This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Guidance on the Reporting of Tailings and Waste Rock to the National Pollutant Release Inventory

Addendum (March, 2012)

This guidance deals with the following issues surrounding the required reporting of substances in tailings and waste rock (TWR) to the NPRI.

  1. Sampling and analysis requirements for the reporting of “reasonable” information
  2. Clarification as to when a “mine” is considered to be a “facility” subject to the reporting needs
  3. Specification of “reportable” tailings produced from oil sands mines
  4. Reporting considerations for “selenium” as a result of the reporting threshold changes for 2011

1. Sampling and Analysis Requirements

The Canada Gazette notice for NPRI specifies who must report and what must be reported on an annual basis. The facility owner/operator is required to provide the information which he/she possesses or may reasonably be expected to have access to, and should take reasonable steps to acquire the information to comply with the requirements set out in the Notice.

Mines often have many measurements available to them from their initial mineral exploration activities and from environmental impact studies required during the permitting process. Significant volumes of waste rock may be collected and analyzed during exploration and development in order to determine their acid generating potential. Once production starts, tailings are often measured to ensure effective process control. While these measurements may be conducted for non-NPRI purposes, they should nevertheless be evaluated to see whether they would provide the information required to comply with the NPRI notice. If the information is still missing, then “reasonable” steps must be taken to acquire sufficient information to comply with the Notice.

What is “reasonable” depends on the circumstances at each facility and should therefore be determined on a case by case basis. Generally, what is “reasonable” must take into account a number of factors including:

  • The size and complexity of the mining operation;
  • The likelihood of releases and the potentials for harm from the NPRI substances in the waste rock or tailings; and
  • The costs involved for any additional sampling and analysis to obtain the required information

Given the above considerations, an appropriate sampling and measurement plan should be in place and revised as appropriate as conditions change.

The sampling of waste rock and tailings represents a unique challenge since it involves many types and textures of wastes that are present at different types of disposal management areas (e.g. waste rock heaps in dry solid form, tailings piles in dry solid form, slurry tailings in ponds). Furthermore, there are relatively few standard reference methods available which describe the sampling techniques used to characterize the substances of interest in tailings and waste rock. The document cited below is perhaps the most appropriate and comprehensive reference source that can be referred to for TWR sampling:

A variety of analytical techniques are available for the geochemical analysis of mine wastes. The reference websites listed below provide further details on various analytical techniques that are used in the detection and quantification of the substances of interest in mine tailings and waste rock:


2. Clarification on the Definition of a “Mine” Subject to the Reporting Needs

A mining facility should be regarded as a “facility” for NPRI purposes once it is in the development phase (as shown in the Mining Sequence diagram in Figure 1) and construction of a pit or access ramps etc. have commenced.  During the development phase, large quantities of waste rock would be generated and the mines are expected to be able to readily obtain sufficient data on substances contained in waste rock for “reasonable” reporting as a result of the sampling and analysis activities required for the environmental assessment and permit approvals. 

Figure 1 - The Mining Sequence

See text on page for long description.

Long description: The mining sequence is divided into six stages. Consultation - communicate all actions and intentions with those who will be affected by mining sequence activities. Exploration - gather data about potential mineral deposits and acquire the rights to harvest those mineral deposits. Evaluation - determine which mineral deposit has the most profit potential. Development - construction of a mine or mines. Production - operation of the mine or mines. Closure - demolition of the mine or mines and rehabilitation of all lands used for mining.

 

For the purposes of NPRI, a mine would be defined as a “facility” for reporting needs if the mine is under development, in the production phase, or in the closure (decommissioning) phase.  Mine would also be considered a “facility” if it has been temporarily closed for economic reasons. Reporting of TWR information should therefore involve these types of mine, if the applicable reporting criteria are met.


3. The “Reportable” Tailings for Oil Sands Mines

Oil sands mining operations typically result into two streams of tailings as by-products: primary separation cell (PSC) tailings and froth cleaning tailings (see Figure 2).  The PSC tailings, known as the oil sands extraction tailings, account for the larger volume of the two tailings streams, while the tailings from froth cleaning (treatment) make up only about 2% to 4% of total oil sands tailings.  Both streams of tailings are normally discharged to a tailings pond (or tailings management facility) as process waste, where coarse solids settle quickly to be ultimately used in the construction of dykes and beaches, and fine solids settle very slowly to form fluid fine tailings which  eventually become MFT (mature fine tailings) over time.

The accumulated MFT can be sent to a large tailings dedicated disposal area (DDA) constructed at the oil sands mining site to facilitate the reclamation of the tailings.

