Guide for Using and Interpreting National Pollutant Release Inventory (NPRI) Data

The NPRI program makes a significant amount of information available, including facility-reported data on pollutant releases and transfers, latitude and longitude and other location data for reporting facilities, and air pollutant emission summaries and trends for all Canadian sources of key air pollutants. Please keep in mind the following considerations when using and interpreting NPRI data:


General Considerations

  • The NPRI is a key tool for identifying and monitoring sources of pollution in Canada, but it does not provide information on all pollutants or every source of pollution in the country.
    • Some substances of concern are not included in the NPRI. For example, the Government of Canada tracks greenhouse gas emissions through a separate program (see the Greenhouse Gas Sources and Sinks website for more information).
    • The NPRI collects information only from industrial, commercial, institutional and other facilities that meet certain reporting requirements. These reporting requirements are based on the number of employees at the facility; the quantity of the substance(s) manufactured, processed, used or released and the type of activities performed at the facility. (For more information on these reporting criteria, see the NPRI Reporting Tools and Guidance.)
    • Many small facilities are exempt from reporting, as are facilities in certain sectors (e.g. car repair shops and fuel marketing stations.) However, air emission summaries for criteria air contaminants, heavy metals and persistent organic pollutants from all Canadian sources are compiled and made available annually by Environment Canada (See Air Pollutant Emissions for more information.)
    • Additional information on NPRI reporting coverage is available from the links below: 
    • Some of the pollution in Canada originates in other countries. This phenomenon is known as transboundary pollution and it is a significant source of smog-forming air pollution in certain areas of Canada.

  • Not all pollutants are equally hazardous.
    • Identification of risks to human health and the environment from pollution is complex and cannot be determined from NPRI data alone. Environment Canada and Health Canada continue to assess the health and environmental risks of chemical substances.
    • A pollutant's potential to cause harm to human health and the environment depends on a variety of factors, including its inherent toxicity; whether it is released to air, land or water; if and to what extent it is broken down in the environment; and the resulting amount, nature and level of exposure.

  • Environment Canada implements a number of measures to ensure the quality of NPRI data in order to maintain a high standard of accuracy, consistency and comprehensiveness, and to continue to meet the needs of data users. Please consult the data quality page for more information.

     


    Facility-Reported Data (Click here to search this data)

    • NPRI reporting requirements have evolved over time to provide more comprehensive information on pollution in Canada. Substances have been added, thresholds (limits) at which substances must be reported have been reduced, and exemptions for several industry sectors have been eliminated. These changes to NPRI reporting requirements need to be taken into account when conducting year to years trend analysis based on NPRI data.

    • There are a variety of reasons why facilities may report different amounts of pollutants that they release, dispose of or recycle from year to year. These reasons range from new reporting requirements (as highlighted above), to changing production levels, facility expansions and process modifications. Reported data may also be updated from time to time as new or more up-to-date information is received and reviewed.

    • Adding quantity values reported by different facilities may result in errors in interpretation. For example, this may occur when a facility generates pollutants and transfers them to another site to manage disposal, which then transfers them to a third facility for disposal. In this case, "double-counting" of the off-site disposal may occur between the originating facility and the second one.

    • Total reduced sulphur consists of 6 substances. Three of these substances (hydrogen sulphide [H2S ], carbon disulphide [CS2] and carbonyl sulfide [COS]) are also listed individually in the NPRI substance list. When conducting analysis of NPRI data, caution should be taken to avoid "double counting" of total reduced sulphur and these individually-listed substances.

    • Facilities may use different methods to determine how much of a particular substance they release, dispose of or recycle. These methods may vary depending on the substance or the facility and may also change from year to year. Estimation and direct measurement are examples of these methods.


    Air Pollutant Emission Summaries and Trends (Click here to search this data)

    • Within the air pollutant emission summary or trend tables:
      • A blank space indicates that no emissions data is available or applicable.
      • “0” indicates that the value was approximated to zero, as the value was very small in the context of the sector and pollutant.
      • The emission totals and sub-totals may not add up exactly, due to rounding.

    • The air pollutant emissions data are compiled in collaboration with provincial, territorial and regional environmental agencies using the latest emission estimation methodologies and statistics available, and data reported by facilities to the National Pollutant Release Inventory. They represent the most comprehensive information on emissions of key air pollutants available in Canada.

    • Emission summaries and trends for a given year may be different from those previously published by Environment Canada, other governmental agencies and international organizations, for example due to changes in production levels, process modifications, different reporting requirements, etc.

    • A portion of emissions from the Marine Transportation sector is attributed to movement (“innocent passage”) of domestic and international commercial vehicles through provincial waters. These emissions have been proportionally allocated to the provinces nearest to the release of the emissions in the different waterways.

    • Mercury emissions from products are included beginning with the 2007 estimates, however, they are not yet included in the estimates from previous years.


    Tailings and Waste Rock Data

    The following are important considerations for the use, analysis and interpretation of National Pollutant Release Inventory (NPRI) data on tailings and waste rock (TWR)

    • Increases in reported values related to tailings and waste rock are primarily due to a change in NPRI reporting requirements

      The difference in the amounts of NPRI substances reported for 2005 as compared to 2006 and more recent years are mainly due to changes in NPRI reporting requirements related to substances contained in tailings and waste rock.  The reader should also note that these substances are reported to the NPRI as “disposals” and not “releases” as they are contained within managed disposal sites and are not being released directly into the environment. Direct releases to air, water and land from mining facilities were required to be reported previously.

    • Direct releases of pollutants pose different risks compared to managed disposals

      Risks to human health and the environment from pollutants vary significantly depending on whether they are released directly to air, water or land, or disposed of in a regulated landfill, tailings impoundment, waste rock management area or other disposal area. For example, direct releases of mercury pose a greater risk than mercury contained naturally in low concentrations in rock removed during mine operations and disposed of in a permitted area for long term storage and management.  

    • Tailings and waste rock data for Canada and the United States are not directly comparable.

      Data on tailings and waste rock are not directly comparable for Canada’s NPRI and the U.S. Toxics Release Inventory (TRI). The two programs have different reporting requirements, thresholds, exclusions and substance lists. In addition, some sub-sectors in the U.S. (e.g. iron ore, uranium, potash) are not required to report to TRI. Consequently, quantities of substances in tailings and waste rock reported to the NPRI and TRI may be different even for very similar facilities.

    • Facilities are required to report the concentration of NPRI-listed substances in tailings and waste rock. They also have the option of providing additional comments about the specific substances they report on.

      This information is available by searching for an individual facility on the NPRI Online Data Search, and then viewing the report for a specific substance. 

    • Differences in geology explain many of the different values reported by similar facilities.

      The reported quantities of NPRI substances in tailings and waste rock generally reflect naturally-occurring substances in the rock or bitumen deposits removed and/or processed by mining facilities. As a result, differences in the quantities of substances reported for disposal by facilities may reflect differences in geology and in the type of mineral deposit. 

      For example, consider two facilities with similar production levels and environmental management practices. A facility located in an area where the rock contains a naturally high level of arsenic would be expected to report larger amounts of that substance for disposal, compared with a facility in an area with lower levels of the substance.

    • Certain exclusions apply.

      Certain materials are exempt from reporting to the NPRI for tailings and waste rock. These include inert waste rock, sand in tailings, and materials used as structural components, for example, to build roads and dams. For more information on exclusions, please refer to the Guide for the Reporting of Tailings and Waste Rock to the NPRI.

    • Facilities may report negative values for substances contained in waste rock or tailings.

      The disposal of mined materials in a waste rock or tailings management area is not necessarily a final disposal. For example, if market prices increase for a given metal or mineral, it may be profitable for a mining operation to “mine” or process materials previously disposed of as waste rock or tailings. Reporting of a "negative number" for waste rock or tailings indicates that the quantity of a substance removed from the management area exceeded the quantity of the substance deposited in that area for a given year.

    • A number of government and industry initiatives are in place to manage potential environmental concerns from tailings and waste rock.

      Specific initiatives include the Metal Mining Effluent Regulations, the Environmental Code of Practice for Metal Mines, the Mine Environment Neutral Drainage Program and the National Orphaned/Abandoned Mines Initiative.

      For more information on these and other initiatives, please see the NPRI related links page.

Guide d'utilisation et d'interprétation des données de l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants (INRP)

Le programme de l'INRP diffuse un grand nombre d'information, notamment des données sur les rejets et les transferts de polluants déclarées par les installations, de l’information sur la latitude et la longitude et d’autres données de localisation pour les installations qui produisent des déclarations ainsi que des sommaires et des tendances d'émissions pour les principaux polluants atmosphériques provenant de toutes les sources canadiennes. Veuillez tenir compte des points suivants lors de l'utilisation et l'interprétation des données de l'INRP:


Considérations générales

  • L'INRP est un outil important pour l'identification et la surveillance des sources de pollution au Canada, mais il ne fournit pas les données sur la totalité des polluants et des sources de pollution du pays.
    • Certaines substances préoccupantes ne sont pas incluses dans l'INRP. Par exemple, le gouvernement du Canada surveille les émissions de gaz à effet de serre par l'entremise d'un autre programme (pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez le site de Surveillance, comptabilité et déclaration des gaz à effet de serre).
    • L'INRP recueille uniquement les données des installations industrielles, commerciales, institutionnelles et autres installations répondant à certains critères de déclaration. Ces critères de déclaration sont fondés sur le nombre d'employés, la quantité des substances fabriquées, traitées, utilisées ou émises, ainsi que le type d'activités de l'installation. Pour en savoir plus sur les critères de déclaration, consultez les documents sur la rubrique Guides et outils de déclaration à l'INRP.
    • Plusieurs petites installations ne sont pas tenues de produire de déclarations, ainsi que les installations dans certains secteurs (p. ex. ateliers de mécanique auto et les stations-service.) Par ailleurs, Environnement Canada inventorie et publie annuellement des sommaires sur les émissions des principaux contaminants atmosphériques, des métaux lourds et des polluants organiques persistants provenant de toutes les sources canadiennes (voir: Émissions des polluants atmosphériques pour de plus amples renseignements.)
    • Des informations additionnelles sur la couverture de déclaration à l’INRP sont disponibles à partir des liens ci-dessous :
    • Une partie de la pollution présente au Canada provient d'autres pays. Ce phénomène a pour nom la pollution transfrontalière et constitue une source notable de pollution atmosphérique génératrice de smog dans certaines régions canadiennes.

  • Les polluants ne représentent pas tous le même degré de danger.
    • La détermination des risques que pose la pollution pour la santé humaine et l'environnement est complexe et ne peut être uniquement évaluée à partir de données de l'INRP. Environnement Canada et Santé Canada évaluent de façon continue les risques pour la santé et l'environnement des substances chimiques.
    • La nocivité potentielle d'un polluant pour la santé humaine et l'environnement dépend de divers facteurs, notamment sa toxicité intrinsèque; le fait qu'il soit rejeté dans l'atmosphère, le sol ou les eaux; s'il y a lieu, l'ampleur d'une dégradation dans l'environnement; la quantité, la nature et le niveau de l'exposition qui en résulte.

  • Environnement Canada met en oeuvre plusieurs mesures pour améliorer la qualité des données de l'INRP, afin de s'assurer que les données déclarées maintiennent un niveau élevé d'exactitude, de cohérence et d'exhaustivité, et continuent de répondre aux besoins des utilisateurs de données. Pour de plus amples information, veuillez consulter la page sur la qualité des données.

 


Données déclarées par les installations (cliquez ici pour rechercher ces données)

  • Les exigences de production de déclarations de l'INRP ont évolué avec le temps afin de permettre de recueillir des renseignements plus complets sur la pollution au Canada. La liste des substances déclarables a été élargie, les seuils (limites) auxquels une substance doit être signalée ont été abaissés et les exemptions dont bénéficiaient certains secteurs ont été supprimées. Ces changements apportés aux critères de déclaration de l’INRP doivent être pris en compte lors de toute analyse des tendances d'une année à l'autre basée sur les données de l'INRP.

  • Les quantités déclarées par les installations peuvent changer d'une année à l'autre pour un certain nombre de raisons. Au rang de ces raisons, on trouve, par exemple, de nouvelles exigences en matière de déclaration, des changements dans les niveaux de production, l'agrandissement des installations, la modification des procédés et l'amélioration des méthodes d'estimation. Les données déclarées peuvent aussi être mises à jour de temps en temps à mesure que des informations nouvelles ou actualisées sont reçues et révisées.

  • L'addition des valeurs déclarées par des installations différentes peut entraîner des erreurs d'interprétation. Par exemple, cela peut se produire lorsqu'une installation produit des polluants et les transfère à un site de collecte intérimaire à des fins de gestion, et que ce site les transfère à son tour à une troisième installation aux fins d'élimination. Dans ce cas, il peut arriver que l'élimination hors site soit comptée en double entre l'installation d'origine et la suivante.

  • Le soufre réduit total inclut six substances. Trois de celles-ci (le sulfure d'hydrogène (H2S), le disulfure de carbone (CS2) et l'oxysulphide de carbone (COS)) sont également répertoriés séparément dans la liste de substances de l'INRP. Il existe donc un potentiel de « comptage en double » entre le soufre réduit total et chacune des trois substances individuelles.

  • Les installations peuvent utiliser des méthodes différentes pour déterminer la quantité d'une substance qu'ils rejettent, éliminent ou recyclent. Ces méthodes peuvent varier en fonction de la substance ou de l'installation et peuvent aussi changer d'une année à l'autre. L'estimation et la mesure directe sont des exemples de ces méthodes.

 


Sommaires et tendances des émissions de polluants atmosphériques (cliquez ici pour rechercher ces données)

  • Pour les tableaux des tendances ou des sommaires d’émissions de polluants atmosphériques :
    • Un espace vide indique qu’aucune donnée n’existe ou ne s’applique aux émissions.
    • « 0 » indique que la valeur des émissions approche zéro, puisque cette valeur est très petite dans le contexte du secteur et du polluant.
    • Les émissions totales et sous-totales pourraient ne pas correspondre exactement car certaines valeurs ont pu être arrondies.

  • Les données des émissions de polluants atmosphériques sont compilées en collaboration avec les gouvernements provinciaux, territoriaux et les organismes régionaux de l'environnement, en utilisant les plus récentes méthodes d'estimation des émissions et des statistiques, et les données déclarées à l’Inventaire national des rejets de polluants par les installations.  Elles représentent l'inventaire des émissions de polluants atmosphériques clés le plus complet disponible au Canada.

  • Les sommaires et tendances d’émissions pour une certaine année peuvent être différents de ceux précédemment publiées par Environnement Canada, d'autres agences gouvernementales et organisations internationales.

  • Une partie des émissions du secteur du transport maritime sont attribuables au mouvement ("droit de passage inoffensif") des navires de commerce nationaux et internationaux à travers les eaux provinciales. Ces émissions ont été allouées proportionnellement aux provinces les plus proches des différents cours d'eau où ont eu lieu les rejets.

  • Les émissions de mercure provenant des produits sont incluses dans les estimations à partir de 1990.

Données sur les résidus miniers et les stériles

Les éléments suivants sont des points clés à considérer pour l'utilisation, l'analyse et l'interprétation des données de l'Inventaire national des rejets des polluants (INRP) sur les résidus miniers et les stériles :

  • Les augmentations dans les valeurs déclarées pour les résidus miniers et les stériles sont principalement dues à un changement dans les exigences de déclaration de l'INRP

    La différence dans les quantités de substances de l'INRP déclarées pour 2005 par rapport à 2006 et à d'autres années plus récentes vient essentiellement des modifications apportées aux exigences de déclaration de l'INRP relatives aux substances contenues dans les résidus miniers et les stériles. Le lecteur doit également noter que ces substances sont déclarées à l'INRP à titre d'« éliminations » et non de « rejets », puisqu'elles sont contenues dans des sites d'élimination contrôlés et ne sont pas directement rejetées dans l'environnement. Précédemment, les rejets directs dans l'air, l'eau et le sol provenant des installations minières devaient être déclarés.

