Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

About the National Pollutant Release Inventory

Image of a waterbody.The National Pollutant Release Inventory (NPRI) is Canada's legislated, publicly-accessible inventory of pollutant releases (to air, water and land), disposals and transfers for recycling. 

The NPRI comprises:

  • Information reported by facilities and published by Environment Canada under the authority of Sections 46 – 50 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999); and

  • Comprehensive emission summaries and trends for key air pollutants, based on facility-reported data and emission estimates for other sources such as motor vehicles, residential heating, forest fires and agriculture.

For the latest reporting year, 7,708 facilities reported to the NPRI on more than 300 listed substances. Comprehensive air pollutant emission summaries and trends were compiled by Environment Canada for criteria air contaminants (the main pollutants contributing to smog, acid rain and/or poor air quality), selected heavy metals and persistent organic pollutants.


Resources

Au sujet de l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants

Image d'un petit lac.L'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants (INRP) est l'inventaire légiféré du Canada, accessible au public, des polluants rejetés (dans l'atmosphère, dans l'eau et dans le sol), éliminés et recyclés.

Cet inventaire comprend:

  • Des renseignements qui sont déclarés par les installations et publiés par le Gouvernement du Canada en vertu des articles 46 – 50 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement, 1999 [LCPE (1999)], en relation avec l'INRP.

  • Des estimations complète d'émissions de polluants atmosphériques clés. Ces estimations s’appuient sur les émissions provenant de diverses sources d’origine canadienne, telles que les sources industrielles, le transport, les feux de forêt et l'agriculture.  

Pour l'année de déclaration la plus récente, 7,708 installations ont produit une déclaration à l'INRP sur leurs rejets, éliminations et transferts à des fins de recyclage pour plus de 300 substances préoccupantes. Les estimés d'émissions de polluants atmosphériques pour les autres installations et les sources non-industrielles ont été compilés pour les principaux contaminants atmosphériques (principaux polluants contribuant au smog, à la formation de pluies acides et/ou à la piètre qualité de l'air), les métaux lourds sélectionnés et les polluants organiques persistants.


Ressources