This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Correction of previous information regarding the Environmental Emergency Regulations

Environmental Emergency Regulations under Part 8 of CEPA 1999

The Environmental Emergency (E2) Regulations were registered on August 20, 2003 and published in Part II of the Canada Gazette on September 10, 2003.

We wish to advise you that the E2 Regulations are to come into force on November 18, 2003, that is, 90 days after the day on which they were registered. Please note that the deadline dates by which some of the requirements under the E2 Regulations must be complied with will be determined by counting from that date of coming into force, as shown in the chart below.

In previous correspondence and communications, Environment Canada has incorrectly indicated to stakeholders that some of the deadline dates under the E2 Regulations would be determined by counting from December 9, 2003 instead of November 18, 2003. This suggested that each of these deadline dates would be 21 days later than it actually is. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

For additional information on the Environmental Emergency Regulations, how they may apply to you and other relevant documentation, please visit Environment Canada's Environmental Emergencies Website.

Paula Caldwell St-Onge
Director General/Directrice générale
National Programs Directorate/Programmes nationaux


Selected Timelines Under the Environmental Emergency Regulations 1
Subsection2RequirementDeadline for ComplianceHow Deadline is Affected by Date of Coming Into Force
3(3)Submit notice pursuant to subsection 3(1) [Notice Regarding the Identification of Substance and Place]

Within 90 days after the later of:

  • (a) the day on which the E2 Regulations come into force; and
  • (b) the day on which the maximum quantity or capacity of the largest container exceed the specified threshold
The deadline determined pursuant to paragraph 3(3)(a) is February 16, 2004
3(6)Submit certification that the information contained in the notice submitted pursuant to subsection 3(1) is accurate and completeThe certification must be submitted at the same time as any notice required under subsection 3(1), 3(4) or 3(5)If a notice is required to be submitted under subsection 3(1) and if the deadline for submitting that notice is determined pursuant to paragraph 3(3)(a), then the deadline for submitting the corresponding certification required under subsection 3(6) is February 16, 2004
4(4)Submit a Report
Regarding the Preparation of an Environmental Emergency Plan

Within 6 months after the later of:

  • (a) the day on which the E2 Regulations come into force; and
  • (b) the day on which a person is first required to prepare an environmental emergency plan under subsection 4(1)
The deadline determined pursuant to paragraph 4(4)(a) is May 18, 2004
4(5)Submit a certification that the information contained in the report under subsection 4(4) is accurate and completeThe certification must be submitted at the same time as the report under subsection 4(4)If the deadline for submitting the report under subsection 4(4) is determined pursuant to paragraph 4(4)(a), then the deadline for submitting the certification is May 18, 2004
5(1)Implement and test the environmental emergency plan and submit a Notice of Implementation and Testing of an Environmental Emergency Plan

The environmental emergency plan must be implemented and tested within 1 year after the later of:

  • (a) the day on which the E2 Regulations come into force; and
  • (b) the day on which a person is first required to prepare an environmental emergency plan under subsection 4(1)
The deadline determined pursuant to paragraph 5(1)(a) is November 18, 2004
5(2)Submit a certification that the information contained in the notice submitted pursuant to subsection 5(1) is accurate and completeThe certification must be submitted at the same time as the notice under subsection 5(1)If the deadline under subsection 5(1) is determined pursuant to paragraph 5(1)(a), then the deadline for submitting the certification is November 18, 2004
6(1)Update and test the environmental emergency planAt least once a yearIf the deadline for implementing and testing the E2 plan is determined pursuant to paragraph 5(1)(a), then the annual deadline for updating and testing the environmental emergency plan is November 18 of each year thereafter

1 - The "E2 Regulations". Disclaimer: This chart sets out timelines under the E2 Regulations that are affected by the date of coming into force of the E2 Regulations. It does not set out all the timelines under the E2 Regulations. It is provided for information purposes only and is not an official version of nor a substitute for the Canadian Environmental Protection Act and/or the E2 Regulations.

2 - Subsections of the E2 Regulations.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Correction concernant de l’information antérieure au sujet du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales

Règlement sur les urgences environnementales pris en vertu de la partie 8 de la LCPE (1999)

Le Règlement sur les urgences environnementales (UE) a été enregistré le 20 août 2003 et publié dans la Gazette du Canada Partie II le 10 septembre 2003.

Nous souhaitons vous aviser que le Règlement sur les UE entrera en vigueur le 18 novembre 2003, soit 90 jours après son enregistrement. Veuillez noter que les dates d'échéance en vertu desquelles certaines des exigences du Règlement sur les UE doivent être satisfaites seront déterminées en comptant à partir de cette date d'entrée en vigueur, tel qu'illustré dans le tableau ci-dessous.