The oil sands mining facility, for the purposes of NPRI reporting of the tailings disposal, should therefore not only consider the content deposited into the tailings pond, but also determine the volume and composition of the dry fines captured in the tailings DDA.

Figure 2 – Typical Activities of the Bitumen Mine Operations Phase
(Adapted from Oil Sands Tailings Technologies and Practice, AERI 2010)

Bitumen Mine Operations Phase, see text for long description

4. Reporting Considerations for Selenium under the New Reporting Thresholds

Previously, the mass reporting threshold for selenium and its compounds was 10 tonnes manufactured, processed or otherwise used.  Starting for the 2011 reporting year, the mass reporting threshold for this substance has been lowered to 100 kg. Since selenium is often associated with ores found in base metal mines, uranium mines, gold mines, and coal mines, this change is expected to increase the reporting of selenium by the mining sector.  Mining facilities would now be more likely to trigger the mass reporting threshold for selenium contained in the waste rock and tailings that are destined for disposal.

Previously, the quantity of selenium contained in waste rock at less than 1% was excluded from the threshold calculation, and from the reporting of disposals and transfers of waste rock. Starting for the 2011 reporting year, the quantity of selenium contained in waste rock must be considered for both the threshold calculation and the disposal calculation regardless of the concentration. The removal of the concentration criteria for selenium in waste rock might lead to the increase of selenium reports associated with waste rock disposals.

Like in the previous reporting years, the selenium contained in mine tailings would be included in the calculation of both the mass reporting threshold and the quantity of disposals regardless of concentration. The only difference for the reporting of selenium in tailings is the mass reporting threshold which has been lowered to 100 kg from the previous 10 tonnes. 

The following Table summarizes the major differences in the reporting criteria and reporting considerations for selenium and its compounds contained in waste rock and tailings between the pre-2011 and post-2010 reporting years:

Major Differences in reporting criteria and reporting considerations for selenium and its compounds
Criteria/ConsiderationsPre-2011 Reporting YearRY 2011 and Beyond
Mass Threshold10 tonnes100 kg
Concentration Threshold (by weight) for Selenium Contained in Waste Rock1% or greaterAny concentration
Concentration Threshold (by weight) for Selenium Contained in TailingsAny concentrationAny concentration
Reporting Considerations for Selenium Contained in Waste RockThreshold calculation and reporting of selenium in waste rock disposal are not required when the concentration of the substance is less than 1%.Threshold calculation and disposal reporting of selenium in waste rock are required regardless of the concentration, at the threshold of 100 kg.
Reporting Considerations for Selenium Contained in TailingsThreshold calculation and reporting of selenium in tailings disposal are required regardless of the concentration, at the threshold of 10 tonnesThreshold calculation and reporting of selenium in tailings disposal are required regardless of the concentration, at the threshold of 100 kg.

It should be noted that because of the threshold change, the selenium (6 tonnes) is now required to be reported in Example 1 per the following website link:

The statement result for the example should now be described as: Therefore, the individual substances totaling 109,884 tonnes (not 109,878 tonnes) would be reported for disposal to the tailings management area.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Guide pour la déclaration des résidus et des stériles à l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants

Addenda (mars 2012)

Ce guide traite des questions suivantes relatives à la déclaration des substances contenues dans les résidus et les stériles à l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants.

  1. Exigences en matière d'échantillonnage et d'analyse pour la déclaration de renseignements « raisonnables »
  2. Clarifications quant au moment où une « mine » est considérée comme une « installation » devant déclarer les résidus et les stériles
  3. Spécification des résidus « à déclarer » provenant des mines de sables bitumineux
  4. Facteurs à considérer pour la déclaration de « sélénium » en raison des changements apportés au seuil de déclaration pour 2011

1. Exigences en matière d'échantillonnage et d'analyse

L'avis de la Gazette du Canada pour l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants précise qui doit déclarer les substances contenues dans les résidus et les stériles et ce qui doit faire l'objet d'une déclaration chaque année. Le propriétaire ou l'exploitant de l'installation doit fournir les renseignements dont il dispose ou auxquels il devrait avoir raisonnablement accès, et doit prendre des mesures raisonnables pour recueillir les renseignements en vue de se conformer aux exigences établies dans l'avis.

Les mines ont souvent accès à de nombreuses mesures à partir de leurs premières activités d'exploration minérale et d'études d'impact environnemental requises pour la demande d’autorisation d’exploitation. D'importants volumes de stériles peuvent être prélevés et analysés au cours de l'exploration et du développement afin de déterminer leur potentiel d'acidification. Lorsque la production commence, les résidus sont souvent mesurés en vue d'assurer l'efficacité du contrôle du processus. Si ces mesures peuvent être menées dans un autre contexte que les déclarations à l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants, il n'en demeure pas moins qu'elles doivent être évaluées afin de voir si elles fournissent les renseignements nécessaires pour respecter l'avis de l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants. S'il manque toujours des renseignements, des mesures « raisonnables » doivent alors être prises pour acquérir suffisamment de renseignements afin de se conformer à l'avis.

