This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

ARCHIVED - A Guide to the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 March 2000

Part 9: Government Operations and Federal and Aboriginal Land (Sections 206 - 215)

Under Canada's Constitution, provincial laws do not normally apply to the federal Crown. This means that provincial and territorial regulations covering emissions, effluents, environmental emergencies, waste handling, and any other environmental matter do not, for the most part, cover federal government operations and land, including aboriginal land. The entities covered by Part 9 are often referred to as the "federal house" and include federal departments, agencies, boards, commissions, federal Crown corporations, federal works and undertakings like banks, airlines and broadcasting systems, federal land, as well as aboriginal land.

Part 9 of CEPA 1999 provides the authority to fill this regulatory gap so that the "federal house" is covered by the same type of environmental regulations as entities regulated by provinces.

This Part also allows the Minister to establish objectives, guidelines and codes of practice for the "federal house."

Date modified: