Proposal by Environmental Defence to Add Naphthenic Acids to the NPRI

The following proposal was submitted by Environmental Defence on November 11, 2010.

- Start of Proposal -

1. Summary of modification requested

We request the addition of naphthenic acids to the National Pollutant Release Inventory.

2. Background on the substance

a. CAS #: 1338-24-5

b. Specific substance information (uses): Naphthenic acids are a byproduct of oil sands production and are primarily found in oil sands tailings.

c. Proposed reporting thresholds for additions: We recommend the same reporting threshold as for Part 1 substances in Schedule 1 of the Canada Gazette Notice, which is no minimum concentration threshold when determining whether the manufactured, processed or otherwise used threshold is met (Canada Gazette, 2009).

3. Rationale

As a result of a judicial review of the NPRI program, mines are now required to report on the quantity and concentration of NPRI substances disposed of in tailings in addition to direct release to air, water and land. This includes oil sands mines.

Following the change in reporting requirements, oil sands facilities report on a range of NPRI substances found in tailings, including polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons, ammonia, zinc lead and arsenic (Environment Canada, 2009). However, because it is not currently listed as an NPRI substance, the facilities are not required to report naphthenic acids.

Yet Alberta Environment has acknowledged that naphthenic acids are the "primary source of toxicity" in oil sands tailings (Singh), and Environment Canada has also identified naphthenic acids are a primary source of toxicity in oil sands tailings (Shugart). It is therefore important that tar sands facilities be required to report naphthenic acids. Below is a more detailed rationale for the addition of naphthenic acids to the NPRI according the decision factors outlined by Environment Canada.

a. Does the substance meet NPRI criteria

1. Is the substance manufactured, processed or otherwise used (M,P,O) in Canada?

Naphthenic acids are a byproduct of oil sands extraction and, as such, are manufactured, processed or otherwise used in Canada. There are currently 840 million cubic metres of oil sands tailings (Alberta Energy Resources Conservation Board, 2010) stored in massive lakes in northern Alberta that cover 170 square kilometres. While there is no cumulative assessment of the amount of naphthenic acids stored in the tailings lakes, tailings have been reported to contain naphthenic acids at concentrations of 80-100 mg/L (S.S. Leung et al, 2003).

The problem is also growing quickly. Two-hundred million litres of oil sands tailings are produced each day, and the volume of tailings will increase by an estimated 30% between now and 2020 (The Pembina Institute, 2010).

2. Is the substance of health and/or environmental concern?

Naphthenic acids have been identified as an environmental and health concern. Environment Canada has identified them as the primary source of toxicity in tar sands tailings, as has Alberta Environment. Many scientific studies have demonstrated the environmental impacts of oil sands tailings, and point to naphthenic acids as the main source of toxicity (Leung et al, 2003; Bendell-Young et al, 2000; Gentes et al, 2006; Peters et al 2007; Pollet et al 2000; Rogers et al 2002; van den Heuvel et al, 2000; Young et al, 2007). Below are some examples, but not an exhaustive list, of the impacts of naphthenic acids:

  • Naphthenic acids are toxic to mammals, causing liver and heart damage and brain hemorrhage at high doses and weight lose and liver enlargement from chronic exposure (Rogers et al, 2002).At lethal doses, naphthenic acids cause nervous system depression, convulsion and respiratory arrest leading to death in mice.
  • Yellow perch eggs exposed to naphthenic acids showed increased rates of deformity and lower birth size than those not exposed (Peters et al, 2007).
  • Nestling tree swallows exposed to oil sands tailings containing naphthenic acids show lower weight and are less able to withstand stress than those not exposed, decreasing their chance of survival (M-L Gentes et al, 2006).
  • Naphthenic acids influence the community structure of aquatic microorganisms at concentrations beginning at 6-20 mg/L (S.S. Leung et al, 2003).

