Canada – United States Regulatory Cooperation Council (RCC)

Regulatory Partnership Statement between the United States Environmental Protection Agency and Environment Canada

Environment Canada (EC) and the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) are committed to continue working together to deliver benefits for the public, industry and regulators while maintaining consumer protection, health, safety, security and the environment. 

The Canada-United States Regulatory Cooperation Council’s (RCC) Joint Forward Plan set out commitments for Canadian and U.S. regulatory departments and agencies to establish Regulatory Partnership Statements that include: high-level governance between them and a commitment to work together moving forward; opportunities for stakeholders to provide input, inform strategies, identify priorities and discuss progress on initiatives; and  a mechanism for annual reviews of work plans to consider adjustments and provide status updates on the progress. 

Purpose:

The following is a general description of how EC and EPA will work together going forward, which builds on EC’s and EPA’s long history of cooperative work.  This Regulatory Partnership Statement outlines a consistent and predictable mechanism for engaging with stakeholders bi-nationally, with an aim to facilitate opportunities and reduce barriers to alignment, including minimizing the duplication of effort on key assessment and scientific tools.

Scope of Work:

The focus of this current work is in chemical regulation:   EC’s Science and Technology Branch, in partnership with Health Canada’s Healthy Environments and Consumer Safety Branch, and the (EPA) Office of Pollution Prevention and Toxics will advance aspects of cooperation on chemicals regulation, with a focus on chemical risk assessment, under the RCC.   

The scope of the work to be undertaken under this Regulatory Partnership will vary over time, depending on the agencies’ respective needs and priorities and the views of stakeholders, but will center on work that will support chemical risk assessment including, but not limited to, areas such as:

  • information gathering;
  • information sharing;
  • technical work-sharing;
  • scientific collaboration;
  • international collaboration; and,
  • risk assessment methodology.

The agencies are open to other areas of potential cooperation, including areas of cooperation based on input from stakeholders.  If the agencies agree, additional work areas may be pursued, and the Governance structure may be modified if necessary.

Governance:

The lead authorities responsible for this Regulatory Partnership Statement are at the Assistant Deputy Minister level, Environment Canada, and the Assistant Administrator for EPA's Office of Chemical Safety and Pollution Prevention.  For EPA, the Assistant Administrator will delegate much of the responsibilities of this RPS to the Deputy Director of EPA’s Office of Pollution Prevention and Toxics.  For EC, the Assistant Deputy Minister will delegate much of responsibilities for this RPS to the Director General of Environment Canada’s Science and Risk Assessment Directorate, senior Health Canada representative as appropriate.   Both lead authorities, however, will continue to provide overall direction in this area. A lead authorities meeting will be held annually to discuss the overall scope of cooperation between the three agencies, including the progress of ongoing work plans, and short, medium and long term bilateral and multilateral priorities.  Key stakeholders from each jurisdiction will be invited to attend a portion of periodic governance meetings dedicated to discussion with the departmental leads on medium- and long-term alignment opportunities. 

The meetings will also be used to discuss how Environment Canada, in partnership with Health Canada, and EPA can continue to align these efforts with on-going work under the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and will leverage this forum to further dialogue with stakeholders.

Work Planning:

Directors in Environment Canada’s Science and Risk Assessment Directorate, Health Canada’s Safe Environments Directorate and EPA’s Office of Pollution Prevention and Toxics, who are implicated in current and potential areas of work, will meet regularly to review progress of ongoing work plans and to develop new ones.  Based on priorities identified by lead authorities, work plans will be a product of mutual agreement between the regulatory partners, and will focus on tangible benefits for regulators and stakeholders. Work plans will be informed by emerging issues and stakeholder input and priorities and can be adjusted throughout the year, as new challenges or priorities arise. Work plans may contain both internal government-to-government activities and activities involving stakeholders.

Environment Canada, Health Canada, and EPA are committed to the continuation and strengthening of on-going collaboration with stakeholders under this new phase of RCC.  Stakeholders will have regular opportunities to engage on RCC initiatives during targeted stakeholder meetings, teleconferences and webinars for both priority setting and workplan development.  Stakeholders will be asked to organize themselves bi-nationally and identify regulatory challenges and opportunities to the degree possible.

RCC workplans will be posted on the Environment Canada website and US Department of Commerce, International Trade Administration website. Deliverables and timelines will be provided along with key contact points for further information.

Date modified:

Conseil Canada-États-Unis de coopération en matière de réglementation (CCR)

Énoncé de partenariat en matière de réglementation entre la United States Environmental Protection Agency et Environnement Canada

Environnement Canada (EC) et l’Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) des États-Unis s’engagent à continuer à travailler ensemble pour fournir des bénéfices positifs au public, à l’industrie et aux organismes de réglementation, tout en maintenant la protection des consommateurs, la santé, la sûreté, la sécurité et l’environnement. 

Le Plan prospectif conjoint du Conseil Canada-États-Unis de coopération en matière de réglementation (CCR) a permis d’établir des engagements pour les ministères et organismes de réglementation du Canda et des É.-U. afin d’établir des Énoncés de partenariat en matière de réglementation qui comprennent : une gouvernance de haut niveau entre eux et un engagement à travailler en collaboration à l’avenir; des possibilités pour les intervenants à fournir des suggestions, d’appuyer des stratégies, de déterminer des priorités et de discuter des progrès accomplis à l’égard des initiatives; un mécanisme pour les examens annuels des plans de travail pour prendre en considération des modifications et fournir des mises à jour sur l’état des progrès. 

