This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

ARCHIVED - Government Response to Proposed COA

I - General Comments and Questions

Support for COA: Many of the comments received indicated support for the overall and/or specific aspects of the draft Canada-Ontario Agreement Respecting the Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem. Comments of support were also provided to related government initiatives such as the recent Canada Gazette publication of the Regulations for the Prevention of Pollution from Ships and for Dangerous Chemicals, and the Canadian National Ballast Water Database.

Response: The first COA was signed in 1971 and has been renewed six times, most recently in 2002. COA outlines how the governments of Canada and Ontario will cooperate and coordinate their efforts to improve environmental quality of the Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem. Each time COA has been renewed it has been revised to ensure it remains relevant to the environmental challenges in the Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem. COA has evolved from having its initial focus on nutrients and water quality, resulting in waste-water infrastructure upgrades, to a broader ecosystem approach.

Stakeholder and Aboriginal Community Participation: Many commenters raised the issue of stakeholder and Aboriginal community participation in the implementation of COA and planning for future Great Lakes initiatives. A variety of possible approaches were suggested.

Response: Stakeholder and Aboriginal community participation is a cornerstone of COA and essential to the successful implementation of the Agreement. Canada is committed to the implementation of COA through an open and transparent manner incorporating stakeholder opinion and advice, as reflected in Article III. Key elements of COA including the Remedial Action Plan process in AOCs, the lakewide programs, the Binational Toxics Strategy and the State of the Lakes Ecosystem Conference already incorporate and promote extensive opportunities for the public.

Consistent with Article VI of COA, Canada will continue to work with stakeholders to explore ways to enhance participation in implementation and future planning. Canada and Ontario will consult further with municipalities, industries, non-government organizations and others on the best means to enhance effective and efficient stakeholder participation.

Similarly, Canada will continue to work with Aboriginal communities to explore ways to enhance participation in COA implementation and future planning and will consult further with Aboriginal communities on the best means to enhance effective and efficient participation.

Collaboration and Capacity Building: A comment was made recommending enhanced collaboration and capacity building with organizations such as Conservation Authorities, Municipalities and the Great Lakes and St. Lawrence Cities Initiative.

Response: Accomplishments in the restoration and protection of the Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem to date could not have been made without the support of all levels of government, industry, communities, Aboriginal peoples and environmental groups.

Conservation Authorities, municipalities, industry, non-governmental organizations, Aboriginal communities and individuals are engaged at the community level through the Remedial Action Plans process in support of Areas of Concern, in assessing and restoring ecosystem health on a lake scale though the lakewide programs, and in reducing Harmful Pollutants which threaten the health of the Lakes through the Binational Toxics Strategy.

COA contains new commitments to increase awareness and stewardship actions (Annex 3, Result 1.1 and 1.2) through enhanced collaboration among a broad range of stakeholders.

Changes to the Agreement: In addition to minor edits, a number of comments were received providing suggestions for specific revisions of the various goals, results and commitments throughout the draft Agreement.

Response: These recommendations are valuable in a number of ways, but do not necessarily require revisions to the Agreement. Rather, many of the comments will inform the implementation of the Agreement over the next three years. Others speak to the enhancement of Great Lakes programs and initiatives and these will be valuable concepts to explore further in collaboration with the Great Lakes community.

COA Linkages to Other Great Lakes Initiatives: A number of questions were received about COA's link to other Great Lakes initiatives and programs, such as the Canada-U.S. Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement (and its current review), the State of Lakes Ecosystem Conference and the International Joint Commission's Upper Great Lakes Study.

Response: COA commits Canada and Ontario to work together in a cooperative, coordinated and integrated fashion with each other and with others in the Basin.

COA's implementation contributes to meeting Canada's obligations under the Canada-U.S. Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement (GLWQA). A commitment has been made to consider the recommendations and results of GLWQA review when conducting a COA review in 2009 (Article X).

Many government-supported initiatives such as the Great Lakes Binational Toxics Strategy, State of the Lakes ecosystem reporting and the State of the Lakes Ecosystem Conference (SOLEC) help support COA commitments. SOLEC for example, brings together information on indicators and has been identified to be one of the vehicles to report publicly on the state of each lake (Commitment 3-1.1b). Information and expertise resulting from SOLEC is relevant to other COA commitments such as adopting meaningful indicators and reporting on the status and trends in water quality and aquatic ecosystem health (Commitments 4-2.2a and b).

The Upper Great Lakes Study is a separate initiative managed by the International Joint Commission (IJC) with support from Canada and Ontario. Science and monitoring information developed under COA will be made available to the IJC for use in the Upper Great Lakes Study.

Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999: It was questioned why COA is under CEPA 1999.

Response: The Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) is an important part of Canada's federal environmental legislation aimed at preventing pollution and protecting the environment and human health. A key aspect of CEPA 1999 is the prevention and management of risks posed by toxic and other harmful substances. This aspect encompasses COA goals, results, and commitments that address harmful substances. Thus Section 9 of CEPA 1999 must be respected.

Polluter Pays: A commenter suggested that existing regulations should stipulate that companies that are convicted of polluting pay fines to relevant environmental non-government organization.

Response: Specific environmental regulations are determined through processes other than COA.

Action-oriented and Measurable Agreement: Some comments suggested that in order to achieve the vision of the Agreement that more of the goals, results and/or commitments should be "specific, measurable, accountable, results-oriented and time-based".

Response: Most of the challenges and stresses in the Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem are long-term and require a long-term commitment to action. The Agreement articulates what each level of government, either together or separately, will undertake to achieve the identified results and commitments under each of the goals. The Agreement reflects goals, results and commitments that are achievable over its duration by aligning, where applicable, many national and regional programs. Every effort was made to articulate commitments in a manner which is specific, measurable, accountable and results-oriented, and performance indicators will be adopted and used to evaluate and communicate on progress.

Responsibility for the Great Lakes: One commenter noted that it is the Government of Canada's responsibility to ensure strong protection of the waters of the Great Lakes Basin through legislation, enforcing existing legislation, and developing and funding programs to address emerging threats and remediate the waters of the Basin.

Response: The Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem is a shared resource and a shared responsibility. Given the shared jurisdiction for the environment, the federal and provincial governments must work together, and with others including municipalities and conservation authorities to conserve, restore and protect the Great Lakes Basin.

COA is an important mechanism outlining how the governments of Canada and Ontario will cooperate and coordinate their efforts to improve environmental quality of the Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem, and to ensure the two governments are working an integrated fashion with each other, and with others in the Basin. Canada will continue to explore ways to enhance how the Great Lakes community works together.

New Vision and Program for Great Lakes: Comments were received expressing the desire for a new vision and new initiatives for the Great Lakes.

Response: COA contains a high-level vision of a healthy, prosperous and sustainable Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem for present and future generations. COA will ensure coordinated action between Canada and Ontario toward this vision by addressing existing and emerging issues. As the Great Lakes are shared waters with the United States, the Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement (GLWQA) guides the actions for both countries toward common basin-wide objectives. The current review of the GLWQA provides an opportunity to consider the future vision and new initiatives for the Great Lakes.

Great Lakes Governance: A comment was received encouraging the governments to undertake a comprehensive assessment of Great Lakes governance. A comment was received that the Government of Canada should establish a "Great Lakes Coordinating Office" to enhance the profile of the Great Lakes in the federal government. A commenter recommended that COA be signed by the heads of the respective governments of Canada and Ontario.

Response: Great Lakes governance is being examined through the review of the Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement.

Environment Canada plays a lead role in coordinating federal efforts to restore, protect and conserve the Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem, and serves as Canadian Chair of both the Binational (Great Lakes) Executive Committee and the Canada-Ontario Agreement Management Committee.

Federal ministers who are signatory to the Agreement represent Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

ARCHIVÉE - Réponse du gouvernement aux commentaires reçus - Projet d'ACO

I - Questions et commentaires d'ordre général

Appui à l'ACO : Bon nombre des commentaires appuyaient la totalité ou certains aspects du projet d'Accord Canada-Ontario concernant l'écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs. On a aussi reçu des commentaires à l'appui d'initiatives gouvernementales connexes, telles que la base de données nationale sur les eaux de ballast du Canada et le Règlement sur la prévention de la pollution par les navires et sur les produits chimiques dangereux, qui a été publié récemment dans la Gazette du Canada.

Réponse : Le premier ACO a été signé en 1971 et, depuis, il a été renouvelé six fois, le plus récemment en 2002. L'ACO décrit comment les gouvernements du Canada et de l'Ontario collaboreront et coordonneront leurs efforts pour améliorer la qualité de l'environnement de l'écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs. L'ACO a été révisé à chaque renouvellement de façon à en assurer la pertinence par rapport aux défis écologiques que présente l'écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs. L'ACO a évolué. Au début, il était axé sur les nutriments et la qualité de l'eau, ce qui a permis de moderniser l'infrastructure de traitement des eaux usées, alors que maintenant il privilégie une approche écosystémique globale.

Participation des communautés autochtones et des intervenants : De nombreux auteurs ont soulevé la question de la participation des communautés autochtones et des intervenants à la mise en oeuvre de l'ACO et à l'élaboration des prochaines initiatives des Grands Lacs. Divers moyens ont été proposés.

Réponse : La participation des communautés autochtones et des intervenants constitue un élément essentiel de l'ACO et de son application. Aux termes de l'article III, le Canada s'est engagé à mettre en oeuvre l'ACO en faisant preuve d'ouverture et de transparence et en tenant compte du point de vue des intervenants. Des éléments clés de l'ACO, tels que le processus de plan d'assainissement dans les secteurs préoccupants (SP), les programmes panlacustres, la Stratégie binationale relative aux substances toxiques des Grands Lacs et la Conférence sur l'état de l'écosystème des Lacs, offrent déjà de nombreuses possibilités de participation au public.

Conformément à l'article VI de l'ACO, le Canada continuera de chercher avec les intervenants des moyens d'accroître leur participation à la mise en oeuvre de l'Accord et à l'élaboration des prochaines initiatives. Le Canada et l'Ontario consulteront davantage les municipalités, les industries, les organisations non gouvernementales et d'autres intéressés pour découvrir les meilleurs moyens de favoriser une participation efficace des intervenants.

De même, le Canada continuera de collaborer avec les communautés autochtones à la recherche de moyens d'accroître leur participation à la mise en oeuvre de l'ACO et à l'élaboration des prochaines initiatives. Il consultera davantage ces communautés sur les moyens les plus à même de favoriser une participation efficace.

Renforcement de la collaboration et des capacités : Un commentaire nous a recommandé d'améliorer la collaboration avec des organisations telles que les autorités de conservation, les municipalités et l'Alliance des villes des Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent et de renforcer les capacités de ces organisations.

Réponse : Les progrès accomplis jusqu'à présent dans la restauration et la protection de l'écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs n'auraient pu être accomplis sans l'appui de tous les niveaux de gouvernement, de l'industrie, des collectivités, des peuples autochtones et des groupes écologiques.

Les autorités de conservation, les municipalités, l'industrie, les organisations non gouvernementales, les communautés autochtones et les citoyens jouent un rôle à l'échelle communautaire en prenant part au processus de plan d'assainissement dans les secteurs préoccupants, en évaluant et en restaurant la santé de l'écosystème à l'échelle des lacs dans le cadre des programmes panlacustres et en réduisant les polluants dangereux qui menacent la santé des lacs dans le cadre de la Stratégie binationale relative aux substances toxiques des Grands Lacs.

L'ACO 2007 comporte de nouvelles obligations visant à accroître la connaissance des Grands Lacs et les mesures d'intendance (annexe 3, résultat 1.1 et 1.2) grâce à une collaboration plus étroite entre un large éventail d'intervenants.

