

However, the EPA rules introduce some new elements in both the application and structure of motorcycle emissions standards which must be addressed in the Canadian Regulations. Firstly, the scope of motorcycles subject to on-road emission standards is broadened to include those with an engine displacement under 50 cc. Secondly, they introduce new compliance-related flexibilities that are not addressed under the current On-Road Vehicle and Engine Emission Regulations, including:

  • the option to base compliance on corporate emission averaging
  • special provisions for small-volume manufacturers
  • the option to use engines certified to non-road emission standards
  • exemptions for specified limited cases

The current Regulations enable a company to base its evidence of conformity with the Regulations on the certificate of conformity issued by the U.S. EPA. Given that the majority of motorcycles marketed in Canada fall in this category, the structure of the existing Canadian Regulations is not expected to have a major effect on the marketability of motorcycles in Canada. However, the absence of such flexibilities could, in some cases, result in more restrictive requirements for models of motorcycles that may be sold in Canada but not in the U.S.

Environment Canada plans to amend the On-Road Vehicle and Engine Emission Regulations to ensure that the emission standards apply to the same scope of motorcycles as in the U.S. and to provide companies with comparable compliance- related flexibilities, subject to the authorities under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999. It is intended that these changes would be effective for the 2006 model year, as in the U.S.

The following sections outline Environment Canada's proposed approach to amending the On-Road Vehicle and Engine Emission Regulations to maintain alignment with U.S. motorcycle emission standards.

6.2 Scope of Covered Motorcycles

Environment Canada plans to amend the definition of "motorcycle" under the On-Road Vehicle and Engine Emission Regulations to remove the current exclusions for vehicles that have an engine displacement of less than 50 cc and vehicles that cannot start from a dead stop using only the engine.

6.3 Provisions for Corporate Fleet Emission Averaging

An appropriate regulatory framework to address emissions averaging would provide similar compliance flexibilities as in the U.S. and would remove the opportunity for individual companies to systematically sell a significant number of higher emitting vehicles in Canada than would be allowed in the United States. This is important to provide assurance that the long-term environmental performance of the Canadian motorcycle fleet will be comparable with that of the U.S.

Environment Canada plans to amend the On-Road Vehicle and Engine Emission Regulations to provide companies the option of complying with prescribed motorcycle emission standards on the basis of annual corporate fleet emission averaging. The existing Canadian framework for emissions averaging for fleets of new light-duty vehicles and light-duty trucks provides a model to adapt similar flexibilities to the Canadian market within the North American market.

The vast majority of motorcycles sold in Canada are vehicles designed for and marketed in the U.S. and Canada represents about 8% of the Canada/U.S. market. Where a vehicle sold in Canada has an equivalent sold in the U.S., the Regulations require that the Canadian vehicle comply with the same emission standards as the equivalent vehicle sold in the U.S. Accordingly, a company's fleet average value in Canada, in respect of the vehicles that it sells concurrently in both countries will be "anchored" to the U.S. fleet average value and there should be no need for an independent Canadian restriction. However, there are reasons for a company to market vehicles uniquely in Canada and, from time to time, there are vehicle models sold in Canada but not in the U.S. The Regulations should contain provisions to ensure that unique-Canadian vehicles do not adversely affect the environmental performance of a company's fleet relative to the fleet average standards.

Taking the above factors into account, the Canadian framework for emissions averaging would:

  • require companies to report their fleet averages emission values at the end of each model year.
  • allow a company to elect to exclude its group of U.S.-certified motorcycles that are sold concurrently in Canada and the U.S. from mandatory compliance with the fleet average standards in a given model year.
  • if a company sells a unique Canadian motorcycle model (i.e., not sold in the U.S.), allow a company to meet the prescribed emission standards based on the average emissions of only its unique-Canadian motorcycle fleet or on the average emissions of its total Canadian fleet of that model year (i.e., its unique-Canadian motorcycle fleet and its group of U.S.-certified motorcycles that are sold concurrently in Canada and the U.S.).
  • not allow any individual motorcycles to be certified to emission levels that exceed the EPA specified family emission limits (FEL) for a given model year.
  • allow a company to use emission credits from its Class III fleet to offset a deficit in its Class I and II fleet within the same model year.