Objectif

Voici une description générale de la façon dont EC et l’EPA travailleront ensemble à l’avenir, qui repose sur le travail en collaboration de longue date entre EC et l’EPA. Cet énoncé de partenariat présente un mécanisme uniforme et prévisible pour engager le dialogue avec les intervenants des deux nations dans un but de favoriser les possibilités et de réduire ce qui empêche l’harmonisation, y compris de réduire au minimum le dédoublement des efforts sur les principaux outils scientifiques et d’évaluation.

Portée des travaux

Le centre d’intérêt de ce travail actuel est la réglementation des produits chimiques : la Direction des sciences et de la technologie d’EC, en partenariat avec la Direction générale de la santé environnementale et de la sécurité des consommateurs de Santé Canada et l’Office of Pollution Prevention and Toxics de l’EPA feront avancer des aspects de la coopération sur la réglementation des produits chimiques avec un centre d’intérêt sur l’évaluation des risques liés aux produits chimiques, dans le cadre du CCR.  

La portée du travail à entreprendre dans le cadre de cet énoncé de partenariat variera au fil du temps, en fonction des besoins et priorités respectifs des organismes et des opinions des intervenants, mais elle sera centrée sur le travail qui soutiendra l’évaluation du risque lié aux produits chimiques, y compris, sans s’y limiter, aux secteurs suivants :

  • la collecte de renseignements;
  • l’échange de renseignements;
  • le partage du travail technique;
  • la collaboration scientifique;
  • la collaboration internationale;
  • la méthodologie d’évaluation des risques.

Les organismes sont ouverts à d’autres secteurs éventuels de collaboration, y compris les secteurs de collaboration fondés sur les suggestions par les intervenants. Si les organismes conviennent, des secteurs de travail supplémentaires peuvent être poursuivis et la structure de gouvernance peut être modifiée, au besoin.

Gouvernance

Les autorités focales responsables de cet énoncé de partenariat réglementaire sont au niveau du sous-ministre adjoint, Environnement Canada et de l’administrateur adjoint pour l’Office of Chemical Safety and Pollution Prevention de l’EPA. Pour l’EPA, l’administrateur adjoint déléguera la plupart des responsabilités de cet EPR au directeur adjoint de l’Office of Pollution Prevention and Toxics de l’EPA. Pour EC, le sous-ministre adjoint déléguera une grande partie des responsabilités de cet EPR au directeur général de la Direction des sciences et de l’évaluation des risques d’Environnement Canada, représentant principal de Santé Canada, au besoin. Les deux autorités focales, cependant, continueront à fournir une orientation générale dans ce domaine. Une réunion des autorités focales aura lieu annuellement afin de discuter de la portée d’ensemble de la coopération entre les trois organismes, y compris la progression des plans de travail continus et des priorités multilatérales à court, moyen et long terme. Des intervenants clés de chaque territoire sont invités à une partie des réunions de gouvernance périodiques dédiées aux discussions avec les dirigeants ministériels sur les possibilités d’harmonisation à moyen et à long terme. 

Les réunions sont aussi l’occasion de discuter de la manière dont Environnement Canada, en partenariat avec Santé Canada et l’EPA, peut continuer à harmoniser leurs efforts au travail continu de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) et à tirer profit de ce forum pour d’autres discussions avec les intervenants.

Planification du travail

Les directeurs de la Direction des sciences et de l’évaluation des risques d’Environnement Canada, de la Direction de la sécurité des milieux de Santé Canada et de l’Office of Pollution Prevention and Toxics de l’EPA, qui prennent part aux secteurs de travail actuels et possibles, se réuniront régulièrement pour revoir le progrès des plans de travail continus et pour en élaborer de nouveaux. Selon les priorités établies par les autorités focales, les plans de travail seront le fruit d’un accord mutuel entre les partenaires de réglementation et seront centrés sur les avantages tangibles des régulateurs et des intervenants. Les plans de travail seront fondés sur les enjeux émergents, de même que sur les avis et les priorités des intervenants. Ils seront redressés tout au long de l’année, alors que les nouveaux défis et les priorités apparaissent. Les plans de travail peuvent prévoir à la fois des activités entre les gouvernements et des activités auxquelles les intervenants participent.

Environnement Canada, Santé Canada, et l’EPA souhaitent que se poursuive et se renforcisse la collaboration continue avec les intervenants dans le cadre de cette phase du CCR. Les intervenants auront des occasions continues de prendre part aux initiatives relatives au CCR durant des réunions, des téléconférences et des webinaires ciblés que nous tiendrons avec eux, pour établir les priorités et élaborer le plan de travail. Nous demanderons aux intervenants des deux nations de s’organiser entre eux et de cerner des défis et des possibilités réglementaires, dans la mesure du possible.

Les plans de travail du CCR seront affichés sur le site Web d’Environnement Canada et sur celui du Department of Commerce des États-Unis, International Trade Administration. Les résultats attendus et les échéanciers seront fournis avec les principaux points de contact pour plus de renseignements.

Date de modification :