Fort Chipewyan, a community located downstream from the oil sands, is experiencing an elevated rate of cancer (Alberta Cancer Board, 2009). Community members and doctors working in the community have repeatedly raised concerns that the elevated cancer rates are linked to oil sands pollution, stemming from tailings leaking into the water, yet no comprehensive health study has been conducted to investigate the health impacts of oil sands on the community.

3. Is the substance released to the Canadian environment?

The main source of naphthenic acids is the production of oil sands. In natural surface waters in the Athabasca region, naphthenic acids are found at a concentration of 1-2 mg/L. In oil sands talings, naphthenic acids can exceed 100 mg/L (S.S. Leung et al, 2003).

Oil sands companies are now required to report on NPRI substances contained in tailings ponds, and tailings ponds contain significant quantities of naphthenic acids, therefore naphthenic acids should be included in the list of substances that must be reported in tailings.

However, there is ample evidence that oil sands tailings, and therefore naphthenic acids, are released into the environment beyond the tailings ponds. The containment areas for tailings ponds in the oil sands are built from materials the companies excavate from the surrounding area - earthen materials - and are not lined. In their project proposals, companies assume that tailings ponds will systematically leak into the surrounding area.

Environmental Defence released a report that for the first time publicly estimated how much contaminated water the tailings ponds leak (Environmental Defence, 2008). The report compiled company data from environmental assessment reports to conservatively estimate that the tailings ponds already leak four billion litres each year, with projections that this figure could reach over 25 billion litres within a decade should proposed projects go ahead.

There are also documented cases of contaminated tailings water reaching surface water, including:

  • An environmental assessment Shell Canada Ltd. projected that contaminated tailings from its operations would reach Jackpine Creek (Alberta Energy Utilities Board, 2004).
  • An academic study from the University of Waterloo estimates that Suncor Energy's Tar Island pond had been leaking almost 6 million litres a day into the Athabasca River (Barker et al, 2007).
  • Another incident is documented in correspondence between the Alberta government and Syncrude, and in an assessment commissioned by Syncrude from Golder Associates (Syncrude Canada, 2007; Golder Associates 2009). It is clear that contaminated tailings materials leaked into Beaver Creek, a tributary of the Athabasca River, over a number of years.
  • Another incident of leakage into surface water concerns Suncor's South Tailings Pond leaking into McLean Creek. A study on the issue, in part by a Suncor engineer (Stephens et al) admits that the leakage into the creek will not be stopped, but rather than the company would try to manage the concentrations of deleterious substances in the creek.

Furthermore, two recent research studies demonstrated that chemicals contained in oil sands tailings - including polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons, lead, mercury, cadmium - are in snow and water downstream of the oil sands facilities, and that several exceeded what is considered a safe level (Kelly et al, 2009; Kelly et al, 2010). While these two studies did not look at concentrations of naphthenic acids specifically, they show that pollution from oil sands tailings is being released into the environment.

b. Do facilities contribute significant releases of the substance

There is no cumulative assessment of the quantity of naphthenic acids released by the oil sands industry because it is currently not tracked or reported publicly. Approximately 1.5 barrels of mature fine tailings are produced per barrel of oil sands. In 2008, oil sands mining produced 856,000 barrels of oil per day, resulting in 1.284 million barrels of tailings produced each day (Grant, 2008). These tailings contain naphthenic acids at a concentration of 80-100 mg/L, meaning that up to 20.4 tonnes of naphthenic acids are produced each day and nearly 7,500 tonnes each year by oil sands facilities. Given the evidence that tailings ponds leak into the surrounding environment, it is important facilities to track and report on both naphthenic acids that are stored in tailings ponds, and the amount released to the water through leakage.

c. Does inclusion of the substance support one or more of the objectives of the NPRI?

Given that naphthenic acids have been identified by the federal and provincial governments as the main source of toxicity of oil sands tailings, inclusion of naphthenic acids in the NPRI will allow tracking of releases, provide a better understanding of the risks posed by oil sands tailings and support voluntary and regulatory measures to reduce the toxicity of oil sands tailings and minimize the threat to the environment and human health posed by tailings ponds.

d. Is the substance reported elsewhere? If it is, is there additional value in reporting to the NPRI?

Naphthenic acids are not publicly reported elsewhere in Canada. The United States Environmental Protection Agency, however, has placed naphthenic acids on the hazardous substances list of the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act (known as Superfund), which requires tracking of naphthenic acids.

4. Proposed Timing for the Change

We recommend that facilities be required to report on naphthenic acids beginning in 2012 or sooner.

5. Industrial Sectors Affected

Oil sands mining facilities will be the primary sector affected to the best of our knowledge. There are currently 5 facilities reporting to the NPRI in this category.


Alberta Cancer Board. 2009. Cancer Incidence in Fort Chipewyan, Alberta: 1999-2006.

Alberta Energy Resources Conservation Board. 2010. News Release - ERCB Approves Fort Hills and Syncrude Tailings Pond Plans with Conditions
(accessed July 19, 2010).

Alberta Energy Utilities Board. Joint Panel Report, EUB Decision 2004-009, Shell Canada Limited, Applications for an Oil Sands Mine, Bitumen Extraction Plant, Cogeneration Plant, and Water Pipeline in the Fort McMurray Area, February 5, 2004, page 43.

Barker, J. et al. 2007. Attenuation of Contaminants in Groundwater Impacted by Surface Mining in Oil Sands, Alberta, Canada. University of Waterloo.

Bendell-Young, L. I., Bennett, K. E., Crowe, A., Kennedy, C. J., Kermode, A. R., Moore, M. M., Plant, A. L., and Wood, A. 2000. Ecological characteristics of wetlands receiving an industrial effluent. Ecol. Appl. 10:310-322.

Canada Gazette. "Notice with respect to substances in the National Pollutant Release Inventory for 2009", Vol. 143, No. 49. December 5, 2009.

Ecojustice Canada summarized some of this correspondence in its submission to the Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development, May 7, 2009, pp. 32-34. See:

Environmental Defence. 2008. 11 Million Litres a Day: The Tar Sands' Leaking Legacy.

Environment Canada. 2009. Guidance for the Reporting of Tailings and Waste Rock to the National Pollutant Release Inventory (1.4).

Gentes, M. L., Waldner, C., Papp, Z., and Smits, J. E. 2006. Effects of oil sands tailings compounds and harsh weather on mortality rates, growth and detoxification efforts in nestling tree swallows (Tachycineta bicolor). Environ. Pollut. 142:24-33.

Golder Associates. 2009. Beaver Creek Profiling Program, 2008 Field Study, Submitted to Syncrude Canada.

Grant, J., Dyer, S. and Woynillowicz, D. 2008. Fact or Fiction: Oil Sands Reclamation. The Pembina Institute.

Kelly, Erin N., Jeffrey W. Short, David W. Schindler, Peter V. Hodson, Mingsheng Ma, Alvin K. Kwan, and Barbra L. Fortin. 2009. "Oil Sands Development Contributes Polycyclic Aromatic Compounds to the Athabasca River and Its Tributaries." Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 106(52): 22346-22351.

Kelly, E.N., Schindler, D.W., Short, J.W., Radmanovich, R. and C.C. Nielsen. 2010. Oil sands development contributes elements toxic at low concentrations to the Athabasca River and its tributaries. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 107(37): 16178-16183.

Leung, S. S., MacKinnon, M. D., and Smith, R. E. H. 2003. The ecological effects of naphthenic acids and salt on phytoplankton from the Athabasca Oil Sands region. Aquat. Toxicol. 62:11-26.

Peters, L et al. 2007. Effects of oil sands process-affected waters and naphthenic acids on yellow perch (Perca flavescens) and Japanese medaka (Orizias latipes) embryonic development. Chemosphere 67(11): 2177-2183.

Pollet, I., and Bendell-Young, L. I. 2000. Amphibians as indicators of wetland quality in wetlands formed from oil sands effluents. Environ. Toxicol.Chem. 19:2589-2597.

Rogers, V. V., Wickstrom, M., Liber, K., and MacKinnon, M. D. 2002. Acute and subchronic mammalian toxicity of naphthenic acids from oil sands tailings. Toxicol. Sci. 66:347-355.

Ian Shugart, Environment Canada. Memorandum to the Minister: Oil Sands Tailings Ponds. MIN-118731. Document released under the Access to Information Act.

Kem Singh, Regional Approvals Manager, Northern Region, Alberta Environment. In "Followup on Committee Hearings", Standing Committee on the Environment and Sustainable Development. Document released under the Access to Information Act.

Stephens B. et al. "Design of Tailings Dams on Large Pleistocene Channel Deposits, A Case Study - Suncor's South Tailings Pond,", date unknown.

Syncrude Canada. 2007 Groundwater Monitoring Report, Mildred Lake Site, Submitted to Alberta Environment, March 15, 2008 van den Heuvel, M. R., Power M., Richards, J., MacKinnon, M. D., and Dixon, D. G. 2000.

Disease and gill lesions in yellow perch (Perca flavescens) exposed to oil sands mining-associated waters. Ecotoxicol. Environ. Safety 46:334-341.

Young, R.F., Orr, E.A., Goss G.G. and P.M. Fedorak. 2007. Detection of naphthenic acids in fish exposed to commercial naphthenic acids and oil sands process-affected water. Chemosphere 68(3): 518-527

- End of Proposal -

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Proposition d’Environmental Defence pour l’inscription des acides naphténiques à l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants(INRP)

La proposition suivante a été soumise par Environmental Defence le 11 novembre 2010.

- Début de la Proposition -

1. Résumé de la modification demandée

Nous demandons l’inscription des acides naphténiques à l’Inventaire national des rejets de polluants.

2. Données sur ces substances

a. No Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) : 1338-24-5

b. Information spécifique sur ces substances (utilisations) : les acides naphténiques sont des sous-produits de l’extraction des sables bitumineux et se retrouvent principalement dans les résidus de sables bitumineux.

c. Seuils de déclaration proposés pour les composés inscrits : nous recommandons des seuils de déclaration identiques à ceux pour les substances de la Partie 1 de l’Annexe 1 de l’Avis de la Gazette du Canada, qui ne sont pas des seuils de concentration minimaux quand on détermine si les seuils pour la production, le traitement ou une autre utilisation sont satisfaits (Gazette du Canada, 2009).

3. Justification

Suite à un examen juridique du programme de l'INRP, les exploitants de mines doivent désormais rapporter les quantités et les concentrations de substances inscrites à l’ rejetées dans les résidus, en plus des rejets directs dans l’air, les eaux et les sols. Ceci s’applique aussi à l’exploitation des sables bitumineux.

Suite à la modification des exigences de déclaration, les installations de sables bitumineux soumettent  des déclarations sur une gamme de substances inscrites à l’INRP et se retrouvant dans les résidus, y compris  les hydrocarbures aromatiques polycycliques, l’ammoniac, le zinc, le plomb et l’arsenic (Environnement Canada, 2009). Toutefois, étant donné que les acides naphténiques ne sont pas actuellement inscrits à l’INRP, les installations ne sont pas tenues de faire des déclarations sur ceux-ci.

Néanmoins, Alberta Environment a reconnu que les acides naphténiques constituent la « source primaire de toxicité » dans les résidus provenant des sables bitumineux (Singh), et Environnement Canada a aussi identifié les acides naphténiques en tant que source primaire de toxicité dans les résidus de sables bitumeux (Shugart). Il est donc important que les installations de sables bitumineux soient tenues de déclarer les acides naphténiques. On donne ci-après une justification plus détaillée pour l’inscription des acides naphténiques à l’INRP, basée sur des facteurs de décision soulignés par Environnement Canada.

a. Ces substances satisfont-elles aux critères de l’INRP?

1. Est-ce que ces substances sont produites, traitées ou autrement utilisées au Canada?

Les acides naphténiques sont des sous-produits de l’extraction des sables bitumineux et, de ce fait, sont produits, traités ou autrement utilisés au Canada. Il y a actuellement 840 millions de mètres cubes de résidus provenant des sables bitumineux (Alberta Energy Resources Conservation Board, 2010) stockés dans de grands lacs dans le nord de l’Alberta. Ces lacs ont une superficie totale de 170 kilomètres carrés. Bien qu’il n’existe aucune évaluation cumulative de la quantité totale d’acides naphténiques stockés dans les lacs de résidus miniers, on a rapporté que ces résidus contiennent des acides naphténiques à des concentrations allant de 80 à 100 mg/L (S.S. Leung et al, 2003).

Le problème croît rapidement. Deux cent millions de litres de résidus provenant des sables bitumineux sont produits quotidiennement, et on estime que ce volume augmentera de 30 % d’ici 2020 (The Pembina Institute, 2010).

2. Est-ce que ces substances sont préoccupantes pour la santé et/ou l’environnement?

On a déterminé que les acides naphténiques sont préoccupantes pour la santé et l’environnement. Environnement Canada les a reconnu comme la source primaire de toxicité dans les résidus de sables bitumineux, tout comme Alberta Environment. De nombreux chercheurs ont mis en évidence les impacts environnementaux des résidus de sables bitumineux et considèrent les acides naphténiques comme la source principale de toxicité (Leung et al, 2003; Bendell­Young et al, 2000; Gentes et al, 2006; Peters et al 2007; Pollet et al 2000; Rogers et al 2002; van den Heuvel et al, 2000; Young et al, 2007). Voici une liste non exhaustive des impacts des acides naphténiques :

  • Les acides naphténiques sont toxiques pour les mammifères, provoquant des dommages au foie et au cœur et des hémorragies cérébrales à haute dose, ainsi qu’une perte de poids et un grossissement du foie en cas d’exposition chronique (Rogers et al, 2002). Aux doses létales chez les souris, les acides naphténiques entraînent une dépression du système nerveux, des convulsions et un arrêt respiratoire entraînant la mort.
  • Des œufs de perchaude exposés à des acides naphténiques ont conduit à des taux de malformation accrus et des tailles réduites à la naissance, comparativement à ceux non-exposés (Peters et al, 2007).
  • Des oisillons d’hirondelle bicolore exposés à des résidus de sables bitumineux contenant des acides naphténiques ont exhibé des poids inférieurs et une capacité moindre de résistance au stress, diminuant leur chance de survie, comparativement à ceux non-exposés (M-L Gentes et al, 2006).
  • Les acides naphténiques ont une influence sur la structure de la communauté de microorganismes aquatiques à des concentrations aussi faibles que 6-20 mg/L (S.S. Leung et al, 2003).

À Fort Chipewyan, une communauté située en aval d’une zone de sables bitumineux, on dénombre un taux de cancer élevé (Alberta Cancer Board, 2009). Les membres de cette communauté et les docteurs y travaillant ont exprimé à maintes reprises leurs inquiétudes quant aux taux de cancer élevés qu’ils pensent liés à la pollution due aux sables bitumineux et provenant de fuites de résidus dans l’eau. Aucune étude sanitaire exhaustive n’a cependant encore été réalisée pour étudier les impacts des sables bitumineux sur la santé de la communauté.

3. Est-ce que ces substances sont rejetées dans l’environnement au Canada?

La principale source d’acides naphténiques est la production de sables bitumineux. Dans les eaux de surface naturelles de la région d’Athabasca, on retrouve des acides naphténiques à une concentration de 1-2 mg/L. Dans les résidus de sables bitumineux, les concentrations d’acides naphténiques peuvent être supérieures à 100 mg/L (S.S. Leung et al, 2003).

Les entreprises exploitant les sables bitumineux doivent maintenant soumettre des rapports sur les substances inscrites à l’INRP contenues dans les bassins de résidus et ces derniers contiennent des quantités significatives d’acides naphténiques.  Les acides naphténiques devraient donc être inscrits sur la liste des substances devant être déclarées.

De plus, il existe de nombreuses preuves à l’effet que des résidus de sables bitumineux, et donc des acides naphténiques, sont rejetés dans l’environnement en dehors des bassins de résidus. Les zones de confinement pour les bassins de résidus de l’exploitation des sables bitumineux sont construites avec des matériaux excavés dans les alentours – matériaux terreux – et ne comportent pas de membrane de protection. Lors de leurs propositions de projet, les entreprises font l’hypothèse que les bassins de résidus fuiront systématiquement dans la zone environnante.

Environmental Defence a publié un rapport qui, pour la première fois, donne une estimation de l’ampleur des fuites d’eau contaminée provenant de ces bassins de résidus (Environmental Defence, 2008). Pour ce rapport, on a compilé les données des entreprises tirées des rapports d’évaluation environnementale pour estimer, de manière prudente, que les bassins de résidus laissent déjà  s’échapper quatre milliards de litres par an. Les prévisions montrent que ce chiffre pourrait atteindre plus de 25 milliards de litres d’ici dix ans dans la mesure où les projets proposés seraient acceptés.

Il existe aussi des cas documentés de résidus contaminés se retrouvant dans les eaux de surface, parmi ceux-ci :

  • Dans une évaluation environnementale réalisée par Shell Canada Ltd, on prévoit que les résidus contaminés provenant de leurs opérations atteindraient Jackpine Creek (Alberta Energy Utilities Board, 2004).
  • Dans une étude de l’Université de Waterloo, on estime que le bassin Tar Island de Suncor Energy a laissé s’échapper presque 6 millions de litres par jour dans la rivière Athabasca (Barker et al, 2007).
  • Un autre incident est mentionné dans une correspondance entre le gouvernement de l’Alberta et Syncrude, et dans une évaluation réalisée par Golder Associates pour Syncrude (Syncrude Canada, 2007; Golder Associates 2009). Il est clair que des résidus contaminés ont fui dans le ruisseau Beaver, un affluent de la rivière Athabasca, pendant un certain nombre d’années.
  • Un autre incident relatif à une fuite dans des eaux de surface a pour objet le bassin South Tailings de Suncor qui fuit dans le ruisseau McLean. Dans une étude de ce problème, réalisée en partie par un ingénieur de Suncor (Stephens et al), on admet qu’on ne mettra pas fin à la fuite dans le ruisseau, mais que l’entreprise essaierait plutôt de gérer les concentrations de substances nocives se retrouvant dans le ruisseau.  

De plus, deux recherches récentes ont montré que des composés chimiques contenus dans des résidus de sables bitumineux – dont des hydrocarbures aromatiques polycycliques, du plomb, du mercure, du cadmium – se retrouvent dans la neige et l’eau en aval des installations de sables bitumineux, et plusieurs à des niveaux dépassant ce qui est considéré sécuritaire (Kelly et al, 2009; Kelly et al, 2010). Bien qu’on n’y ait pas étudié de manière spécifique les concentrations d’acides naphténiques, ces études montrent que des polluants provenant des sables bitumineux sont rejetés dans l’environnement.

b. Est-ce que les installations rejettent des quantités importantes de ces substances?

Il n’existe aucune évaluation cumulatives des quantités totales d’acides naphténiques rejetées par l’industrie des sables bitumineux, car actuellement on n’en fait pas le suivi ou on ne les rapporte pas de manière publique. Environ 1,5 barils de résidus matures fins sont produits par baril de sable bitumineux. En 2008, l’exploitation des sables bitumineux a produit 856 000 barils de pétrole par jour, conduisant à la production quotidienne de 1,284 million de barils de résidus (Grant, 2008). Ces résidus contiennent des acides naphténiques à une concentration de 80-100 mg/L. Ce sont donc jusqu’à 20,4 tonnes d’acides naphténiques qui sont produites quotidiennement par les installations de sables bitumineux, soit presque 7 500 tonnes par an. Étant donné les preuves à l’effet que les bassins de résidus fuient dans l’environnement environnant, il est important que les installations assurent un suivi et fassent des rapports sur les quantités d’acides naphténiques stockées dans les bassins de résidus et sur les quantités rejetées dans les eaux en raison des fuites.

c. Est-ce que l’inscription de ces substances contribue à un ou plusieurs des objectifs de l’INRP?

Étant donné que les acides naphténiques ont été identifiés par les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux comme la principale source de toxicité des résidus de sables bitumineux, leur inscription à l’ INRP permettra de suivre les rejets de ces composés, fournira une meilleure compréhension des risques posés par les résidus de sables bitumineux et contribuera à l’adoption de mesures volontaires ou réglementaires visant à réduire la toxicité des résidus de sables bitumineux et à réduire au minimum les risques pour l’environnement et la santé humaine posés par les bassins de résidus.

d. Est-ce que ces substances font l’objet de rapports ailleurs? Si c’est le cas, y a-t-il une valeur ajoutée à les inscrire à l’INRP?

Les acides naphténiques ne sont pas rapportés de manière publique ailleurs au Canada. L’Environmental Protection Agency des États-Unis a toutefois inscrit les acides naphténiques sur la liste des substances dangereuses dans le cadre de la Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act (connu sous le nom de Superfund), qui requiert un suivi des acides naphténiques.

4. Calendrier proposé pour la modification

Nous recommandons que les installations soient tenues de faire des rapports sur les acides naphténiques à partir de 2012 ou plus tôt.

5. Secteurs industriels concernés

À notre avis, les installations de sables bitumineux constitueront le principal secteur concerné. Il y a actuellement 5 installations faisant des rapports à l’INRP dans cette catégorie.

RÉFÉRENCES

Alberta Cancer Board. 2009. Cancer Incidence in Fort Chipewyan, Alberta: 1999-2006.

Alberta Energy Resources Conservation Board. 2010. News Release – ERCB Approves Fort Hills and Syncrude Tailings Pond Plans with Conditions. www.ercb.ca/portal/server.pt/gateway/PTARGS_6_0_308_0_0_43/http%3B/ercbContent/publishedcontent/publish/ercb_home/news/news_releases/2010/
nr2010_05.aspx (accessed July 19, 2010).

Alberta Energy Utilities Board. Joint Panel Report, EUB Decision 2004-009, Shell Canada Limited, Applications for an Oil Sands Mine, Bitumen Extraction Plant, Cogeneration Plant, and Water Pipeline in the Fort McMurray Area, February 5, 2004, page 43.

Barker J. et al. 2007. Attenuation of Contaminants in Groundwater Impacted by Surface Mining in Oil Sands, Alberta, Canada. Université de Waterloo.

Bendell-Young L. I., Bennett K. E., Crowe A., Kennedy C. J., Kermode A. R., Moore M. M., Plant A. L. et Wood A. 2000. Ecological characteristics of wetlands receiving an industrial effluent. Ecol. Appl. 10, p. 310–322.

Gazette du Canada. « Avis concernant certaines substances de l’Inventaire national des rejets de polluants pour l’année 2009 », vol. 143, no 49. 5 décembre 2009. http://www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/2009/2009-12-05/html/notice-avis-fra.html#d106.