A company could not include vehicles in the group not subject to a fleet average standard if the total number of equivalent vehicles sold in Canada exceeds the total number of such vehicles sold in the U.S. (i.e., where the family emission limit exceeds the applicable emission standards). This would ensure that a company cannot exclude vehicles that are certified to higher emission levels from being subject to a fleet average standard in Canada by selling an insignificant number of equivalent vehicles in the U.S.

Fleet averaging provisions structured in the proposed manner are expected to deliver fleet average emissions comparable to the U.S. while minimizing the regulatory burden on companies and allowing companies to market vehicles in Canada independently from the U.S. Environment Canada would review company fleet averages reports each year and could amend this approach in the future if the desired environmental performance was not being achieved.

Environment Canada does not plan to include provisions for the early banking of emission credits for Class III motorcycles, as permitted by the U.S. EPA. It is believed that the added complexity of such provisions is not warranted. Given the flexibility of the proposed overall approach to the Canadian fleet average provisions, companies are not expected to be disadvantaged by not being able to generate early emission credits.

6.4 Provisions for Small-Volume Manufacturers

Motorcycles sold in the U.S. under small volume manufacturer provisions would be eligible for sale in Canada through the acceptance of the EPA certificate of conformity as evidence of conformity with Canada's corresponding emission standards. Environment Canada also desires that Class III motorcycles manufactured in, or imported into, Canada by a company dealing in small volumes of motorcycles that are not covered by U.S. certification be subject to emission standards equivalent to those of the U.S. (i.e., delayed compliance with the Tier 1 standards until 2008 model year and exemption from compliance with Tier 2 standards). This approach is consistent with the established policy of aligning Canada's emission standards with those of the U.S. The Department is examining options available under the authorities of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 to achieve this objective.

6.5 Option to Use Engine Certified to Non-Road Emission Standards

Motorcycles equipped with under 50 cc displacement engines represent a small portion of the overall Canadian motorcycle import market. Environment Canada plans to accept motorcycles that use an off-road engine certified under a valid EPA certificate of conformity, consistent with applicable labelling provisions to facilitate the identification of such products.

6.6 Exemptions for Specified Limited Cases

The framework for granting exemptions and the importation of "non-complying" vehicles for the purposes of exhibition, demonstration, evaluation and testing is contained directly in the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 and these issues are generally addressed on a case by case basis.

In view of the above, Environment Canada does not plan to propose any new requirements based on the U.S. provisions regarding temporary exemptions for reasons of hardship and volume-limited compliance exemptions including for motorcycle kits (maximum one per individual per life time of the provisions) and custom motorcycles used solely for display purposes (maximum 24 per company per year).

6.7 World Harmonized Emission Test Cycle

At this time, Environment Canada intends to maintain alignment with U.S. EPA test procedures used in the emission certification of on-road motorcycles.

Canada is a signatory to the "Agreement Concerning the Establishing of Global Technical Regulations for Wheeled Vehicles, Equipment and Parts which can be fitted and/or used on Wheeled Vehicles" under the auspices of the United Nations. A primary objective of this agreement is to establish a global process by which Contracting Parties from all regions of the world can jointly develop global technical regulations regarding the safety, environmental protection, energy efficiency, and anti-theft performance of motor vehicles.

A new draft world test cycle has been developed through the U.N. process and the focus is now shifting to the development of motorcycle emission limits under the proposed cycle. Consistent with the commitments under the Agreement and with the expected action of the U.S., when available, Environment Canada intends to propose through its normal regulatory process the acceptance of vehicles certified to a final global technical emission regulation for motorcycles.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Document de discussion
Règlement sur les émissions des véhicules routiers et de leurs moteurs

Mise à jour des normes démissions du Canada pour les motocyclettes en vue de maintenir l'harmonisation avec les nouvelles règles adoptées aux États-Unis

6. Marche à suivre proposée pour le Canada

6.1 Politique d'harmonisation avec les normes américaines

Le Règlement sur les émissions des véhicules routiers et de leurs moteurs vise à harmoniser les normes d'émissions canadiennes avec celles de l'Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) des États-Unis, conformément à la politique établie dans le Programme fédéral pour des véhicules, des moteurs et des carburants moins polluants. Cette approche décrite plus en détails dans ces documents permet aux Canadiens et Canadiennes de profiter des importantes améliorations en matière de réduction des émissions à un faible coût additionnel. Le maintien de l'harmonisation avec les normes d'émissions américaines visant les motocyclettes routières entraînera d'importantes réductions des émissions produites par cette catégorie de véhicules au Canada.