Ce qui est considéré comme « raisonnable » varie selon les circonstances de chaque installation et doit donc être déterminé au cas par cas. En règle générale, ce qui est « raisonnable » doit tenir compte d'un certain nombre de facteurs, y compris :

  • la taille et la complexité de l'exploitation minière;
  • le risque de rejets dans l’environnement ainsi que les effets nocifs potentiels des substances de l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants contenues dans les stériles ou les résidus;
  • les coûts engendrés pour tout échantillonnage et analyse supplémentaire afin d'obtenir les renseignements nécessaires.  

Compte tenu des considérations précédentes, un plan de mesure et d'échantillonnage approprié doit être mis en place et tenu à jour à mesure que les conditions changent.

L'échantillonnage de stériles et de résidus représente un défi unique puisqu'il implique bon nombre de types et de textures de déchets présents dans différents types de zone de gestion de l'élimination des déchets (p. ex. des tas de stériles et de résidus sous forme solide sèche, boues de résidus dans les bassins). En outre, il y a relativement peu de méthodes de référence standard disponibles qui décrivent les techniques d'échantillonnage utilisées pour caractériser les substances d'intérêt dans les résidus et les stériles. Le document cité ci-dessous constitue sans doute la source de référence la plus pertinente et la plus complète à consulter pour l'échantillonnage des résidus et des stériles :

Une variété de techniques d'analyse sont disponibles pour l'analyse géochimique des résidus. Les sites Web de référence énumérés ci-dessous fournissent de plus amples renseignements concernant les différentes techniques analytiques qui sont utilisées dans la détection et la quantification des substances d'intérêt contenues dans les résidus et les stériles :


2. Clarification sur la définition d'une « mine » sous réserve des besoins en matière de déclaration

L'exploitation minière doit être considérée comme une « installation » aux fins de l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants dès sa phase de développement (comme il est illustré dans le schéma de séquence d'exploitation minière à la figure 1) et dès que la construction d'une fosse ou de rampes d'accès, etc., a commencé. Au cours de la phase de développement, de grandes quantités de stériles seront produites et les mines devraient être en mesure d'obtenir facilement des données suffisantes sur les substances contenues dans les stériles aux fins de déclarations « raisonnables » à la suite des activités d'échantillonnage et d'analyse nécessaires à l'évaluation environnementale et aux approbations de permis. 

Figure 1 – La séquence d'exploitation minière

Longue description sur page en bas.

Longue description: La séquence minière comporte six étapes. Ces étapes, dans l'ordre chronologique où elles surviennent, sont les suivantes : Consultation - communication de toutes les mesures prévues et intentions aux personnes qui seront touchées par les activités relatives à la séquence minière. Exploration - collecte de données sur les gisements minéraux potentiels et obtention des droits d'exploitation de ces gisements minéraux. Évaluation - détermination du gisement minéral offrant le plus grand potentiel de profit. Travaux préparatoires - construction d'une ou de plusieurs mines. Production - exploitation de la ou des mines. Fermeture - démolition de la ou des mines et réhabilitation de tous les terrains utilisés aux fins d'exploitation minièr.

 

Aux fins de l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants, une mine serait définie comme une « installation » pour les besoins en matière de déclaration si la mine est en cours de développement, dans la phase de production ou dans la phase de fermeture (mise hors service). Une mine serait également considérée comme une « installation » si elle a été provisoirement fermée pour des raisons économiques. La déclaration des résidus et des stériles doit donc inclure ces types de mine si les critères de déclaration applicables sont respectés.


3. Les résidus « à déclarer » pour les mines de sables bitumineux

Les exploitations de sables bitumineux se traduisent généralement par deux flux de résidus comme sous-produits : les résidus issus de la séparation cellulaire primaire et les résidus issus du nettoyage de la mousse bitumineuse (voir la figure 2). Les résidus issus de la séparation cellulaire primaire, connue comme les résidus résultant de l'extraction des sables bitumineux, représentent le plus gros volume des deux flux de résidus, tandis que les résidus issus du nettoyage de la mousse bitumineuse (traitement) ne représentent que 2 à 4 % du total des résidus des sables bitumineux. Les deux flux de résidus sont normalement déversés dans un bassin de résidus (ou une installation de gestion des résidus) en tant que déchets de procédé. Dans ce bassin, les solides grossiers se déposent rapidement pour être finalement utilisés dans la construction de digues et de plages. Les solides fins se déposent très lentement pour former des résidus fins fluides qui deviennent au fil du temps des résidus fins mûrs.