Dans les communications précédentes, Environnement Canada a incorrectement indiqué aux personnes intéressées que certaines des dates d'échéance en vertu du Règlement sur les UE seraient déterminées en comptant à partir du 9 décembre 2003 au lieu du 18 novembre 2003. Cette information laissait entendre que chacune de ces dates d'échéance serait 21 jours plus tard que la date réelle. Nous nous excusons des inconvénients que cette erreur peut avoir causés.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le Règlement sur les UE et son application pour vous ou encore pour obtenir d'autres renseignements, veuillez visiter le site Web d'Environnement Canada sur les urgences environnementales.


Paula Caldwell St-Onge
Directrice générale
Programmes nationaux


Quelques échéanciers du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales 1
Paragraphe2ExigenceÉchéancierComment est affecté l'échéancier par la date d'entrée en vigueur
3(3)Présenter un avis en vertu du paragraphe 3(1)
[Avis sur les substances et les lieux où elles se trouvent]

Dans les 90 jours suivant celle des dates ci-après qui est postérieure à l'autre :

  • (a) la date de l'entrée en vigueur du Règlement;
  • (b) la date où la quantité maximale ou la capacité du plus grand récipient excèdent le seuil prescrit
L'échéancier déterminé en vertu de l'alinéa 3(3)(a) est le 16 février 2004
3(6)Présenter une attestation, signée par elle ou par son représentant, portant que les renseignements figurant dans l'avis sont complets et exacts.L'attestation doit être présentée en même temps qu'un avis présenté en vertu du paragraphe 3(1), 3(4) ou 3(5)Si un avis doit être présenté en vertu du paragraphe 3(1) et si l'échéancier pour présenter cet avis est déterminé selon l'alinéa 3(3)(a), alors, l'échéancier pour présenter en vertu du paragraphe 3(6) l'attestation correspondant à cet avis est le 16 février 2004
4(4)Présenter un rapport portant sur l'élaboration d'un plan d'urgence environnementale

Dans les six mois suivant celle des dates ci-après qui est postérieure à l'autre :

  • (a) la date de l'entrée en vigueur du Règlement;
  • (b) la date où la personne est tenue d'élaborer un plan d'urgence environnementale en application du paragraphe 4(1)
L'échéancier déterminé en vertu de l'alinéa 4(4)(a) est le 18 mai 2004
4(5)Présenter une attestation, signée par elle ou par son représentant, portant que les renseignements figurant dans le rapport conforme au paragraphe 4(4) sont complets et exacts.Les renseignements doivent être présentés en même temps que l'information requise en vertu du paragraphe 4(4)Si l'échéancier pour présenter le rapport en vertu du paragraphe 4(4) est déterminé selon l'alinéa 4(4)(a), alors l'échéancier pour présenter l'attestation est le 18 mai 2004
5(1)Exécuter et mettre à l'essai le plan d'urgence environnementale et soumettre un avis comportant les renseignements prévus sur l'exécution et la mise à l'essai du planDans l'année suivant celle des dates ci-après qui est postérieure à l'autre :
(a) la date de l'entrée en vigueur du Règlement;
(b) la date où la personne est tenue d'élaborer un plan d'urgence environnementale en application du paragraphe 4(1)

L'échéancier déterminé en vertu de l'alinéa 5(1)(a) est le 18 novembre 2004
5(2)Présenter une attestation, signée par elle ou par son représentant, portant que les renseignements figurant dans le rapport conforme au paragraphe 5(1) sont complets et exacts.Les renseignements doivent être présentés en même temps que l'information requise en vertu du paragraphe 5(1)Si l'échéancier en vertu du paragraphe 5(1) est déterminé selon l'alinéa 5(1)(a), alors l'échéancier pour présenter l'attestation est le 18 novembre 2004
6(1)Tenir à jour et mettre à l'essai le plan d'urgence environnementaleAu moins une fois par annéeSi l'échéancier pour l'exécution et la mise à l'essai du plan d'urgence environnementale est déterminé en vertu de l'alinéa 5(1)(a), alors l'échéancier annuel pour l'exécution et la mise à l'essai du plan est le 18 novembre de chaque année suivante

1 - Le «Règlement». Avertissement: Ce tableau énonce des échéanciers en vertu du Règlement qui sont affectés par la date d'entrée en vigueur du Règlement. Ce tableau n'illustre pas tous les échéanciers prévus par le Règlement. Ces renseignements sont fournis à titre d'information seulement et ce tableau n'est pas une version officielle ou suppléante de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999 et/ou du Règlement.

2 - Paragraphes du Règlement.

Date de modification :