  • Les rejets directs de polluants posent des risques différents par rapport aux éliminations contrôlées

    Les risques pour la santé humaine et l'environnement que posent les polluants varient fortement selon qu'ils sont rejetés directement dans l'air, l'eau ou le sol, ou éliminés dans un site d'enfouissement réglementé, dans des zones de gestion des dépôts de résidus miniers et de gestion des stériles ou dans d'autres zones de dépôt. Par exemple, les rejets directs de mercure entraînent un risque plus grand que le mercure contenu naturellement en faibles concentrations dans la roche retirée pendant les exploitations minières et éliminée dans une zone autorisée pour un stockage et une gestion à long terme.

  • Les données sur les résidus miniers et les stériles pour le Canada et les États-Unis ne sont pas directement comparables

    Les données sur les résidus miniers et les stériles ne sont pas directement comparables entre l'INRP du Canada et le Toxic Release Inventory (TRI) des États-Unis. Les deux programmes comportent des exigences de déclaration, des seuils, des exceptions et des listes de substances différents. De plus, certains sous-secteurs aux États-Unis (p. ex. minerai de fer, uranium, potasse) ne sont pas tenus de faire une déclaration au TRI. En conséquence, les quantités de substances contenues dans les résidus miniers et les stériles déclarées à l'INRP et au TRI peuvent être différentes, même dans le cas d'installations très semblables.

  • Les installations doivent déclarer la concentration des substances inscrites à l'INRP contenues dans les résidus miniers et les stériles. Elles ont également la possibilité de fournir des commentaires supplémentaires à propos des substances pour lesquelles elles font une déclaration.

    Cette information est disponible en cherchant une installation particulière sur le site de recherche en ligne des données de l'INRP, puis en consultant la déclaration relative à une substance précise.

  • Les valeurs différentes déclarées par des installations similaires s'expliquent beaucoup par les différences dans la géologie

    Les quantités déclarées des substances de l'INRP contenues dans les résidus miniers et les stériles correspondent généralement à des substances présentes naturellement dans les dépôts de roche ou de bitume retirés ou traités par les installations minières. Ainsi, les différences dans les quantités de substances déclarées pour élimination par les installations peuvent révéler des différences dans la géologie et dans le type de dépôt minéral.

    Prenons par exemple deux installations dont les niveaux de production et les pratiques de gestion environnementale sont les mêmes. Une installation située dans une zone où la roche renferme une concentration naturellement élevée d'arsenic devrait déclarer des quantités plus importantes de cette substance pour élimination, en comparaison d'une installation située dans une zone où la substance est présente en quantités inférieures.

  • Certaines exceptions s'appliquent

    Certains matériaux sont exempts de déclaration à l'INRP en ce qui concerne les résidus miniers et les stériles. Ces derniers incluent les stériles inertes, le sable contenu dans les résidus miniers et les matériaux utilisés comme composantes structurelles pour construire des routes et des barrages par exemple. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les exceptions, veuillez consulter le Guide pour la déclaration de résidus miniers et de stériles à l'INRP.

  • Les installations peuvent déclarer des valeurs négatives pour les substances contenues dans les stériles et les résidus miniers

    L'élimination de matériaux miniers dans une zone de gestion des stériles et des résidus miniers ne constitue pas nécessairement une élimination définitive. Par exemple, si les prix du marché d'un métal ou d'un minerai donné augmentent, il peut être rentable pour une exploitation minière d'extraire ou de transformer des matériaux déjà éliminés en tant que stériles ou résidus miniers. Déclarer une « valeur négative » pour les stériles ou les résidus miniers indique que la quantité d'une substance retirée d'une zone de gestion a dépassé la quantité de la substance déposée dans cette zone pour une année donnée.

  • Un certain nombre d'initiatives du gouvernement et de l'industrie ont été mises en œuvre pour gérer les préoccupations environnementales possibles à l'égard des résidus miniers et des stériles

    Des initiatives précises comprennent le Règlement sur les effluents des mines de métaux, le Code de pratiques écologiques pour les mines de métaux, le Programme de neutralisation des eaux de drainage dans l'environnement minier et l'Initiative nationale pour les mines orphelines ou abandonnées.

    Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur ces initiatives ou pour en connaître d'autres, veuillez consulter le page des Liens connexes.