Modifications du projet d'Accord : Certains commentaires ont recommandé des modifications mineures, d'autres ont proposé une révision précise de divers objectifs, résultats et obligations de l'Accord.

Réponse : Ces recommandations sont utiles à bien des égards, mais ne commandent pas forcément une révision de l'Accord. Cependant, nombre d'entre elles orienteront la mise en oeuvre de l'Accord au cours des trois prochaines années. Les propositions d'amélioration de programmes et d'initiatives contiennent des concepts qu'il sera intéressant d'explorer plus à fond avec la collectivité des Grands Lacs.

Liens entre l'ACO et d'autres initiatives des Grands Lacs: On a posé un certain nombre de questions sur le lien entre l'ACO et d'autres initiatives et programmes consacrés aux Grands Lacs, tels que l'Accord Canada-États-Unis relatif à la qualité de l'eau dans les Grands Lacs (et son examen en cours), la Conférence sur l'état de l'écosystème des Lacs et l'étude du secteur supérieur des Grands Lacs dirigée par la Commission mixte internationale.

Réponse : L'ACO oblige le Canada et l'Ontario à travailler ensemble et avec d'autres intervenants d'une manière coopérative, coordonnée et intégrée dans le bassin des Grands Lacs.

La mise en oeuvre de l'ACO aide le Canada à s'acquitter de ses obligations au titre de l'Accord Canada-États-Unis relatif à la qualité de l'eau dans les Grands Lacs. Le Canada s'est engagé à tenir compte des résultats et des recommandations de l'examen de ce dernier lorsqu'il procéderait à l'examen de l'ACO en 2009 (article X).

De nombreuses initiatives subventionnées par l'État, telles que la Stratégie binationale relative aux substances toxiques des Grands Lacs, la production de rapports sur l'état des lacs et la Conférence sur l'état de l'écosystème des Lacs (CEEL) contribuent au respect des obligations énoncées dans l'ACO. La CEEL, par exemple, permet de recueillir des renseignements sur les indicateurs et constitue l'un des moyens par lesquels on rend compte au public de l'état de chaque lac (obligation 3-1.1b). Les informations et l'expertise acquises à la CEEL nous sont utiles pour honorer d'autres obligations prévues dans l'ACO, telles que l'adoption d'indicateurs valables et la production de rapports sur l'état et les tendances de la qualité de l'eau et de la santé de l'écosystème aquatique (obligations 4-2.2a et b).

L'étude du secteur supérieur des Grands Lacs est une initiative distincte, gérée par la Commission mixte internationale (CMI) avec l'appui du Canada et de l'Ontario. Les données scientifiques et de surveillance recueillies dans le cadre de l'ACO seront mises à la disposition de la CMI, qui pourra s'en servir pour réaliser l'étude du secteur supérieur des Grands Lacs.

Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) : On a demandé pourquoi l'ACO relevait de la LCPE (1999).

Réponse : La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] constitue une partie importante de la législation environnementale fédérale du Canada visant à prévenir la pollution et à protéger l'environnement et la santé humaine. Un aspect clé de la LCPE (1999) est la prévention et la gestion des risques posés par les substances toxiques ou dangereuses Cet aspect concerne les objectifs, les résultats et les obligations de l'ACO qui portent sur les substances dangereuses. On doit donc respecter l'article 9 de la LCPE (1999).

Pollueur-payeur : Selon un auteur, les règlements en vigueur devraient stipuler que les entreprises qui sont condamnées pour pollution verseront une amende à l'organisation environnementale non gouvernementale compétente.

Réponse : Chaque règlement environnemental est élaboré suivant des processus qui ne sont pas ceux de l'ACO.

Accord pragmatique et résultats mesurables : Certains auteurs sont d'avis que pour concrétiser la vision de l'Accord, il faudrait accroître le nombre d'objectifs, de résultats ou d'obligations qui sont « précis, mesurables, responsables, axés sur des réalisations concrètes et définis dans le temps ».