La version actuelle du Règlement sur les émissions des véhicules routiers et de leurs moteurs incorpore les normes d'émissions techniques américaines par renvoi au Code of Federal Regulations des États-Unis pour une année de modèle de véhicule donnée. Cette approche vise, dans la mesure du possible, à assurer que les normes d'émissions précisées demeurent identiques dans chaque pays. En conséquence, les normes d'émissions de l'EPA visant les motocyclettes routières à compter de l'année de modèle 2006 sont automatiquement incorporées dans le règlement existant.

Toutefois, les règles de l'EPA introduisent des nouveaux éléments dont il faut tenir compte dans le règlement canadien. Ces éléments concernent à la fois l'application et la structure des normes d'émissions visant les motocyclettes. Premièrement, la gamme de motocyclettes assujetties aux normes d'émissions visant les motocyclettes routières est élargie pour inclure les motocyclettes dont la cylindrée du moteur est inférieure à 50 cm³. Deuxièmement, les règles introduisent de nouveaux assouplissements aux exigences en matière de conformité qui ne figurent pas dans la version actuelle du Règlement sur les émissions des véhicules routiers et de leurs moteurs, incluant :

  • l'option de fonder la conformité aux normes sur la moyenne des émissions du parc d'entreprise;
  • des dispositions spéciales pour les constructeurs à faible volume;
  • l'option d'utiliser un moteur homologué selon les normes d'émissions pour les moteurs hors route;
  • des exemptions pour des cas limités précisés.

Le règlement actuel permet à une entreprise de présenter le certificat émis par l'EPA des États-Unis comme justification de conformité aux normes. Puisque la majorité des motocyclettes mises en marché au Canada correspondent à cette catégorie, la structure du règlement canadien actuel ne devrait pas avoir une forte incidence sur la commerciabilité des motocyclettes au Canada. Toutefois, l'absence de tels assouplissements pourrait, dans certains cas, entraîner l'établissement d'exigences plus restrictives pour certains modèles de motocyclettes qui pourraient être vendus au Canada mais pas aux États-Unis.

Environnement Canada prévoit modifier le Règlement sur les émissions des véhicules routiers et de leurs moteurs pour s'assurer que les normes d'émissions s'appliquent à la même gamme de motocyclettes qu'aux États-Unis et pour fournir aux entreprises des assouplissements comparables aux exigences en matière de conformité, sous réserve des pouvoirs prévus en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999). On prévoit que ces changements entreront en vigueur à compter de l'année de modèle 2006, comme aux États-Unis.

Dans les sections suivantes, on décrit l'approche qu'Environnement Canada propose d'adopter pour modifier le Règlement sur les émissions des véhicules routiers et de leurs moteurs en vue de maintenir l'harmonisation avec les normes d'émissions américaines visant les motocyclettes.

6.2 Gamme de motocyclettes visées

Environnement Canada prévoit modifier la définition de « motocyclette » en vertu du Règlement sur les émissions des véhicules routiers et de leurs moteurs pour retirer les exclusions actuelles visant les véhicules dont la cylindrée du moteur est inférieure à 50 cm³ et les véhicules qui ne peuvent pas démarrer à partir du point mort à l'aide du moteur seulement.

6.3 Dispositions relatives aux émissions moyennes du parc d'entreprise

Un cadre réglementaire approprié qui tient compte des émissions moyennes permettrait de fournir des assouplissements aux exigences en matière de conformité semblables à ceux qui sont offerts aux États-Unis et ne permettrait pas à des entreprises distinctes de vendre systématiquement au Canada un nombre plus élevé de véhicules plus polluants que ce qui serait permis aux États-Unis. Cette mesure est importante pour faire en sorte que le rendement environnemental à long terme du parc canadien de motocyclettes soit comparable à celui du parc américain.