Ecojustice Canada a résumé une partie de cette correspondance dans sa soumission au Comité permanent de l’environnement et du développement durable, 7 mai  2009, p. 32-34. Voir : http://www.ecojustice.ca/publications/submissions/Ecojustice%20Submission%20to%20StandingCommittee%20FINAL%202009-05-11.pdf/view?searchterm=oil%20sands

Environmental Defence. 2008. 11 Million Litres a Day: The Tar Sands’ Leaking Legacy.

Environnement Canada. 2009. Guide pour la déclaration de résidus miniers et de stériles à l’Inventaire national des rejets de polluants (1.4).

Gentes M. L., Waldner C., Papp Z. et Smits J. E. 2006. Effects of oil sands tailings compounds and harsh weather on mortality rates, growth and detoxification efforts in nestling tree swallows (Tachycineta bicolor). Environ. Pollut. 142, p. 24–33.

Golder Associates. 2009. Beaver Creek Profiling Program, 2008 Field Study, soumis à Syncrude Canada.

Grant J., Dyer S. et Woynillowicz D. 2008. Fact or Fiction: Oil Sands Reclamation. The Pembina Institute.

Kelly Erin N., Jeffrey W. Short, David W. Schindler, Peter V. Hodson, Mingsheng Ma, Alvin K. Kwan et Barbra L. Fortin. 2009. « Oil Sands Development Contributes Polycyclic Aromatic Compounds to the Athabasca River and Its Tributaries. ». Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 106(52), p. 22346–22351.

Kelly E.N., Schindler D.W., Short J.W., Radmanovich R. et C.C. Nielsen. 2010. Oil sands development contributes elements toxic at low concentrations to the Athabasca River and its tributaries. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 107(37), p. 16178-16183.

Leung S. S., MacKinnon M. D. et Smith, R. E. H. 2003. The ecological effects of naphthenic
acids and salt on phytoplankton from the Athabasca Oil Sands region. Aquat. Toxicol. 62, p. 11-26.

Peters L. et al. 2007. Effects of oil sands process-affected waters and naphthenic acids on yellow perch (Perca flavescens) and Japanese medaka (Orizias latipes) embryonic development. Chemosphere 67(11), p. 2177-2183.

Pollet I. et Bendell-Young, L. I. 2000. Amphibians as indicators of wetland quality in wetlands formed from oil sands effluents. Environ. Toxicol. Chem. 19, p. 2589–2597.

Rogers V. V., Wickstrom M., Liber K. et MacKinnon M. D. 2002. Acute and subchronic mammalian toxicity of naphthenic acids from oil sands tailings. Toxicol. Sci. 66, p. 347–355.

Ian Shugart, Environnement Canada. Memorandum to the Minister: Oil Sands Tailings Ponds. MIN-118731. Document obtenu dans le cadre de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Kem Singh, Regional Approvals Manager, Northern Region, Alberta Environment. In “Follow­up on Committee Hearings”, Standing Committee on the Environment and Sustainable Development. Document obtenu dans le cadre de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Stephens B. et al. « Design of Tailings Dams on Large Pleistocene Channel Deposits, A Case Study – Suncor’s South Tailings Pond », date inconnue.

Syncrude Canada. 2007 Groundwater Monitoring Report, Mildred Lake Site, soumis à Alberta Environment, 15 mars 2008.

van den Heuvel M. R., Power M., Richards  J., MacKinnon M. D. et Dixon, D. G. 2000. Disease and gill lesions in yellow perch (Perca flavescens) exposed to oil sands mining­associated waters. Ecotoxicol. Environ. Safety 46, p. 334–341.

Young R.F., Orr E.A., Goss G.G. et P.M. Fedorak. 2007. Detection of naphthenic acids in fish exposed to commercial naphthenic acids and oil sands process-affected water. Chemosphere 68(3), p. 518-527

- Fin de la Proposition -

Date de modification :