Réponse : Ce sont pour la plupart des défis et des stress à long terme qui sont liés à l'écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs, et ils exigent un engagement pragmatique à long terme. L'Accord précise les mesures que chaque niveau de gouvernement, seul ou avec d'autres intervenants, prendra en vue d'atteindre les résultats et de s'acquitter des obligations se rattachant à chaque objectif. L'ACO comporte des objectifs, des résultats et des obligations qu'on peut réaliser avant la date d'expiration de l'Accord en adaptant, s'il y a lieu, de nombreux programmes nationaux et régionaux. Dans la mesure du possible, les obligations sont précises, mesurables, responsables et axées sur des réalisations concrètes, et on adoptera des indicateurs de performance pour évaluer et communiquer les progrès.

Responsabilité à l'égard des Grands Lacs : Un auteur a observé qu'il incombe au gouvernement du Canada d'assurer la protection des eaux du bassin des Grands Lacs en adoptant de nouvelles lois, en appliquant les lois en vigueur et en élaborant et en finançant des programmes qui permettront de contrer les nouvelles menaces et d'assainir les eaux du bassin.

Réponse : L'écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs est une ressource commune et une responsabilité partagée. Compte tenu de la compétence partagée dans le domaine de l'environnement, les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux doivent travailler ensemble et avec d'autres intervenants, y compris les municipalités et les autorités de conservation, à la préservation, à la restauration et à la protection du bassin des Grands Lacs.

L'ACO est un mécanisme important, qui décrit la façon dont les gouvernements du Canada et de l'Ontario collaboreront et coordonneront leurs efforts pour améliorer la qualité du milieu de l'écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs. L'ACO garantit en outre que les deux gouvernements travailleront ensemble et avec d'autres intervenants d'une manière intégrée. Le Canada continuera de chercher des façons d'améliorer la collaboration entre les membres de la collectivité des Grands Lacs.

Nouvelle vision et nouveau programme pour les Grands Lacs : Des commentaires ont fait état d'un désir de nouvelle vision et de nouvelles initiatives pour les Grands Lacs.

Réponse : L'ACO est guidé par une vision de haut niveau, celle d'un écosystème sain, prospère et durable dans le bassin des Grands Lacs pour le bénéfice des générations actuelles et futures. L'ACO garantit que le Canada et l'Ontario cordonneront leur action visant à concrétiser cette vision en s'attaquant aux problèmes qui se posent actuellement et à ceux qui se dessinent.

Comme nous partageons les eaux des Grands Lacs avec les États-Unis, l'Accord Canada-États-Unis relatif à la qualité de l'eau dans les Grands Lacs oriente les mesures prises par les deux pays pour atteindre les objectifs communs à l'échelle du bassin. L'examen actuel de l'Accord Canada-États-Unis nous donne une occasion de réfléchir à la vision et aux initiatives que nous voulons adopter dans l'avenir pour les Grands Lacs.

Gestion publique des Grands Lacs : Un auteur a encouragé les gouvernements à effectuer une évaluation complète de la gestion publique des Grands Lacs. Un deuxième estime que le gouvernement du Canada devrait établir un « bureau de coordination, Grands Lacs » pour améliorer le profil des Grands Lacs au sein du gouvernement fédéral. Un troisième a recommandé de faire signer l'ACO par les chefs respectifs des gouvernements du Canada et de l'Ontario.

Réponse : La gestion publique des Grands Lacs est présentement examinée dans le cadre de l'Accord sur la qualité de l'eau dans les Grands Lacs.

Environnement Canada joue un rôle déterminant dans la coordination des mesures fédérales visant à restaurer, à protéger et à préserver l'écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs. Il agit en outre à titre de président canadien du Comité exécutif binational des Grands Lacs ainsi que du Comité de gestion de l'ACO.

Les ministres fédéraux qui signent l'Accord représentent Sa Majesté la reine du chef du Canada.

Date de modification :