Les résidus fins mûrs peuvent être envoyés à une grande zone d'élimination des résidus construite sur le site d'exploitation des sables bitumineux afin de faciliter la récupération des résidus.

L'installation d'exploitation des sables bitumineux, aux fins de déclaration de l'élimination des résidus à l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants, doit non seulement prendre en considération le contenu déposé dans le bassin de résidus, mais également déterminer le volume et la composition des résidus fins secs dans la zone d'élimination des résidus.

Figure 2 – Activités typiques de la phase d'exploitation minière du bitume
(Adapté du document Oil Sands Tailings Technologies and Practice, Alberta Energy Research Institute, 2010)

Figure 2 – Activités typiques de la phase d'exploitation minière du bitume. Voir texte en-haut pour description longue.


4. Facteurs à considérer pour le sélénium dans le cadre des nouveaux seuils de déclaration

Auparavant, le seuil quantitatif de déclaration pour le sélénium et ses composés était de dix tonnes de substance fabriquée, traitée ou utilisée d'une autre manière. Depuis l'année de déclaration 2011, le seuil quantitatif de déclaration pour cette substance a été abaissé à 100 kg. Par ailleurs, étant donné que le sélénium est souvent associé aux minerais se trouvant dans les mines de métaux communs, les mines d'uranium, les mines d’or et les mines de charbon, ce changement devrait augmenter la déclaration de sélénium du secteur minier. Les installations minières seraient désormais plus susceptibles d'atteindre le seuil quantitatif de déclaration pour le sélénium contenu dans les résidus et les stériles destinés à être éliminés.

Auparavant, les quantités de sélénium de moins de 1 % contenues dans des stériles étaient exclues du calcul du seuil ainsi que de la déclaration d'éliminations et de transferts de stériles. Depuis l'année de déclaration 2011, la quantité de sélénium contenue dans les stériles doit être prise en considération pour le calcul du seuil et le calcul de l'élimination, peu importe le degré de concentration. La suppression du critère du degré de concentration du sélénium dans les stériles pourrait accroître les déclarations de sélénium liées à l'élimination des stériles.

Comme dans les années de déclaration précédentes, le sélénium contenu dans les résidus serait compris dans le calcul du seuil quantitatif de déclaration et dans le calcul de la quantité des éliminations, quel que soit le degré de concentration. La seule différence pour la déclaration de sélénium dans les résidus est que le seuil quantitatif de déclaration est passé de dix tonnes à 100 kg.

Le tableau suivant résume les différences majeures entre les critères de déclaration et les facteurs à considérer pour le sélénium et ses composés contenus dans les résidus et les stériles pour les années de déclaration avant 2011 et après 2010.

Major Differences in reporting criteria and reporting considerations for selenium and its compounds
Critères/facteurs à considérerAnnée de déclaration avant 2011Année de déclaration 2011 et au-delà
Seuil quantitatif10 tonnes100 kg
Seuil de concentration (en poids) pour le sélénium contenu dans les stériles1 % ou plusTout degré de concentration
Seuil de concentration (en poids) pour le sélénium contenu dans les résidusTout degré de concentrationTout degré de concentration
Facteurs à considérer pour le sélénium contenu dans les stérilesLe calcul du seuil et la déclaration de sélénium liée à l'élimination des stériles ne sont pas requis lorsque le degré de concentration de la substance est inférieur à 1 %.Le calcul du seuil et la déclaration d'élimination de sélénium contenu dans les stériles sont exigés, quel que soit le degré de concentration, pour des quantités dépassant le seuil de 100 kg.
Facteurs à considérer pour le sélénium contenu dans les résidusLe calcul du seuil et la déclaration de sélénium contenu dans les résidus sont exigés, quel que soit le degré de concentration, pour des quantités dépassant le seuil de dix tonnes.Le calcul du seuil et la déclaration de sélénium contenu dans les résidus sont exigés, quel que soit le degré de concentration, pour des quantités dépassant le seuil de 100 kg.

Il convient de noter qu'en raison de la modification du seuil, le sélénium (six tonnes) doit être désormais déclaré dans l'exemple 1 selon le lien Internet suivant :

L'énoncé du résultat de l'exemple doit désormais être décrit ainsi : Donc, un total de 109 884 tonnes (non pas 109 878 tonnes) de substances individuelles est à déclarer comme élimination dans la zone de gestion des résidus.

Date de modification :