This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Biodiversity, the uncounted variety among living things on the planet, supply food, medicines, timber and fuel, and play a fundamental role in providing breathable air, fertile soils and in stabilizing climates.

An estimated 40 per cent of the global economy is based on biological products and processes, with Canada’s own economic well-being intrinsically reliant on the services provided by biodiversity and natural ecosystems. An important component of Canada’s wealth is in its variety of genes, species and ecosystems and the ecological processes that allow them to evolve and adapt to a changing world. For instance, genetic diversity is nature’s insurance policy as it assures ecological resilience and creates options for future innovation. Biodiversity is a fundamental part of the solution in ensuring clean water, protection from pests and disease outbreaks; and in providing varieties in prescription drugs and in traditional medicines.

Environment Canada manages the implementation of several multilateral and bilateral agreements, such as the Convention on Biological Diversity and the Canada-U.S. Convention for the Protection of Migratory Birds. Biodiversity plays an important role in food security and combating poverty in many countries.

Issues of biodiversity and nature are highly linked, and thus cut across many forums and organizations. Canada is an active player internationally to ensure our views on protecting and enhancing biodiversity are integrated into international agreements and activities of international organizations that significantly affect our prosperity, society and natural environment.  

For further information on Environment Canada's work on biodiversity, please go to Biodiversity under the Nature section.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Biodiversité

La biodiversité, la grande variété des êtres vivants de la planète, est source de nourriture, de médicaments, de bois et de combustible et est essentielle à la production d’un air respirable et de sols fertiles, et à la stabilisation des climats.

Il est estimé que 40 p. 100 de l’économie mondiale repose sur des produits et des processus biologiques. Le bon fonctionnement de l’économie du Canada est intrinsèquement dépendant de la biodiversité et des écosystèmes naturels. Une partie importante de la richesse du Canada réside dans la diversité génétique, la diversité des espèces et la diversité des écosystèmes et des processus écologiques qui leur permettent d’évoluer et de s’adapter à un monde en changement. Par exemple, la diversité génétique est la police d’assurance de la nature car elle assure la résilience écologique et offre des possibilités d’innovation. La biodiversité est un élément fondamental pour l’obtention d’une eau saine, la protection contre les ravageurs et les épidémies, et l’obtention de tout un éventail de médicaments modernes ou traditionnels.

Environnement Canada gère la mise en œuvre de plusieurs ententes multilatérales et bilatérales, telles la Convention sur la diversité biologique et la Convention pour la protection des oiseaux migrateurs au Canada et aux États-Unis. La biodiversité est importante pour obtenir la sécurité alimentaire et lutter contre la pauvreté dans de nombreux pays.

Les enjeux relatifs à la biodiversité et à la nature sont étroitement liés et sont donc débattus dans de nombreux forums et organisations. Le Canada est actif au niveau international afin de garantir l’inclusion de nos perspectives quant à la protection et la mise en valeur de la biodiversité dans les ententes internationales et les activités des organisations internationales qui peuvent avoir une influence significative sur sur notre prospérité, notre société et notre environnement naturel.              

La section Nature de la rubrique Biodiversité contient de l'information supplémentaire sur les réalisations d’Environnement Canada en matière de biodiversité.

Date de modification :