Environnement Canada prévoit modifier le Règlement sur les émissions des véhicules routiers et de leurs moteurs pour fournir aux entreprises l'option de se conformer aux normes d'émissions prescrites pour les motocyclettes sur la base des émissions moyennes annuelles du parc d'entreprise. Le cadre actuel du règlement canadien concernant les émissions moyennes des parcs de véhicules légers neufs et de camionnettes neuves sert de modèle pour adapter des assouplissements semblables pour le marché canadien au sein du marché nord-américain.

La vaste majorité des motocyclettes vendues au Canada sont des véhicules conçus pour le marché américain et commercialisés aux États-Unis, et les ventes au Canada représentent environ 8 % du marché canado-américain. Lorsque des véhicules équivalents sont vendus au Canada et aux États-Unis, le règlement exige que le véhicule canadien satisfasse aux mêmes normes d'émissions que le véhicule équivalent vendu aux États-Unis. En conséquence, la valeur des émissions moyennes du parc d'une entreprise au Canada, en ce qui concerne les véhicules qu'elle vend dans les deux pays, sera « arrimée » à la valeur moyenne du parc américain, et il ne devrait pas être nécessaire d'établir une restriction canadienne distincte. Toutefois, une entreprise peut choisir pour différentes raisons de commercialiser des véhicules uniquement au Canada et, de temps à autre, certains modèles de véhicule sont vendus au Canada mais pas aux États-Unis. Le règlement devrait prévoir des dispositions pour s'assurer que les véhicules vendus seulement au Canada ne nuisent pas au rendement environnemental du parc d'une entreprise en ce qui concerne la conformité aux normes visant les émissions moyennes du parc d'entreprise.

En tenant compte des facteurs susmentionnés, le cadre canadien des émissions moyennes devrait :

  • obliger les entreprises à signaler les valeurs des émissions moyennes du parc de véhicules à la fin de chaque année de modèle.
  • permettre à une entreprise de choisir d'exclure son groupe de motocyclettes homologuées selon les normes américaines et vendues à la fois au Canada et aux États-Unis de l'obligation de se conformer aux normes moyennes pour les parcs de véhicules des différentes années de modèle.
  • permettre à une entreprise, si celle-ci vend un modèle de motocyclette seulement au Canada (c.-à-d., non vendu aux États-Unis), de satisfaire aux normes d'émissions prescrites en se fondant sur les émissions moyennes du parc composé seulement des motocyclettes réservées au Canada ou sur les émissions moyennes de l'ensemble de son parc canadien de motocyclettes de l'année de modèle en question (c.-à-d., son parc de motocyclettes vendues seulement au Canada et son groupe de motocyclettes homologuées selon les normes américaines vendues à la fois au Canada et aux États-Unis).
  • ne pas permettre que des motocyclettes distinctes soit homologuées selon des niveaux d'émissions supérieurs aux limites d'émission par famille (LEF) précisées par l'EPA pour une année de modèle donnée.
  • permettre à une entreprise d'utiliser des crédits d'émissions générés par son parc de motocyclettes de catégorie III pour compenser le déficit dans son parc de motocyclettes de catégories I et II de la même année de modèle.

Une entreprise ne pourrait pas inclure des véhicules dans le groupe non assujetti à une norme moyenne pour le parc si le nombre total de véhicules équivalents vendus au Canada dépasse le nombre total de ces véhicules vendus aux États-Unis (c.-à-d., lorsque la limite d'émissions par famille dépasse les normes d'émissions applicables). Cette mesure ferait en sorte qu'une entreprise ne pourrait pas soustraire des véhicules homologués selon des niveaux d'émissions plus élevés d'être assujettis à la norme moyenne pour le parc au Canada en vendant un nombre insignifiant de véhicules équivalents aux États-Unis.

Structurées de la façon proposée, les dispositions concernant le calcul de la moyenne des émissions de parc de véhicules devraient permettre de produire des valeurs d'émissions moyennes de parc de véhicules comparables à celles des États-Unis tout en réduisant le fardeau réglementaire des entreprises et en autorisant les entreprises de commercialiser des véhicules au Canada indépendamment des États-Unis. Environnement Canada examinerait les rapports d'émissions moyennes des parcs d'entreprise et pourrait modifier cette approche à l'avenir si le rendement environnemental désiré n'était pas atteint.

Environnement Canada ne prévoit pas de dispositions relatives à l'accumulation anticipée de points relatifs aux émissions pour les motocyclettes de catégorie III, comme le permet l'EPA des États-Unis. On croit que la complexité accrue de ces dispositions n'est pas justifiée. Étant donné la souplesse de l'approche globale proposée concernant les dispositions relatives aux émissions moyennes du parc canadien, les entreprises ne devraient pas être désavantagées si elles ne sont pas en mesure de générer des points anticipés relatifs aux d'émissions.

6.4 Dispositions relatives aux constructeurs à faible volume

Les motocyclettes vendues aux États-Unis en vertu des dispositions à l'intention des constructeurs à faible volume pourraient être vendues au Canada à la suite de l'acceptation du certificat de conformité émis par l'EPA comme justification de la conformité aux normes d'émissions canadiennes correspondantes. Environnement Canada désire également que les motocyclettes de catégorie III qui sont construites ou importées au Canada par des entreprises faisant le commerce d'un faible volume de motocyclettes et qui ne sont pas visées par un certificat de l'EPA, soient assujetties aux normes d'émissions équivalentes à celles des États-Unis (c.-à-d., conformité reportée jusqu'à l'année de modèle 2008 en ce qui à trait aux normes d'émissions « Tier 1 » ainsi qu'une dispense de conformité aux normes « Tier 2 »). Cette solution est conforme à la politique établie sur l'harmonisation des normes d'émissions canadiennes avec celle des États-Unis. Environnement Canada examine présentement les options disponibles en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) en vue d'atteindre cet objectif.

6.5 Possibilité d'utiliser un moteur homologué selon les normes d'émissions visant les moteurs hors route

Les motocyclettes équipées d'un moteur dont la cylindrée est inférieure à 50 cm³ représentent une portion restreinte de l'ensemble du marché canadien d'importation de motocyclettes. Environnement Canada prévoit accepter les motocyclettes équipées d'un moteur hors route ayant obtenu un certificat de conformité valide émis par l'EPA des États-Unis, conformément aux dispositions applicables en matière d'étiquetage qui visent à faciliter l'identification de ces produits.

6.6 Exemptions pour des cas limités précisés

Le cadre régissant l'octroi d'exemptions et l'importation de véhicules « non conformes» aux fins promotionnelles et expérimentales est contenu directement dans la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999), et ces questions sont généralement examinées cas par cas.

À la lumière de ce qui précède, Environnement Canada ne prévoit pas proposer de nouvelles exigences fondées sur les dispositions américaines concernant les exemptions temporaires pour des raisons de difficultés financières et les exemptions à volume limité, incluant les motocyclettes prêtes à monter (maximum d'une motocyclette par personne pendant la vie utile des dispositions) et les motocyclettes sur mesure utilisées uniquement à des fins d'exposition (maximum de 24 motocyclettes par entreprise par année).

6.7 Cycle d'essais de contrôle d'émissions harmonisés à l'échelle internationale

À l'heure actuelle, Environnement Canada entend maintenir l'harmonisation avec les méthodes d'essais de l'EPA des États-Unis utilisées aux fins d'homologation des émissions des motocyclettes routières.

Le Canada est un signataire de l'« Accord concernant l'établissement de règlements techniques mondiaux applicables aux véhicules à roues, ainsi qu'aux équipements et pièces qui peuvent être montés et/ou utilisés sur les véhicules à roues » sous les auspices des Nations Unies. Un objectif principal de cet accord est l'établissement d'un processus global qui permettrait aux parties contractantes de toutes les régions du monde de travailler conjointement à l'élaboration de règlements techniques globaux en matière de sécurité, de protection de l'environnement, d'efficacité énergétique et de rendement des dispositifs antivol de véhicules automobiles.

Une nouvelle ébauche du cycle d'essais mondial a été élaborée dans le cadre du processus chapeauté par les Nations Unies, et les efforts visent maintenant à fixer les limites d'émissions des motocyclettes dans le cadre du cycle d'essais proposé. Conformément aux engagements pris en vertu de l'accord et aux mesures que prendront vraisemblablement les États-Unis, Environnement Canada entend proposer, dans le cadre de son processus courant d'élaboration de règlements, l'acceptation des véhicules homologués selon un règlement technique mondial définitif sur les émissions de motocyclettes.

Date de modification :